DETAILED ACTION
Claim Status
Claims 1-20 are currently pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on 06/30/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The applicant argues that the combination of Kool/Sasao does not teach the limitation of “forming the at least one cleaning port in a trunnion of the open body”.
However, this argument is not persuasive. Kool teaches the step of forming a cleaning port (figure 1, #32 of Kool) in a cylindrical protrusion (see figure 1 of Kool) used as a mounting (the cylindrical protrusion is used for mounting the pump, see figure 1 of Kool). The definition of a trunnion is one of a pair or cylindrical protrusion used as a mounting and/or pivoting point (Retrieved in August 2026, from trunnion, trunnions- WordWeb dictionary definition). Therefore, the combination of Kool/Sasao teaches the limitation of forming the at least one cleaning port in a trunnion of the open body.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 5-10, 12, 14, 16, 17 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2008/0023037 to Kool et al. (hereinafter “Kool”) in view of US 2020/0165920 to Sasao et al. (hereinafter “Sasao”).
Regarding claim 1, Kool teaches a process for cleaning the internal channels or passages of metallic articles including turbine components such as buckets, blade or the like (reads on “hollow vane”) (see figure 1, and [0012]). The process comprising the steps of forming an open body, the open body including an interior (see figure 1), forming at least one cleaning port (figure 1, #32), wherein the at least one cleaning port (figure 1, #32 of Kool) is formed in a trunnion of the open body (see figure 1, the least one cleaning port is formed in a cylindrical protrusion used as a mounting (the cylindrical protrusion is used for mounting the pump, see figure 1 and [0019]), and at least one outlet port (figure 1, #34) in the open body proximate an exterior wall of the open body (see figure 1, and [0019-0021]), flowing a cleaning fluid through at least one flow passage [0019-0021], and removing debris from the at least one flow passage with the cleaning fluid [0021].
Kool does not teach the step of attaching a cover to the open body to form the at least one flow passage.
However, Sasao teaches a steam turbine blade including a blade body (figure 4, #7) (reads on “hollow vane”), an open body (figure 5, #701) including flow passages (see figures 3-4), and a cover (figure 5, #702) [0078].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method disclosed by Kool with the step of attaching a cover to the open body to form the at least one flow passage, with a reasonable expectation of success, for the purpose of protecting the internal channels or passages of the blade, and because Sasao teaches that it was known in the art to attach a cover (figure 5, #702 of Sasao) to an open body of a steam turbine blade ([0078] of Sasao).
Regarding claim 3, Kool/Sasao further teaches that the at least one internal flow passage is configured as multiple cooling channels that allow for cooling fluid and cleaning fluid to flow through the interior (see figure 1, and [0019-0021] of Kool).
Regarding claim 5, Kool/Sasao further teaches the step of configuring the at least one cleaning port (figure 1, #32 of Kool) with attachment hardware (see figure 1, and [0021] of Kool), and configuring the attachment hardware to operatively couple with a cleaning fluid supply conduit (see figure 1, and [0021] of Kool).
Regarding claim 6, Kool/Sasao further teaches the step of coupling the at least one cleaning port (figure 1, #32 of Kool) to a cleaning fluid supply conduit (see figure 1, and [0021] of Kool).
Regarding claim 7, Kool/Sasao further teaches the step of configuring the at least one cleaning port (figure 1, #32 of Kool) as a dual-purpose port allowing a flow of cooling/heating air and/or a flow of cleaning fluid (see figure 1, and [0019-0021] of Kool).
Regarding claim 8, Kool teaches a system for cleaning the internal channels or passages of metallic articles including turbine components such as buckets, blade or the like (reads on “hollow vane”) (see figure 1, and [0012]). The system comprising an open body having a single wall design defining an interior (see figure 1), at least one cleaning port (figure 1, #32) formed in the open body proximate to an exterior wall of the open body (see figure 1, and [0019]), wherein the at least one cleaning port (figure 1, #32 of Kool) is formed in a trunnion of the open body (see figure 1, the least one cleaning port is formed in a cylindrical protrusion used as a mounting (the cylindrical protrusion is used for mounting the pump, see figure 1 and [0019]), and at least on outlet port (figure 1, #34) formed in the open body proximate to the exterior wall of the open body (see figure 1, and [0019]).
Kool does not explicitly teach a cover brazed to the open body to form at least one internal flow.
However, Sasao teaches a steam turbine blade including a blade body (figure 4, #7) (reads on “hollow vane”), an open body (figure 5, #701), and a cover (figure 5, #702) [0078].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system disclosed by Kool with a cover brazed to the open body to form at least one internal flow, with a reasonable expectation of success, for the purpose of protecting the internal channels or passages of the blade, and because Sasao teaches that it was known in the art that a steam turbine blade can comprise a cover (figure 5, #702 of Sasao) ([0078] of Sasao).
Regarding claim 9, Kool/Sasao further teaches that the at least one cleaning port (figure 1, #32 of Kool) is configured with attachment hardware (see figure 1, and [0021] of Kool), and the attachment hardware is operatively couple with a cleaning fluid supply conduit (see figure 1, and [0021] of Kool).
Regarding claim 10, Kool/Sasao further teaches that the at least one internal flow passage is configured as multiple cooling channels that allow for cooling fluid and cleaning fluid to flow through the interior (see figure 1, and [0019-0021] of Kool).
Regarding claim 12, Kool/Sasao further teaches that the at least one cleaning port (figure 1, #32 of Kool) is configured as a dual-purpose port allowing a flow of cooling/heating air and/or a flow of cleaning fluid (see figure 1, and [0019-0021] of Kool).
Regarding claim 14, Kool teaches a process for cleaning the internal channels or passages of metallic articles including turbine components such as buckets, blade or the like (reads on “hollow vane”) (see figure 1, and [0012]). The process comprising the steps of forming an open body (see figure 1), and an interior (see figure 1), forming at least one cleaning port (figure 1, #32), wherein the at least one cleaning port (figure 1, #32 of Kool) is formed in a trunnion of the open body (see figure 1, the least one cleaning port is formed in a cylindrical protrusion used as a mounting (the cylindrical protrusion is used for mounting the pump, see figure 1 and [0019]), and at least one outlet port (figure 1, #34) in the open body proximate an exterior wall of the open body (see figure 1, and [0019-0021]), fluidly coupling a cleaning fluid supply to the at least one cleaning port (figure 1, #32) [0019-0021], flowing a cleaning fluid through at least one flow passage [0019-0021], and removing debris from the at least one flow passage with the cleaning fluid [0021].
Kool does not teach the open body including a leading edge opposite a trailing edge, a pressure side and suction side opposite the pressure side, and the steps of forming a cover, the cover being configured to couple with the open body proximate the pressure side to form the at least one flow passage, and attaching the cover to the open body.
However, Sasao teaches that a steam turbine blade including a blade body (figure 4, #7) (reads on “hollow vane”), an open body (figure 5, #701) including a leading edge opposite a trailing edge, a pressure side and suction side opposite the pressure side, and flow passages (see figures 3-4), and a cover (figure 5, #702) coupled with the open body proximate the pressure side to form at least one flow passage (see figure 5) [0078].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method disclosed by Kool wherein the open body includes a leading edge opposite a trailing edge, a pressure side and suction side opposite to the pressure side, and the steps of forming a cover, the cover being configured to couple with the open body proximate the pressure side to form the at least one flow passage, and attaching the cover to the open body, with a reasonable expectation of success, for the purpose of protecting the internal channels or passages of the blade, and because Sasao teaches a steam turbine blade comprising a blade body (figure 4, #7), an open body (figure 5, #701) including a leading edge opposite a trailing edge, a pressure side and suction side opposite the pressure side (see figure 4 of Sasao), and a cover (figure 5, #702 of Sasao) attached to the open body of a steam turbine blade (figures 4-5 and [0078] of Sasao).
Regarding claim 16, Kool/Sasao further teaches the step of configuring the at least one cleaning port (figure 1, #32 of Kool) as a dual-purpose port allowing a flow of cooling/heating air and/or a flow of cleaning fluid (see figure 1, and [0019-0021] of Kool).
Regarding claim 17, Kool/Sasao further teaches the step of configuring the at least one cleaning port (figure 1, #32 of Kool) with attachment hardware (see figure 1, and [0021] of Kool), and configuring the attachment hardware to operatively couple with a cleaning fluid supply conduit (see figure 1, and [0021] of Kool).
Regarding claim 19, Kool/Sasao further teaches the step of forming the at least one internal flow passage as multiple cooling channels that allow for cooling fluid and cleaning fluid to flow through the interior (see figure 1, and [0019-0021] of Kool).
Claims 2, 13 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2008/0023037 to Kool et al. (hereinafter “Kool”) in view of US 2020/0165920 to Sasao et al. (hereinafter “Sasao”), and in further view of US 2014/0255177 to Cadieux (hereinafter “Cadieux”, presented in the IDS filed on 01/28/2026).
Regarding claim 2, Kool/Sasao does not teach that the trunnion is a cylindrical protrusion extending from the open body configured as a pivoting point creating a fixed axis of rotation.
Cadieux teaches a cleaning port (see figure 7, #344) in a trunnion of an open body, wherein the trunnion is a cylindrical protrusion extending from the open body configured as a pivoting point creating a fixed axis of rotation ([0019] and figure 7).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus disclosed by Kool/Sasao wherein the trunnion is a cylindrical protrusion extending from the open body configured as a pivoting point creating a fixed axis of rotation, with a reasonable expectation of success, since Cadieux teaches that it is effective to locate a cleaning port in a trunnion of an open body for cleaning a guide vane, wherein the trunnion is a cylindrical protrusion extending from the open body configured as a pivoting point creating a fixed axis of rotation ([0019] and figure 7 of Cadieux).
Regarding claim 13, Kool/Sasao does not teach that the trunnion is a cylindrical protrusion extending from the open body configured as a pivoting point creating a fixed axis of rotation.
Cadieux teaches a cleaning port (see figure 7, #344) in a trunnion of an open body, wherein the trunnion is a cylindrical protrusion extending from the open body configured as a pivoting point creating a fixed axis of rotation ([0019] and figure 7).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus disclosed by Kool/Sasao wherein the trunnion is a cylindrical protrusion extending from the open body configured as a pivoting point creating a fixed axis of rotation, with a reasonable expectation of success, since Cadieux teaches that it is effective to locate a cleaning port in a trunnion of an open body for cleaning a guide vane, wherein the trunnion is a cylindrical protrusion extending from the open body configured as a pivoting point creating a fixed axis of rotation ([0019] and figure 7 of Cadieux).
Regarding claim 20, Kool/Sasao does not teach that the trunnion is a cylindrical protrusion extending from the open body configured as a pivoting point creating a fixed axis of rotation.
Cadieux teaches a cleaning port (see figure 7, #344) in a trunnion of an open body, wherein the trunnion is a cylindrical protrusion extending from the open body configured as a pivoting point creating a fixed axis of rotation ([0019] and figure 7).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method disclosed by Kool/Sasao wherein the trunnion is a cylindrical protrusion extending from the open body configured as a pivoting point creating a fixed axis of rotation, with a reasonable expectation of success, since Cadieux teaches that it is effective to locate a cleaning port in a trunnion of an open body for cleaning a guide vane, wherein the trunnion is a cylindrical protrusion extending from the open body configured as a pivoting point creating a fixed axis of rotation ([0019] and figure 7 of Cadieux).
Claims 4, 11, 15 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2008/0023037 to Kool et al. (hereinafter “Kool”) in view of US 2020/0165920 to Sasao et al. (hereinafter “Sasao”), and in further view of US 9,439,543 to Klingman Jr. (hereinafter “Klingman”).
Regarding claim 4, Kool/Sasao does not teach the step of forming an outlet port plug and configuring the outlet port plug removably coupled to the outlet port.
Klingman teaches a cleaning method for cleaning a bowl of an aircraft (column 2, lines 9-12). Klingman teaches a removable cap (figure 2, #18) coupled to a drain port (see figures 2-4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method disclosed by Kool/Sasao with the step of forming an outlet port plug, and configuring the outlet port plug removably coupled to the outlet port, with a reasonable expectation of success, since Klingman teaches a drain port including a removable cap for the purpose of covering the drain to keep it sealed, and for opening the drain for removing the rinsing fluid and/or disinfectant fluid from the tank (see figures 2-4, and column 2, lines 60-63 of Klingman).
Regarding claim 11, Kool/Sasao does not teach an outlet port plug removably coupled to the outlet port.
Klingman teaches a cleaning system for cleaning a bowl of an aircraft (column 2, lines 9-12). Klingman teaches a removable cap (figure 2, #18) coupled to a drain port (see figures 2-4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus disclosed by Kool/Sasao with an outlet port plug removably coupled to the outlet port, with a reasonable expectation of success, since Klingman teaches that it was known in the art that a drain port can include a removable cap for the purpose of covering the drain to keep it sealed, and for opening the drain for removing the disinfecting fluid and/or rinsing fluid from the tank (see figures 2-4, and column 2, lines 60-63 of Klingman).
Regarding claim 15, Kool/Sasao does not teach the steps of opening the at least one outlet port, removing an outlet port plug, discharging the cleaning fluid and entrained debris through the at least one outlet port.
Klingman teaches a cleaning method for cleaning a bowl of an aircraft (column 2, lines 9-12). Klingman teaches a removable cap (figure 2, #18) coupled to a drain port for the purpose of covering the drain to keep it sealed, and for opening the drain for removing the rinsing fluid and/or disinfectant fluid from the tank (see figures 2-4, and column 2, lines 60-63).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method disclosed by Kool/Sasao with the steps of opening the at least one outlet port, removing an outlet port plug, discharging the cleaning fluid and entrained debris through the at least one outlet port, with a reasonable expectation of success, since Klingman teaches a drain port including a removable cap for the purpose of covering the drain to keep it sealed, and for opening the drain for removing the rinsing fluid and/or disinfectant fluid from the tank (see figures 2-4, and column 2, lines 60-63 of Klingman).
Regarding claim 18, Kool/Sasao does not teach the step of forming an outlet port plug and configuring the outlet port plug removably coupled to the outlet port.
Klingman teaches a cleaning method for cleaning a bowl of an aircraft (column 2, lines 9-12). Klingman teaches a removable cap (figure 2, #18) coupled to a drain port (see figures 2-4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method disclosed by Kool/Sasao with the step of forming an outlet port plug, and configuring the outlet port plug removably coupled to the outlet port, with a reasonable expectation of success, since Klingman teaches a drain port including a removable cap for the purpose of covering the drain to keep it sealed, and for opening the drain for removing the rinsing fluid and/or disinfectant fluid from the tank (see figures 2-4, and column 2, lines 60-63 of Klingman).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/A.I.R/Examiner, Art Unit 1714
/KAJ K OLSEN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1714