Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group 1 (claims 6-20) in the reply filed on 6/29/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 1-5 withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Group 2, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 6/29/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 6, 8, 10, 13, 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by US20250147957A1 (VERKRUYSE et al)
Regarding claim 6, VERKRUYSE et al discloses the following:
One or more non-transitory computer-readable media storing instructions executable by one or more processors, wherein the instructions, when executed, cause the one or more processors to perform operations (pars. 0032-33; also Fig. 8 and par. 0158 for non-transitory computer readable media and CPU)
“[0033] Cross-modal data enrichment refers to the process of integrating and enhancing data from different modalities (e.g., text, images, audio, video, or structured data) by dynamically linking entities and relationships across these diverse sources. Existing solutions are often siloed and static, handling only specific data types (e.g., text-only or image-only) or lacking the ability to provide continuous automated updates, leading to incomplete or fragment analysis. In contrast, the implementations herein may leverage advanced techniques in data integration, NLP, ML, and AI to create a unified and enriched dataset that provides deeper insights and more comprehensive understanding of the dataset. Cross-modal data enrichment may comprise identifying and extracting entities (e.g., people, places, organizations) from different data modalities, connecting these entities across different data sources to create a cohesive knowledge graph, identifying, extracting, and continuously updating relationships between entities within and across different data modalities, and/or enhancing the dataset by adding contextual information and insights derived from the integrated data.”
comprising: inputting, into a multimodal large language model (m-LLM), first data associated with one of: a data stream, a byte slice, or a byte array, the first data including: first image data representing a first set of metrics associated with a computing device over a first time period, and second image data representing a second set of metrics associated with the computing device over the first time period (Fig. 2, 202, 208A-C: “first time period” is defined by time series data loader 208C for example; “first/second image data” representing “first/second sets of metrics” are defined by unstructured data loader 208A in conjunction with 208C based on data sources 216 e.g., image data input to graph database core 202 based on confidence scores and data quality metrics as discussed in par. 0114 for example);
determining, by the m-LLM, a context between a first metric of the first set of metrics and a second metric of the second set of metrics based at least in part on comparing the first metric and the second metric to a metric threshold (pars. 0035-37; 0091);
“[0035] In some implementations, another advantage of the system is multi-scale temporal-semantic reasoning, seamlessly integrating time series patterns with semantic knowledge. This approach seamlessly integrates time series patterns with semantic knowledge, enabling a comprehensive and dynamic understanding of data. As noted above, traditional systems often rely on static schemas and manual updates, which can be time-consuming and prone to errors. In contrast, multi-scale temporal-semantic reasoning dynamically evolves the data schema based on incoming data and user interactions.”
“[0091] … The real-time processing engine enables immediate insights and alerts. For example, continuous evaluation of predefined conditions or thresholds may trigger alerts or actions when met. Furthermore, real-time updating of dashboards and visualizations of the UI 212 connected to the graph database 204 may be performed. Immediate propagation of detected anomalies or significant pattern changes to relevant parts of the graph representation enable rapid response to evolving situations.”
determining, by the m-LLM, semantic information describing a function or a meaning of the first image data or the second image data (pars. 0035-37);
“[0036] Additionally, semantic knowledge integration incorporates contextual information, such as meanings, relationships, and contexts, into the analysis. As such, the system may understand the significance and implications of the temporal patterns. For instance, integrating medical research articles and treatment guidelines with patient health data provides a richer context for interpreting health trends. Multi-scale reasoning combines insights from different time scales and semantic contexts to provide a holistic understanding of the data. This is particularly useful in complex scenarios where short-term fluctuations need to be understood in the context of long-term trends and broader semantic knowledge. Additionally, the system may be configured for dynamic adaptation, continuously updating, and refining the analysis as new data and semantic information become available. This ensures that the insights remain current and relevant, adapting to new developments and user interactions.
[0037] In some implementations, this approach offers a comprehensive analysis by combining temporal patterns with semantic knowledge, leading to deeper and more nuanced insights than existing solutions can provide. The integration of contextual information enhances the accuracy and relevance of the insights, making those insights more actionable.”
and storing the context and the semantic information as stored data in a storage device for access by the computing device at a later time (par. 0047),
“[0047] This integration enables the system to leverage the semantic graph database 204 for efficient storage and retrieval of complex, interconnected data, representation of domain-specific ontologies and knowledge structures, facilitation of inferential reasoning capabilities, and support for flexible schema evolution to accommodate dynamic data landscapes.”
the computing device configured to determine presence of a malicious event in third data based at least in part on the stored data (par. 0091).
“[0091] … The real-time processing engine enables immediate insights and alerts. For example, continuous evaluation of predefined conditions or thresholds may trigger alerts or actions when met. Furthermore, real-time updating of dashboards and visualizations of the UI 212 connected to the graph database 204 may be performed. Immediate propagation of detected anomalies or significant pattern changes to relevant parts of the graph representation enable rapid response to evolving situations.”
Regarding claim 8, the rejection of claim 6 is incorporated herein. VERKRUYSE et al further teach: wherein the first image data represents a first graph and the second image data represents a second graph, and the operations further comprising: detecting text in one of: the first graph or the second graph, the text associated with an axis, a title, or a label of the first graph or the second graph, wherein determining the context is further based at least in part on the text (Figs. 1-22; par. 0025).
[0025] FIG. 1 illustrates an example graph representation according to some implementations herein. In some implementations, the graph representation 100 comprises a plurality of nodes 102 and a plurality of edges 104 between nodes 102. The graph representation comprises a structured representation of information that captures relationships, represented by edges 104, between entities, represented by nodes 102, in a way that is both human-readable and machine-interpretable. … Both nodes 102 and edges 104 may also comprise properties, which are additional pieces of information that provide more context about the entity or relationship, such as names, addresses, industries, dates, and/or positions, among others. In some implementations, labels may also be used to categorize nodes 102 and edges 104 in the graph representation 100. A node 102 or edge 104 can have one or more labels that help in identifying the type of entity or relationship.”
Regarding claim 10, The one or more non-transitory computer-readable media of claim 6, the operations further comprising: transmitting the stored data to the computing device; and causing the computing device to determine presence of the malicious event in the third data based at least in part on accessing the stored data from the storage device (The rejection of claim 1 is applicable here).
Regarding claim 13, The one or more non-transitory computer-readable media of claim 6, wherein: the first data represents first computer-readable instructions associated with a first operating system or first data format, the second data represents second computer-readable instructions associated with a second operating system or second data format, and determining the context or the semantic information is performed independent of requiring input from a user (Fig. 2, Data Source(s) 216 depicts various data formats independent of user input; see also pars. 0050, 0082).
Regarding claim 16, The one or more non-transitory computer-readable media of claim 6, wherein the first data is received from one of: an event-based message queue, a service, or a third-party queue (pars. 0052, 0105, 0112, 0152).
Regarding claim 17, A computer-implemented method comprising: inputting, into a multimodal large language model (m-LLM), first data associated with one of: a data stream, a byte slice, or a byte array, the first data including: first image data representing a first set of metrics associated with a computing device over a first time period, and second image data representing a second set of metrics associated with the computing device over the first time period; determining, by the m-LLM, a context between a first metric of the first set of metrics and a second metric of the second set of metrics based at least in part on comparing the first metric and the second metric to a metric threshold; determining, by the m-LLM, semantic information describing a function or a meaning of the first image data or the second image data; and storing the context and the semantic information as stored data in a storage device for access by the computing device at a later time, the computing device configured to determine presence of a malicious event in third data based at least in part on the stored data (Claim 17 is a method claim wherein the scope corresponds to that of independent claim 6 and thus, the rejection of claim 6 is fully incorporated herein).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US20260017972A1 (ABERLE) in view of US 20240330446 A1 (BULUT et al).
Regarding claim 6, ABERLE discloses the following:
One or more non-transitory computer-readable media storing instructions executable by one or more processors, wherein the instructions, when executed, cause the one or more processors to perform operations (Claims 18-19)
“18. A non-tangible computer readable medium that stores instructions, the instructions when executed by a processor programs the processor to: access an input query comprising an input to search for images in an image database; obtain a text description to search based on the input; generate an input vector based on the text description; compare the input vector against a plurality of vectors in the image database, each vector from among the plurality of vectors in the image database being based on a text description of a corresponding image in the image database; and identify one or more images in the image database based on the comparison, wherein each of the one or more images has a corresponding text description that is semantically similar to the text description.
19. The non-tangible computer readable medium of claim 18, wherein the input comprises an image input, and wherein the instructions when executed further programs the processor to: determine the text description based on the input image; and generating an input vector based on the description of the input image.”
comprising: inputting, into a multimodal large language model (m-LLM) (Par. 0007; Fig. 9, 904), first data associated with one of: a data stream, a byte slice, or a byte array, the first data including: first image data representing a first set of metrics associated with a computing device over a first time period, and second image data representing a second set of metrics associated with the computing device over the first time period (Fig. 5, “primary/secondary” objects with associated metrics input to mLLM; see also pars. 0029-0031) ;
determining, by the m-LLM, a context between a first metric of the first set of metrics and a second metric of the second set of metrics based at least in part on comparing the first metric and the second metric to a metric threshold (pars. 0007, claims 3 & 14);
determining, by the m-LLM, semantic information describing a function or a meaning of the first image data or the second image data (pars. 0008, 0023);
and storing the context and the semantic information as stored data in a storage device for access by the computing device at a later time (Fig. 1, 125),
Aberle does not teach the limitation as indicated in the strike-through above. However, Bulut et al teach said limitations (par. 0003; Figs. 2A-2C).
“[0003] Systems and methods for improving the performance and energy efficiency of machine learning systems that generate security specific machine learning models, generate security related information using the security specific machine learning models, and/or detect security related anomalies are provided. One example of a security specific machine learning model is a security specific large language model. A security specific large language model may be trained and deployed to generate and output semantically related security information. For example, the security specific large language model may be used to determine whether a particular security log that stores log lines regarding security events (e.g., failed logins, password changes, failed authentication requests, and file deletions) for a networked computing environment includes a log line associated with a malicious security event. The security specific large language model may be pretrained with a security specific dataset that was generated using similarity deduplication and long line handling, and with security specific objectives, such as next log line prediction based on host, system, application, and cyber attackers' behavior. Further, a security specific similarity dataset may be generated to align the security specific large language model to capture similarity between different security events. The security specific large language model may be fine-tuned using the security specific similarity dataset and then stored within a datastore.”
At the time of effective filing, it would have been obvious to incorporate the teaching of Bulut et al into Aberle to derive at claim 6 for the technical benefits of reduced energy consumption, computing and storage costs, network/system improvements, and data security (Bulut et al, par. 0004).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7, 9, 11-12, 14-15, 18-20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the most relevant prior arts are applied in the aforementioned rejections. However, neither of them, alone or in combination, teach the further limitations as recited in the identified dependent claims.
Contact Info
Vu Le can be reached at 2-7332. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/VU LE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2668