DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. 17/595,572, filed on 19 November 2021.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 15 July 2024 was filed in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “means for controlling how much CO2 and/or H2S is to be dissolved in water” and the “means for controlling a downward velocity” as recited in claim 1 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(4) because:
As shown in Fig. 4, reference characters "204" and "205" have both been used to designate “outer pipe”.
As shown in Fig. 9, reference characters “504” and “505” have both been used to designate “outer pipe”.
The drawings are objected to because:
Regarding Fig. 2, titles on the X and Y-axes should be used to describe the information (i.e. distance or depth) that is associated with the respective axis, including the appropriate units of measure.
Regarding Fig. 4, the lead lines associated with reference characters “204” and “208” appear to refer to the annulus between the outer pipe 205 and the wall of injection well 210 instead of to the “outer water injection well” and the “mixer”, as described in the specification.
Regarding Fig. 11, the reference character associated with the triangle that appears to designate the water level is illegible.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
The following title is suggested: A METHOD AND SYSTEM FOR ABATING CARBON DIOXIDE AND HYDROGEN SULFIDE
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
In line 8 of page 27, it appears that “hi” should be changed to “h1”.
In line 28 of page 30, the abbreviation “FES” should be defined at least once in the specification.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
Claims 1 - 6 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In line 16 of claim 1, “CO2 and or H2S” should be changed to “CO2 and/or H2S”.
In lines 3 - 4 of claim 2, “a CO2 and H2S rich gas stream” should be changed to “the CO2 and H2S rich gas stream”.
Regarding claim 3, “the” should be inserted before “bubbles” in line 5 and “the” should be inserted before “bubbles” in line 8.
In line 2 of claim 4, “CO2 and or H2S” should be changed to “CO2 and/or H2S”.
In line 2 of claim 5, “CO2 and or H2S” should be changed to “CO2 and/or H2S”.
In line 17 of claim 6, “the” should be inserted before “bubbles”.
In line 20 of claim 6, “the” should be inserted before “bubbles”.
In line 24 of claim 6, “CO2 and/or H2S rich gas streams comprising bubbles” should be changed to “the CO2 and/or H2S rich gas streams comprising the bubbles”.
In line 29 of claim 6, “a CO2 and H2S rich gas stream” should be changed to “the CO2 and/or H2S rich gas stream”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1 - 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 1 - 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being incomplete for omitting essential elements, such omission amounting to a gap between the elements. See MPEP § 2172.01. The omitted elements are: Claim 1 fails to positively recite any structural limitations. Claim 1 only recites intended use.
Regarding claim 1, it is unclear whether Applicant intends to recite both “CO2” and “H2S” or “CO2 and/or H2S” because lines 1, 4, 5, 7, 9, 10, 11, 16, and 17 recites “CO2 and/or H2S” while line 8 and lines 13 - 14 recites “CO2 and H2S”. Claim 2 contains a similar error.
Regarding claim 2, it is unclear whether “a merging point” as recited in line 3 refers to the merging point recited in claim 1, from which claim 2 depends, or if it represents an additional limitation.
Regarding claim 3, it is unclear whether “a velocity” as recited in line 2 refers to “a velocity” as recited in claim 1, from which claim 3 depends, or if it represents an additional limitation.
There is insufficient antecedent basis for the following limitations in the claims:
Claim 1, line 6: “the hydraulic pressure”
Claim 1, lines 6 - 7: “the partial pressure”
Claim 1, line 11: “the upward velocity”
Claim 1, line 15: “the resulting pH”
Claim 6, line 11: “the hydraulic pressure”
Claim 6, line 12: “the partial pressure”
Claim 6, line 28: “the resulting pH”
Claims 3 - 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends.
Regarding claim 3, all of the limitations are associated with the step of “transferring the water comprising CO2 and/or H2S downwardly at a velocity” and claim 3 fails to recite any additional structural limitations. Since method steps are not given patentable weight in an apparatus claim, claim 3 fails to further limit claim 1, from which claim 3 depends.
Regarding claim 4, all of the limitations are associated with the step of “keeping the resulting pH value of said pressurized water stream” and claim 4 fails to recite any additional structural limitations. Since method steps are not given patentable weight in an apparatus claim, claim 4 fails to further limit claim 3, from which claim 4 depends.
Regarding claim 6, all of the limitations are associated with the step of “keeping the resulting pH value of said pressurized water stream” and claim 6 fails to recite any additional structural limitations. Since method steps are not given patentable weight in an apparatus claim, claim 5 fails to further limit claim 1, from which claim 5 depends.
Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Double Patenting
Claims 1 - 6 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 12,121,850. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because:
Since claim 1 of the present application does not recite any structural elements, claim 1 of the ‘850 patent reads on the claim. Additionally, claim 1 of the ‘850 recites all the method steps that the system recited in claim 1 of the present application is configured to perform.
Regarding claim 6 of the present application, claim 1 of the ’850 recites an injection well. Although claim 1 of the ‘850 patent fails to explicitly recite a merging point, a means for controlling how much CO2 and/or H2S gas is to be dissolved in said water, and a means for controlling downward velocity of the water within the injection well, the aforementioned structural elements would obviously be required to perform the method as recited in claim 1 of the ‘850 patent.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 - 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Koide et al. (US 2009/0202304).
Regarding claims 1 and 3 - 5, Koide discloses a system for abating carbon dioxide (CO2) and/or hydrogen sulfide (H2S) in a geological reservoir (Figs. 1 and 3; paragraphs 0085 - 0125). Since claims 1 and 3 - 5 do not positively recite any structural limitations, the system as disclosed by Koide reads on all of the claim limitations.
Regarding claims 2 and 6, Koide further discloses an injection well (21); a merging point (point at which pipes 32 and 33 converge) for merging water from a water source with a CO2 rich gas stream; means for controlling (flow control valve 25b) how much CO2 gas is to be dissolved in said water; and means for controlling a downward velocity (water injection pump 14) of said water within the injection well (Figs. 1 and 3; paragraphs 0085 - 0125). Examiner takes the position that the method steps that the system is intended to perform, as recited in claim 6, lack patentable weight in an apparatus claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 4, and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Koide et al. in view of Dusseault et al. (US 2014/0186119).
Regarding claims 1, 4, and 5, assuming arguendo that the recited intended use is to be given patentable weight in the claim, Koide discloses a system for abating carbon dioxide (CO2) and/or hydrogen sulfide (H2S) in a geological reservoir (Figs. 1 and 3; paragraphs 0085 - 0125) comprising: a pump (9) for pumping water from a water source (water storage tank 11) to an injection well (21), dissolving CO2 (carbon dioxide 55) in the water by merging a CO2 rich gas stream with the water at a merging point (point where pipes 32 and 33 converge), ensuring that the CO2 is kept in solution in the water by transferring the water comprising CO2 downwardly at a velocity, which is higher than the upward velocity of the bubbles of CO2 in the water, from the merging point to a depth where the hydraulic pressure of the water has increased to a pressure required for all of said CO2 gas to be dissolved, and injecting the water comprising the dissolved CO2 into the geological reservoir (aquifer 50) (Figs. 1 and 3; paragraphs 0085 - 0125). Koide fails to disclose keeping the resulting pH value of the pressurized water stream containing said dissolved CO2 between about 2 and 4, based on how much CO2 is dissolved in said water . Dusseault teaches a pH of 3.5 for keeping carbonate materials dissolved in water, based on how much CO2 is dissolved in said water (paragraph 0124). It would have been considered obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the invention, to have modified the method as disclosed above with the step of keeping the resulting pH value of said pressurized water stream containing said dissolved CO2 between about 2 and 4, based on how much CO 2 is dissolved in said water as taught by Dusseault to keep the dissolved carbonate materials dissolved in water.
Regarding claim 2, Koide further discloses an injection well (21); a merging point (point at which pipes 32 and 33 converge) for merging water from a water source with a CO2 rich gas stream; means for controlling (flow control valve 25b) how much CO2 gas is to be dissolved in said water; and means for controlling a downward velocity (water injection pump 14) of said water within the injection well (Figs. 1 and 3; paragraphs 0085 - 0125).
Conclusion
/SEAN D ANDRISH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3678
SA
11/12/2025