DETAILED ACTION
Priority
2. Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
However, should applicant desire to perfect the priority claim, a certified English translation of the foreign application must be submitted in reply to this action. 37 CFR 41.154(b) and 41.202(e).
Failure to provide a certified translation may result in no benefit being accorded for the non-English application.
Information Disclosure Statement
3. The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on July 12, 2024 was filed on October 6, 2026. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
5. Claims 1, 11-12, 15, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kishimoto et al (US 2021/0036266 A1, hereafter Kishimoto).
Regarding claim 1, Kishimoto discloses a method for manufacturing a light-emitting device (Figs. 1B+21 1000; [0093]), comprising:
preparing a stacked body (Fig. 1B 100; [0082]) including a substrate (Fig. 1B 10; [0082]) and a semiconductor layer (Fig. 1B 20A; [0082]) on the substrate (10); and
separating (Figs. 16A+B; [0191]-[0193]) the substrate (10) from the semiconductor layer (20A) by irradiating (Figs. 3C; [0101]) the stacked body (100) with a laser light (Fig. 3C 216; [0101])),
a first region of the stacked body (100) corresponding to an outer perimeter region of the semiconductor layer (annotated Fig. 1A 201 encompasses outer edge area of 20A) and a second region of the stacked body (100) corresponding to a center region of the semiconductor layer (annotated Fig. 1A 202 encompasses central area of 20A) being simultaneously irradiated with the laser light (Fig. 4; [0105]; whole area of 20 being irradiated) during said separating,
an irradiation intensity of the laser light at the second region of the stacked body (Fig. 11; [0140]; intensity is lower past outermost peak going towards the dotted line bordering stacked body 1000) being greater than an irradiation intensity of the laser light at the first region of the stacked body (Fig. 11; [0140]; intensity is highest at peaks toward center of stacked body 1000).
Regarding claim 11, Kishimoto discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein
[AltContent: textbox (For the record, annotated figure (Fig. 1A of Kishimoto) denotes four regions (201, 202, 203, 204) on the semiconductor layer (20) of the stacked body (100).)] the stacked body (100) includes a plurality of semiconductor layers (Fig. 1B multiple 20A) provided on the substrate (10) and separated from each other (Fig. 1B shows 20A separate from each other), the plurality of semiconductor layers (20A) including the semiconductor layer (20A), and
during said separating, a region of the stacked body (10) that corresponds to the plurality of semiconductor layers (20A) and includes the first and second regions (201, 202) is irradiated (Figs. 4+11) to separate (Fig. 16B; [0193]) the plurality of semiconductor layers (20A) from the substrate (10).
Regarding claim 12, Kishimoto discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein
during said separating, a third region of the stacked body (annotated Fig. 1A 203) between the first region and the second region of the stacked body (203 between 201 and 202) is irradiated with the laser light simultaneously (Figs. 4+11) with the first and second regions (201, 202), and
an irradiation intensity of the laser light at the third region is greater (Fig. 11; [0140]; intensity between two peaks) than the irradiation intensity of the laser light at the first region (Fig. 11; intensity lower past outermost peak going towards the dotted line bordering stacked body 1000) and less than the irradiation intensity of the laser light at the second region (Fig. 11; intensity highest at peaks toward center of stacked body 1000).
Regarding claim 15, Kishimoto discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein
during said separating, a fourth region of the stacked body (annotated Fig. 1A 204) corresponding to a corner region of the semiconductor layer (204 is in corner of 20) is irradiated with the laser light simultaneously (Figs. 4+11) with the first and second regions (201, 202), and
an irradiation intensity of the laser light at the fourth region (Fig. 11; [0140]; lowest intensity at the dotted line bordering the corner of stacked body 1000) is less than the irradiation intensity of the laser light at the first region (Fig. 11; intensity is lower past outermost peak going towards the dotted line bordering stacked body 1000).
Regarding claim 19, Kishimoto discloses a separation method of a stacked body (Fig. 1B 100; [0093]) including a substrate (Fig. 1B 10; [0082]) and a semiconductor layer (Fig. 1B 20A; [0082]) on the substrate (10), comprising:
separating (Figs. 16A+B; [0191]-[0193]) the substrate (10) from the semiconductor layer (20A) by irradiating (Figs. 3C; [0101]) the stacked body (100) with a laser light (Fig. 3C 216; [0101])),
a first region of the stacked body (100) corresponding to an outer perimeter region of the semiconductor layer (annotated Fig. 1A 201 encompasses outer edge area of 20A) and a second region of the stacked body (100) corresponding to a center region of the semiconductor layer (annotated Fig. 1A 202 encompasses central area of 20A) being simultaneously irradiated with the laser light (Fig. 4; [0105]; whole area of 20 being irradiated) during said separating,
an irradiation intensity of the laser light at the second region of the stacked body (Fig. 11; [0140]; intensity lower past outermost peak going towards the dotted line bordering stacked body 1000) being greater than an irradiation intensity of the laser light at the first region of the stacked body (Fig. 11; [0140]; intensity highest at peaks toward center of stacked body 1000) .
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
7. Claims 2-3, 13, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kishimoto as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Taniguchi et al (JP 2010188418 A, hereafter Taniguchi).
Regarding claim 2, Kishimoto discloses the method according to claim 1.
Kishimoto fails to disclose said separating includes:
disposing a mask that is light-transmitting and includes a first area and a second area, at a side of the stacked body on which the laser light is incident, the first area corresponding to the first region of the stacked body and the second area corresponding to the second region of the stacked body; and irradiating the first area and the second area of the mask with the laser light at a same irradiation intensity.
Taniguchi discloses disposing a mask (Figs. 1+4 14; Pg. 4 Para. 4) that is light-transmitting (Fig. 4 16a; Pg. 4 Para. 4) and includes a first area (Fig. 4 edge areas towards extremes of 14) and a second area (Fig. 4 central area of 14). Taniguchi is analogous to Kishimoto in the field of lasers.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the mask of Taniguchi between the laser and the stacked body during the method of Kishimoto to improve the controllable parameters of the method by modulating the laser intensity on the irradiated stacked body.
Additionally, the combination of Kishimoto and Taniguchi discloses that at a side of the stacked body (100) on which the laser light (216) is incident (going through substrate 10), the first area corresponding to the first region of the stacked body (edges of Taniguchi 14 would cover 201) and the second area corresponding to the second region of the stacked body (center of Taniguchi 14 would cover 202); and
irradiating the first area and the second area of the mask (edges and center of 14) with the laser light (216) at a same irradiation intensity (Kishimoto Fig. 10; [0137]; laser intensity would be even across 14).
Regarding claim 3, Kishimoto and Taniguchi disclose the method according to claim 2, wherein the mask (14) includes one or more first light-shielding structures (Fig. 4 16b; Pg. 4 Para. 4) in the first area (edge area of 14).
Regarding claim 13, Kishimoto discloses the method according to claim 12.
Kishimoto fails to disclose said separating includes:
disposing a mask that is light-transmitting and includes a first area, a second area, and a third area, at a side of the stacked body on which the laser light is incident, the first, second, and third areas corresponding to the first, second, and third regions of the stacked body, respectively; and irradiating the first, second, and third areas of the mask with the laser light at a same irradiation intensity.
Taniguchi discloses disposing a mask (Figs. 1+4 14; Pg. 4 Para. 4) that is light-transmitting (Fig. 4 16a; Pg. 4 Para. 4) and includes a first area (Fig. 4 edge areas towards edges of 14), a second area (Fig. 4 central area of 14), and a third area (Fig. 4 area between edges and center of 14).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the mask of Taniguchi between the laser and the stacked body during the method of Kishimoto to improve the controllable parameters of the method by modulating the laser intensity on the irradiated stacked body.
Additionally, the combination of Kishimoto and Taniguchi discloses that at a side of the stacked body (100) on which the laser light (216) is incident (going through substrate 10), the first, second, and third areas corresponding to the first (area towards edges of Taniguchi 14 would cover 201), second (center area of Taniguchi 14 would cover 202), and third regions (area between edge and center of Taniguchi 14 would cover 203) of the stacked body (100), respectively; and
irradiating the first, second, and third areas of the mask (edge areas, center area, and area in between of 14, respectively) with the laser light (216) at a same irradiation intensity (Kishimoto Fig. 10; [0137]; laser intensity would be even across 14).
Regarding claim 16, Kishimoto discloses the method of 15.
Kishimoto fails to disclose said separating includes:
disposing a mask that is light-transmitting and includes a first area, a second area, and a fourth area, at a side of the stacked body on which the laser light is incident, the first, second, and fourth areas corresponding to the first, second, and fourth regions of the stacked body, respectively; and
irradiating the first, second, and fourth areas of the mask with the laser light at a same irradiation intensity.
Taniguchi discloses disposing a mask (Figs. 1+4 14; Pg. 4 Para. 4) that is light-transmitting (Fig. 4 16a; Pg. 4 Para. 4) and includes a first area (Fig. 4 edge areas towards edges of 14), a second area (Fig. 4 central area of 14), and a fourth area (Fig. 4 area at corner of edge of 14).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the mask of Taniguchi between the laser and the stacked body during the method of Kishimoto to improve the controllable parameters of the method by modulating the laser intensity on the irradiated stacked body.
Additionally, the combination of Kishimoto and Taniguchi discloses that at a side of the stacked body (100) on which the laser light (216) is incident (going through substrate 10), the first, second, and fourth areas corresponding to the first (area towards edges of Taniguchi 14 would cover 201), second (center area of Taniguchi 14 would cover 202), and fourth regions (area at corner of edge of Taniguchi 14 would cover 204) of the stacked body (100), respectively; and
irradiating the first, second, and fourth areas of the mask (edge areas, center area, and area at corners of 14, respectively) with the laser light (216) at a same irradiation intensity (Kishimoto Fig. 10; [0137]; laser intensity would be even across 14).
8. Claims 4-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kishimoto and Taniguchi as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of Zhang et al (CN 111326638 A, hereafter Zhang).
Regarding claim 4¸ Kishimoto and Taniguchi disclose the method according to claim 2, wherein the mask includes a plurality of first light-shielding structures (Fig. 4 16b) in the first area (edge area of 14).
Kishimoto and Taniguchi fail to disclose the mask includes a plurality of second light-shielding structures in the second area.
Zhang discloses a plurality of light-shielding structures (Fig. 1 130; Pg. 5 Para. 2-6). Zhang also discloses the structures can be of different sizes and different intervals (Pg. 5 Para. 2-6). Zhang is analogous to Kishimoto and Taniguchi in the field of lasers.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to adjust the distribution of light shielding structures (16b) on the mask (14) of Taniguchi to the desired configuration, as disclosed by Zhang, to improve control over the method of Kishimoto and Taniguchi by controlling areas exposed to the laser.
Regarding claim 5, Kishimoto, Taniguchi, and Zhang disclose the method according to claim 4.
Kishimoto, Taniguchi, and Zhang fail to explicitly disclose the density of the first light-shielding structures in the first area of the mask is greater than a density of the second light-shielding structures in the second area of the mask.
However, Taniguchi discloses that the light shielding structure is made of a metal or metal oxide (Pg. 4 Para. 4). Furthermore, Zhang discloses the light shielding structures can be made of a list of high temperature resistant material (Pg. 6 Para. 5-6). It is known in the art that these materials all have different densities from one another.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to change the material (and therefore density) of the first and second light shielding structures to be different from one another to satisfy the claimed relationship to further improve control over the intensity of the laser radiation being applied to the stack.
Regarding claim 6, Kishimoto, Taniguchi, and Zhang disclose the method according to claim 4, wherein
the plurality of first light-shielding structures (Taniguchi Fig. 4 16b on edge areas of 14) is regularly arranged (Zhang Pg. 5 Para. 3 discloses an even distribution of structures) in a direction in the first area of the mask (edge areas of 14) and the plurality of second light-shielding structures (16b on center area of 14) is regularly arranged (Zhang Pg. 5 Para. 3 discloses an even distribution of structures) in the direction in the second area of the mask (center area of 14),
each of the plurality of first light-shielding structures (16b on edge areas of 14) and each of the plurality of second light-shielding structures (16b on center area of 14) have a same footprint (Zhang Pg. 5 Para. 3 discloses structures having same size), and
a distance between centers of adjacent two of the plurality of second light-shielding structures in the direction is greater than a distance between adjacent two of the plurality of first light-shielding structures in the direction (Zhang Pg. 5 Para. 3 discloses different distribution between structures).
Regarding claim 7, Kishimoto, Taniguchi, and Zhang disclose the method according to claim 4, wherein
the mask (14) includes a light-transmitting member (Taniguchi Fig 4. 16a; Pg. 4 Para. 4) including a first surface (top of 14) that is positioned to face the stacked body (100) during said disposing and a second surface opposite to the first surface (bottom of 14), and
the plurality of first light-shielding structures (16b on edge areas of 14) and the plurality of second light-shielding structures (16b on center area of 14) are disposed on the first surface (top of 14).
Regarding claim 8, Kishimoto, Taniguchi, and Zhang disclose the method according to claim 4.
Kishimoto, Taniguchi, and Zhang fail to explicitly disclose a transmittance of the laser light through one of the first light-shielding structures is less than a transmittance of the laser light through one of the second light-shielding structures.
However, Taniguchi discloses that the light shielding structure is made of a metal or metal oxide (Pg. 4 Para. 4). Furthermore, Zhang discloses the light shielding structures can be made of a list of high temperature resistant material (Pg. 6 Para. 5-6) and can be different thicknesses (Pg. 6 2-4). It is known in the art that these materials all have different transmittances from each other.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to change the material (and therefore transmittance) of the first and second light shielding structures to be different from one another to satisfy the claimed relationship to further improve control over the intensity of the laser radiation being applied to the stack.
Regarding claim 9, Kishimoto, Taniguchi, and Zhang disclose the method according to claim 4.
Kishimoto, Taniguchi, and Zhang fail to explicitly disclose a transmittance of the laser light through one of the first light-shielding structures is greater than a transmittance of the laser light through one of the second light-shielding structures.
However, Taniguchi discloses that the light shielding structure is made of a metal or metal oxide (Pg. 4 Para. 4). Furthermore, Zhang discloses the light shielding structures can be made of a list of high temperature resistant material (Pg. 6 Para. 5-6) and can be different thicknesses (Pg. 6 2-4). It is known in the art that these materials all have different transmittances from each other.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to change the material (and therefore transmittance) of the first and second light shielding structures to be different from one another to satisfy the claimed relationship to further improve control over the intensity of the laser radiation being applied to the stack.
Regarding claim 10, Kishimoto, Taniguchi, and Zhang disclose the method according to claim 4. Kishimoto, Taniguchi, and Zhang do not explicitly disclose a thickness of the first light-shielding structures is different from a thickness of the second light-shielding structures.
However, Zhang discloses that the thickness of the light-shielding structures may differ from each other according to need (Pg. 6 Para. 2-4).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to adjust the thicknesses of the light shielding structure to satisfy the claimed relationship to further improve control over the intensity of the laser radiation being applied to the stack.
9. Claim 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kishimoto and Taniguchi as applied to claim 13 above, and further in view of Zhang.
Regarding claim 14, Kishimoto and Taniguchi disclose the method according to claim 13, wherein the mask includes a plurality of first light-shielding structures (Fig. 4 16b) in the first area (edge area of 14).
Kishimoto and Taniguchi fail to disclose the mask includes a plurality of second light-shielding structures in the second area and a plurality of third light-shielding structures in the third area, and
a density of the third light-shielding structures in the third area of the mask is greater than a density of the second light-shielding structures in the second area of the mask, and less than a density of the first light-shielding structures in the first area of the mask.
Zhang discloses a plurality of light-shielding structures (Fig. 1 130; Pg. 5 Para. 2-6), and the structures can be of different sizes and different intervals (Fig. 1 130; Pg. 5 Para. 2-6). Zhang also discloses the light shielding structures can be made of a list of high temperature resistant material (Pg. 6 Para. 5-6). It is known in the art that these materials all have different densities from one another.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to adjust the distribution of light shielding structures (16b) on the mask (14) of Taniguchi to the desired configuration, as disclosed by Zhang, and to change the material (and therefore density) of the first, second, and third light shielding structures to be different from each other to satisfy the claimed relationship to further improve control over the intensity of the laser radiation being applied to the stack.
10. Claim 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kishimoto and Taniguchi as applied to claim 16 above, and further in view of Zhang.
Kishimoto and Taniguchi disclose method according to claim 16, wherein the mask includes a plurality of first light-shielding structures (Fig. 4 16b) in the first area (edge area of 14).
Kishimoto and Taniguchi fail to disclose wherein the mask includes a plurality of second light-shielding structures in the second area and a plurality of fourth light-shielding structures in the fourth area,
a density of the first light-shielding structures in the first area of the mask is greater than a density of the second light-shielding structures in the second area of the mask, and
a density of the fourth light-shielding structures in the fourth area of the mask is greater than the density of the first light-shielding structures in the first area of the mask.
Zhang discloses a plurality of light-shielding structures (Fig. 1 130; Pg. 5 Para. 2-6), and the structures can be of different sizes and different intervals (Fig. 1 130; Pg. 5 Para. 2-6). Zhang also discloses the light shielding structures can be made of a list of high temperature resistant material (Pg. 6 Para. 5-6). It is known in the art that these materials all have different densities from one another.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to adjust the distribution of light shielding structures (16b) on the mask (14) of Taniguchi to the desired configuration, as disclosed by Zhang, and to change the material (and therefore density) of the first, second, and fourth light shielding structures to be different from each other to satisfy the claimed relationship to further improve control over the intensity of the laser radiation being applied to the stack.
11. Claim 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kishimoto as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Harumoto et al (US 2022/0352118 A1, hereafter Harumoto).
Regarding claim 18, Kishimoto discloses the method according to claim 1.
Kishimoto fails to explicitly disclose after said separating, mounting the semiconductor layer to a wiring substrate, so that a surface of the semiconductor layer that is opposite to a surface of the semiconductor layer separated from the substrate faces an upper surface of the wiring substrate.
Harumoto discloses after separating ([0065]), mounting the semiconductor layer (Fig. 27 13; [0063]) to a wiring substrate (Figs. 27+28 414; [0115]-[0116]), so that a surface of the semiconductor layer that is opposite to a surface of the semiconductor layer separated from the substrate (bottom surface of 13) faces (Figs. 27+28) an upper surface of the wiring substrate (top surface of 414). Harumoto is analogous to Kishimoto in the field of mounting semiconductors.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to expand on the method of Kishimoto with the method of Harumoto to include mounting to a wiring substrate after separation to manufacture the desired device.
Conclusion
12. The following art made of record and not relied upon is pertinent to applicant’s disclosure.
Lee et al (US 2020/0126963 A1) discloses using a laser lift off method to transfer LEDs to another substrate
Kaiser et al (US 2006/0246687 A1) discloses using a laser lift off method to transfer LEDs to another substrate
Ryu et al (US 2011/0183449 A1) discloses using a laser lift off method to transfer LEDs to another substrate with a mask
/MICHAEL B SUN/Examiner, Art Unit 2892
/KHIEM D NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2892