DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) (IDS) was/were filed on 15 July 2024, 26 July 2024, 16 January 2025, 11 March 2025, and 28 August 2025. The submissions are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97, and therefore are considered by the examiner.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
The following title is suggested: “METROLOGY SYSTEM WITH A PLURALITY OF COORDINATE MEASURING DEVICES FOR POSITION TRACKING OF A SCANNING DEVICE” or something similar and sufficiently descriptive.
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Objections
Regarding claim 1, the claim lacks a clear transitional phrase between the preamble of the claim and the body of the claim. The claim should be amended to recite “A metrology system, comprising:”, including the transitional phrase “comprising” instead of “A metrology system with:”.
Regarding claim 8, the claim recites “a disturbing of a generation of coordinate measuring data” and “a disturbing of a tracking signal for tracking the movable accessory device”. “Disturbing” should be corrected to “disturbance” to read “a disturbance of a generation of coordinate measuring data…” and “a disturbance of a tracking signal…” for appropriate grammar.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier.
Regarding claim 1, the claim recites the limitation “coordinate measuring device” and “movable accessory device” which use the generic placeholder “device” that are coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier.
Accordingly, “coordinate measuring device” is interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) as corresponding to a laser tracker, a camera system, a tachymeter, a theodolite, a projection scanner, laser scanner, time of flight measuring unit, or laser radar unit (at least applicant’s specification page 12 paragraph 4), and any equivalents thereof.
The “movable accessory device” is interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) as corresponding to a tactile, laser, or camera based probing or scanning device, a tool or a laser tracker (applicant’s specification page 3 paragraph 2 and claim 6), and any equivalents thereof.
Regarding claim 8, the claim recites the limitation “recognizer” which is a generic placeholder and is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier.
Accordingly, the limitation “recognizer” is interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) as corresponding to a computer, and any equivalents thereof, since the recognizer is “based on a computer vision algorithm to detect and track objects in a video stream” (applicant’s specification page 4 paragraph 1 and page 60 paragraph 3), and aspects of the invention relate to computer program products stored on machine-readable media executable by a computing device (applicant’s specification page 15 paragraph 2) - i.e. the recognizer is run on a computer since it is based on the computer vision algorithm to detect and track objects in the video stream.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1, the claim recites the limitation “the position of the movable accessory device” on line 23. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Examiner will interpret the limitation such that any position of the movable accessory device will read on the claim. Examiner notes that the movable accessory device has been disclosed as being located within a first measurement area, but “the position” of the movable accessory device in particular has not been introduced.
Regarding claim 6, the claim recites the limitation “the trigger signal” on page 3 line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Examiner will interpret the limitation such that any trigger signal will read on the claim. “Trigger signal” has been given antecedence in claim 2 but claim 6 depends from claim 1.
Regarding claim 7, the claim recites the limitation “the trigger signal” on line 11. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Examiner will interpret the limitation such that any trigger signal will read on the claim. As with the preceding claim, “trigger signal” has been given antecedence in claim 2 but claim 7 depends from claim 1.
Claims 2-5 and 8 are rejected due to their dependence on the deficiency of claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2014/0046589 A1 by Bernhard Metzler et al. (herein after “Metzler”) in view of US 2003/0227616 A1 by Robert E. Bridges (herein after “Bridges”). Examiner notes the reference Metzler was cited in the IDSs filed 15 July 2024 and 16 January 2025.
Regarding claim 1, Metzler discloses a metrology system (Metzler title; system for determining 3D coordinates of an object surface i.e. metrology), with
at least a first and a second coordinate measuring device in each case configured to automatically track a movable accessory device and to generate coordinate measuring data for determining a position of the movable accessory device (Metzler fig. 3 and [0118] discloses two laser trackers 30a and 30b [first and second coordinate measuring devices]; the laser trackers determine six degrees of freedom for an air vehicle 20 [automatically tracking a movable accessory device]; the trackers 30a,30b send signals to a control unit containing current position and orientation of the air vehicle [determining a position of the movable accessory device]), wherein
the first and second coordinate measuring device are arranged in a fixed positional relationship such that the coordinate measuring data generated by the first and the second coordinate measurement device are referenceable to a common coordinate system (Metzler [0118] discloses the determination of the six degrees of freedom of the air vehicle 20 by each of the laser trackers 30a and 30b; therefore, they are each referenceable to the common coordinate system of the air vehicle)
the movable accessory device, configured for scanning or probing of an object (Metzler fig. 3 and [0118] discloses the scanning of an object 60 via a scanner 21 on the air vehicle 20 [movable accessory device configured for scanning of an object]), and/or for carrying out an intervention on the object (this limitation is not considered due to the “and/or” between the previous limitation), wherein
the first coordinate measuring device is configured to track the movable accessory device and to generate coordinate measuring data when the movable accessory device is located within a first measurement area (Metzler [0118] discloses at least the first laser tracker 30a generates coordinate measuring data of the air vehicle 20; coordinate measuring data is obtained with the air vehicle 20 inherently being in a measurement area [the associated measurement area is a “first” measurement area]),
the second coordinate measuring device is configured to track the movable accessory device and to generate coordinate measuring data when the movable accessory device is located within a second measuring area (Metzler [0118] discloses at least the second laser tracker 30b also generates coordinate measuring data of the air vehicle 20; coordinate measuring data is obtained with the air vehicle 20 inherently being in a measurement area [the associated measurement area is a “second” measurement area]; additionally, [0120] discloses the redundancy of the measuring system, such that depending on the location of the air vehicle 20, one or the other laser tracker 30a or 30b is responsible for tracking and/or measurement [first and second measurement areas exist and are measured respectively by the first and second coordinate measuring devices]),
the system is configured to send out a position signal while the movable accessory device is located within the first measuring area, the position signal providing positional information regarding the position of the movable accessory device (see rejection under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) above; Metzler fig. 3 and [0118] discloses position signals 35 which are sent by both the first and second laser trackers 30a, 30b which contains information regarding the position and orientation of the scanner 21 [position of the movable accessory device]; since the signal is sent by at least the first laser tracker 30a, the movable accessory device is located within the first measurement area]),
the second coordinate measuring device is configured to initiate tracking the movable accessory device based on the position signal (Metzler [0120] discloses the transferal of the tracking and/or measurement of the air vehicle 20 based on the position of the air vehicle 20 [i.e. when the air vehicle 20 is outside of a range of detection of at least the first laser tracker 30a]).
Metzler is silent to wherein the first and second coordinate measuring devices are configured to communicate to each other.
However, Bridges does address this limitation. Metzler and Bridges are considered to be analogous to the present invention because they are systems which utilize laser tracking systems to track the location of a reflecting target.
Bridges discloses “wherein the first and second coordinate measuring devices are configured to communicate to each other” (Bridges [0018] and fig. 1 disclose two trackers 22 and 24 [analogous to the laser trackers 30a and 30b of Metzler and therefore the first and second coordinate measuring devices]; synchronization of the trackers is provided by a signal sent from one tracker to another [trackers are configured to communicate with one another]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Metzler to incorporate wherein the first and second coordinate measuring devices are configured to communicate to each other as suggested by Bridges for the advantage of increasing the ease at which synchronization between the two trackers can be achieved, as it is necessary if the trackers are moved to new positions or otherwise undergo a change in their frame of reference (Metzler [0018]).
Regarding claim 2, Metzler when modified by Bridges discloses the system according to claim 1, and Metzler further teaches the system wherein the first measuring area comprises a transition area interfacing with the second measuring area (Metzler [0120] discloses the transition from one laser tracker to the other laser tracker 30a and 30b based on a sight restriction of the air vehicle 20 being detected – there exists an area that, when the air vehicle enters said area, a line of sight of one tracker to the air vehicle is restricted; the location where that occurs is considered as a transition area, since transferal of the tracking/measurement of the air vehicle 20 is occurs from one laser tracker to the other [i.e. from the first measuring area to the second measuring area]), wherein
the system, particularly the first coordinate measuring device, is configured to send out a trigger signal when the movable accessory device is located within the transition area (Metzler [0120]; at the time of a sight restriction of the air vehicle with at least laser tracker 30a [first coordinate measuring device], transferal of the tracking or measurement of the air vehicle 20 to laser tracker 30b occurs [the trigger signal is considered the signal by which the transferal of the tracking or measurement of the movable accessory device to the second coordinate measuring device occurs; per the previous limitation, this occurs within a transition area [movement from the first measuring area to the second measuring area]), and
the second coordinate measuring device is configured to initiate the tracking based on the trigger signal (Metzler [0120]; as with the preceding limitation, the signal causing the tracking or measurement of the air vehicle 20 to be transferred to the second laser tracker 30b is the trigger signal; this causes the laser tracker 30b to initiate tracking [second coordinate measuring device configured to initiate the tracking based on the trigger signal]).
Regarding claim 3, Metzler when modified by Bridges discloses the system according to claim 3, and Metzler further teaches wherein the system is configured
to derive an estimated motion path of the movable accessory device (Metzler [0028] discloses that a path of travel or flight path for the air vehicle is determined based on position of the air vehicle [i.e. air vehicle 20, movable accessory device] relative to a target surface profile of an object surface [i.e. object 60]; the device 20 is moved along the path [i.e. before the device 20 follows the path, it is considered an “estimated motion path”]), and
to send the trigger signal based on the derived estimated motion path (Metzler [0028] and [0120] have disclosed determining a path of travel or flight path for the air vehicle 20 and the transferal of tracking from one laser tracker to another based on sight restrictions; under MPEP §2114 II, the manner of operating the device does not differentiate apparatus claims from the prior art – in this case, sending a trigger signal based on the derived estimated motion path is a manner of operating the device; since Metzler discloses both deriving an estimated motion path and sending a trigger signal, “sending a trigger signal based on the derived estimated motion path” does not differentiate the limitation from Metzler).
Regarding claim 4, Metzler when modified by Bridges discloses the system according to claim 1, and Metzler further wherein the system is configured
to derive a current velocity and/or acceleration parameter of the movable accessory device (Metzler [0065] discloses that the scanning device as part of the air vehicle 20 comprises an acceleration sensor and/or a speed sensor [able to derive a current velocity and/or acceleration parameter of the movable accessory device]) and/or
to derive a current position parameter providing a current position of the movable accessory device within the transition area indicative of a distance to a boundary of the transition area (Metzler [0032] discloses that the system can determine the current position of the air vehicle [current position of the movable accessory device] and can determine whether the air vehicle is within a target region; under MPEP §2114 II, the manner of operating the device does not differentiate apparatus claims from the prior art – in this case, the current position parameter being indicative of a distance to a boundary of the transition area does not define what the device is, instead defining what the device does and therefore does not differentiate the limitation from Metzler), and
to send the trigger signal based on the derived current velocity and/or acceleration parameter and/or based on the current position parameter (Metzler [0032] discloses that the system makes a determination of whether the air vehicle 20 is within a predefined target region [target region reading on a first measuring area, second measuring area, and a transition area between the two]; Metzler [0120] discloses the transferal of tracking duties from one laser tracker 30a to the second laser tracker 30b based on line of sight interruption of the first laser tracker [the interruption of line of sight results in a trigger signal being sent to transfer the tracking from tracker 30a to 30b, and is therefore based on the current position parameter of the air vehicle 20]).
Regarding claim 5, Metzler when modified by Bridges discloses the system according to claim 1, and Metzler further teaches the system wherein the movable accessory device is at least one of
a probing or scanning device configured to approach the object and to carry out at least one of a tactile, a laser based, and a camera based coordinate measurement (Metzler [0118] and fig. 3 discloses that the air vehicle 20 scans the object 60 via a scanner 21; [0112] and fig. 2 show the air vehicle 20 with scanner 21 that emits radiation 22 towards the object; [0065] discloses that the scanning device [scanner 21] utilizes a camera [camera based coordinate measurement]),
a marking device configured to mark the object,
a tool and/or a manufacturing instrument , and
another coordinate measuring device particularly embodied as a laser tracker (the remaining limitations are not considered here due to the limitation “the movable accessory device is at least one of”).
Regarding claim 6, Metzler when modified by Bridges discloses the system according to claim 1, and Metzler further teaches wherein the system is configured to determine a quality parameter for at least one of a coordinate measuring accuracy and a tracking accuracy provided by the coordinate measuring data of the first coordinate measuring device (Metzler [0084] discloses that the flight path and/or flight speed can be optimized with respect to a scanning accuracy [scanning accuracy here being a quality parameter analogous to coordinate measuring accuracy since coordinates are obtained via scans obtained by scanner 21 on air vehicle 20]; Metzler claim 31 also discloses the effect of the flight path in relation to optimizing the scanning accuracy), and
the system is configured to send the position signal and/or the trigger signal based on the quality parameter, based on a pre-defined nominal coordinate measuring accuracy to be ensured (see rejection under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) above; Metzler has disclosed the determination of a quality parameter for at least coordinate measuring accuracy; under MPEP § 2114 II, the manner of operating the device does not differentiate apparatus claims from the prior art – in this case, the position signal being based on a pre-defined nominal coordinate measuring accuracy to be ensured is a limitation directed to what the device does, and does not differentiate the limitation from Metzler).
Regarding claim 7, Metzler when modified by Bridges discloses the system according to claim 1, and Metzler further teaches the system, wherein
the system is configured to determine a potentially upcoming measurement blind spot of the first coordinate measuring device (Metzler [0120] discloses the determination of a sight restriction [blind spot] between at least one of the laser trackers [i.e. the first laser tracker 30a as the first coordinate measuring device]) being defined by at least one of
a reduced coordinate measuring accuracy by the first coordinate measuring device depending on a relative position of the movable accessory device with respect to the first coordinate measuring device (Metzler [0086] discloses an optimization of the flight path of the movable accessory device [related to the relative position of the movable accessory device]; the optimized flight path is obtained to enable homogenous movement of the vehicle, avoiding sudden deceleration or acceleration movements related to avoiding obstructions in the flight path [obstructions in the flight path serve as a blind spot of the laser tracker 30a] – the prevention of sudden maneuvers increases the achieved measurement accuracy (i.e. maneuvers due to obstructions decrease the achieved measurement accuracy [reduced coordinate measuring accuracy due to the blind spot])), and
a reduced tracking accuracy by the first coordinate measuring device depending on a relative position of the movable accessory device with respect to the first coordinate measuring device (this limitation is not considered due to “defined by at least one of …” statement in the claim),
and
the system is configured to send the position and/or the trigger signal based on the potentially upcoming measurement blind spot (see rejection under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) above; Metzler has disclosed a position signal of the movable accessory device, and has disclosed the determination of a potentially upcoming measurement blind spot; under MPEP §2114 II, the manner of operating the device does not differentiate apparatus claims from the prior art – in this case, the position signal being based on the potentially upcoming measurement blind spot is a limitation directed to what the device does, and does not differentiate the limitation from Metzler).
Regarding claim 8, Metzler when modified by Bridges discloses the system according to claim 7, and Metzler further teaches the system wherein the potentially upcoming measurement blind spot is defined by a disturbing of a generation of coordinate measuring data of the first coordinate measuring device by an interfering object (this limitation is not considered due to the following “and/or” statement) and/or by a disturbing of a tracking signal for tracking the movable accessory device by an interfering object (Metzler [0120] discloses the determination of a sight restriction between at least one of the laser trackers 30a [first coordinate measuring device] and the air vehicle 20 [movable accessory device]; the sight restriction is defined as the tracker 30a being unable to detect aspects of the air vehicle 20 (including markers 24 or reflector 23) [disturbance of the tracking signal for tracking the movable accessory device]; [0086] discloses that obstructions (which would generate a sight restriction between the tracker 30a and the air vehicle 20) may be present [an obstruction as a movable machine part constitutes an interfering object]), wherein the system comprises
a camera arrangement configured to generate image data, which are referenceable to the common coordinate system (Metzler [0112] discloses that laser tracker 30 (and equivalently laser tracker 30a of fig. 3) discloses a recording unit 31 comprising a video camera; the camera is part of the tracker 30 (30a) and would therefore be referenceable to the common coordinate system defined at least in part by the coordinate system referenceable to the laser tracker 30 (30a)), and
a recognizer configured to recognize the interfering object within an image of the image data (Metzler [0084]-[0085] discloses the ability to engage in collision avoidance, where a collision between the air vehicle and an obstruction is avoided; information related to the position and orientation of the air vehicle can be determined via analysis of images of the air vehicle via image processing [the structure which facilitates the image processing is considered as the “recognizer”, consistent with the interpretation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) above, and an interfering object can be recognized through the tracking of the air vehicle’s position seen in the images]).
Documents Considered but not Relied Upon
The following document(s) were considered but not relied up on for the rejection set forth in this action:
US 2016/0252619 A1 by Albert Markendorf et al.
US 9,897,442 B2 by Bo Pettersson et al.
US 2020/0132450 A1 by Andrzej Grzesiak et al.
US 2015/0043007 A1 by Tomasz Kwiatkowski et al.
Conclusion
/JOSHUA M CARLSON/Examiner, Art Unit 2877
/TARIFUR R CHOWDHURY/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2877