CTNF 18/773,115 CTNF 83811 DETAILED ACTION 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, anycorrection of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground ofrejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would bethe same under either status. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-23-aia AIA The factual inquiries for establishing a background for determining obviousness under 35 U.S.C. 103 are summarized as follows: 1. Determining the scope and contents of the prior art. 2. Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue. 3. Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art. 4. Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or non-obviousness. 07-20-02-aia AIA This application currently names joint inventors. In considering patentability of the claims the examiner presumes that the subject matter of the various claims was commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention(s) absent any evidence to the contrary. Applicant is advised of the obligation under 37 CFR 1.56 to point out the inventor and effective filing dates of each claim that was not commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the later invention in order for the examiner to consider the applicability of 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) for any potential 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) prior art against the later invention. 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 1 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cheng et al. (US 2024/0284551 A1) in view of Kwak et al. (US 2020/0228282 A1) . Regarding claim 1, Cheng et al. teach an apparatus for a terminal device, comprising: at least one processor; and at least one memory storing instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the terminal device at least to (Fig. 5, [0071, 0074], communication apparatus 510 may also include a transceiver 516 coupled to the processor 512 and capable of wirelessly transmitting and receiving data. In some implementations, the communication apparatus 510 may further include a memory 514 coupled to the processor 512 and capable of being accessed by the processor 512 and storing data therein . In some implementations, the network apparatus 520 may also include a transceiver 526 coupled to the processor 522 and capable of wirelessly transmitting and receiving data. In some implementations, the network apparatus 520 may further include a memory 524 coupled to the processor 522. The communication apparatus 510 may be implemented in the form of one or more integrated-circuit (IC) chips such as, for example and without limitation, one or more single-core processors, one or more multi-core processors, one or more reduced-instruction set computing (RISC) processors, or one or more complex-instruction-set-computing (CISC) processors ), Cheng et al. teach receive configurations for discontinuous transmission defining active periods and non-active periods of multiple secondary cells, respectively (Figs. 5-6, [0056, 0083, 0086], the process 600 may involve the processor 512 of the communication apparatus 510 receiving a configuration of a cell DTX (discontinuous transmission) from a network node with a cell DTX functionality. The processor 512 may receive, via the transceiver 516, a transmission activity to send an SR in an active period of a DRX and an active period of the cell DTX of the network apparatus 520; or skip a transmission of the SR during one or more non-active periods of the DRX or the one or more non-active periods of the cell DTX of the network apparatus 520. The UE is provided a number of groups of configured SCells (secondary cells) by dormancyGroupOutsideActiveTime), Cheng et al. teach determine overlapping status of the active periods of the multiple secondary cells (Figs. 5-6, [0084], the processor 512 may receive, via the transceiver 516, an indication of a new transmission from the network apparatus 520, and skip a monitoring activity to monitor a PDCCH occasion for the new transmission in an event that the PDCCH occasion is overlapped with one of the one or more non-active periods of the cell DTX ), Cheng et al. teach determine , based on the determined overlapping status of the active periods of the multiple secondary cells, a measurement delay for measuring the multiple secondary cells (Figs. 5-6, [0038-0041, 0075, 0080], the UE may receive a RRC signaling with an information element (IE) for cell DTX operation by configuring the following parameters : dtx-onDuration Timer: the duration at the beginning of a DTX cycle. The dtx-onDurationTimer may be a timer to indicate the on-duration. dtx-SlotOffset: the delay before starting the dtx-onDurationTimer . The start offset or delay may be indicated by the slot offset or the start slot . dtx-LongCycleStartOffset: the Long DTX cycle, dtx-LongCycle, and the start offset, dtx-StartOffset, which defines the subframe where the Long and Short Cell DTX cycle starts. In receiving the configuration, the processor 512 may receive, via the transceiver 516, a RRC signaling to configure one or more cell DTX parameters. The one or more cell DTX parameters comprise at least one of the periodicity, the start slot or the start offset and the on-duration. The configuration may comprise information regarding at least one of a periodicity, a start slot or a start offset (delay) and an on-duration with respect to the cell DTX. (Note: the periodicity is a duration for sending information with start slot (on start of slot) or start offset slot (i.e. that is the delay is indicated by the slot offset and it all depend on overlapping condition)) ), Cheng et al. teach and measure the multiple secondary cells within the measurement delay (Figs. 5-6, [0026, 0056], the UE is provided a number of groups of configured SCells (secondary cells). The UE is expected to skip its new dynamic data transmission or reception during the cell DTX or DRX non-active periods (i.e., the UE is expected to still perform transmission or reception for dynamic data retransmissions). The UE is expected to only receive reference signals (e.g., synchronization signal block (SSB) or channel status information reference signal (CSI-RS) for measurement ). Cheng et al. is teaching of discontinuous transmission comprising of active and non-active periods for measuring multiple secondary cells. Cheng et al., however, fail to expressly disclose of evaluating measurement delay based on overlapping for multiple secondary cells. (Emphasis added). Regarding claim 1, Kwak et al. teach determine , based on the determined overlapping status of the active periods of the multiple secondary cells, a measurement delay for measuring the multiple secondary cells (Figs. 10 and 14, [0171-0174], a measurement gap is configured in a CSI process for the current active BWP, BWP A, and the UE assumes that a CSI-RS configured in a CSI process for BWP B is measured in the measurement gap. In this case, the UE assumes that data/a control signal is still received in the active BWP, but not during the period of the measurement gap. When a bandwidth carrying a CSI-RS includes all or a part of the current active BWP, the CSI-RS is measured, while the current active BWP is maintained. T he UE may measure a CSI-RS configured in the CSI-RS process of the inactive BWP in a part overlapped with the active BWP, and measure a CSI-RS in the measurement gap in a part non-overlapped with the active BWP, According to the transmission duration of a CSI-RS and a BWP adaptation latency, when the transmission duration is larger than one slot or the BWP adaptation latency is so large that the measurement delay should be larger than one slot . The UE assumes (or adapts) that data/a control signal is received in the active BWP, but not during the period of the measurement gap ). It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Cheng et al. by incorporating the features as taught by Kwak et al. in order to provide a more effective and efficient system that is capable of determining , based on the determined overlapping status of the active periods of the multiple secondary cells, a measurement delay for measuring the multiple secondary cells. The motivation is to support an improved method for reporting a channel state in a wireless communication system, performed by a user equipment (UE) (see [0005]). Regarding claim 15, Cheng et al. teach a method performed by an apparatus for a terminal device, comprising (Fig. 5, [0071, 0074], communication apparatus 510 may also include a transceiver 516 coupled to the processor 512 and capable of wirelessly transmitting and receiving data. In some implementations, the communication apparatus 510 may further include a memory 514 coupled to the processor 512 and capable of being accessed by the processor 512 and storing data therein . In some implementations, the network apparatus 520 may also include a transceiver 526 coupled to the processor 522 and capable of wirelessly transmitting and receiving data. In some implementations, the network apparatus 520 may further include a memory 524 coupled to the processor 522. The communication apparatus 510 may be implemented in the form of one or more integrated-circuit (IC) chips such as, for example and without limitation, one or more single-core processors, one or more multi-core processors, one or more reduced-instruction set computing (RISC) processors, or one or more complex-instruction-set-computing (CISC) processors ), Cheng et al. teach receiving configurations for discontinuous transmission defining active periods and non-active periods of multiple secondary cells, respectively (Figs. 5-6, [0056, 0083, 0086], the process 600 may involve the processor 512 of the communication apparatus 510 receiving a configuration of a cell DTX (discontinuous transmission) from a network node with a cell DTX functionality. The processor 512 may receive, via the transceiver 516, a transmission activity to send an SR in an active period of a DRX and an active period of the cell DTX of the network apparatus 520; or skip a transmission of the SR during one or more non-active periods of the DRX or the one or more non-active periods of the cell DTX of the network apparatus 520. The UE is provided a number of groups of configured SCells (secondary cells) by dormancyGroupOutsideActiveTime), Cheng et al. teach determining overlapping status of the active periods of the multiple secondary cells (Figs. 5-6, [0084], the processor 512 may receive, via the transceiver 516, an indication of a new transmission from the network apparatus 520, and skip a monitoring activity to monitor a PDCCH occasion for the new transmission in an event that the PDCCH occasion is overlapped with one of the one or more non-active periods of the cell DTX ), Cheng et al. teach determining , based on the determined overlapping status of the active periods of the multiple secondary cells, a measurement delay for measuring the multiple secondary cells (Figs. 5-6, [0038-0041, 0075, 0080], the UE may receive a RRC signaling with an information element (IE) for cell DTX operation by configuring the following parameters : dtx-onDuration Timer: the duration at the beginning of a DTX cycle. The dtx-onDurationTimer may be a timer to indicate the on-duration. dtx-SlotOffset: the delay before starting the dtx-onDurationTimer . The start offset or delay may be indicated by the slot offset or the start slot . dtx-LongCycleStartOffset: the Long DTX cycle, dtx-LongCycle, and the start offset, dtx-StartOffset, which defines the subframe where the Long and Short Cell DTX cycle starts. In receiving the configuration, the processor 512 may receive, via the transceiver 516, a RRC signaling to configure one or more cell DTX parameters. The one or more cell DTX parameters comprise at least one of the periodicity, the start slot or the start offset and the on-duration. The configuration may comprise information regarding at least one of a periodicity, a start slot or a start offset (delay) and an on-duration with respect to the cell DTX. (Note: the periodicity is a duration for sending information with start slot (on start of slot) or start offset slot (i.e. the delay is indicated by the slot offset and it all depend on overlapping condition)) ), Cheng et al. teach and measuring the multiple secondary cells within the measurement delay (Figs. 5-6, [0026, 0056], the UE is provided a number of groups of configured SCells (secondary cells). The UE is expected to skip its new dynamic data transmission or reception during the cell DTX or DRX non-active periods (i.e., the UE is expected to still perform transmission or reception for dynamic data retransmissions). The UE is expected to only receive reference signals (e.g., synchronization signal block (SSB) or channel status information reference signal (CSI-RS) for measurement). Cheng et al. is teaching of discontinuous transmission comprising of active and non-active periods for measuring multiple secondary cells. Cheng et al., however, fail to expressly disclose of evaluating measurement delay based on overlapping for multiple secondary cells. (Emphasis added). Regarding claim 15, Kwak et al. teach determining , based on the determined overlapping status of the active periods of the multiple secondary cells, a measurement delay for measuring the multiple secondary cells (Figs. 10 and 14, [0171-0174], a measurement gap is configured in a CSI process for the current active BWP, BWP A, and the UE assumes that a CSI-RS configured in a CSI process for BWP B is measured in the measurement gap. In this case, the UE assumes that data/a control signal is still received in the active BWP, but not during the period of the measurement gap. When a bandwidth carrying a CSI-RS includes all or a part of the current active BWP, the CSI-RS is measured, while the current active BWP is maintained. T he UE may measure a CSI-RS configured in the CSI-RS process of the inactive BWP in a part overlapped with the active BWP, and measure a CSI-RS in the measurement gap in a part non-overlapped with the active BWP, According to the transmission duration of a CSI-RS and a BWP adaptation latency, when the transmission duration is larger than one slot or the BWP adaptation latency is so large that the measurement delay should be larger than one slot . The UE assumes (or adapts) that data/a control signal is received in the active BWP, but not during the period of the measurement gap ). It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Cheng et al. by incorporating the features as taught by Kwak et al. in order to provide a more effective and efficient system that is capable of determining , based on the determined overlapping status of the active periods of the multiple secondary cells, a measurement delay for measuring the multiple secondary cells. The motivation is to support an improved method for reporting a channel state in a wireless communication system, performed by a user equipment (UE) (see [0005]) . 07-22-aia AIA Claim (s) 2 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cheng et al. (US 2024/0284551 A1) in view of Kwak et al. (US 2020/0228282 A1) as applied to claim s 1 and 15 above, and further in view of Zhou et al. (US 20260107344 A1) . Cheng et al. and Kwak et al. disclose the claimed limitations as described in paragraph 5 above. Cheng et al. and Kwak et al. do not expressly disclose the following features: regarding claim 2, wherein the apparatus is configured to: receive from the multiple secondary cells, respective activation signalings to activate the configurations for the discontinuous transmission; regarding claim 16, comprising: receiving from the multiple secondary cells, respective activation signalings to activate the configurations for the discontinuous transmission. Regarding claim 2, Zhou et al. teach wherein the apparatus is configured to: receive from the multiple secondary cells, respective activation signalings to activate the configurations for the discontinuous transmission (Fig. 42, [0403], the SCell activation/deactivation MAC CE may comprise a (activation/deactivation) state of a cell DTX/DRX configuration for the SCell, in addition to a SCell activation/deactivation indication for the SCell. The state of the cell DTX/DRX configuration may be indicated as activated or deactivated by a bit in the SCell activation/deactivation MAC CE. The second wireless device, based on receiving the SCell activation/deactivation MAC CE, may activate the SCell and determine a (activation/deactivation) state of the cell DTX/DRX configuration for the SCell. By jointly indicating the SCell activation/deactivation and the cell DTX/DRX activation/deactivation state in the same MAC CE, the base station may reduce signaling overhead for the SCell activation indication and the cell DTX/DRX activation/deactivation indication, which may also reduce the misunderstanding of the cell DTX/DRX state for the wireless device after the SCell activation/deactivation MAC CE is received if these two indications are transmitted in the same MAC CE. Example embodiments of FIG. 42 may align the base station and a wireless device regarding a state of a cell DTX/DRX configuration of a SCell when the SCell is activated after a group common DCI indicating an activation/deactivation of the cell DTX/DRX configuration of the SCell has been transmitted by the base station). Regarding claim 16, Zhou et al. teach comprising: receiving from the multiple secondary cells, respective activation signalings to activate the configurations for the discontinuous transmission (Fig. 42, [0403], the SCell activation/deactivation MAC CE may comprise a (activation/deactivation) state of a cell DTX/DRX configuration for the SCell, in addition to a SCell activation/deactivation indication for the SCell. The state of the cell DTX/DRX configuration may be indicated as activated or deactivated by a bit in the SCell activation/deactivation MAC CE. The second wireless device, based on receiving the SCell activation/deactivation MAC CE, may activate the SCell and determine a (activation/deactivation) state of the cell DTX/DRX configuration for the SCell. By jointly indicating the SCell activation/deactivation and the cell DTX/DRX activation/deactivation state in the same MAC CE, the base station may reduce signaling overhead for the SCell activation indication and the cell DTX/DRX activation/deactivation indication, which may also reduce the misunderstanding of the cell DTX/DRX state for the wireless device after the SCell activation/deactivation MAC CE is received if these two indications are transmitted in the same MAC CE. Example embodiments of FIG. 42 may align the base station and a wireless device regarding a state of a cell DTX/DRX configuration of a SCell when the SCell is activated after a group common DCI indicating an activation/deactivation of the cell DTX/DRX configuration of the SCell has been transmitted by the base station). It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Cheng et al. with Kwak et al. by incorporating the features as taught by Zhou et al. in order to provide a more effective and efficient system that is capable of receiving, by UE, from the multiple secondary cells, respective activation signalings to activate the configurations for the discontinuous transmission. The motivation is to support an improved method for activation/deactivation status of an SCell (see [0253]) . 07-22-aia AIA Claim (s) 3-4, 7-9, 11, 17-18 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cheng et al. (US 2024/0284551 A1) in view of Kwak et al. (US 2020/0228282 A1) as applied to claim s 1 and 15 above, and further in view of Jeon et al. (US 2024/0267984 A1) . Cheng et al. and Kwak et al. disclose the claimed limitations as described in paragraph 5 above. Cheng et al. and Kwak et al. do not expressly disclose the following features: regarding claim 3, wherein the apparatus is configured to: perform the measurements during the active periods on the respective secondary cells in a non-interference manner such that the measurement on one secondary cell is free from being delayed due to the measurement on another secondary cell if the determined overlapping status is that the active periods of the multiple secondary cells are separated in time; regarding claim 4, wherein the apparatus is configured to: perform the measurements during the active periods on the respective secondary cells in the non-interference manner if the determined overlapping status is that the active periods of the multiple secondary cells are separated in time with a distance larger than a threshold; regarding claim 7, wherein the apparatus is configured to: perform the measurements during the active periods on the respective secondary cells within one measurement periodicity if the measurements during the active periods on the respective secondary cells are performed in the non-interference manner; regarding claim 8, wherein the apparatus is configured to: count measurement objects of the multiple secondary cells as one frequency layer when the measurements during the active periods on the respective secondary cells are performed in the non-interference manner, and the measurement delay is determined based on the number of the frequency layers; regarding claim 9, wherein the apparatus is configured to: perform the measurement during the active periods on the respective secondary cells in an alternate manner such that the measurement on one secondary cell is delayed due to the measurement on another secondary cell if the determined overlapping status is that the active periods of the multiple secondary cells are at least partially overlapping; regarding claim 11, wherein at least one of the following of the multiple secondary cells are measured: channel state information reference signal, or synchronization signal block; regarding claim 17, comprising: performing the measurements during the active periods on the respective secondary cells in a non-interference manner such that the measurement on one secondary cell is free from being delayed due to the measurement on another secondary cell if the determined overlapping status is that the active periods of the multiple secondary cells are separated in time; regarding claim 18, comprising: performing the measurements during the active periods on the respective secondary cells in the non-interference manner if the determined overlapping status is that the active periods of the multiple secondary cells are separated in time with a distance larger than a threshold; regarding claim 20, comprising: performing the measurements during the active periods on the respective secondary cells within one measurement periodicity if the measurements during the active periods on the respective secondary cells are performed in the non-interference manner. Regarding claim 3, Jeon et al. teach wherein the apparatus is configured to: perform the measurements during the active periods on the respective secondary cells in a non-interference manner such that the measurement on one secondary cell is free from being delayed due to the measurement on another secondary cell if the determined overlapping status is that the active periods of the multiple secondary cells are separated in time (Figs. 1 and 3, [0096, 0156-0157], cell DTX/DRX can be configured via at least a periodicity, start slot/offset, and on-duration during which all transmissions/receptions by the gNB (e.g., gNB 102) are assumed to be enabled. The configurations and operations of cell DTX and cell DRX can be linked or can be separate and that may depend on the traffic characteristics in the DL and the UL . A serving cell can configure a UE to perform neighboring cell measurement and reporting per measurement configuration including intra/inter-RAT and intra/inter-frequencies. A UE can be configured to use SSB or CSI-RS for the measurement. The serving cell can consider neighboring cell's cell DTX into slot configuration or SMTC configuration for CSI-RS and SSB measurements such that the measurement occasions fall into the neighboring cell's on-duration . A duration for the period of the DTX cycle can be same as the duration for the period of the DRX cycle, and other parameters on the offset value(s) and on-duration timer can be separately configured for the DTX cycle and DRX cycle. For one further sub-example, the on-duration for the DRX cycle and the on-duration for the DTX cycle may not overlap. For another further sub-example, the on-duration for the DRX cycle and the on-duration for the DTX cycle can be determined separately. (Note: as shown the DTX in the fig. 9, is having plurality of on-duration (active period) in each cell DTX periodicity are separate in time)). Regarding claim 4, Jeon et al. teach wherein the apparatus is configured to: perform the measurements during the active periods on the respective secondary cells in the non-interference manner if the determined overlapping status is that the active periods of the multiple secondary cells are separated in time with a distance larger than a threshold (Figs. 1 and 3, [0040, 0096, 0156-0157], cell DTX/DRX can be configured via at least a periodicity, start slot/offset, and on-duration during which all transmissions/receptions by the gNB (e.g., gNB 102) are assumed to be enabled. The configurations and operations of cell DTX and cell DRX can be linked or can be separate and that may depend on the traffic characteristics in the DL and the UL. A serving cell can configure a UE to perform neighboring cell measurement and reporting per measurement configuration including intra/inter-RAT and intra/inter-frequencies. A UE can be configured to use SSB or CSI-RS for the measurement. The serving cell can consider neighboring cell's cell DTX into slot configuration or SMTC configuration for CSI-RS and SSB measurements such that the measurement occasions fall into the neighboring cell's on-duration. A duration for the period of the DTX cycle can be same as the duration for the period of the DRX cycle, and other parameters on the offset value(s) and on-duration timer can be separately configured for the DTX cycle and DRX cycle. For one further sub-example, the on-duration for the DRX cycle and the on-duration for the DTX cycle may not overlap. For another further sub-example, the on-duration for the DRX cycle and the on-duration for the DTX cycle can be determined separately. (Note: as shown the DTX in the fig. 9, is having plurality of on-duration (active period) in each cell DTX periodicity are separate in time). Coverage areas associated with gNBs, such as the coverage areas 120 and 125, depending upon the configuration of the gNBs and variations in the radio environment associated with natural and man-made obstructions). Regarding claim 7, Jeon et al. teach wherein the apparatus is configured to: perform the measurements during the active periods on the respective secondary cells within one measurement periodicity if the measurements during the active periods on the respective secondary cells are performed in the non-interference manner (Figs. 1 and 3, [0156, 0158], a serving cell can configure a UE to perform neighboring cell measurement and reporting per measurement configuration . The UE can be configured to use SSB or CSI-RS for the measurement. When CSI-RS is used for neighboring cell measurement, the referenceSignalConfig in the MeasObject points to a CSI-RS resource configuration with a corresponding cell ID, measurement bandwidth, and slot configuration for the measurement. The UE shall perform random access only during the indicated neighboring cell's DRX on-duration. Similar to the cell DTX, if the neighboring cell supports multiple cell DTX/DRX configurations and dynamic activation among the multiple configurations ). Regarding claim 8, Jeon et al. teach wherein the apparatus is configured to: count measurement objects of the multiple secondary cells as one frequency layer when the measurements during the active periods on the respective secondary cells are performed in the non-interference manner, and the measurement delay is determined based on the number of the frequency layers (Figs. 1 and 3, [0040, 0089, 0157], the approximate extents of the coverage areas 120 and 125 , which are shown as approximately circular. The serving cell can consider neighboring cell's cell DTX into slot configuration or SMTC configuration for CSI-RS and SSB measurements such that the measurement occasions fall into the neighboring cell's on-duration . A number of corresponding non-overlapped CCEs per slot on a secondary cell to be larger than the corresponding numbers that the UE is capable of monitoring on the secondary cell per slot. For cross-carrier scheduling, the number of PDCCH candidates for monitoring and the number of non-overlapped CCEs per slot are separately counted for each scheduled cell ). Regarding claim 9, Jeon et al. teach wherein the apparatus is configured to: perform the measurement during the active periods on the respective secondary cells in an alternate manner such that the measurement on one secondary cell is delayed due to the measurement on another secondary cell if the determined overlapping status is that the active periods of the multiple secondary cells are at least partially overlapping (Figs. 1 and 3, [0131, 0156, 0158], a serving cell can configure a UE to perform neighboring cell measurement and reporting per measurement configuration . The UE can be configured to use SSB or CSI-RS for the measurement. When CSI-RS is used for neighboring cell measurement, the referenceSignalConfig in the MeasObject points to a CSI-RS resource configuration with a corresponding cell ID, measurement bandwidth, and slot configuration for the measurement. The UE shall perform random access only during the indicated neighboring cell's DRX on-duration. Similar to the cell DTX, if the neighboring cell supports multiple cell DTX/DRX configurations and dynamic activation among the multiple configurations. For cell DTX configurations and cell DRX configurations are separately signaled to the UE, the UE can determine time durations in a cell DTX/DRX cycle as at least one from 1) within on-duration for DTX and outside on-duration for DRX, 2) within on-duration for DRX and outside on-duration for DTX, 3) within on-duration for DTX and within on-duration for DRX, 4) outside on-duration for DRX and outside on-duration for DTX. For example, a duration for the period of the DTX cycle can be same as the duration for the period of the DRX cycle, and other parameters on the offset value(s) and on-duration timer can be separately configured for the DTX cycle and DRX cycle. For one further sub-example, the on-duration for the DRX cycle and the on-duration for the DTX cycle may not overlap ). Regarding claim 11, Jeon et al. teach wherein at least one of the following of the multiple secondary cells are measured: channel state information reference signal, or synchronization signal block (Figs. 1 and 3, [0103], the UE can be configured to use SSB or CSI-RS for the measurement . When CSI-RS is used for neighboring cell measurement, the referenceSignalConfig in the MeasObject points to a CSI-RS resource configuration with a corresponding cell ID, measurement bandwidth, and slot configuration for the measurement. When SSB is used for neighboring cell measurement, SSB configuration pointed by referenceSignalConfig and SMTC (SSB measurement timing configuration) are provided to UE . When the neighboring cell is in Cell DTX and, thereby, SSB or CSI-RS is not transmitted as indicated by slotConfig). Regarding claim 17, Jeon et al. teach comprising: performing the measurements during the active periods on the respective secondary cells in a non-interference manner such that the measurement on one secondary cell is free from being delayed due to the measurement on another secondary cell if the determined overlapping status is that the active periods of the multiple secondary cells are separated in time (Figs. 1 and 3, [0156-0157, ], a serving cell can configure a UE to perform neighboring cell measurement and reporting per measurement configuration including intra/inter-RAT and intra/inter-frequencies. A UE can be configured to use SSB or CSI-RS for the measurement. The serving cell can consider neighboring cell's cell DTX into slot configuration or SMTC configuration for CSI-RS and SSB measurements such that the measurement occasions fall into the neighboring cell's on-duration . A duration for the period of the DTX cycle can be same as the duration for the period of the DRX cycle, and other parameters on the offset value(s) and on-duration timer can be separately configured for the DTX cycle and DRX cycle. For one further sub-example, the on-duration for the DRX cycle and the on-duration for the DTX cycle may not overlap. For another further sub-example, the on-duration for the DRX cycle and the on-duration for the DTX cycle can be determined separately ). Regarding claim 18, Jeon et al. teach comprising: performing the measurements during the active periods on the respective secondary cells in the non-interference manner if the determined overlapping status is that the active periods of the multiple secondary cells are separated in time with a distance larger than a threshold (Figs. 1 and 3, [0040, 0096, 0156-0157], cell DTX/DRX can be configured via at least a periodicity, start slot/offset, and on-duration during which all transmissions/receptions by the gNB (e.g., gNB 102) are assumed to be enabled. The configurations and operations of cell DTX and cell DRX can be linked or can be separate and that may depend on the traffic characteristics in the DL and the UL. A serving cell can configure a UE to perform neighboring cell measurement and reporting per measurement configuration including intra/inter-RAT and intra/inter-frequencies. A UE can be configured to use SSB or CSI-RS for the measurement. The serving cell can consider neighboring cell's cell DTX into slot configuration or SMTC configuration for CSI-RS and SSB measurements such that the measurement occasions fall into the neighboring cell's on-duration. A duration for the period of the DTX cycle can be same as the duration for the period of the DRX cycle, and other parameters on the offset value(s) and on-duration timer can be separately configured for the DTX cycle and DRX cycle. For one further sub-example, the on-duration for the DRX cycle and the on-duration for the DTX cycle may not overlap. For another further sub-example, the on-duration for the DRX cycle and the on-duration for the DTX cycle can be determined separately. (Note: as shown the DTX in the fig. 9, is having plurality of on-duration (active period) in each cell DTX periodicity are separate in time). Coverage areas associated with gNBs, such as the coverage areas 120 and 125, depending upon the configuration of the gNBs and variations in the radio environment associated with natural and man-made obstructions). Regarding claim 20, Jeon et al. teach comprising: performing the measurements during the active periods on the respective secondary cells within one measurement periodicity if the measurements during the active periods on the respective secondary cells are performed in the non-interference manner (Figs. 1 and 3, [0156, 0158, ], a serving cell can configure a UE to perform neighboring cell measurement and reporting per measurement configuration . The UE can be configured to use SSB or CSI-RS for the measurement. When CSI-RS is used for neighboring cell measurement, the referenceSignalConfig in the MeasObject points to a CSI-RS resource configuration with a corresponding cell ID, measurement bandwidth, and slot configuration for the measurement. The UE shall perform random access only during the indicated neighboring cell's DRX on-duration. Similar to the cell DTX, if the neighboring cell supports multiple cell DTX/DRX configurations and dynamic activation among the multiple configurations ). It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Cheng et al. with Kwak et al. by incorporating the features as taught by Jeon et al. in order to provide a more effective and efficient system that is capable of performing the measurements during the active periods on the respective secondary cells in a non-interference manner such that the measurement on one secondary cell is free from being delayed due to the measurement on another secondary cell if the determined overlapping status is that the active periods of the multiple secondary cells are separated in time; performing the measurements during the active periods on the respective secondary cells within one measurement periodicity if the measurements during the active periods on the respective secondary cells are performed in the non-interference manner, and count measurement objects of the multiple secondary cells as one frequency layer when the measurements during the active periods on the respective secondary cells are performed in the non-interference manner, the measurement delay is determined based on the number of the frequency layers, the multiple secondary cells are measured synchronization signal block, and the measurement on one secondary cell is delayed due to the measurement on another secondary cell if the determined overlapping status is that the active periods of the multiple secondary cells are at least partially overlapping. The motivation is to support an improved method for configuration and activation of cell DTX and cell DRX (see [0002]) . 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 12-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cheng et al. (US 2024/0284551 A1) in view of Jeon et al. (US 2024/0267984 A1) . Regarding claim 12, Cheng et al. teach apparatus for a network device, comprising: at least one processor; and at least one memory storing instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the network device at least to (Fig. 5, [0072, 0074], the network apparatus 520 may also include a transceiver 526 coupled to the processor 522 and capable of wirelessly transmitting and receiving data. In some implementations, the network apparatus 520 may further include a memory 524 coupled to the processor 522 and capable of being accessed by the processor 522 and storing data therein. The network apparatus 520 may be implemented in the form of one or more IC chips such as, for example and without limitation, one or more single-core processors, one or more multi-core processors, or one or more RISC or CISC processors. The network apparatus 520 may include at least some of those components shown in FIG. 5 such as a processor 522, for example. The network apparatus 520 may further include one or more other components not pertinent to the proposed scheme of the present disclosure ), Cheng et al. teach transmit, to a terminal device being served by the network device, configurations for discontinuous transmission defining active periods and non-active periods of multiple secondary cells, respectively, associated with the network device (Figs. 5-6, [0056, 0083, 0086], the process 600 may involve the processor 512 of the communication apparatus 510 receiving a configuration of a cell DTX (discontinuous transmission) from a network node with a cell DTX functionality. The processor 512 may receive, via the transceiver 516, a transmission activity to send an SR in an active period of a DRX and an active period of the cell DTX of the network apparatus 520; or skip a transmission of the SR during one or more non-active periods of the DRX or the one or more non-active periods of the cell DTX of the network apparatus 520. The UE is provided a number of groups of configured SCells (secondary cells) by dormancyGroupOutsideActiveTime), Cheng et al. teach wherein the active periods of the multiple secondary cells are separated in time (Figs. 5-6, [0022-0023, 0031] cell DTX or DRX may be applied to at least the UEs in an RRC connected state. A periodic cell DTX or DRX (i.e., including active periods and non-active periods of the network node) may be configured by the network node via UE-specific RRC signaling per serving cell . The UE may receive a configuration of a cell DTX from the network node with the cell DTX functionality. In some implementations, the configuration may comprise or carry information regarding at least one of a periodicity, a start slot or a start offset and an on-duration with respect to the cell DTX . In some implementations, the UE may skip a monitoring activity during one or more non-active periods of the cell DTX of the network node, to align the UE DRX with the cell DTX. In some implementations, at least the following parameters may be configured per cell DTX/DRX configuration: a periodicity, a start slot or a start offset, and an on-duration. Cheng et al. is teaching of discontinuous transmission comprising of active and non-active periods for measuring multiple secondary cells. Cheng et al., however, fail to expressly disclose the active periods separated in time . (Emphasis added). Cheng et al. do not expressly disclose the following features: regarding claim 13, wherein the apparatus is configured to: configure a threshold for the terminal device to determine whether the overlapping status of the active periods of the multiple secondary cells is that the active periods of the multiple secondary cells are separated in time with a distance larger than the threshold. Regarding claim 12, Jeon et al. teach wherein the active periods of the multiple secondary cells are separated in time (Figs. 9-10, [0096, 0102, ], cell DTX/DRX can be configured via at least a periodicity, start slot/offset, and on-duration during which all transmissions/receptions by the gNB (e.g., gNB 102) are assumed to be enabled. The configurations and operations of cell DTX and cell DRX can be linked or can be separate and that may depend on the traffic characteristics in the DL and the UL . The serving gNB may want to extend the current cell DTX/DRX on-duration or entirely skip the next cell DTX/DRX off-duration to serve the traffic without increasing latency. (Note: as shown DTX in the fig. 9, is having plurality of on-duration (active period) in each cell DTX periodicity are separate in time)). It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Cheng et al. by incorporating the features as taught by Jeon et al. in order to provide a more effective and efficient system that is capable of using the active periods of the multiple secondary cells are separated in time. The motivation is to support an improved method for configuration and activation of cell DTX and cell DRX (see [0002]). Regarding claim 13, Jeon et al. teach wherein the apparatus is configured to: configure a threshold for the terminal device to determine whether the overlapping status of the active periods of the multiple secondary cells is that the active periods of the multiple secondary cells are separated in time with a distance larger than the threshold (Figs. 1 and 3, [0040, 0096, 0156-0157], cell DTX/DRX can be configured via at least a periodicity, start slot/offset, and on-duration during which all transmissions/receptions by the gNB (e.g., gNB 102) are assumed to be enabled. The configurations and operations of cell DTX and cell DRX can be linked or can be separate and that may depend on the traffic characteristics in the DL and the UL. A serving cell can configure a UE to perform neighboring cell measurement and reporting per measurement configuration including intra/inter-RAT and intra/inter-frequencies. A UE can be configured to use SSB or CSI-RS for the measurement. The serving cell can consider neighboring cell's cell DTX into slot configuration or SMTC configuration for CSI-RS and SSB measurements such that the measurement occasions fall into the neighboring cell's on-duration. A duration for the period of the DTX cycle can be same as the duration for the period of the DRX cycle, and other parameters on the offset value(s) and on-duration timer can be separately configured for the DTX cycle and DRX cycle. For one further sub-example, the on-duration for the DRX cycle and the on-duration for the DTX cycle may not overlap. For another further sub-example, the on-duration for the DRX cycle and the on-duration for the DTX cycle can be determined separately. (Note: as shown the DTX in the fig. 9, is having plurality of on-duration (active period) in each cell DTX periodicity are separate in time). Coverage areas associated with gNBs, such as the coverage areas 120 and 125, depending upon the configuration of the gNBs and variations in the radio environment associated with natural and man-made obstructions). It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Cheng et al. by incorporating the features as taught by Jeon et al. in order to provide a more effective and efficient system that is capable of using the active periods of the multiple secondary cells separated in time, and the apparatus is configured to: configure a threshold for the terminal device to determine whether the overlapping status of the active periods of the multiple secondary cells is that the active periods of the multiple secondary cells are separated in time with a distance larger than the threshold. The motivation is to support an improved method for configuration and activation of cell DTX and cell DRX (see [0002]) . Allowable Subject Matter 12-151-08 AIA 07-43 12-51-08 Claim s 5-6, 10, 14 and 19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to SYED M BOKHARI whose telephone number is (571)270-3115. The examiner can normally be reached Monday through Friday. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Kwang B Yao can be reached at 5712723182. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /SYED M BOKHARI/ Examiner, Art Unit 2473 /KWANG B YAO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2473 Application/Control Number: 18/773,115 Page 2 Art Unit: 2473 Application/Control Number: 18/773,115 Page 3 Art Unit: 2473 Application/Control Number: 18/773,115 Page 4 Art Unit: 2473 Application/Control Number: 18/773,115 Page 5 Art Unit: 2473 Application/Control Number: 18/773,115 Page 6 Art Unit: 2473 Application/Control Number: 18/773,115 Page 7 Art Unit: 2473 Application/Control Number: 18/773,115 Page 8 Art Unit: 2473 Application/Control Number: 18/773,115 Page 9 Art Unit: 2473 Application/Control Number: 18/773,115 Page 10 Art Unit: 2473 Application/Control Number: 18/773,115 Page 11 Art Unit: 2473 Application/Control Number: 18/773,115 Page 12 Art Unit: 2473 Application/Control Number: 18/773,115 Page 13 Art Unit: 2473 Application/Control Number: 18/773,115 Page 14 Art Unit: 2473 Application/Control Number: 18/773,115 Page 15 Art Unit: 2473 Application/Control Number: 18/773,115 Page 16 Art Unit: 2473 Application/Control Number: 18/773,115 Page 17 Art Unit: 2473 Application/Control Number: 18/773,115 Page 18 Art Unit: 2473 Application/Control Number: 18/773,115 Page 19 Art Unit: 2473 Application/Control Number: 18/773,115 Page 20 Art Unit: 2473 Application/Control Number: 18/773,115 Page 21 Art Unit: 2473 Application/Control Number: 18/773,115 Page 22 Art Unit: 2473 Application/Control Number: 18/773,115 Page 23 Art Unit: 2473 Application/Control Number: 18/773,115 Page 24 Art Unit: 2473 Application/Control Number: 18/773,115 Page 25 Art Unit: 2473 Application/Control Number: 18/773,115 Page 26 Art Unit: 2473 Application/Control Number: 18/773,115 Page 27 Art Unit: 2473