DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 7 is objected to under 37 CFR 1.75 as being a substantial duplicate of claim 6. When two claims in an application are duplicates or else are so close in content that they both cover the same thing, despite a slight difference in wording, it is proper after allowing one claim to object to the other as being a substantial duplicate of the allowed claim. See MPEP § 608.01(m).
Claim 17 is objected to under 37 CFR 1.75 as being a substantial duplicate of claim 16. When two claims in an application are duplicates or else are so close in content that they both cover the same thing, despite a slight difference in wording, it is proper after allowing one claim to object to the other as being a substantial duplicate of the allowed claim. See MPEP § 608.01(m).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Large (2011/0138903) in view of Li (2022/0049600).
With respect to claim 1, Large teaches disposing an acoustic logging tool into a borehole ([0019], lines 2-3), wherein the acoustic logging tool is configured to: transmit one or more acoustic waves into the borehole with one or more transmitters ([0037], lines 3-11); and receive one or more waveforms from the borehole or surrounding casing with an array of receivers, wherein one or more receivers from the array of receivers are in a shifted position ([0020], lines 4-6; [0036], lines 1-3) and the other receivers are at an in-line position ([0029], lines 1-6); calculating mud properties by comparing waveforms from receivers at the shifted position to waveforms from receivers at the in-line positions ([0029], lines 6-8). While it teaches comparing the waveforms of the receivers in the inline and shifted positions ([0029], lines 6-8), and it teaches the need for borehole measurements due to casing wear and teach and problems with the cement conditions ([0005]-[0006]), it does not specifically teach performing cement evaluation.
Li teaches performing cement evaluation ([0020], lines 9-14; [0021]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the present application to modify the method of Large with the cement evaluation of Li since such a modification would have allowed for correction or prevention of poor data due to cementation issues.
With respect to claim 11, Large teaches an acoustic logging tool disposed in a borehole ([0019], lines 2-3), wherein the acoustic logging tool is configured to: transmit one or more acoustic waves into the borehole with one or more transmitters ([0037], lines 3-11); and receive one or more waveforms from the borehole or surrounding casing with an array of receivers, wherein one or more receivers from the array of receivers are in a shifted position ([0020], lines 4-6; [0036], lines 1-3) and the other receivers are at an in-line position ([0029], lines 1-6); an information handling system ([0027]) configured to calculate mud properties by comparing waveforms from receivers at the shifted position to waveforms from receivers at the in-line positions ([0029], lines 6-8). While it teaches comparing the waveforms of the receivers in the inline and shifted positions ([0029], lines 6-8), and it teaches the need for borehole measurements due to casing wear and teach and problems with the cement conditions ([0005]-[0006]), it does not specifically teach performing cement evaluation.
Li teaches performing cement evaluation ([0020], lines 9-14; [0021]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the present application to modify the method of Large with the cement evaluation of Li since such a modification would have allowed for correction or prevention of poor data due to cementation issues.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-6, 8-10, 12-16, 18-20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art which is cited but not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
The references made herein are done so for the convenience of the applicant. They are in no way intended to be limiting. The prior art should be considered in its entirety.
/KRYSTINE E BREIER/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3645