DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 11 February 2026 was filed in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claim 8 is objected to because of the following informalities:
In line 4 of claim 8, “a gravity anchor” should be changed to “the gravity anchor”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 8 - 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 8 recites the limitation "the gravity anchor" in line 4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by JP 5670128. JP 5670128 discloses a floating body (floating structure 10), comprising: a main body (main body 16); a fixing apparatus (base 34) arranged on the main body, wherein the fixing apparatus is configured to fix the gravity anchor (anchor 22) so that the gravity anchor is located below the floating body and floats with the floating body; wherein the gravity anchor is equipped with a buoyancy apparatus (temporary floating body 24), wherein the buoyancy apparatus is detachable and configured to provide buoyancy for the gravity anchor and be dismantled before sinking the gravity anchor (Figs. 1, 2, and 5 - 11; paragraphs 0017 - 0038). Examiner takes the position that the claim does not require the buoyancy apparatus to be directly connected to the gravity anchor because the phrase “equipped with” does not require a direct connection between the buoyancy apparatus and the gravity anchor. Examiner takes the position that the detachable buoyancy apparatus (24) as taught by JP 5670128 is capable of being dismantled before the sinking of the gravity anchor and, therefore, the apparatus as disclosed by JP 5670128 reads on the claim limitation(s).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 9 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JP 5670128 in view of Dove et al. IS 6,003,466).
Regarding claim 9, JP 5670128 further discloses a winch (32) arranged on the main body, wherein the winch is configured to sink the gravity anchor (22) (Fig. 11; paragraphs 0036 and 0037). JP 5670128 fails to disclose a crane arranged on the main body, wherein the crane is configured to sink the gravity anchor. Dove teaches a winch (12) and a crane (gantry crane 16) arranged on the main body (deck 26 of vessel 10) (Fig. 4; col. 2, lines 28 - 33; col. 3, lines 14 - 25). It would have been considered obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the invention, to have modified the winch as disclosed above with the winch and crane as taught by Dove to allow the position on the vessel from which the anchor is launched from the vessel to be modified based on environmental factors such as waves and currents and to allow multiple anchors to be launched from different positions on the vessel using a single crane, thereby reducing the amount of deck space required for anchor-launching equipment.
Regarding claim 10, JP 5670128 further discloses a vertical axis (see tower 4) wind turbine (wind turbine, not shown, mounted on tower 4) (Figs. 1, 2, and 11; paragraph 0018).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1, 3, 4, 6, and 7 are allowed.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see amendment, filed 12 March 2026, with respect to the objection to claim 1 and the rejection of claims 1, 3, 4, 6, and 7 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The aforementioned objection and rejection of claims 1, 3, 4, 6, and 7 have been withdrawn.
Applicant's arguments filed 12 March 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that the detachable temporary floating body 24 as taught by JP 5670128 it attached to the main body 16 and is not equipped on the anchor 22. Examiner replies that the claim does not require the buoyancy apparatus to be directly connected to the gravity anchor because the phrase “equipped with” does not require a direct connection between the buoyancy apparatus and the gravity anchor.
Applicant argues that the detachable temporary floating body 24 as taught by JP 5670128 will be dismantled after the anchor has reached the seabed rather than being dismantled before sinking the gravity anchor as recited in claim 8. Examiner replies that the detachable temporary floating body (24) as taught by JP 5670128 is capable of being dismantled before the sinking of the gravity anchor and, therefore, the apparatus as disclosed by JP 5670128 reads on the claim limitation(s).
Applicant argues that the detachable temporary floating body 24 as taught by JP 5670128 is attached to the main body 16 and is not attached to the anchor 22 and, therefore, the detachable temporary floating body 24 is not configured to provide buoyancy for the anchor 22. Examiner replies that since the anchor 22 is connected to the main body 16, the detachable temporary floating body 24 is configured to provide buoyancy for both the main body 16 and the anchor 22. Examiner replies that Figs. 7 and 8 of JP 5670128 illustrate the detachable temporary floating body 24 providing buoyancy for the main body 16 and the anchors 22.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SEAN D ANDRISH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3678
SA
4/30/2026