DETAILED ACTION
Notice of AIA Status
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claims 1, 11 and 18, the claims recite the limitation “a ratio of a cross-sectional diameter of the first journal conduit to a cross-sectional diameter of at least one of the second journal conduits is in a range of about 1 to about 1.4.” and it is unclear what the metes and bounds are for the limitation “about 1 to about 1.4.” because the term “about” is a relative term and has not been adequately defined in the claim and/or the disclosure. The specification discusses diameter ranges and ratios for the diameters of the claimed conduits such as in para[0040]; however, the specification does not define what quantities are encompassed by the term “about”, e.g. “about” is +/- 5. Therefore, the lack of clarity of the limitation “a range of about 1 to about 1.4” renders the claims indefinite.
Claims 2, 12 and 19 recite the limitation “about 13 to about 16.5” and it is unclear what the metes and bounds for this limitation because the term “about” is a relative term and has not been adequately defined in the claim and/or the disclosure. The specification discusses diameter ranges and ratios for the diameters of the claimed conduits such as in para[0040]; however, the specification does not define what quantities are encompassed by the term “about”, e.g. “about” is +/- 5. Therefore, the lack of clarity of the limitation “about 13 to about 16.5” renders the claims indefinite.
Claim 10 is rejected for similar reasons as claims 1 above.
Claims 3-9, 13-17 and 20 are also rejected under this statute as the claims depend from claims 1, 11 or 18.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Finnman (U.S. Publication No. 20170254151) in view of Hollingshead (U.S. Patent No. 4749053).
Regarding claim 1, Finnman teaches a rotary drill bit (rotary cutting tool 100; Figs. 1-9, pp[0036]) for a drilling system (drilling rig (not shown); pp[0036]) including a drilling machine (drill string (not shown) forming part of a drill assembly (drilling machine); pp[0036]) which supplies air to the rotary drill bit (journal leg 105 (part of the drill bit) comprise respective internal passageways configured to deliver air received from the drill rig and drill string (not shown); pp[0041], Fig. 3), the rotary drill bit comprising:
a plurality of rotating cones (cones 103; Fig. 1) each comprising a plurality of cutting tips (cutting buttons 104; Fig. 1, pp[0038]); and
a plurality of legs (105; Fig. 1) on which the plurality of cones (103) are respectively supported (Figs. 1, 5), each leg comprising:
a journal area (200; Fig. 5) configured to rotatably support the respective cone (pp[0040], Fig. 3-5);
a primary conduit (501) extending internally within the leg (105; Fig. 5) and configured to receive air (pp[0041], Fig. 5);
a first journal conduit (302; Fig. 5, pp[0049]) downstream from the primary conduit (501; Fig. 5) and extending to a first air orifice of the journal area (“air orifice” comprises the high friction contact surfaces between spindle 200, bearings 204, 205, 206; pp[0050]); and
at least one second journal conduit (400; pp[0050], Fig. 5) downstream from the primary conduit (501) and extending to at least one corresponding second air orifice of the journal area (comprises the high friction contact surfaces between spindle 200, bearings 204, 205, 206; pp[0050]), wherein a ratio of a cross-sectional diameter of the first journal conduit to a cross-sectional diameter of at least one of the second journal conduits is in a range of about 1 to about 1.4 (cross-sectional diameter of the first journal conduit 302 to a cross-sectional diameter of at least one of the second journal conduit 400 is about 1; Fig. 5).
Finnman is silent regarding the drilling machine having an air compressor to supply air to the rotary drill bit and primary conduit configured to receive air from the air compressor.
Finnman discloses that the drill rig and drill string delivers the air to the cutting region (pp[0041]) but does not specify whether the air is supplied from an air compressor which forces the reader to look elsewhere for such teachings.
Hollingshead, drawn to a roller cutter drill bit assembly, discloses that during drilling operation, air under pressure is delivered to the drill string from air compressors at the drilling machine (Col. 2, lines 54-62).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the drilling assembly of Finnman such that it includes an air compressor, as taught by Hollingshead, in order to supply pressurized air to the drill bit (Col. 2, lines 54-62).
Regarding claim 2, in light of the 112(b) rejection above, Finnman further teaches wherein a ratio of the diameter of the rotary drill bit relative to a cross-sectional diameter of the primary conduit is in a range of about 13 to about 16.5 (a ratio of the diameter of the rotary drill bit 100 relative to a cross-sectional diameter of the primary conduit 105 is in a range of about 13 to about 16.5; Fig. 5).
Regarding claim 3, Finnman further teaches wherein each leg (105; Fig. 1) further comprises a plurality of cylindrical roller bearings (roller bearings 204, 206; Fig. 5, pp[0037]) on which the cone rotates (cone 103), wherein the cylindrical roller bearings are located between a first bearing surface (204 is between a first bearing surface as shown; Fig.5, 9) comprising the first air orifice (“air orifice” comprises the high friction contact surfaces between bearings 204; pp[0050]) and a second bearing surface (206 is between a second bearing surface; Fig. 5, 9) comprising the at least one second air orifice (“air orifice” comprises the high friction contact surfaces between 206; pp[0050])).
Regarding claim 4, Finnman further teaches wherein the at least one second journal conduit comprises two second journal conduits (This is implicit because there are three journal legs 105 with a cone shaped cutter 103 on each leg. Air is configured to flow internally through each journal leg 105 and spindle 200 so as to be delivered to the friction bearing snoochie surface 1002 and the contact surfaces between thrust plugs 212a, 212b in addition to cooling the ball 205 and roller 204, 206 bearings; pp[0036], [0041], [0045], Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 5, Finnman further teaches wherein the journal area comprises a thrust button (212a), and wherein the first air orifice extends at least partially through the thrust button (Airflow distribution passageways 302, 400 are beneficial to distribute the supply of air to the high load/friction snoochie surface region 1002 and the contact surfaces between the pilot thrust plugs; pp[0050], Fig. 9).
Regarding claim 6, Finnman further teaches wherein the journal area comprises a plurality of bearings (bearings 204, 205, 206; pp[0050]), Fig. 9) radially supporting the cone (103), and wherein the at least one second orifice (400) is provided in a bearing surface (bearing surfaces with 205 and 206 as shown) proximal to the plurality of bearings (distribution passageways 302, 400 provide effective control of the distribution of airflow to all regions of the bearing assembly which in addition to by-pass passageway 900 serves to cool and clean the high friction contact surfaces between spindle 200, bearings 204, 205, 206 and parts of the cone internal surface 616 so that they do not overheat and wear prematurely; Fig. 5, 9, pp[0050]).
Regarding claim 7, Finnman further teaches wherein the at least one second orifice (400) is surrounded by an exit passage (610; Fig. 9) that is recessed into a bearing surface (bearing surface of 205; Fig. 9) of the journal area (200).
Regarding claim 8, Finnman further teaches further comprising a nozzle (900; Fig. 5, 9) extending from within each of the legs (105; Fig. 5) such that air received from the air compressor is divided between the nozzle (900) and the primary conduit (501).
Regarding claim 9, Finnman further teaches further comprising an air plug (509) in fluid communication with the nozzle (900; Fig. 9).
Regarding claim 10, in light of the 112(b) rejection above, Finnman further teaches wherein the primary conduit (501) has a diameter of about 18.8 millimeters to about 24 millimeters (the diameter of 501 is about 8.8 millimeters to about 24 millimeters; Fig. 5, 9) , the first journal conduit (302) has a diameter of about 10 millimeters to about 13 millimeters (the diameter of 302 is about bout 10 millimeters to about 13 millimeters), and each of the second journal conduits (400) have a diameter of about 8 millimeters to about 11 millimeters (the diameter of 400 is about 8 millimeters to about 11 millimeters ).
Regarding claim 11, Finnman teaches a method for operating a rotary drill bit (rotary cutting tool 100; Figs. 1-5, pp[0036]) including a cone (cone 103; pp[0038], Fig. 1) rotatably supported on a leg (105; pp[0036]), the method comprising:
rotating the cone (103) relative to a journal area (200) of the leg (105; Fig. 5, 9);
supplying air to a primary conduit (501; pp[0041])) within the leg (journal leg 105 comprise respective internal passageways configured to deliver air received from the drill rig and drill string (not shown); pp[0041], Fig. 3);
supplying air from the primary conduit (501) to a first journal conduit (302) and a second journal conduit (400) within the leg (105; pp[0049], [0050]);
cooling at least part of the journal area with air from the first journal conduit (pp[0050]); and
cooling at least part of the journal area with air from the second journal conduit (pp[0050]), wherein a ratio of a cross-sectional diameter of the first journal conduit to a cross-sectional diameter of the second journal conduit is in a range of about 1 to about 1.4 (cross-sectional diameter of the first journal conduit 302 to a cross-sectional diameter of at least one of the second journal conduit 400 is about 1; Fig. 5).
Finnman is silent regarding supplying air from an air compressor.
Finnman discloses that the drill rig and drill string delivers the air to the cutting region (pp[0041]) but does not specify whether the air is supplied from an air compressor which forces the reader to look elsewhere for such teachings.
Hollingshead, drawn to a roller cutter drill bit assembly, discloses that during drilling operation, air under pressure is delivered to the drill string from air compressors at the drilling machine (Col. 2, lines 54-62).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the drilling assembly of Finnman such that it includes an air compressor, as taught by Hollingshead, in order to supply pressurized air to the drill bit (Col. 2, lines 54-62).
Regarding claim 12, in light of the 112(b) rejection above, Finnman further teaches wherein a ratio of a diameter of the rotary drill bit relative to a cross-sectional diameter of the primary conduit is in a range of about 13 to about 16.5 (a ratio of the diameter of the rotary drill bit 100 relative to a cross-sectional diameter of the primary conduit 105 is in a range of about 13 to about 16.5; Fig. 5).
Regarding claim 13, Finnman further teaches wherein the cone (103) rotates on a plurality of cylindrical roller bearings (roller bearings 204, 206; Fig. 5, pp[0037]) located between a first bearing surface and a second bearing surface (204 and 206 are located between a first and second bearing surface as shown; Fig. 5, 9), wherein the first bearing surface (204 is between a first bearing surface as shown; Fig.5, 9) comprises a first air orifice (“air orifice” comprises the high friction contact surfaces between bearings 204; pp[0050]) connected to the first journal conduit (302; pp[0050]) , and wherein the a second bearing surface (206 is between a second bearing surface; Fig. 5, 9) comprises a second air orifice (“air orifice” comprises the high friction contact surfaces between 206; pp[0050]) connected to the second journal conduit (400; pp[0050]).
Regarding claim 14, Finnman further teaches wherein cooling at least part of the journal area with air from the first journal conduit comprises flowing air from the first journal conduit out of an air orifice extending at least partially through a thrust button of the journal area (Airflow distribution passageways 302, 400 are beneficial to distribute the supply of air to the high load/friction snoochie surface region 1002 and the contact surfaces between the pilot thrust plugs 212a, 212b; pp[0050], Fig. 9).
Regarding claim 15, Finnman further teaches wherein cooling at least part of the journal area with air from the first journal conduit comprises flowing air over a plurality of bearings of the journal area (302, 400 provide effective control of the distribution of airflow to all regions of the bearing assembly which in addition to by-pass passageway 900 serves to cool and clean the high friction contact surfaces between spindle 200, bearings 204, 205, 206 and parts of the cone internal surface 616 so that they do not overheat and wear prematurely; pp[0050]).
Regarding claim 16, Finnman further teaches wherein cooling at least part of the journal area with air from the second journal conduit comprises flowing air from the second journal conduit out of an air orifice in a bearing surface of the journal area (302, 400 provide effective control of the distribution of airflow to all regions of the bearing assembly which in addition to by-pass passageway 900 serves to cool and clean the high friction contact surfaces between spindle 200, bearings 204, 205, 206 and parts of the cone internal surface 616 so that they do not overheat and wear prematurely; pp[0050]).
Regarding claim 17, Finnman further teaches wherein cooling at least part of the journal area with air from the second journal conduit comprises flowing air radially outward from an exit passage surrounding the air orifice (vent holes 609, 610, 611 control the exhaust of the cleaning and cooling air supply from tool 100 so as to provide an optimized airflow path around the high load and friction components prior to exhaust; pp[0051])
Regarding claim 18, Finnman teaches a drilling system comprising:
a drilling machine (drill string (not shown) forming part of a drill assembly (drilling machine); pp[0036]);
a drill string extending from the drilling machine (drill string (not shown) forming part of a drill assembly (drilling machine); pp[0036]); and
a rotary drill bit (rotary cutting tool 100; Figs. 1-9, pp[0036]) connected to an end of the drill string (pp[0036]) and receiving air via the drill string (journal leg 105 (part of the drill bit) comprise respective internal passageways configured to deliver air received from the drill rig and drill string (not shown); pp[0041], Fig. 3), the rotary drill bit comprising:
a plurality of legs (105; Fig. 1) each comprising:
a journal area (200) configured to rotatably support a cone (conical shaped cutter 103 is mounted at an end of each journal leg 105 so as to be capable of rotation relative to leg 105 and independent rotation about a separate axis relative to a general rotation of tool 100 and the drill string (not shown); pp[0036]);
a primary conduit (501) extending internally within the leg (105; Fig. 5) and configured to receive air from the air compressor (pp[0041], Fig. 5);
a first journal conduit (302; Fig. 5, pp[0049]) downstream from the primary conduit (501; Fig. 5) and extending to a first air orifice of the journal area (“air orifice” comprises the high friction contact surfaces between spindle 200, bearings 204, 205, 206; pp[0050]); and
a second journal conduit (400; pp[0050], Fig. 5) downstream from the primary conduit (501) and extending to a second air orifice of the journal area (comprises the high friction contact surfaces between spindle 200, bearings 204, 205, 206; pp[0050]), wherein a ratio of a cross-sectional diameter of the first journal conduit to a cross-sectional diameter of the second journal conduit is in a range of about 1 to about 1.4 (cross-sectional diameter of the first journal conduit 302 to a cross-sectional diameter of at least one of the second journal conduit 400 is about 1; Fig. 5).
Finnman is silent regarding the drilling machine comprising an air compressor and receiving air from the air compressor.
Regarding claim 19, in light of the 112(b) rejection above, Finnman further teaches wherein a ratio of a diameter of the rotary drill bit relative to a cross-sectional diameter of the primary conduit is in a range of about 13 to about 16.5 (a ratio of the diameter of the rotary drill bit 100 relative to a cross-sectional diameter of the primary conduit 105 is in a range of about 13 to about 16; Fig. 5).
Regarding claim 20, Finnman further teaches wherein each leg (105; Fig. 1) further comprises a plurality of cylindrical roller bearings (roller bearings 204, 206; Fig. 5, pp[0037]) on which the cone rotates (cone 103), wherein the cylindrical roller bearings are located between a first bearing surface (204 is between a first bearing surface as shown; Fig.5, 9) comprising the first air orifice (“air orifice” comprises the high friction contact surfaces between bearings 204; pp[0050]) and a second bearing surface 206 is between a second bearing surface; Fig. 5, 9) comprising the second air orifice (“air orifice” comprises the high friction contact surfaces between 206; pp[0050])).
Conclusion
/LAMIA QUAIM/Examiner, Art Unit 3676