DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed September 1, 2026 has been entered. Claims 1 – 4, 6, 8, 10 – 12, 15, 16, 18 – 20, 24 – 26, 29 and 31 – 42 are pending in the application with claims 5, 7, 9, 13, 14, 17, 21 – 23, 27 and 30 being cancelled. The amendment and remarks to the claims have overcome the claim objections and 35 USC 112 rejections set forth in the last Non-Final Action mailed June 1, 2026.
Claim Objections
Claim 6 is objected to because of the following informality:
Claim 6, line 3: “the bottom side” should read --the second side--.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 8, 31, 33, 35 and 36 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fabbri, Fabrizio (US 8,408,886 – herein after Fabbri) in view of Salih et al. (US 2018/0363642 – herein after Salih).
In reference to claim 1, Fabbri teaches a fluid end (7, see fig. 2) of a positive displacement pump (see title: referred as “high pressure plunger pump”), the fluid end comprising (note: “plurality” of below claimed features being present in view of the pump being a multi-cylinder or having at least two cylinders; see col. 1, lines 5-6 or abstract):
a housing [housing is considered to be formed by lower portion (labeled “B” in fig. A below) of the fluid end body – herein after referred as “B”] including:
a plurality of pumping chambers (“p.c.”, see fig. A below), each of the plurality of pumping chambers configured to receive a plunger (6) therein, and
a plurality of outlet ports (labeled “o.p.” in fig. A below), each of the plurality of outlet ports being in fluid communication with a corresponding one of the plurality of pumping chambers (“p.c.”);
a discharge manifold assembly [discharge manifold assembly is considered to be formed by upper portion (labeled “A” in fig. A below) of the fluid end body – herein after referred as “A”] and positioned to receive fluid discharged from the plurality of pumping chambers during operation, the discharge manifold assembly including a body (body corresponding to “A”; see shaded portion in fig. A below), the body comprising a single-piece, monolithic body (see abstract: Fabbri teaches that the cylinders, conduits, and manifolds are provided within a “single block”), and a plurality of discharge bores (81) and a manifold bore (86) defined therein, the manifold bore (86) being in fluid communication with the plurality of discharge bores (81) via a plurality of connecting passages (85) extending from a corresponding one of the plurality of discharge bores (81) to the manifold bore (86), the plurality of discharge bores (81) positioned to align with the plurality of outlet ports (“o.p.”);
a plurality of discharge valve assemblies (82+83+”valve seat” in fig. A below), one of the plurality of discharge valve assemblies at least partially received in a corresponding outlet port of the plurality of outlet ports of the housing (component “valve seat” of the discharge valve assembly is partially received in corresponding outlet port “o.p.”, see fig. A below) and a corresponding discharge bore (81) of the plurality of discharge bores of the discharge manifold assembly (top portion of component “valve seat” is received in corresponding discharge bore 81, see fig. A below), and
each of the plurality of outlet ports (“o.p.” in fig. A below) of the housing (“B”) axially aligned (↨ in view of fig. A below) with a corresponding one of the plurality of discharge bores (81) of the body of the discharge manifold assembly (120).
Fig. A: Edited fig. 3 of Fabbri to show claim interpretation.
Fabbri does not teach the fluid end, wherein the discharge manifold assembly is “connected” to the housing; and “the body of the discharge manifold assembly including a first side and a second side, the second side extending between a first end of the body and a second end of the body in a direction substantially parallel to the manifold bore, and the second side defining a contiguous planar surface contiguously contacting a substantially planar first side of the housing; the plurality of outlet ports extending through the substantially planar first side of the housing, and the plurality of discharge bores extending through the contiguous planar surface to the first side of the body, thereby to provide a flow path for fluid from the plurality of outlet ports of the housing to the plurality of discharge bores of the discharge manifold assembly during operation”.
However, Salih teaches a fluid end (10, see fig. 1) of a positive displacement pump (see ¶2: referred as “reciprocating pump”), the fluid end comprising (note: “plurality” of below claimed features being present in view of the pump having a “triplex configuration”; see ¶35 and fig. 1):
a housing (housing, as a whole, is considered to be formed by casings of fluid end bodies 20) including:
a plurality of pumping chambers (32, see fig. 6), each of the plurality of pumping chambers configured to receive a plunger (see ¶34) therein, and
a plurality of outlet ports (labelled “o.p.” in fig. B below), each of the plurality of outlet ports being in fluid communication with a corresponding one of the plurality of pumping chambers (32);
a discharge manifold assembly (70, see fig. 1 or fig. 6 and ¶35; alternatively see figs. B and B1 below) connected to the housing (20) and positioned to receive fluid discharged from the plurality of pumping chambers during operation, the discharge manifold assembly including a body (78), the body comprising a single-piece, monolithic body (as evident from fig. 1 and fig. 6), and a plurality of discharge bores (see fig. B below; discharge bore = bore within discharge valve assembly 120 which extends ↔ in view of fig. 10) and a manifold bore (72, see ¶40 and fig. 1) defined therein, the manifold bore (72) being in fluid communication with the plurality of discharge bores (inherent feature), the plurality of discharge bores positioned to align with the plurality of outlet ports (in view of fig. 10 and fig. B below: aperture 131 of the discharge bore aligns with the outlet port); and
a plurality of discharge valve assemblies (120, see fig. 1 and fig. 10), one of the plurality of discharge valve assemblies at least partially received in a corresponding outlet port of the plurality of outlet ports of the housing and a corresponding discharge bore of the plurality of discharge bores of the discharge manifold assembly (see fig. B below: left portion of the discharge valve assembly is within the asserted discharge bore as well as right portion of the discharge valve assembly is within the asserted outlet port),
the body of the discharge manifold assembly (70) including (in view of fig. B below) a first side (left side) and a second side (right side), the second side (right side) extending between a first end (top end) of the body and a second end (bottom end) of the body in a direction (see fig. 1) substantially parallel to the manifold bore (72), and the second side (right side) defining a contiguous planar surface contiguously contacting a substantially planar first side (left side in view of fig. B below) of the housing (20) [fig. 1 evidences such claimed feature wherein “a contiguous planar surface” on body’s right side of discharge valve assembly 70 contiguously contacts “a substantially planar” left side of the housing],
each of the plurality of outlet ports (“o.p.” in fig. B below) of the housing (20) axially aligned (↔ in view of fig. B below) with a corresponding one of the plurality of discharge bores of the body of the discharge manifold assembly (120),
the plurality of outlet ports extending through the substantially planar first side (left side) of the housing (in view of fig. B below: outlet port extends in ← direction through the left side of the housing 20), and
the plurality of discharge bores extending through the contiguous planar surface to the first side (right side) of the body (in view of fig. B below: discharge bore extends in → direction through the right side of the body 78), thereby to provide a flow path for fluid from the plurality of outlet ports of the housing to the plurality of discharge bores of the discharge manifold assembly during operation (inherent feature).
Fig. B: Edited fig. 6 of Salih to show claim interpretation.
Fig. B1: Edited fig. 1 of Salih to show claim interpretation.
It would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the fluid end of Fabbri for having separate housing and separate discharge manifold assembly such that the discharge manifold assembly is connected to the housing as taught by Salih for the purpose of overcoming the problems associated with monolithic blocks/structures – specifically to allow for independent removal and servicing of components (in this case, either discharge valve assembly or housing) and to reduce replacement costs by ensuring that localized damage to the single component does not require the replacement of the entire fluid end assembly.
In reference to claim 8, Fabbri, as modified, teaches the fluid end, wherein the housing (20; see Salih’s fig. 6) includes a planar top surface on the first side (left side in view of Salih’s fig. 6 or top side in view of fig. B2 below), wherein the plurality of outlet ports (see fig. B2 below) extend (see fig. B2 below: in ↑ direction) through the planar top surface, wherein the planar top surface includes a plurality of seal grooves (fig. B2 shown below is annotated fig. 6 of Salih; based on the schematic presentation the asserted element is “seal” that is provided in its corresponding groove on a surface of the housing), each of the plurality of seal grooves surrounding a corresponding one of the plurality of outlet ports (of Fabbri in the modified fluid end).
Fig. B2: Edited fig. 6 of Salih to show claim interpretation.
In reference to claim 31, Fabbri, as modified, teaches the fluid end, wherein each of the plurality of connecting passages (85; see fig. A above) defining a portion (portion in “circled region”, see fig. A above) that extends from the corresponding discharge bore (81) of the plurality of discharge bores of the discharge manifold assembly, the portion oriented at a non-zero angle relative to an axis of the corresponding discharge bore [non-zero angle being 90° relative to the axis (A2) of the discharge bore in view of fig. A above], such that during operation fluid flowing from the corresponding discharge bore flows into the portion generally without changing direction (fluid generally flows in ← direction in view of fig. A above).
In reference to claim 33, Fabbri, as modified, teaches the fluid end, wherein the plurality of connecting passages (85; see fig. A above) are oriented relative to the manifold bore (86; see fig, A above), such that during operation the fluid flows (a) in the plurality of connecting passages in a first direction radial relative to an axis of the manifold bore [in view of fig. A above, fluid flows in the connecting passage in first (←) direction, wherein this first direction is radial relative to axis “A1” of the manifold bore] and (b) in the manifold bore in a second direction axial relative to the axis of the manifold bore [in view of fig. A above, fluid flows within the manifold bore in second direction (either into the page or out of the page), wherein this second direction is axial relative to the axis “A1” of the manifold bore].
In reference to claim 35, Fabbri, as modified, teaches the fluid end, wherein (see fig. A above) each of the plurality of discharge bores (81) is spaced from the manifold bore (86) via the plurality of connecting passages (85), thereby to substantially separate fluid flow during operation in each of the plurality of discharge bores from fluid flow in the manifold bore, substantially equalizing wear related to the plurality of discharge valve assemblies associated with each of the plurality of discharge bores.
In reference to claim 36, Fabbri, as modified, teaches the fluid end, wherein the housing (of Fabbri; “B” in fig. A above) includes a housing body comprising a single-piece, monolithic body (see abstract of Fabbri; “single block”), and the housing body defines the plurality of pumping chambers and the plurality of outlet ports (see Fabbri’s abstract: at least two pumping chambers and two outlet ports present in view of at least two cylinders).
Claims 2, 4, 6, 11, 12, 16, 18 – 20, 32, 37 – 39 and 41 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fabbri in view of Salih and evidenced by Foote, Earl (US 9,243,630 – herein after Foote).
Regarding claim 2,
Fabbri, as modified, teaches the fluid end, further comprising (note that in the modified fluid end, in view of fig. A above: “A” is separate component, “B” is separate component; and “A” and “B” are connected to one another along a border line):
a plurality of discharge valve seats (“valve seat” in fig. A above), each of the plurality of discharge valve seats received in one or more of (a) a corresponding outlet port of the plurality of outlet ports or (b) a corresponding discharge bore of the plurality of discharge bores [as evident from fig. A above: bottom portion of the valve seat is received in corresponding outlet port “o.p.” and top portion of the valve seat is received in corresponding discharge bore 81],
each of the plurality of discharge valve seats having a strike face (see fig. A above) defining a taper angle (taper angle being evident since the strike face is an angled surface) relative to an axis (“A2”, in view of fig. A above) of the corresponding discharge bore of the plurality of discharge bores, and
each of the plurality of connecting passages (85) defining a portion (portion in “circled region”, see fig. A above) that extends from the corresponding discharge bore (81), the portion having an axis with an axis angle relative to the axis of the corresponding discharge bore (axis angle being perpendicular to the axis (A2) of the discharge bore in view of fig. A above).
Fabbri, as modified, does not teach the fluid end wherein the axis angle is “substantially equal” to the taper angle.
However, Foote evidences a fluid end, wherein (see fig. C below or fig. 6) a discharge valve seat (434) has a strike face (430) defining a taper angle (labeled “a1”) relative to an axis (“B”) of corresponding discharge bore (shaded region) and wherein a connecting passage (214) defines a portion that extends from the corresponding discharge bore, the portion having an axis angle (labeled “a2”) relative to the axis of the corresponding discharge bore similar to the taper angle (angles “a1” and “a2” are considered to be “substantially” equal). Foote does not explicitly state the precise numerical angular measurements in its written text.
Fig. C: Edited fig. 4 of Foote to show claim interpretation.
Thus, it would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the connecting passage’s portion in the modified Fabbri’s fluid end such that the axis angle of the portion is “substantially equal” to the taper angle of the valve seat’s strike face as shown by Foote for the purpose of providing a flow path that minimizes the change in fluid flow direction (in this case, fluid flow direction being from the discharge valve into the connecting passage). A person of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that substantially matching the angles minimizes flow resistance and wear. By arranging the axis angle of the connecting passage to be within ±10% of (and ideally equal to) the valve seat strike face taper angle [note the applicant’s own disclosure in ¶95 of pg. pub of the instant application: “Further, when used herein (including in the claims), the words “about,” “generally,” “substantially,” “approximately,” and the like, when used in reference to a stated value mean within a range of plus or minus 10% of the stated value”], the fluid can escape the valve assembly and transition into the passage without enduring sharp directional changes or boundary layer separation. Furthermore, configuring the axis angle of the connecting passage to be within a range of ±10% of the valve seat strike face taper angle would have been a routine design choice to eliminate sharp internal corners, thereby reducing geometric discontinuities, mitigating mechanical stress concentrations, and maximizing the operating fatigue life of the manifold body.
Regarding claim 4,
Fabbri, as modified, teaches the fluid end, wherein:
the manifold bore (86; of Fabbri) extends along a central axis (central axis in being into and out of the page; labelled “A1” in fig. A above) of the manifold bore;
each of the plurality of discharge bores (81; of Fabbri) extends along one of a plurality of discharge bore axes [axis being in vertical direction ↨ direction (labelled “A2”) in fig. A above],
the central axis (“A1”) of the manifold bore is radially spaced (in ← direction) from the plurality of discharge bore axes (“A2”),
each of the plurality of discharge bore axes (“A2”) extends in a direction that is perpendicular to a direction of the central axis (“A1”) of the manifold bore (86),
the body (see fig. B1 above) extends from the first end to the second end opposite the first end,
the manifold bore (86; of Fabbri) extends between the first end and the second end (in view fig. B and fig. B1 above: “72” is the manifold bore), and
the plurality of discharge bores are positioned between the first end and the second end (in view fig. B and fig. B1 above).
Fabbri, as modified, remains silent on the fluid end wherein the central axis of the manifold bore is “offset” from the plurality of discharge bore axes.
However, Foote teaches a fluid end (see fig. 4 or fig. C above) wherein the central axis (A) of the manifold bore (306) is offset and radially spaced from the plurality of discharge bore axes (B) [axis labelled “A” corresponds to manifold bore 306 which is in a direction into and out of page; axis labelled “B” corresponds to discharge bore (shaded region) which is in a vertical direction; thus, as seen, the manifold bore is “offset and radially spaced” in ← direction from the discharge bore].
Thus, it would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the spacing between discharge and manifold bores in the modified Fabbri’s fluid end such that the central axis of the manifold bore is “offset and radially spaced” from the plurality of discharge bore axes as shown by Foote since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70. Please note that in the instant application, see ¶81 of pg. pub of the instant application, applicant has not disclosed any criticality for the claimed limitation of having the central axis of the manifold bore “offset and radially spaced” from the plurality of discharge bore axes.
Regarding claim 6,
Fabbri, as modified, teaches the fluid end, wherein:
the body (78; see Salih’s fig. 6 OR “shaded region” in fig. A above) of the discharge manifold assembly (70; see Salih’s fig. 1, 2 OR 82+83+”valve seat” in fig. A above) includes the first side (left side of body 78; see Salih’s fig. 6 OR top side in view of fig. A above) and the second side (right side of body 78; see Salih’s fig. 6 OR bottom side in view of fig. A above),
the second side of the body is configured to engage with the substantially planar first side of the housing (left side of housing 20; see Salih’s fig. 6 OR top side of “B” in fig. A above) when the discharge manifold assembly (modified Fabbri’s discharge manifold assembly “B”, see fig. A above) is connected to the housing (modified Fabbri’s housing “A”, see fig. A above),
each of the plurality of connecting passages (85; of Fabbri) extending from the corresponding one of the plurality of discharge bores (81; of Fabbri) to the manifold bore (86; of Fabbri),
each of the plurality of discharge valve assemblies (of Fabbri) includes a valve cover (84; see Fabri’s fig. 3),
each of the plurality of discharge bores (81; of Fabbri) includes an annular shoulder (“s1” or “s2”; see fig. A above) therein configured to engage with the valve cover (81) of a corresponding one of the plurality of discharge valve assemblies, and
for each of the plurality of discharge bores (81; of Fabbri), a corresponding one of the plurality of connecting passages (85; of Fabbri) intersects with the corresponding one of the plurality of discharge bores between the corresponding annular shoulder (“s1” or “s2”; see fig. A above) and the second side of the body (bottom side of body (shaded region, in fig. A above)).
Fabbri, as modified, remains silent on the fluid end wherein each of the plurality of connecting passages angle toward the first side of the body and away from the second side of the body while extending from the corresponding one of the plurality of discharge bores to the manifold bore.
However, Foote teaches a fluid end (see fig. 4) wherein each of the plurality of connecting passages (214) angle toward the first (top) side of the body (202) and away from the second (bottom) side of the body while extending from the corresponding one of the plurality of discharge bores (416 or “shaded region” in fig. C above) to the manifold bore (306).
Since applicant in the instant application has not disclosed any criticality associated with “angling” of the plurality of connecting passages (for instance, see ¶59 of pg. pub of the instant application), it would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the orientation of the plurality of connecting passages in the modified Fabbri’s fluid end such that they angle toward the top side of the body and away from the bottom side of body as shown by Foote as a matter of design choice. One of ordinary skill in the art, furthermore, would have expected modified Fabbri’s pump to perform equally well with claimed angle of the connecting passages.
Regarding claim 11,
Fabbri teaches a discharge manifold assembly [discharge manifold assembly is considered to be formed by upper portion (labeled “A” in fig. A above) – herein after referred as “A”] for a fluid end [fluid end, in this instance, is considered to be formed by lower portion (labeled “B” in fig. A above) – herein after referred as “B”] of a pump (see title: referred as “high pressure plunger pump”), the discharge manifold assembly comprising (note: “plurality” of below claimed features being present in view of the pump being a multi-cylinder or having at least two cylinders; see col. 1, lines 5-6 or abstract):
a body (body corresponding to “A”; see shaded portion in fig. A above) comprising a single-piece, monolithic body (see abstract: Fabbri teaches that the cylinders, conduits, and manifolds are provided within a “single block”), and a first end (front end) and a second end (back end);
a plurality of discharge bores (81) defined in the body that are configured to receive fluid discharged from the fluid end, the plurality of discharge bores being spaced apart from one another between the first end and the second end (inherent feature), and each the plurality of discharge bores (81) positioned to at least partially receive therein a discharge valve assembly (82+83+”valve seat” in fig. A above) when the discharge valve assembly is associated with the discharge manifold assembly (top portion of component “valve seat” is received in corresponding discharge bore 81, see fig. A above);
a manifold bore (86) defined in the body that extends between the first end (front end) and the second end (back end); and
a plurality of connecting passages (85), each of the plurality of connecting passages extending from a corresponding discharge bore of the plurality of discharge bores to the manifold bore (as evident from fig. A above), each of the plurality of connecting passages (85) defining a portion (portion in “circled region”, see fig. A above) extending from the corresponding discharge bore, the portion having an axis with an axis angle relative to an axis (A2, see fig. A above) of the corresponding discharge bore (axis angle being perpendicular to the axis (A2) of the discharge bore in view of fig. A above), and a taper angle (taper angle being evident since the strike face is an angled surface) defined by a corresponding valve seat strike face (see fig. A above) when mounted relative to the discharge manifold assembly.
Fabbri does not teach the discharge manifold assembly, wherein the body “is connected” to the fluid end (i.e. connected to portion B in fig. A above).
However, Salih teaches a discharge manifold assembly (70, see fig. 1 or fig. 6 and ¶35) connected to a fluid end (20).
It would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the pump of Fabbri for having separate fluid end and separate discharge manifold assembly such that the discharge manifold assembly is connected to the fluid end as taught by Salih for the purpose of overcoming the problems associated with monolithic blocks/structures – specifically to allow for independent removal and servicing of components (in this case, either discharge valve assembly or fluid end) and to reduce replacement costs by ensuring that localized damage to the single component does not require the replacement of the entire fluid end assembly.
Fabbri does not teach the discharge manifold assembly, wherein the axis angle is “substantially equal” to the taper angle
However, Foote evidences a fluid end, wherein (see fig. C above or fig. 6) a discharge valve seat (434) has a strike face (430) defining a taper angle (labeled “a1”) relative to an axis (“B”) of corresponding discharge bore (shaded region) and wherein a connecting passage (214) defines a portion that extends from the corresponding discharge bore, the portion having an axis angle (labeled “a2”) relative to the axis of the corresponding discharge bore similar to the taper angle (angles “a1” and “a2” are considered to be “substantially” equal). Foote does not explicitly state the precise numerical angular measurements in its written text.
Thus, it would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the connecting passage’s portion in the Fabbri’s discharge manifold assembly such that the axis angle of the portion is “substantially equal” to the taper angle of the valve seat’s strike face as shown by Foote for the purpose of providing a flow path that minimizes the change in fluid flow direction (in this case, fluid flow direction being from the discharge valve into the connecting passage). A person of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that substantially matching the angles minimizes flow resistance and wear. By arranging the axis angle of the connecting passage to be within ±10% of (and ideally equal to) the valve seat strike face taper angle [note the applicant’s own disclosure in ¶95 of pg. pub of the instant application: “Further, when used herein (including in the claims), the words “about,” “generally,” “substantially,” “approximately,” and the like, when used in reference to a stated value mean within a range of plus or minus 10% of the stated value”], the fluid can escape the valve assembly and transition into the passage without enduring sharp directional changes or boundary layer separation. Furthermore, configuring the axis angle of the connecting passage to be within a range of ±10% of the valve seat strike face taper angle would have been a routine design choice to eliminate sharp internal corners, thereby reducing geometric discontinuities, mitigating mechanical stress concentrations, and maximizing the operating fatigue life of the manifold body.
Regarding claim 12,
Fabbri, as modified, teaches the discharge manifold assembly, wherein:
the manifold bore (86; of Fabbri) is spaced (in ← direction, see fig. A above) from the plurality of discharge bores (81),
each of the plurality of discharge bores (81) extends along a corresponding central axis (“A2”, see fig. A above) that is oriented in a direction that is perpendicular to a direction of a central axis (central axis in being into and out of the page; labelled “A1” in fig. A above) of the manifold bore,
the body (“shaded region” for instance, see fig. A above) includes a top side and a bottom side,
the bottom side of the body is configured to engage with a top side of a housing of the fluid (as evident from Salih’s fig. 6; or see fig. B2 above),
each of the plurality of connecting passages (85) extending from the corresponding one of the plurality of discharge bores to the manifold bore,
each of the plurality of discharge bores (81) includes an annular shoulder (“s1” or “s2”; see fig. A above) therein that is configured to engage with a valve cover (84; see fig. A above) of a corresponding discharge valve assembly when the discharge valve assembly is associated with the discharge manifold assembly, and for each of the plurality of discharge bores (81), a corresponding one of the plurality of connecting passages (85) intersects with the corresponding one of the plurality of discharge bores between the annular shoulder and the bottom side of the body (as evident from fig. A above).
Fabbri, as modified, remains silent on the discharge manifold assembly, wherein the manifold bore is “offset” from the plurality of discharge bores.
However, Foote teaches a fluid end (see fig. 4 or fig. C above) wherein the manifold bore (306) is offset and radially spaced from the plurality of discharge bores (shaded region, see fig. C above) [axis labelled “A” corresponds to manifold bore 306 which is in a direction into and out of page; axis labelled “B” corresponds to discharge bore (shaded region) which is in a vertical direction; thus, as seen, the manifold bore is “offset and radially spaced” in ← direction from the discharge bore].
Thus, it would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the spacing between discharge and manifold bores in the modified Fabbri’s discharge manifold assembly such that the manifold bore is “offset and radially spaced” from the plurality of discharge bores as shown by Foote since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70. Please note that in the instant application, see ¶81 of pg. pub of the instant application, applicant has not disclosed any criticality for the claimed limitation of having the manifold bore “offset and radially spaced” from the plurality of discharge bores.
Fabbri, as modified, remains silent on the discharge manifold assembly, wherein each of the plurality of connecting passages angle toward the top side of the body and away from the bottom side of the body while extending from the corresponding one of the plurality of discharge bores to the manifold bore.
However, Foote teaches a fluid end (see fig. 4) wherein each of the plurality of connecting passages (214) angle toward the top side of the body (202) and away from the bottom side of the body while extending from the corresponding one of the plurality of discharge bores (416 or “shaded region” in fig. C above) to the manifold bore (306).
Since applicant in the instant application has not disclosed any criticality associated with “angling” of the plurality of connecting passages (for instance, see ¶59 of pg. pub of the instant application), it would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the orientation of the plurality of connecting passages in the modified Fabbri’s discharge manifold assembly such that they angle toward the top side of the body and away from the bottom side of body as shown by Foote as a matter of design choice. One of ordinary skill in the art, furthermore, would have expected modified Fabbri’s pump to perform equally well with claimed angle of the connecting passages.
Regarding claim 16,
Fabbri, as modified, teaches the discharge manifold assmebly, wherein:
the manifold bore (86; of Fabbri) extends along a manifold bore axis (central axis in being into and out of the page; labelled “A1” in fig. A above),
each of the plurality of discharge bores (81) extends along one of a plurality of discharge bore axes (“A2”, see fig. A above),
the manifold bore axis (“A1”) is spaced (in ← direction, see fig. A above) from the plurality of discharge bore axes (“A2”).
Fabbri, as modified, remains silent on the discharge manifold assembly, wherein the manifold bore axis is “offset” from the plurality of discharge bore axes.
However, Foote teaches a fluid end (see fig. 4 or fig. C above) wherein the manifold bore (306) is offset and spaced from the plurality of discharge bores (shaded region, see fig. C above) [axis labelled “A” corresponds to manifold bore 306 which is in a direction into and out of page; axis labelled “B” corresponds to discharge bore (shaded region) which is in a vertical direction; thus, as seen, the manifold bore axis is “offset and spaced” in ← direction from the discharge bore axes].
Thus, it would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the spacing between discharge and manifold bores in the modified Fabbri’s discharge manifold assembly such that the manifold bore axis is “offset and spaced” from the plurality of discharge bore axes as shown by Foote since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70. Please note that in the instant application, see ¶81 of pg. pub of the instant application, applicant has not disclosed any criticality for the claimed limitation of having the manifold bore axis “offset and spaced” from the plurality of discharge bore axes.
Regarding claim 18,
Fabbri teaches a method of pumping a fluid with a pump (see title: referred as “high pressure plunger pump”), the method comprising (note: “plurality” of below claimed features being present in view of the pump being a multi-cylinder or having at least two cylinders; see col. 1, lines 5-6 or abstract):
reciprocating a plurality of plungers (6, see fig. A above) in a plurality of pumping chambers (“p.c.”, see fig. A above) defined in a housing [housing is considered to be formed by lower portion (labeled “B” in fig. A above) of the fluid end body – herein after referred as “B”] to pressurize the fluid;
discharging the fluid out of the plurality of pumping chambers via a plurality of outlet ports (“o.p.”, see fig. A above) defined in the housing, through a plurality of discharge valve assemblies (82+83+”valve seat” in fig. A above) and into a plurality of discharge bores (81) defined in a body (body corresponding to “A”; see shaded portion in fig. A above) of a discharge manifold assembly [discharge manifold assembly is considered to be formed by upper portion (labeled “A” in fig. A above) of the fluid end body – herein after referred as “A”], the plurality of discharge valve assemblies being at least partially positioned in the plurality of outlet ports defined in the housing and the plurality of discharge bores defined in the body [bottom portion of component “valve seat” is partially positioned in corresponding outlet port “o.p.” and top portion of component “valve seat” is partially positioned in corresponding discharge bore 81; see fig. A above], each of the discharge valve assemblies including a valve seat having a strike face (see fig. A above);
directing the fluid out of the plurality of discharge bores and into a manifold bore through a plurality of connecting passages (85), the directing the fluid out of the plurality of discharge bores (81)comprising directing the fluid in a direction (←)substantially aligned with an axis (↔, in view of fig. A above) of a corresponding connecting passage (85) of the plurality of connecting passages, the manifold bore (86) and the plurality of connecting passages (s85) defined within the body, and the manifold bore (86) spaced from (in ← direction, see fig. A above) the plurality of discharge bores (81), thereby to reduce fluid contact with the plurality of discharge valve assemblies.
Fabbri does not teach the method, wherein the body “is connected to and separate from” the housing (i.e. portion B in fig. A above).
However, Salih teaches a body of discharge manifold assembly (70, see fig. 1 or fig. 6 and ¶35) connected to and separate from a housing (20) of the fluid end.
It would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the pump of Fabbri for having separate housing and separate discharge manifold assembly such that the discharge manifold assembly is connected to the fluid end as taught by Salih for the purpose of overcoming the problems associated with monolithic blocks/structures – specifically to allow for independent removal and servicing of components (in this case, either discharge valve assembly or fluid end) and to reduce replacement costs by ensuring that localized damage to the single component does not require the replacement of the entire fluid end assembly.
Fabbri does not teach the discharge manifold assembly, wherein the directing the fluid out of the plurality of discharge bores comprising directing the fluid in a direction substantially aligned with the strike face.
However, Foote evidences a fluid end, wherein (see fig. C above or fig. 6) a discharge valve seat (434) has a strike face (430) defining a taper angle (labeled “a1”) relative to an axis (“B”) of corresponding discharge bore (shaded region) and wherein a connecting passage (214) defines a portion that extends from the corresponding discharge bore, the portion having an axis angle (labeled “a2”) relative to the axis of the corresponding discharge bore similar to the taper angle (angles “a1” and “a2” are considered to be “substantially” equal). Thus, Foote evidences a method step of directing the fluid out of the plurality of discharge bores comprising directing the fluid in a direction substantially aligned with the strike face.
Thus, it would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the connecting passage’s portion in the Fabbri’s pump such that the axis angle of the portion is “substantially aligned” with the taper angle of the valve seat’s strike face as shown by Foote for the purpose of providing a flow path that minimizes the change in fluid flow direction (in this case, fluid flow direction being from the discharge valve into the connecting passage). A person of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that substantially matching the angles minimizes flow resistance and wear. By arranging the axis angle of the connecting passage to be within certain degrees of (and ideally equal to) the valve seat strike face taper angle [note the applicant’s own disclosure in ¶60 of filed specification: “In some embodiments, the angle of the axis 135 of the first portion 137 of connecting passage 130 (such as the angle θ) may be substantially equal to the taper angle of the strike face 147 of the valve seat 146 relative to the central axis 125 (such as within +/−10°, +/−5°, +/−2°, +/−1° or less, etc.)”], the fluid can escape the valve assembly and transition into the passage without enduring sharp directional changes or boundary layer separation. Furthermore, configuring the axis angle of the connecting passage to be within a range of certain degrees of the valve seat strike face taper angle would have been a routine design choice to eliminate sharp internal corners, thereby reducing geometric discontinuities, mitigating mechanical stress concentrations, and maximizing the operating fatigue life of the manifold body.
Regarding claim 19,
Fabbri, as modified, teaches the method, wherein:
discharging the fluid out of the plurality of pumping chambers (“p.c.”, see fig. A above) and into the plurality of discharge bores (81, see fig. A above) comprises discharging the fluid substantially vertically out (“↑”, see fig. A above) of the housing (“B”, see fig. A above) and into the plurality of discharge bores (81) of the body (“A” or “shaded region”, see fig. A above), and one or more of:
(a) directing the fluid out of the plurality of discharge bores and into the manifold bore through the plurality of connecting passages comprises directing the fluid along paths that angle toward a top side of the body and away from a bottom side of the body via the plurality of connecting passages, or
(b) directing the fluid out of the plurality of discharge bores (81) and into the manifold bore (86) through the plurality of connecting passages (85) further comprises directing the fluid (in ← direction, see fig. A above) from a first lateral direction (↨ direction, see fig. A above) in the plurality of connecting passages (81) to a second lateral direction (direction into or out of the page, see fig. A above) in the manifold bore (86), the second lateral direction oriented at about 90° to the first lateral direction (inherent feature).
Regarding claim 20,
Fabbri, as modified, teaches the method, wherein the body (“shaded region”, see fig. A above) comprises a single-piece, monolithic body (see abstract: Fabbri teaches that the cylinders, conduits, and manifolds are provided within a “single block”), wherein the pump includes a power end (1; see Fabbri’s fig. 2) and a fluid end (7; see Fabbri’s fig. 2), and wherein the housing comprises a housing of the fluid end (as evident from fig. A or Fabbri’s fig. 3).
Regarding claim 32,
Fabbri, as modified, teaches the fluid end wherein the axis angle is within plus or minus certain degrees (based on fig. C above) of the taper angle.
Fabbri, as modified, remains silent on the fluid end wherein the axis angle is “within plus or minus 10 degrees” of the taper angle.
Since applicant in the instant application has not disclosed any criticality associated with “within plus or minus 10 degrees” (for instance, see ¶60 of the filed specification), it would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have the axis angle within plus or minus 10 degrees of the taper angle in the modified Fabbri’s fluid end as a matter of design choice. One of ordinary skill in the art, furthermore, would have expected modified Fabbri’s pump to perform equally well with claimed plus or minus 10 degrees.
Regarding claim 37,
Fabbri, as modified, teaches the discharge manifold assembly, wherein each of the plurality of connecting passages (85; see fig. A above) defining a portion (portion in “circled region”, see fig. A above) that extends from the corresponding discharge bore (81) of the plurality of discharge bores of the discharge manifold assembly, the portion oriented at a non-zero angle relative to an axis of the corresponding discharge bore [non-zero angle being 90° relative to the axis (A2) of the discharge bore in view of fig. A above], such that during operation fluid flowing from the corresponding discharge bore flows into the portion generally without changing direction (fluid generally flows in ← direction in view of fig. A above).
Regarding claim 38,
Fabbri, as modified, teaches the discharge manifold assembly, wherein the axis angle of the portion is within plus or minus certain degrees (based on fig. C above) of the taper angle.
Fabbri, as modified, remains silent on the discharge manifold assembly, wherein the axis angle is “within plus or minus 10 degrees” of the taper angle.
Since applicant in the instant application has not disclosed any criticality associated with “within plus or minus 10 degrees” (for instance, see ¶60 of the filed specification), it would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have the axis angle within plus or minus 10 degrees of the taper angle in the modified Fabbri’s discharge manifold assembly as a matter of design choice. One of ordinary skill in the art, furthermore, would have expected modified Fabbri’s pump to perform equally well with claimed plus or minus 10 degrees.
Regarding claim 39,
Fabbri, as modified, teaches the discharge manifold assembly, wherein the plurality of connecting passages (85; see fig. A above) are oriented relative to the manifold bore (86; see fig, A above), such that during operation the fluid flows (a) in the plurality of connecting passages in a first direction radial relative to an axis of the manifold bore [in view of fig. A above, fluid flows in the connecting passage in first (←) direction, wherein this first direction is radial relative to axis “A1” of the manifold bore] and (b) in the manifold bore in a second direction axial relative to the axis of the manifold bore [in view of fig. A above, fluid flows within the manifold bore in second direction (either into the page or out of the page), wherein this second direction is axial relative to the axis “A1” of the manifold bore].
Regarding claim 41,
Fabbri, as modified, teaches the discharge manifold assembly, wherein (see fig. A above) each of the plurality of discharge bores (81) is spaced from the manifold bore (86) via the plurality of connecting passages (85), thereby to substantially separate fluid flow during operation in each of the plurality of discharge bores from fluid flow in the manifold bore, substantially equalizing wear related to the discharge valve assemblies associated with each of the plurality of discharge bores.
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fabbri in view of Salih and Vicars, Berton (US 7,335,002 – herein after Vicars).
Fabbri, as modified, teaches the fluid end, wherein:
the body (“shaded region” in fig. A above) of the discharge manifold assembly comprises a rectangular first portion (see fig. A above: labeled “p1”) and a cylindrical second portion (see fig. A above: labeled “p2”) integral with the rectangular first portion (“p1”), and
the body has the first end (see fig. B1 above) and the second end (see fig. B1 above), and the rectangular first portion is shaped as rectangular parallelepiped [a person of ordinary skill in the art would understand the fluid end of Fabbri is three-dimensional; thus, the asserted body is viewed as being shaped as “rectangular parallelpiped”, i.e. shape with six faces (in view of fig. A above: left, right, top, bottom, front and back); this is further evident by Salih as well (see fig. B1 above)].
Fabbri, as modified, remains silent on the fluid end, wherein the rectangular first portion includes a plurality of external recesses interleaved between the plurality of discharge bores between the first end of the body and the second end of the body.
However, Vicars teaches the fluid end (see fig. 5), wherein the rectangular first portion of the body (12) of the discharge manifold assembly includes a plurality of external recesses (50) interleaved between the plurality of discharge bores (20) between the first end of the body (front end in view of fig. 5) and the second end of the body (back end in view of fig. 5).
It would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to provide Vicars’s plurality of external recesses interleaved between the plurality of discharge bores between the first end of the body and the second end of the body in the modified fluid end of Fabbri for the purpose of easily hoisting and transporting the component (in this case, discharge manifold assembly) during maintenance of the fluid end, as recognized by Vicars (see col. 1, lines 34-44 and col. 3, lines 28-29).
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fabbri in view of Salih and Birdwell, J.C. (US 4,500,267 – herein after Birdwell).
Fabbri, as modified, teaches the fluid end, wherein:
the body (“shaded region” in fig. A above) of the discharge manifold assembly comprises a rectangular first portion (see fig. A above: labeled “p1”) and a cylindrical second portion (see fig. A above: labeled “p2”) integral with the rectangular first portion (“p1”), the plurality of discharge bores (81; see fig. A above) extending (in ↨ direction) through the rectangular first portion, and the manifold bore (86; see fig. A above) extending through the cylindrical second portion;
the manifold bore (86 of Fabbri or 72 of Salih) extending between the first end (see fig. B1 above) and the second end (see fig. B1 above), and the rectangular first portion is shaped as rectangular parallelepiped [a person of ordinary skill in the art would understand the fluid end of Fabbri is three-dimensional; thus, the asserted body is viewed as being shaped as “rectangular parallelpiped”, i.e. shape with six faces (in view of fig. A above: left, right, top, bottom, front and back); this is further evident by Salih as well (see fig. B1 above)].
Fabbri, as modified, remains silent on the fluid end wherein the cylindrical second portion includes a cylindrical recess at least partially extending circumferentially about a cylindrical curvature of the cylindrical second portion.
However, Birdwell teaches a fluid end (see figs. 1-2) wherein the cylindrical portion (57+61; this portion is an outlet manifold 57 with flange 61) includes a cylindrical recess (recess defined by space between flanges 61; labelled in fig. D below) at least partially extending circumferentially about a cylindrical curvature of the cylindrical second portion.
Fig. D: Edited figs. 1-2 of Birdwell to show claim interpretation.
It would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the cylindrical second portion in the modified fluid end of Fabbri for including a cylindrical recess at least partially extending circumferentially about a cylindrical curvature of the cylindrical second portion as taught by Birdwell for the purpose of configuring the cylindrical second portion for connection with a suitable outlet line, as recognized by Birdwell (see col. 3, lines 49-50).
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fabbri in view of Salih and Foote (evidentiary reference) and further in view of Vicars, Berton (US 7,335,002 – herein after Vicars) and Birdwell, J.C. (US 4,500,267 – herein after Birdwell).
Fabbri, as modified, teaches the discharge manifold assembly, wherein:
the body (“shaded region” in fig. A above) comprises a rectangular first portion (see fig. A above: labeled “p1”) and a cylindrical second portion (see fig. A above: labeled “p2”) integral with the rectangular first portion (“p1”),
the plurality of discharge bores (81; see fig. A above) extending (in ↨ direction) through the rectangular first portion,
the manifold bore (86; see fig. A above) extends through the cylindrical second portion;
the rectangular first portion is shaped as rectangular parallelepiped [a person of ordinary skill in the art would understand the fluid end of Fabbri is three-dimensional; thus, the asserted body is viewed as being shaped as “rectangular parallelpiped”, i.e. shape with six faces (in view of fig. A above: left, right, top, bottom, front and back); this is further evident by Salih as well (see fig. B1 above)].
Fabbri, as modified, remains silent on the discharge manifold assembly, wherein the rectangular first portion includes a plurality of external recesses interleaved between the plurality of discharge bores between the first end and the second end.
However, Vicars teaches the fluid end (see fig. 5), wherein the rectangular first portion of the body (12) of the discharge manifold assembly includes a plurality of external recesses (50) interleaved between the plurality of discharge bores (20) between the first end of the body (front end in view of fig. 5) and the second end of the body (back end in view of fig. 5).
It would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to provide Vicars’s plurality of external recesses interleaved between the plurality of discharge bores between the first end of the body and the second end of the body in the modified discharge manifold assembly of Fabbri for the purpose of easily hoisting and transporting the component (in this case, discharge manifold assembly) during maintenance of the fluid end, as recognized by Vicars (see col. 1, lines 34-44 and col. 3, lines 28-29).
Fabbri, as modified, remains silent on the discharge manifold assembly, wherein the cylindrical second portion includes a cylindrical recess that at least partially extends circumferentially about a cylindrical curvature of the cylindrical second portion.
However, Birdwell teaches a fluid end (see figs. 1-2) wherein the cylindrical portion (57+61; this portion is an outlet manifold 57 with flange 61) includes a cylindrical recess (recess defined by space between flanges 61; labelled in fig. D above) that at least partially extends circumferentially about a cylindrical curvature of the cylindrical second portion.
It would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the cylindrical second portion in the modified discharge manifold assembly of Fabbri for including a cylindrical recess at least partially extending circumferentially about a cylindrical curvature of the cylindrical second portion as taught by Birdwell for the purpose of configuring the cylindrical second portion for connection with a suitable outlet line, as recognized by Birdwell (see col. 3, lines 49-50).
Claims 24, 25 and 29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fabbri, Fabrizio (US 8,408,886 – herein after Fabbri) in view of Salih et al. (US 2018/0363642 – herein after Salih) and further in view of Stachowiak, Edward (US 4,878,815 – herein after Stachowiak).
In reference to claim 24, Fabbri teaches a pump (see title: referred as “high pressure plunger pump”) comprising (note: “plurality” of below claimed features being present in view of the pump being a multi-cylinder or having at least two cylinders; see col. 1, lines 5-6 or abstract):
a power end (1, see fig. 2) including a driver (5);
a plurality of plungers (6) operatively connected to the driver; and
a fluid end (7, see figs. 2-3) connected to the power end (1), the fluid end including:
a housing [housing is considered to be formed by lower portion (labeled “B” in fig. A below) of the fluid end body – herein after referred as “B”] comprising a first material (housing being made from a certain material being an inherent feature) and including a plurality of pumping chambers (labelled “p.c.” in fig. A above) configured to receive the plurality of plungers therein and a plurality of outlet ports (labelled “o.p.” in fig. A above) in fluid communication with the plurality of pumping chambers, and
a discharge manifold assembly [discharge manifold assembly is considered to be formed by upper portion (labeled “A” in fig. A above) of the fluid end body – herein after referred as “A”], the discharge manifold assembly including a body (body corresponding to “A”; see shaded portion in fig. A above) comprising a second material (discharge manifold assembly being made from a certain material being an inherent feature) and defining a plurality of discharge bores (81) and a manifold bore (86) therein such that the manifold bore (86) is spaced from (in ← direction, see fig. A above) each of the plurality of discharge bores (81) within the body (“shaded region”), and the plurality of discharge bores (81) being aligned with the plurality of outlet ports (“o.p.”) so as to receive fluid discharged from the plurality of pumping chambers (“p.c.”), and
a plurality of discharge valve assemblies (82+83+”valve seat” in fig. A above), one of the plurality of discharge valve assemblies (see fig. A above) at least partially received in a corresponding outlet port of the plurality of outlet ports and a corresponding discharge bore of the plurality of discharge bores (81) of the discharge manifold assembly [bottom portion of component “valve seat” is partially received in corresponding outlet port “o.p.” and top portion of component “valve seat” is partially received in corresponding discharge bore 81; see fig. A above], (see fig. A above) each of the plurality of discharge bores (81) spaced from the manifold bore (86), thereby to substantially separate fluid flow during operation in each of the plurality of discharge bores from fluid flow in the manifold bore, substantially equalizing wear related to the plurality of discharge valve assemblies.
Fabbri does not teach the pump, wherein the discharge manifold assembly is connected to a top side of the housing.
However, Salih teaches a discharge manifold assembly (70, see fig. 1 or fig. 6 and ¶35) connected to a top side (in view of frame of reference seen in fig. B2 above) of the housing (20).
It would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the pump of Fabbri for having separate housing and separate discharge manifold assembly such that the discharge manifold assembly is connected to top side of the housing as taught by Salih for the purpose of overcoming the problems associated with monolithic blocks/structures – specifically to allow for independent removal and servicing of components (in this case, either discharge valve assembly or fluid end) and to reduce replacement costs by ensuring that localized damage to the single component does not require the replacement of the entire fluid end assembly.
Fabbri, as modified, remains silent on the pump, wherein the second material is different from the first material.
However, Stachowiak teaches a pump, (see fig. 1 and col. 4, lines 28-36) wherein a housing (flange plate 13) of a fluid end (12) is made from a first material (“mild steel or other suitable low-cost material of sufficient strength”) and wherein a manifold block (15) is made from a second material (“material with lower strength characteristics”) that is different from the first material.
Thus, it would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention for making the discharge manifold assembly and the housing of the fluid end from different materials as taught by Stachowiak in the modified pump of Fabbri for the purpose of cost savings, as recognized by Stachowiak (see col. 4, lines 28-36).
In reference to claim 25, Fabbri, as modified, teaches the pump, wherein: the plurality of discharge bores (81; see fig. A above) is spaced relative to a central axis (central axis into and out of page; labelled “A1” in fig. A above) of the manifold bore (86), and wherein the manifold bore (86) is radially spaced (in ← direction) from the plurality of discharge bores (81) relative to the central axis (“A1”) of the manifold bore (86).
In reference to claim 29, Fabbri, as modified, teaches the pump, wherein:
the body (“shaded region”, see fig. A above) is a single-piece, monolithic body (see abstract: Fabbri teaches that the cylinders, conduits, and manifolds are provided within a “single block”),
the housing includes a planar top surface on the top side (see fig. B2 above),
the plurality of outlet ports extend through the planar top surface (see fig. B2 above), and
the planar top surface includes a plurality of seal grooves (fig. B2 shown above is annotated fig. 6 of Salih; based on the schematic presentation the asserted element is “seal” that is provided in its corresponding groove on a surface of the housing), each of the plurality of seal grooves surrounding a corresponding one of the plurality of outlet ports.
Claims 26 and 42 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fabbri in view of Salih and further in view of Stachowiak and evidenced by Foote, Earl (US 9,243,630 – herein after Foote).
Regarding claim 26,
Fabbri, as modified, teaches the pump, wherein:
the body (“shaded region”, see fig. A above) further includes a plurality of connecting passages (85), each of the plurality of connecting passages (85) extending from a corresponding one of the plurality of discharge bores (81) to the manifold bore (86),
the body (in view of fig. A and fig. B2 above) of the discharge manifold assembly includes a top side and a bottom side, wherein the bottom side is engaged with the top side of the housing (in view of fig. B2 above), and wherein each of the plurality of connecting passages extends from the corresponding one of the plurality of discharge bores to the manifold bore (as evident from fig. A above), each of the plurality of discharge valve assemblies includes a valve cover (84, see fig. A above), each of the plurality of discharge bores includes an annular shoulder (“s1”or “s2”; see fig. A above) therein configured to engage with the valve cover of a corresponding one of the plurality of discharge valve assemblies, and for each of the plurality of discharge bores (81), the corresponding connecting passage (85) intersects with the discharge bore between the annular shoulder and the bottom side of the body (as evident from fig. A above).
Fabbri, as modified, remains silent on the pump, wherein each of the plurality of connecting passages angle toward the top side of the body and away from the bottom side of the body while extending from the corresponding one of the plurality of discharge bores to the manifold bore.
However, Foote teaches a fluid end (see fig. 4) wherein each of the plurality of connecting passages (214) angle toward the first (top) side of the body (202) and away from the second (bottom) side of the body while extending from the corresponding one of the plurality of discharge bores (416 or “shaded region” in fig. C above) to the manifold bore (306).
Since applicant in the instant application has not disclosed any criticality associated with “angling” of the plurality of connecting passages (for instance, see ¶59 of pg. pub of the instant application), it would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the orientation of the plurality of connecting passages in the modified Fabbri’s pump such that they angle toward the top side of the body and away from the bottom side of body as shown by Foote as a matter of design choice. One of ordinary skill in the art, furthermore, would have expected modified Fabbri’s pump to perform equally well with claimed angle of the connecting passages.
Regarding claim 42,
Fabbri, as modified, teaches the pump, wherein:
the body (“shaded region”, see fig. A above) further includes a plurality of connecting passages (85), each of the plurality of connecting passages (85) extending between a corresponding discharge bore (81) of the plurality of discharge bores and the manifold bore (86), and
each of the plurality of discharge valve assemblies include a valve seat (see fig. A above) having a strike face (see fig. A above) defining a taper angle (taper angle being evident since the strike face is an angled surface), each of the plurality of connecting passages (85) defining a portion (portion in “circled region”, see fig. A above) extending from the corresponding discharge bore (81), the portion having an axis with an axis angle relative to an axis of the corresponding discharge bore (axis angle being perpendicular to the axis (A2) of the discharge bore in view of fig. A above).
Fabbri, as modified, does not teach the pump, wherein the axis angle is “substantially equal” to the taper angle.
However, Foote evidences a fluid end, wherein (see fig. C above or fig. 6) a discharge valve seat (434) has a strike face (430) defining a taper angle (labeled “a1”) relative to an axis (“B”) of corresponding discharge bore (shaded region) and wherein a connecting passage (214) defines a portion that extends from the corresponding discharge bore, the portion having an axis angle (labeled “a2”) relative to the axis of the corresponding discharge bore similar to the taper angle (angles “a1” and “a2” are considered to be “substantially” equal). Foote does not explicitly state the precise numerical angular measurements in its written text.
Thus, it would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the connecting passage’s portion in the modified Fabbri’s pump such that the axis angle of the portion is “substantially equal” to the taper angle of the valve seat’s strike face as shown by Foote for the purpose of providing a flow path that minimizes the change in fluid flow direction (in this case, fluid flow direction being from the discharge valve into the connecting passage). A person of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that substantially matching the angles minimizes flow resistance and wear. By arranging the axis angle of the connecting passage to be within ±10% of (and ideally equal to) the valve seat strike face taper angle [note the applicant’s own disclosure in ¶95 of pg. pub of the instant application: “Further, when used herein (including in the claims), the words “about,” “generally,” “substantially,” “approximately,” and the like, when used in reference to a stated value mean within a range of plus or minus 10% of the stated value”], the fluid can escape the valve assembly and transition into the passage without enduring sharp directional changes or boundary layer separation. Furthermore, configuring the axis angle of the connecting passage to be within a range of ±10% of the valve seat strike face taper angle would have been a routine design choice to eliminate sharp internal corners, thereby reducing geometric discontinuities, mitigating mechanical stress concentrations, and maximizing the operating fatigue life of the manifold body.
Claim 34 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fabbri in view of Salih and Jensen et al. (US 8,074,679 – herein after Jensen)
Fabbri does not teach the fluid end, wherein each of the plurality of connecting passages, at a transition between each of the plurality of connecting passages and the manifold bore, defines radiuses, thereby to reduce severity and abruptness in a change in direction for the fluid during operation as the fluid flows through the plurality of connecting passages and into the manifold bore, such that stress concentrations in the body of the discharge manifold assembly are reduced.
However, Jensen teaches a fluid end wherein a connecting passage (see fig. E below), at a transition between the connecting passage and the manifold bore (see fig. E below), defines radiuses (see fig. E below), thereby to reduce severity and abruptness in a change in direction for the fluid during operation as the fluid flows through the plurality of connecting passages and into the manifold bore, such that stress concentrations in the body of the discharge manifold assembly are reduced.
Fig. E: Edited fig. 2 of Jensen to show claim interpretation.
It would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the connecting passages in the modified fluid end of Fabbri for defining radiuses at a transition between the connecting passages and the manifold bore as taught by Jensen for the well-known purpose of minimizing the “severity and abruptness in a change in direction” for the fluid, thereby reducing stress concentrations at the bore intersections and preventing the triggering of fractures in high-pressure environments.
Claim 40 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fabbri in view of Salih and Foote (evidentiary reference) and further in view of Jensen et al. (US 8,074,679 – herein after Jensen)
Fabbri does not teach the discharge manifold assmebly, wherein each of the plurality of connecting passages, at a transition between each of the plurality of connecting passages and the manifold bore, defines radiuses, thereby to reduce severity and abruptness in a change in direction for the fluid during operation as the fluid flows through the plurality of connecting passages and into the manifold bore, such that stress concentrations in the body of the discharge manifold assembly are reduced.
However, Jensen teaches a fluid end wherein a connecting passage (see fig. E above), at a transition between the connecting passage and the manifold bore (see fig. E above), defines radiuses (see fig. E above), thereby to reduce severity and abruptness in a change in direction for the fluid during operation as the fluid flows through the plurality of connecting passages and into the manifold bore, such that stress concentrations in the body of the discharge manifold assembly are reduced.
It would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the connecting passages in the modified discharge manifold assembly of Fabbri for defining radiuses at a transition between the connecting passages and the manifold bore as taught by Jensen for the well-known purpose of minimizing the “severity and abruptness in a change in direction” for the fluid, thereby reducing stress concentrations at the bore intersections and preventing the triggering of fractures in high-pressure environments.
Response to Arguments
The arguments filed September 1, 2026 have been fully considered:
Arguments with respect to 35 USC 112(a) rejections: These arguments are found to be persuasive and thus, the rejection has been withdrawn.
Arguments with respect to prior art rejections of claims under 35 USC 103: These arguments are not found to be persuasive for following reasons and thus, the rejections have been maintained.
Salih explicitly identifies (see ¶6) the problems associated with monolithic fluid ends, teaching the use of separate, independently removable fluid end bodies and manifolds to allow for independent servicing and to reduce replacement costs when localized damage occurs. This established a clear, prior-art based rationale to modify Fabbri’s structure.
Applicant incorrectly asserts that modifying Fabbri’s monolithic block destroys its primary solution to high-pressure fatigue. Fabbri expressly states (see col. 1, lines 61-67 and col. 2, lines 1-15) that its objective of overcoming fatigue stress is attained by rearranging its internal geometry – specifically, forming the intake valve compartment as an extension of the cylinder and positioning the intake manifold in front of the cylinder head. This arrangement eliminates the intake conduit and allows the delivery conduit to be made comparatively very small, which Fabbri explicitly credits for making the area “much more robust” and overcoming the stated fatigue problems.
Because Fabbri’s solution relies on this specific internal spatial geometry rather than the monolithic nature of the block itself, applying Salih’s modular, multi-piece construction does not destroy Fabbri’s core inventive concept. A person of ordinary skill in the art would logically adopt Salih’s modular design to achieve independent component servicing while maintaining Fabbri’s robust coaxial intake and small delivery conduit arrangement. Even if a monolithic block inherently possesses fewer interfaces, a person of ordinary skill in the art routinely evaluates competing design trade-offs. A proposed modification does not have to preserve every inherent, unstated advantage of a prior art device to be considered obvious.
The rejection does not assert that Fabbri inherently discloses physically separate components. Instead, the rejection accurately identifies the spatial and functional regions within Fabbri’s monolithic head 7 that correspond to the claimed “housing” (the lower portion defining the pumping chambers) and the “discharge manifold assembly” (the upper portion defining the discharge and manifold bores). The rejection relies explicitly on Salih to teach the physical separation of these functional regions into distinct, connectable components. Mapping the corresponding functional regions in a monolithic baseline structure so that a modularity modification taught by secondary reference can be applied is a standard and proper application of 35 USC 103, not an arbitrary hindsight reconstruction. The modification does not require a person of ordinary skill in the art to invent new assembly procedures or interfaces from scratch. Salih provides the structural blueprint for dividing a fluid end into separate, connectable components, detailing the necessary fastening method, such as threaded bolts, and sealing surfaces. While transitioning from Fabbri’s monolithic block to Salih’s multi-piece assembly naturally necessitates interfaces and seals, these are routine engineering elements taught by Salih. Implementing these known connections does not fundamentally alter Fabbri’s core pumping mechanics.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CHIRAG JARIWALA/Examiner, Art Unit 3746
/BRYAN M LETTMAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3746