DETAILED ACTION
This OA is in response to the claims 1-21 filled on 7/12/2024 that has been entered, wherein claims 1-21 are pending.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 7/12/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3-6 and 9-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 3 recites the limitation of “a second emission area overlapping the switching transistor and the sensing transistor”. Claim 2, of which claim 3 depends, recites “a sub-pixel of the plurality of sub-pixels includes at least one of a switching transistor, a sensing transistor, and a capacitor”. If the sub-pixel has a capacitor but not a switching transistor or a sensing transistor, how can a second emission area overlap the switching transistor and the sensing transistor? For the purpose of examination, the limitation of “a second emission area overlapping the switching transistor and the sensing transistor” will be interpreted as “the sub-pixel of the plurality of sub-pixels includes the switching transistor and the sensing transistor and a second emission area overlapping the switching transistor and the sensing transistor”.
Claims 4-6 and 9-21 depend on claim 3 and inherit its deficiencies.
Claim 5 recites the limitation of “the first anode and the second anode extending to the transmission area are integrally connected to each other through the first anode connection line and the second anode connection line” in line 6. How can the first anode and the second anode extending to the transmission area be integrally connected to each other if they are connected through the first anode connection line and the second anode connection line? For the purpose of examination, the limitation of “the first anode and the second anode extending to the transmission area are integrally connected to each other through the first anode connection line and the second anode connection line” will be interpreted as “the first anode and the second anode extending to the transmission area are connected to each other through the first anode connection line and the second anode connection line”.
Claims 6 and 9 depend on claim 5 and inherit its deficiencies.
Claim 17 recites the limitation " the first connection line " in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Is the first connection line the same or different than the first anode connection line or the first sensing connection line? For the purpose of examination, “the first connection line” will be interpreted as the first sensing connection line.
Claim 17 recites the limitation "the second connections line" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Is the second connections line the same or different than the second anode connection line or the second sensing connection line? For the purpose of examination, “the second connections line” will be interpreted as “the second sensing connection line”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Park et al. (US 2022/0020947 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Park teaches a transparent display device(Figs. 4-7), comprising:
a substrate(110) with a plurality of sub-pixels(SPn1-SPn4, ¶0079) on the substrate(110), the substrate(110) including a transmission area(TA, ¶0079) and an emission area(EMA1, EMA2, ¶0079);
a driving transistor(DR, ¶0065) in the emission area(EMA1, EMA2, ¶0079), the driving transistor(DR, ¶0065) including a semiconductor layer(130, ¶0093);
an organic light emitting diode(OLED, ¶0086) connected to the driving transistor(DR, ¶0065), the organic light emitting diode(OLED, ¶0086) including an anode(ANO1, ANO2, ¶0086); and
an anode connection line(150b, SEL, ¶0124) extending from the semiconductor layer(130, ¶0093) of the driving transistor(DR, ¶0065) to the transmission area(TA, ¶0079), the anode connection line(150b, SEL, ¶0124) connected to the anode(ANO1, ANO2, ¶0086) of the organic light emitting diode(OLED, ¶0086).
Regarding claim 2, Park teaches the transparent display device of claim 1, wherein:
a data line(DL1-DLn, ¶0053), a sensing line(SL, ¶0081), a power line(PL1, PL2, ¶0083), and a gate line(GL1-GLm, ¶0055) intersect one another to define the plurality of sub-pixels(SPn1-SPn4, ¶0079); and
a sub-pixel of the plurality of sub-pixels(SPn1-SPn4, ¶0079) includes at least one of a switching transistor(SW, ¶0062), a sensing transistor(ST, ¶0068), and a capacitor(Cst, ¶0062).
Regarding claim 3, Park teaches the transparent display device of claim 2, wherein the emission area(EMA1, EMA2, ¶0079) includes a first emission area(EMA1, ¶0079) overlapping the driving transistor(DR, ¶0065) and a second emission area(EMA2, ¶0079) overlapping(¶0085) the switching transistor(SW, ¶0062) and the sensing transistor(ST, ¶0068).
Claims 1, 7 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Li (CN 114664866A).
Regarding claim 1, Li teaches a transparent display device(Fig. 4), comprising:
a substrate(117) with a plurality of sub-pixels on the substrate(117), the substrate(117) including a transmission area(100a, ¶0078) and an emission area(100b, ¶0078);
a driving transistor(101, ¶0088) in the emission area(100b, ¶0078), the driving transistor(101, ¶0088) including a semiconductor layer(111, ¶0090);
an organic light emitting diode(141, ¶0081, ¶0071) connected to the driving transistor(101, ¶0088), the organic light emitting diode(141, ¶0081, ¶0071) including an anode(anode of 141, ¶0081); and
an anode connection line(131, ¶0086) extending from the semiconductor layer(111, ¶0090) of the driving transistor(101, ¶0088) to the transmission area(100a, ¶0078), the anode connection line(131, ¶0086) connected to the anode(anode of 141, ¶0081) of the organic light emitting diode(141, ¶0081, ¶0071).
Regarding claim 7, Li teaches the transparent display device of claim 1, wherein the anode connection line(131, ¶0086) includes an oxide semiconductor(¶0126-0128).
Regarding claim 8, Li teaches the transparent display device of claim 1, wherein the anode connection line(131, ¶0086) includes an oxide semiconductor(¶0126-0128) doped with impurities(¶0129-0130), and the anode connection line(131, ¶0086) is conductive(¶0129).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4-6, 9, 11-15 and 20-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park et al. (US 2022/0020947 A1).
Regarding claim 4, Park teaches the transparent display device of claim 3, wherein:
the anode(ANO1, ANO2, ¶0086) includes a first anode(ANO1, ¶0086) in the first emission area(EMA1, ¶0079) and a second anode(ANO2, ¶0086) in the second emission area(EMA2, ¶0079); and
the anode connection line(150b, SEL, ¶0124) includes a first anode connection line(150b, SEL, ¶0124) connected to the first anode(ANO1, ¶0086)
The embodiment of Fig. 7 of Park is not relied on to teach a second anode connection line connected to the second anode(ANO2, ¶0086).
The embodiment of Fig. 9 of Park teaches a transparent display device(Fig. 9) comprising a second anode connection line(150b, SEL2, ¶0130) connected to the second anode(ANO2, ¶0086). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the embodiment of Fig. 7 of Park, to include a second anode connection line connected to the second anode, as taught by the embodiment of Fig. 9 of Park, so that the first anode and the second anode are independently connected to the anode connection line(¶0132) and thus when a malfunction occurs in one of the light emission areas, the electrical connection from the driving transistor to the corresponding anode electrode is disconnected(¶0133).
Regarding claim 5, Park teaches the transparent display device of claim 4, wherein: the first anode(ANO1, ¶0086) and the second anode(ANO2, ¶0086) extend to the transmission area(TA, ¶0079);
each of the first anode connection line(150b, SEL, ¶0124) and the second anode connection line(150b, SEL, ¶0124) is connected to a drain electrode of the driving transistor(DR, ¶0065) through a contact hole(contact hole with 150b); and
the first anode(ANO1, ¶0086) and the second anode(ANO2, ¶0086) extending to the transmission area(TA, ¶0079) are integrally connected to each other through the first anode connection line(150b, SEL, ¶0124) and the second anode connection line(150b, SEL, ¶0124) and form a first repair part(RP, ¶0121).
Regarding claim 6, Park teaches the transparent display device of claim 5, wherein, in the first repair part(RP, ¶0121), the first anode connection line(150b, SEL, ¶0124) is electrically connected to the first anode(ANO1, ¶0086) through an anode contact hole(CH1, CH2, ¶0086) and the second anode connection line(150b, SEL, ¶0124) is electrically connected to the second anode(ANO2, ¶0086) through the anode contact hole(CH1, CH2, ¶0086).
Regarding claim 9, Park teaches the transparent display device of claim 5, wherein the first repair part(RP, ¶0121) partially overlaps(¶0102) the power line(PL1, PL2, ¶0083).
Regarding claim 11, Park teaches the transparent display device of claim 4, wherein: the first anode(ANO1, ¶0086) is on the first anode connection line(150b, SEL, ¶0124) and overlapping the first anode connection line(150b, SEL, ¶0124); and the second anode(ANO2, ¶0086) is on the second anode connection line(150b, SEL, ¶0124) and overlapping the second anode connection line(150b, SEL, ¶0124).
Regarding claim 12, Park teaches the transparent display device of claim 4, further comprising: a sensing connection line(SC1, SC2, ¶0081) extending from a semiconductor layer(130, ¶0093) of the sensing transistor(ST, ¶0068).
Regarding claim 13, Park teaches the transparent display device of claim 12, wherein: the plurality of sub-pixels(SPn1-SPn4, ¶0079) includes a first sub-pixel(SPn1, ¶0079), a second sub-pixel(SPn2, ¶0079), a third sub-pixel(SPn3, ¶0079), and a fourth sub-pixel(SPn4, ¶0079); and the sensing connection line(SC1, SC2, ¶0081) includes a first sensing connection line(SC1, ¶0081) connected to the first sub-pixel(SPn1, ¶0079) and the third sub-pixel(SPn3, ¶0079) and a second sensing connection line(SC2, ¶0081) connected to the second sub-pixel(SPn2, ¶0079) and the fourth sub-pixel(SPn4, ¶0079).
Regarding claim 14, Park teaches the transparent display device of claim 13, wherein each of the first sensing connection line(SC1, ¶0081) and the second sensing connection line(SC2, ¶0081) is electrically connected to the sensing line(SL, ¶0081) through a sensing line contact hole(unlabeled sensing line contact hole, Fig. 4).
Regarding claim 15, Park teaches the transparent display device of claim 13, wherein the first sensing connection line(SC1, ¶0081) and the second sensing connection line(SC2, ¶0081) are connected to each other(¶0081).
Regarding claim 20, Park teaches the transparent display device of claim 13, wherein: the first sensing connection line(SC2, ¶0081) is in the first sub-pixel(SPn1, ¶0079) and the third sub-pixel(SPn3, ¶0079); and the second sensing connection line(SC2, ¶0081) is in the second sub-pixel(SPn2, ¶0079) and the fourth sub-pixel(SPn4, ¶0079).
Regarding claim 21, Park teaches the transparent display device of claim 3, wherein the anode(ANO1, ANO2, ¶0086) includes a first anode(ANO1, ¶0086) in the first emission area(EMA1, ¶0079) and a second anode(ANO2, ¶0086) in the second emission area(EMA2, ¶0079), and wherein the anode connection line(150b, SEL, ¶0124) is branched in the transmission area(TA, ¶0079) toward the first anode(ANO1, ¶0086) and the second anode(ANO2, ¶0086).
Claims 7, 8, 16 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park et al. (US 2022/0020947 A1) in view of Cai et al. (CN 117476681 A).
Regarding claim 7, Park teaches the transparent display device of claim 1, but is not relied on to teach the anode connection line(150b, SEL, ¶0124) includes an oxide semiconductor.
Cai teaches a transparent display device(Fig. 2) wherein the anode connection line(60, ¶0047) includes an oxide semiconductor(¶0026). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Park, so that the anode connection line includes an oxide semiconductor, as taught by Cai, in order to significantly improved the transparency of the prepared display panel and the design space of the display panel while ensuring the display effect(¶0026).
Regarding claim 8, Park teaches the transparent display device of claim 1, wherein the anode connection line(150b, SEL, ¶0124) is conductive(¶0124).
Park is not relied on to teach the anode connection line(150b, SEL, ¶0124) includes an oxide semiconductor doped with impurities.
Cai teaches a transparent display device(Fig. 2) wherein the anode connection line(60, ¶0047) includes an oxide semiconductor(¶0026) doped with impurities(rare earth metal oxide, ¶0026). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Park, so that the anode connection line includes an oxide semiconductor doped with impurities, as taught by Cai, in order to significantly improved the transparency of the prepared display panel and the design space of the display panel while ensuring the display effect(¶0026).
Regarding claim 16, Park teaches the transparent display device of claim 13, but is not relied on to teach the first sensing connection line(SC1, ¶0081) and the second sensing connection line(SC2, ¶0081) include an oxide semiconductor.
Cai teaches a transparent display device(Fig. 2) wherein a connection line(60, ¶0047) includes an oxide semiconductor(¶0026). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Park, so that the first sensing connection line and the second sensing connection line includes an oxide semiconductor, as taught by Cai, in order to significantly improved the transparency of the prepared display panel and the design space of the display panel while ensuring the display effect(¶0026).
Regarding claim 17, Park teaches the transparent display device of claim 13, wherein the first sensing connection line(SC1, ¶0081) and the second sensing connection line(SC2, ¶0081) are conductive(¶0081).
Park is not relied on to teach the first sensing connection line(SC1, ¶0081) and the second sensing connection line(SC2, ¶0081) include an oxide semiconductor doped with impurities.
Cai teaches a transparent display device(Fig. 2) wherein a connection line(60, ¶0047) includes an oxide semiconductor(¶0026) doped with impurities(rare earth metal oxide, ¶0026). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Park, so that the first sensing connection line and the second sensing connection line includes an oxide semiconductor doped with impurities, as taught by Cai, in order to significantly improved the transparency of the prepared display panel and the design space of the display panel while ensuring the display effect(¶0026).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 10, 18 and 19 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding dependent claim 10, the prior art of record neither anticipates nor renders obvious the claimed subject matter of the instant application as a whole either taken alone or in combination, in particular, prior art of record does not teach “the first anode connection line or the second anode connection line is non-conductive”.
Regarding dependent claim 18, the prior art of record neither anticipates nor renders obvious the claimed subject matter of the instant application as a whole either taken alone or in combination, in particular, prior art of record does not teach “the first sensing connection line or the second sensing connection line is non-conductive”.
Regarding dependent claim 19, the prior art of record neither anticipates nor renders obvious the claimed subject matter of the instant application as a whole either taken alone or in combination, in particular, prior art of record does not teach “the first anode is on the first sensing connection line and overlapping the first sensing connection line; and the second anode is on the second sensing connection line and overlapping the second sensing connection line”.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Park et al. (US 2015/0097182 A1) Discloses a display device.
Saitoh et al. (US 2026/0271517 A1) Discloses a display device.
/LAURA M DYKES/Examiner, Art Unit 2892