DETAILED ACTION
Interview Attempt
A voicemail message was left after an attempt was made on 5/11/2026 to reach the Attorney of Record, Shuji Yoshizaki (Reg. No. 62,785) regarding a proposed Examiner’s Amendment to place the claims in condition for allowance. However, as of the writing and submission of this Office Action, no response has been received to the voicemail message.
Status of Claims
Pending and under examination: claims 1-15
Objected to: claim 5
Rejected: claims 1-15
Suggested Amendments
The Examiner recommends amending both claims 7 and 14 into independent claim 1, in order to help advance prosecution.
Claim Objections
Claim 5 is objected to because of the following informalities:
In the third line of claim 5, “are” should be “is”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Miyabara (US 20120182103 A1) in view of Sato et al. (JP2011200763A; Espacenet English machine translation cited and attached).
Regarding claims 1 and 6-9, with regard to the claimed “A method for forming a coating film of a UV curable resin on a surface of a rare earth magnet by coating the surface of the rare earth magnet with the UV curable resin composition and irradiating the UV curable resin composition with UV light to cure the UV curable resin composition,” Miyabara teaches A method of manufacturing a magnet which includes applying an ultraviolet curing resin on a magnet main body, and radiating an ultraviolet ray to the ultraviolet curing resin [0011]. The magnet is a rare earth magnet [0023].
With regard to the claimed “(B) curing the UV curable resin composition by irradiating the UV curable resin composition attached onto the surface of the rare earth magnet with UV light”, Miyabara teaches this limitation in [0028].
However, Miyabara is silent regarding the claimed “(A) attaching a droplet of a UV curable resin composition to a surface of a rare earth magnet by ejecting the droplet from a tip of a head by an inkjet system of ejecting droplets from the head”.
Sato teaches a method for forming a masking coating on a metal surface by inkjet method (Abstract), which further includes ejecting an ink composition containing polymerizable monomers that can be polymerized by active energy rays as ink droplets from an inkjet head; depositing the ejected ink droplets onto a metal surface having a surface tension of 55 to 75 mN/m; and irradiating the deposited droplets with active energy rays to form a masking layer on the metal, wherein the viscosity of the ink composition is 5 to 20 mPa·s, the surface tension of the ink composition is 20 to 40 mN/m, the ink droplet size is 1 to 15 pl, and the deposition resolution of the ink droplets is set to 600 dpi or higher [0012], which meets “(A)” in claim 1 and also meets the limitations in claims 6-9.
It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Miyabara with the technique of Sato, as doing so would heighten the patterning precision of the masking coating and make the surface smooth (Abstract, Sato).
Regarding claims 2-4, Sato teaches that the to prevent pinholes from occurring in the masking area (resist pattern), ink droplets of inkjet ink are typically deposited in an overlapping manner. In that overlapping area, ink droplets inevitably land on the ink film [0010] (meeting the claimed “connecting…” limitations in claims 2-3). Since the surface tension of ink droplets and ink films are almost the same, ink droplets that land on an ink film are far less likely to wet and spread compared to ink droplets that land on a metal surface [0010].
Sato further teaches: “Furthermore, the number of print passes is primarily determined by the nozzle spacing of the inkjet head and the ink droplet landing resolution. For example, to print with an ink droplet landing resolution of 1,440 dpi using an inkjet head with a nozzle spacing of 68 μm, the head must be moved 17 μm each time, and the print must be completed in four passes. This is to print the gaps that are formed due to the nozzle spacing of the inkjet head. Additionally, to improve rendering quality, printing may be done using four or more passes, such as eight, sixteen, or even more passes. This is to make the slight deviations in ink flight and variations in ink droplet size inherent in individual inkjet nozzles less noticeable by using a large number of nozzles randomly during printing. Thus, increasing the number of print passes can sometimes improve print quality.”
As such, it is implicit that the droplets are sequentially injected, because the nozzle is not continuously injecting a stream; rather, individual droplets means that the droplets must be sequentially ejected, meeting the respective limitations in claims 2-3. The printing being done using four or more passes meets the claimed “repeated” limitations of claims 3-4.
With regard to the repeating A and B sequentially, it has been held that selection of any order of performing process steps is prima facie obvious in the absence of new or unexpected results (MPEP 2144.04 IV. C.). As such, it would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Miyabara in view of Sato, in order to sequentially repeat steps A and B, as doing so would allow for finely controlling the characteristics of the ejected droplets, due to there being less of a waiting time before the liquid droplets (which spread) cure (i.e. solidify, and stop spreading).
Regarding claim 5, Sato teaches that the ink droplet is irradiated within 1.5 seconds after ejection [0012], which overlaps with the claimed range. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists (MPEP 2144.05 I.). Similarly, a prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges or amounts do not overlap with the prior art but are merely close (MPEP 2144.05 I.).
Regarding claim 10, Miyabara is silent regarding the claimed compound, but Sato teaches using a polymerizable monomer including a methacrylic group [0023], which is a radical acrylic monomer.
Regarding claim 11, Sato teaches that the thickness is 4-25 µm [0045], which overlaps with the claimed range. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists (MPEP 2144.05 I.). Similarly, a prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges or amounts do not overlap with the prior art but are merely close (MPEP 2144.05 I.).
Regarding claims 12-13, Miyabara and Sato do not explicitly teach the average roughness Ra in claim 12 or Rz in claim 13, but Sato does teach that the surface of the resin film is smooth [0077]. Sato also teaches the following process of making:
Sato further teaches: “Furthermore, the number of print passes is primarily determined by the nozzle spacing of the inkjet head and the ink droplet landing resolution. For example, to print with an ink droplet landing resolution of 1,440 dpi using an inkjet head with a nozzle spacing of 68 μm, the head must be moved 17 μm each time, and the print must be completed in four passes. This is to print the gaps that are formed due to the nozzle spacing of the inkjet head. Additionally, to improve rendering quality, printing may be done using four or more passes, such as eight, sixteen, or even more passes. This is to make the slight deviations in ink flight and variations in ink droplet size inherent in individual inkjet nozzles less noticeable by using a large number of nozzles randomly during printing. Thus, increasing the number of print passes can sometimes improve print quality.”
Sato further teaches that the thickness is 4-25 µm [0045]. Thus, in view of the substantially identical process of making, compared to that in the instant specification, and the substantially similar droplet amounts, resolution, and film thickness, it is prima facie expected that the roughness overlaps with or is close to the claimed range. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists (MPEP 2144.05 I.). Similarly, a prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges or amounts do not overlap with the prior art but are merely close (MPEP 2144.05 I.).
Regarding claim 14, Miyabara and Sato do not explicitly teach the claimed coating film density, but Sato teaches that the monomer that may be used includes a polymerizable monomer including a methacrylic group [0023], which is a radical acrylic monomer. It is prima facie expected that the density overlaps with, or is close, but not overlapping with the claimed range. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists (MPEP 2144.05 I.). Similarly, a prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges or amounts do not overlap with the prior art but are merely close (MPEP 2144.05 I.).
Regarding claim 15, Miyabara and Sato are silent regarding the magnet being a sintered magnet; however, the Examiner takes Official Notice that it would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute Miyabara’s magnet with a sintered magnet and performing the same process, as doing so would allow for rust-proofing and protecting the surface of any virtually any conventionally produced magnet, such as a sintered magnet.
Conclusion
/ADIL A. SIDDIQUI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1735