DETAILED ACTION
Notice of AIA Status
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3-9, 11 and 13-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wagoner (US Publication No. 5642942) in view of Hollingshead (US Patent No. 4749053).
Regarding claim 1, Wagoner teaches a rotary drill bit (10;Fig. 1) for a drilling system including a drilling machine which supplies air to the rotary drill bit (Col. 3 lines 20-37), the rotary drill bit comprising:
a plurality of rotating cones (18) each comprising a plurality of cutting tips (19); and
a plurality of legs (13) on which the plurality of cones are respectively supported, each leg comprising:
a journal area (24) configured to rotatably support the respective cone (18);
a primary conduit (32; Fig. 3) extending internally within the leg and configured to receive air (col. 3 lines 49-60);
a first journal conduit (34; Fig. 3) downstream from the primary conduit (32; Fig. 3) and extending to a first air orifice (36) of the journal area; and
at least one second journal conduit (top 33 or bottom 33; Fig. 3) downstream from the primary conduit (32) and extending to at least one corresponding second air orifice (26; Fig. 3, 7) of the journal area, wherein a ratio of a cross-sectional diameter of the first journal conduit to a cross-sectional diameter of at least one of the second journal conduits is in a range of about 1 to about 1.4 (From Fig. 3, it can be seen that conduits 34 and top 33/bottom 33 have about identical cross-sectional diameter. Therefore, the size ratio is certainly about 1, especially as the term “about” incorporates +/- 10%. These conduits are well within the claimed range. The description of the article pictured can be relied on, in combination with the drawings, for what they would reasonably teach one of ordinary skill in the art. In re Wright, 569 F.2d 1124, 1127-28, 193 USPQ 332, 335-36 (CCPA 1977)).
Wagoner is silent regarding the drilling machine having an air compressor to supply air to the rotary drill bit and primary conduit configured to receive air from the air compressor.
Wagoner discloses that the drill rig and drill string delivers the air to the cutting region but does not specify whether the air is supplied from an air compressor which forces the reader to look elsewhere for such teachings.
Hollingshead, drawn to a roller cutter drill bit assembly, discloses that during drilling operation, air under pressure is delivered to the drill string from air compressors at the drilling machine (Col. 2, lines 54-62).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the drilling assembly of Wagoner such that it includes an air compressor, as taught by Hollingshead, in order to supply pressurized air to the drill bit (Col. 2, lines 54-62).
Regarding claim 3, Wagoner further teaches wherein each leg further comprises a plurality of cylindrical roller bearings (30; Fig. 2) on which the cone rotates, wherein the cylindrical roller bearings (30) are located between a first bearing surface (39) comprising the first air orifice (36) and a second bearing surface (left/right side 26) comprising the at least one second air orifice (26).
Regarding claim 4, Wagoner further teaches wherein the at least one second journal conduit comprises two second journal conduits (top 33 or bottom 33; Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 5, Wagoner further teaches wherein the journal area comprises a thrust button, and wherein the first air orifice extends at least partially through the thrust button (Air is dispersed from central passage 34 into channel 36 intersecting base 52 of the hardened steel thrust disc bearing 50 cooling the steel disc; Col. 3 lines 61-65).
Regarding claim 6, Wagoner further teaches The rotary drill bit of claim 1, wherein the journal area comprises a plurality of bearings radially supporting the cone (roller bearings 25 and 30; Fig. 2), and wherein the at least one second orifice (26) is provided in a bearing surface proximal to the plurality of bearings (25, 30).
Regarding claim 7, Wagoner further teaches wherein the at least one second orifice is surrounded by an exit passage (35; Fig. 4, 7) that is recessed into a bearing surface of the journal area (24).
Regarding claim 8, in light if the above modification, Wagoner further teaches further comprising a nozzle extending from within each of the legs such that air received from the air compressor is divided between the nozzle and the primary conduit (one or more air nozzles 15; Col. 3 lines 30-37)
Regarding claim 9, Wagoner further teaches comprising an air plug (thrust plug 40; Fig. 7) in fluid communication with the nozzle (40 is in fluid communication with 15 via passage 34 and 36; Col. 3 lines 61-66, Fig. 7).
Regarding claim 11, Wagoner teaches a method for operating a rotary drill bit (10;Fig. 1) including a cone (18) rotatably supported on a leg (13), the method comprising:
rotating the cone relative to a journal area of the leg (Col. 3 lines 20-26);
supplying air to a primary conduit within the leg (32; Fig. 3, Col. 3 lines 49-50);
supplying air from the primary conduit (32) to a first journal conduit (34; Fig. 3) and a second journal conduit (top 33 or bottom 33; Fig. 3) within the leg;
cooling at least part of the journal area with air from the first journal conduit (Col. 4 lines 30-35); and
cooling at least part of the journal area with air from the second journal conduit (top 33/ bottom 33; Col. 3 lines 49-56), wherein a ratio of a cross-sectional diameter of the first journal conduit to a cross-sectional diameter of the second journal conduit is in a range of about 1 to about 1.4 (From Fig. 3, it can be seen that conduits top 33 and 34/bottom 33 have about identical cross-sectional diameter. Therefore, the size ratio is certainly about 1, especially as the term “about” incorporates +/- 10%. These conduits are well within the claimed range. The description of the article pictured can be relied on, in combination with the drawings, for what they would reasonably teach one of ordinary skill in the art. In re Wright, 569 F.2d 1124, 1127-28, 193 USPQ 332, 335-36 (CCPA 1977)).
Wagoner is silent regarding supplying air from an air compressor.
Hollingshead, drawn to a roller cutter drill bit assembly, discloses that during drilling operation, air under pressure is delivered to the drill string from air compressors at the drilling machine (Col. 2, lines 54-62).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the drilling assembly of Wagoner such that it includes an air compressor, as taught by Hollingshead, in order to supply pressurized air to the drill bit (Col. 2, lines 54-62).
Regarding claim 13, Wagoner further teaches wherein the cone rotates on a plurality of cylindrical roller bearings (30; Fig. 2) located between a first bearing surface (39) and a second bearing surface (left and right side 26), wherein the first bearing surface comprises a first air orifice (36) connected to the first journal conduit (34), and wherein the second bearing surface (left and right side 26) comprises a second air orifice (26) connected to the second journal conduit (top 33 or bottom 33; Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 14, Wagoner teaches wherein cooling at least part of the journal area with air from the first journal conduit comprises flowing air from the first journal conduit out of an air orifice extending at least partially through a thrust button of the journal area (Air is dispersed from central passage 34 into channel 36 intersecting base 52 of the hardened steel thrust disc bearing 50 cooling the steel disc; Col. 3 lines 61-65).
Regarding claim 15, Wagoner further teaches the method of claim 11, wherein cooling at least part of the journal area with air from the first journal conduit comprises flowing air over a plurality of bearings (40 and 50; Col. 3 lines 61-65)
Regarding claim 16, Wagoner further teaches wherein cooling at least part of the journal area with air from the second journal conduit comprises flowing air from the second journal conduit (top 33/ bottom 33; Col. 3 lines 49-56) out of an air orifice (26; Fig. 7) in a bearing surface (35; Fig. 7) of the journal area.
Regarding claim 17, Wagoner further teaches wherein cooling at least part of the journal area with air from the second journal conduit (top 33/ bottom 33) comprises flowing air radially outward from an exit passage (35; Fig. 4, 7) surrounding the air orifice (26).
Claim(s) 18 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable Finnman (US Publication No. 20170254151) in view of Hollingshead (US Patent No. 4749053).
Regarding claim 18, Finnman teaches a drilling system comprising:
a drilling machine (drill string (not shown) forming part of a drill assembly (drilling machine); pp[0036]);
a drill string extending from the drilling machine (drill string (not shown) forming part of a drill assembly (drilling machine); pp[0036]); and
a rotary drill bit (rotary cutting tool 100; Figs. 1-9, pp[0036]) connected to an end of the drill string (pp[0036]) and receiving air via the drill string (journal leg 105 (part of the drill bit) comprise respective internal passageways configured to deliver air received from the drill rig and drill string (not shown); pp[0041], Fig. 3), the rotary drill bit comprising:
a plurality of legs (105; Fig. 1) each comprising:
a journal area (200) configured to rotatably support a cone (conical shaped cutter 103 is mounted at an end of each journal leg 105 so as to be capable of rotation relative to leg 105 and independent rotation about a separate axis relative to a general rotation of tool 100 and the drill string (not shown); pp[0036]);
a primary conduit (501) extending internally within the leg (105; Fig. 5) and configured to receive air from the air compressor (pp[0041], Fig. 5);
a first journal conduit (302; Fig. 5, pp[0049]) downstream from the primary conduit (501; Fig. 5) and extending to a first air orifice of the journal area (“air orifice” comprises the high friction contact surfaces between spindle 200, bearings 204, 205, 206; pp[0050]); and
a second journal conduit (400; pp[0050], Fig. 5) downstream from the primary conduit (501) and extending to a second air orifice of the journal area (comprises the high friction contact surfaces between spindle 200, bearings 204, 205, 206; pp[0050]), wherein a ratio of a cross-sectional diameter of the first journal conduit to a cross-sectional diameter of the second journal conduit is in a range of about 1 to about 1.4 (From Fig. 5, it can be seen that conduits top 33 and 34/bottom 33 have about identical cross-sectional diameter. Therefore, the size ratio is certainly about 1 to about 1.4, especially as the term “about” incorporates +/- 10%. These conduits are well within the claimed range. The description of the article pictured can be relied on, in combination with the drawings, for what they would reasonably teach one of ordinary skill in the art. In re Wright, 569 F.2d 1124, 1127-28, 193 USPQ 332, 335-36 (CCPA 1977)).
Finnman is silent regarding the drilling machine comprising an air compressor and receiving air from the air compressor.
Hollingshead, drawn to a roller cutter drill bit assembly, discloses that during drilling operation, air under pressure is delivered to the drill string from air compressors at the drilling machine (Col. 2, lines 54-62).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the drilling assembly of Finnman such that it includes an air compressor, as taught by Hollingshead, in order to supply pressurized air to the drill bit (Col. 2, lines 54-62).
Regarding claim 20, Finnman further teaches wherein each leg (105; Fig. 1) further comprises a plurality of cylindrical roller bearings (roller bearings 204, 206; Fig. 5, pp[0037]) on which the cone rotates (cone 103), wherein the cylindrical roller bearings are located between a first bearing surface (204 is between a first bearing surface as shown; Fig.5, 9) comprising the first air orifice (“air orifice” comprises the high friction contact surfaces between bearings 204; pp[0050]) and a second bearing surface 206 is between a second bearing surface; Fig. 5, 9) comprising the second air orifice (“air orifice” comprises the high friction contact surfaces between 206; pp[0050])).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2, 10, 12 and 19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/LAMIA QUAIM/ Examiner, Art Unit 3676