DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 9 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 20220406318 to Tyagi et al. (“Tyagi”).
As to claim 1, 9 and 15, Tyagi discloses a method, a non-transitory computer-readable medium, and a system, the method comprising: joining a first client device to a video conference, a plurality of client devices connected to the video conference [paragraph 0045: “video conference room systems 116, 118”]; receiving, from the first client device, a modified first audio stream comprising information about the modification to the first audio stream [Fig. 2, paragraphs 0046, 0100: IVAS bitstreams are received; table index and metadata quantization level information (i.e. information about the modification), as well as the EVS bitstreams (i.e. the modified first audio stream)]; generating a second audio stream using the modified first audio stream and the information about the modification to the first audio stream [paragraph 0100: the IVAS decoder reconstructs the downmix signal using the EVS bitstreams and the information about the modification]; and outputting the second audio stream [paragraph 0049: output for playback].
As to claim 2, Tyagi discloses wherein the second audio stream is generated to approximate an unmodified first audio stream [paragraph 0100].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3-4, 10, 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Application Publication No. No. 20220406318 to Tyagi et al. (“Tyagi”) in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 20240105198 to Yang et al. (“Yang”).
As to claim 3, Tyagi discloses the method of claim 1 [see rejection of claim 1].
Tyagi does not expressly wherein the second audio stream is output to an automatic speech recognition service.
In the same or similar field of invention, Yang discloses wherein the second audio stream is output to an automatic speech recognition service [paragraphs 0048, 0118-0120, 123-127].
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify Tyagi to have the second audio stream is output to an automatic speech recognition service as taught by Yang. The suggestion/motivation would have been to improve the accuracy, intelligence, quality of the conference along with the user experience of the conference [Yang paragraph 0026].
As to claims 4, 10 and 16, Yang discloses wherein the modification to the first audio stream includes noise suppression [paragraphs 0090, 0097-100]. In addition, the same motivation is used as the rejection of claim 3.
Claims 6, 12 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Application Publication No. No. 20220406318 to Tyagi et al. (“Tyagi”) in view of U.S. Patent No. 11563855 to Spivak et al. (“Spivak”).
As to claims 6, 12 and 18, Tyagi discloses the method of claim 1, the non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 8 and the system of claim 15 [see rejection of claims 1, 8 and 15].
Tyagi does not expressly outputting an indication to disable modification of audio streams; and receiving, from the first client device, an unmodified third audio stream.
In the same or similar field of invention, Spivak discloses outputting an indication to disable modification of audio streams; and receiving, from the first client device, an unmodified third audio stream [Spivak Fig. 5: 510, column 12 lines 31-44]. When user activate the button 510, modified stream with spatial sound will be streamed. Further, when user deactivate the spatialization button 510, unmodified audio stream will be streamed.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify Tyagi to have feature of outputting an indication to disable modification of audio streams; and receiving, from the first client device, an unmodified third audio stream as taught by Spivak. The suggestion/motivation would have been to customize audio mixing for users in virtual conference calls [Spivak column 1 lines 7-8].
Claims 7, 13 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Application Publication No. No. 20250316279 to Tyagi et al. (“Tyagi”) in view of U.S. Patent No. 20250316279 to Wang et al. (“Wang”).
As to claims 7, 13 and 19, Tyagi discloses the method of claim 1, the non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 8 and the system of claim 15 [see rejection of claims 1, 8 and 15]. Tyagi further discloses the IVAS bitstream. There are headers and audio frames [Fig. 5A, paragraphs 0107]. It would have been extremely obvious to include the information about the modification as extension data.
However, in the same or similar field of invention, Wang discloses the information about the modification to the first audio stream comprises extension data, including a representation of the modification to the first audio stream; and the modified first audio stream comprises one or more packets, each packet comprising: a header; an audio frame; and the extension data [Wang Figs. 6A-6C, paragraphs 0074-0084].
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify Tyagi to have feature of outputting an indication to disable modification of audio streams; and receiving, from the first client device, an unmodified third audio stream as taught by Wang. The suggestion/motivation would have been to provide bandwidth extension data to improve the quality of the audio frame and also improving the audio playing effect [Wang paragraph 0036].
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5, 8, 11, 14, 17 and 20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
U.S. Patent Application Publication No. No. 20240146560 to Swerdlow et al. (Figs. 6-9 and corresponding paragraphs).
U.S. Patent Application Publication No. No. 20230032785 to Deng et al. (Figs. 2-5 and corresponding paragraphs).
/ANTIM G SHAH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2693