DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 10 recites the limitation "said cockpit" in line 8. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Akatsuka et al. (US 20240085905).
Regarding claim 10: Akatsuka discloses a motor vehicle 100, 200 (Fig. 1; [0044]). Akatsuka discloses a passenger compartment (Fig. 1 – compartment for O; [0016]). Akatsuka discloses a plurality of driving members 150 ([0048]), which are housed inside said passenger compartment and can be operated by a driver in order to control the trajectory and the speed of said motor vehicle ([0048], [0072]). Akatsuka discloses at least one control member connected to at least one driving member through a drive by wire mode ([0055]). Akatsuka discloses a cockpit (Fig. 1 – compartment for O; [0016]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1-9 and 11-16 are allowed.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter.
Vehicle cockpit (passenger compartment) structures including frames, seats, seat cushions, steering wheels, and operation pedals as well as their positioning and configuration are well known in the arts. Further autonomous and remote controlled vehicles are also known to include a vehicle cockpit, driving members, steering wheels, wheels, brakes, operator pedals, and drive by wire mode. Representative art which appears close to the claimed invention includes Akatsuka et al. (US 20240085905), Ostertag (US 20230356766), Schmid (US 20240190515), Brncick et al. (US 20110012386), Nagel et al. (US 20200353854), Bonk et al. (US 20180264975), Gandhi et al. (US 11370330), Hancock et al. (US 7237847), Nawrocki et al. (US 11358494), Tulley (US 4846529), Lathers, (US 3236556), and Palm et al. (US 20200238856). In general, this art, alone or in combination, discloses various recited features, including but not limited to, a cockpit/passenger compartment for a motor vehicle, a frame which can be fixed to the motor vehicle. first and second seat cushions. first and second backrests, a central tunnel, a plurality of driving members housed inside the passenger compartment and can be operated by a driver in order to control the trajectory and the speed of said motor vehicle, and at least one control member connected to at least one driving member through a drive by wire mode. Thus, upon reviewing these cited publications, and their included references, it appears that the claimed subject matter might teach a generally known concept. However, this art fails to disclose or fairly suggest the specifically recited structural components and their positional relationships both in the first and the second configuration. Specifically, the art does not disclose the various detailed structures of the seating arrangements and seating support positioning as combined with the remaining limitations in the independent claims. It could be argued that the individual structure is generally known in the art and thus, could just be assembled to disclose the claimed invention. However, the instant invention clearly and specifically recites structural relationships and combinations, which require a greater effort than just cobbling together known structures. Further, the claimed structures are sufficiently detailed to be distinguishable when configured as claimed. The examiner can find no motivation to combine or modify the references which would define a fully functioning apparatus as claimed in the instant application. Thus, it would not have been within routine skill to glean the specifically combined limitations of the instant invention, from the art, without the benefit of hindsight reasoning or extensive experimentation.
Conclusion
/Taras P Bemko/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3672
5/1/2026