DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 are pending in the present application.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 12/4/2024 was filed. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 2, 4, 5, and 14 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over respective claims 1, 2, 3, 4, and 1 of U.S. Patent No. 12,061,103. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the instant claims 1, 2, 4, 5, and 14 are broader recitations of respective claims 1, 2, 3, 4, and 1 of U.S. Patent No. 12,061,103.
Claims 1 and 14 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over respective claims 1 and 8 of U.S. Patent No. 12,553,751. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the instant claims 1 and 14 are broader recitations of respective claims 1 and 8 of U.S. Patent No. 12,553,751.
Claims 1 and 14 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over respective claims 1 and 16 of U.S. Patent No. 12,492,926. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the instant claims 1 and 14 are broader recitations of respective claims 1 and 16 of U.S. Patent No. 12,492,926.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 5, and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Harsh et al. (US PGPUB 2020/0400477 A1, hereinafter Harsh).
Regarding claim 1, Harsh teaches a sensor assembly (see Abstract; see also 14A-B, all elements) comprising: a substrate comprising an outer region, an inner region, and a middle region positioned between the outer region and the inner region (see Fig. 14 and 14A, substrate 20 includes outer (left) region, inner (right) region) and middle region between the outer (left) region and inner (right) region), the substrate further comprising electrical contact pads on at least the inner region (see Fig. 14B, substrate 20 comprises electrical contact pads 25 for connecting to contacts 51/52 of the sensor device 22); a housing coupled to the substrate at the outer region to provide a hermetic seal (see Fig. 14A and [0081], outer (left) region of the substrate 20 is encased in potting material (housing) 39 and forms a pressure seal, thus considered hermetically sealed); and a sensor device coupled to the substrate, via the electrical contact pads, at the inner region (see Fig. 12 and 14B, sensor device 22 coupled to the substrate via the electrical pads of conductors 24-27 as shown).
Regarding claim 5, Harsh above teaches all of the limitations of claim 1.
Furthermore, Harsh teaches that the housing (39) comprises a gas-facing surface and an opposing surface opposite the gas-facing surface (see Fig. 14 and 14A, gas-facing surface considered the right gas facing surface and the opposing surface is on the left side facing surface as shown in Fig. 14), wherein the housing has a slot formed therethrough, and wherein the substrate is disposed in the slot such that the inner region of the substrate extends from the gas-facing surface (see Fig. 14, potting compound 39 surrounds the rectangular substrate 20 and thus forms a slot holding the substrate 20, wherein the inner (right) region of the substrate 20 extends ultimately from the gas facing surface as shown).
Regarding claim 14, Harsh teaches a method of manufacturing a sensor assembly (see Abstract; see also 14A-B, all elements; see also [0076]-[0085], method of manufacturing sensor assembly described), the method comprising: providing a substrate comprising an outer region, an inner region, and a middle region positioned between the outer region and the inner region (see Fig. 14-14A and [0076]-[0085], substrate 20 provided and includes outer (left) region, inner (right) region) and middle region between the outer (left) region and inner (right) region), the substrate further comprising electrical contact pads on at least the inner region (see Fig. 14B, substrate 20 comprises electrical contact pads 25 for connecting to contacts 51/52 of the sensor device 22); coupling a sensor device to the substrate at the inner region (see Fig. 12 and 14B, sensor device 22 coupled to the substrate via the electrical pads of conductors 24-27 as shown); and coupling the substrate to a housing at the outer region to form a hermetic seal (see Fig. 14A and [0081], outer (left) region of the substrate 20 is encased in potting material (housing) 39 and forms a pressure seal, thus considered hermetically sealed).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Harsh as applied to claims 1 and 14 above, and further in view of Halimi (US PGPUB 2020/0309582 A1, hereinafter Halimi).
Regarding claim 2, Harsh above teaches all of the limitations of claim 1.
Harsh above fails to teach a conformal coating deposited on at least a portion of the sensor assembly.
Halimi teaches a sensor assembly (see Abstract; see also Fig. 11, sensor assembly 30), including a conformal coating deposited on at least a portion of the sensor assembly (see Fig. 11, conformal coating 53 covers the sensor assembly as shown).
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, to modify the device of Harsh such that a conformal coating was deposited on at least a portion of the sensor assembly as suggested by Halimi. This allows for a sensor assembly to be placed directly into fluid flow without being harmed by the liquid moving past as described by Halimi (see [0090]), thereby increasing the durability of the sensor assembly.
Regarding claim 15, Harsh above teaches all of the limitations of claim 14.
Harsh above fails to teach depositing a conformal coating on at least a portion of the sensor assembly, wherein the conformal coating is deposited using an atomic layer deposition process, and wherein the conformal coating comprises Al2O3.
Halimi teaches a sensor assembly (see Abstract; see also Fig. 11, sensor assembly 30), including a conformal coating deposited on at least a portion of the sensor assembly (see Fig. 11, conformal coating 53 covers the sensor assembly as shown); wherein the conformal coating may be deposited using an atomic layer deposition process (see [0091]).
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, to modify the device of Harsh such that a conformal coating was deposited on at least a portion of the sensor assembly as suggested by Halimi. This allows for a sensor assembly to be placed directly into fluid flow without being harmed by the liquid moving past as described by Halimi (see [0090]), thereby increasing the durability of the sensor assembly.
Furthermore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, to modify the conformal coating such that was considered as a material for the conformal coating. This is because aluminum oxide is an electrical insulator with high thermal conductivity as is known in the art and would be suitable for the applications of both Harsh and Halimi. Finally, it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use. See MPEP 2144.07.
Claims 3, 4, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Harsh.
Regarding claim 3, Harsh above teaches all of the limitations of claim 1.
Furthermore, Harsh teaches that the sensor device comprises a free-standing sensing element coupled to a support structure (see Fig. 14B, sensor device 22 floats via the support contacts 52).
Harsh fails to specifically teach that the sensor device is secured to the substrate such that the support structure is in perpendicular orientation relative to a gas flow direction.
However, Harsh further teaches that the sensor device is may be covered by a shield (see Fig. 14 and [0076], optional shield 18 is provided).
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, to orient the sensor device and substrate of Harsh in any rotational direction relative to fluid/gas flow direction. This is because by covering the sensor device of Harsh with a cylindrical shield as described, the sensor device would be capable of accurately measuring, in this case temperature, regardless of the orientation of the of the sensor device and substrate relative to the fluid/gas flow direction.
Regarding claim 4, Harsh above teaches all of the limitations of claim 1.
Furthermore, Harsh teaches that the sensor device comprises a free-standing sensing element coupled to a support structure (see Fig. 14B, sensor device 22 floats via the support contacts 52).
Harsh fails to specifically teach that the sensor device is secured to the substrate such that the support structure is in parallel orientation relative to a gas flow direction.
However, Harsh further teaches that the sensor device is may be covered by a shield (see Fig. 14 and [0076], optional shield 18 is provided).
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, to orient the sensor device and substrate of Harsh in any rotational direction relative to fluid/gas flow direction. This is because by covering the sensor device of Harsh with a cylindrical shield as described, the sensor device would be capable of accurately measuring, in this case temperature, regardless of the orientation of the of the sensor device and substrate relative to the fluid/gas flow direction.
Regarding claim 17, Harsh above teaches all of the limitations of claim 14.
Harsh above fails to specifically teach prior to providing the substrate: machining the substrate, wherein the substrate is sapphire, and wherein the substrate is rounded, and metalizing electrical contact pads on the inner region of the substrate.
However, Harsh does teach that the substrate is sapphire (see [0078]) and wherein the substrate is metalized with electrical contact pads on the inner region of the substrate (see [0079], substrate 20 is metalized with the electrical contact pads 24-27).
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, to modify the method of Harsh such that the sapphire substrate was machined and such that the substrate was rounded. This would allow for the substrate to match the shape of the sensor of Harsh, thereby reducing the amount of sapphire required for the sensor assembly.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6-11, 16, and 18-20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claims 6-11, 16, and 18-20, Harsh in view of Halimi above represents the best art of record. However, Harsh in view of Halimi fails to encompass all of the limitations of dependent claims 6, 16, and 20.
Specifically, Harsh in view of Halimi fails to critically teach that the sensor device is coupled to the electrical contact pads via a first seal, wherein the substrate is secured to the housing at the outer region via a second seal, and wherein an o-ring is disposed between the substrate and the housing (claim 6); securing the sensor device to the substrate by forming a first seal between the electrical contact pads on the substrate and electrical contacts on the sensor device, wherein the sensor device comprises a free-standing sensing element coupled to a support structure, and wherein the sensor device is secured to the substrate such that the support structure is in perpendicular orientation relative to a gas flow direction, and securing the substrate to the housing by forming a second seal between the substrate and the housing (claim 16); OR wherein the housing comprises a gas-facing surface and an opposing surface opposite to the gas-facing surface, wherein the housing has a slot formed therethrough, and wherein the method further comprises, prior to coupling the substrate to the housing at the outer region, inserting the substrate coupled to the sensor device into the slot formed through the housing such that the inner region of the substrate extends from the gas-facing surface (claim 20).
Hence the best prior art or record fails to teach the invention as set forth in dependent claims 6, 16, and 20 and the examiner can find no teachings for a sensor assembly or method of manufacturing a sensor assembly as particularly claimed and including the above limitations, nor reasons within the cited prior art or on his own to combine the elements of these references other than the applicant's own reasoning to fully encompass the current pending claims.
Claims 12 and 13 are allowed.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
Regarding claims 12 and 13, Harsh in view of Halimi above represents the best art of record. However, Harsh in view of Halimi fails to encompass all of the limitations of independent claim 12.
Regarding claim 12, Harsh teaches a sensor assembly (see Abstract; see also 14A-B, all elements) comprising: a multi-layered ceramic substrate (see [0078], ceramic substrate 20 may be a laminated structure and thus considered multi-layered) comprising an outer region, an inner region, and a middle region positioned between the outer region and the inner region (see Fig. 14 and 14A, substrate 20 includes outer (left) region, inner (right) region) and middle region between the outer (left) region and inner (right) region), the multi-layered ceramic substrate further comprising electrical contact pads on at least the inner region (see Fig. 14B, substrate 20 comprises electrical contact pads 25 for connecting to contacts 51/52 of the sensor device 22); a housing coupled to the multi-layered ceramic substrate at the outer region to provide a hermetic seal (see Fig. 14A and [0081], outer (left) region of the substrate 20 is encased in potting material (housing) 39 and forms a pressure seal, thus considered hermetically sealed); and a sensor device coupled to the multi-layered ceramic substrate, via the electrical contact pads, at the inner region (see Fig. 12 and 14B, sensor device 22 coupled to the substrate via the electrical pads of conductors 24-27 as shown).
Harsh fails to specifically teach a sensor assembly comprising: a multi-layered ceramic substrate comprising a first end and a second end opposite the first end, wherein the first end comprises a first outer region, an inner region, and a first middle region positioned between the first outer region and the inner region, wherein the second end comprises a second outer region, and a second middle region positioned between the second outer region and the inner region, wherein the multi-layered ceramic substrate comprises electrical contact pads formed between layers of the multi-layered ceramic substrate, the electrical contact pads extending throughout the multi-layered ceramic substrate from the first end to the second end; a housing coupled to the multi-layered ceramic substrate at the first middle region and at the second middle region to form a hermetic seal; a sensor device coupled to the substrate, via the electrical contact pads, at the inner region; and a conformal coating deposited on at least a portion of the sensor assembly.
Halimi teaches a sensor assembly (see Abstract; see also Fig. 11, sensor assembly 30), including a conformal coating deposited on at least a portion of the sensor assembly (see Fig. 11, conformal coating 53 covers the sensor assembly as shown).
However, Halimi also fails to teach a sensor assembly comprising: a multi-layered ceramic substrate comprising a first end and a second end opposite the first end, wherein the first end comprises a first outer region, an inner region, and a first middle region positioned between the first outer region and the inner region, wherein the second end comprises a second outer region, and a second middle region positioned between the second outer region and the inner region, wherein the multi-layered ceramic substrate comprises electrical contact pads formed between layers of the multi-layered ceramic substrate, the electrical contact pads extending throughout the multi-layered ceramic substrate from the first end to the second end; a housing coupled to the multi-layered ceramic substrate at the first middle region and at the second middle region to form a hermetic seal; a sensor device coupled to the substrate, via the electrical contact pads, at the inner region.
Hence the best prior art or record fails to teach the invention as set forth in independent claim 12 and the examiner can find no teachings for a sensor assembly sensor assembly as particularly claimed and including the above limitations, nor reasons within the cited prior art or on his own to combine the elements of these references other than the applicant's own reasoning to fully encompass the current pending claims.
Conclusion
/NATHANIEL T WOODWARD/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2855