DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 5 is objected to because of the following informalities: Tribromomethane is recited twice in line 2 and again in line 3 of claim 5 . CH2B2 is dibromomethane.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
Means plus function
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
Gas delivery system as recited in claims 1-13 where gas delivery is the functional language and system is the generic placeholder.
Radio frequency plasma generating system is recited in claims 1-13 where radio frequency plasma generating is the functional language and system is the generic placeholder.
Gas delivery system is recited in [0029] of the original specification which includes gas sources 122-1, 122-2,… and 122-N (collectively gas sources 122) that are connected to valves 124-1, 124-2, …, and 124-N (collectively valves 124) and mass flow controllers 126-1, 126-2, and 126-N (collectively MFCs 126) and is illustrated as element 120 in Fig. 1
Radio Frequency plasma generating system is recited in [0032] of the original specification may include n RF generator 192 configured to generate an RF voltage that is fed by a matching and distribution network 196 to generate plasma within the processing chamber 108 to etch the substrate 112. In other examples, the plasma may be generated inductively or remotely. Although, as shown for example purposes, the RF generating system 188 corresponds to a capacitively coupled plasma (CCP) system, the principles of the present disclosure may also be implemented in other suitable systems, such as, for example, only transformer coupled plasma (TCP) systems, CCP cathode systems, remote microwave plasma generation and delivery systems, etc and is illustrated as element 188 in Fig. 1
Clarification
A controller is recited in claim 1 and is thus including in dependent claims 2-13. The controller 182 is illustrated in Fig. 1 and may include a dose controller 184 according to [0031] of the original specification. According to [0063] a controller may be defined as electronics having various integrated circuits, logic, memory, and/or software that receive instructions, issue instructions, control operation, enable cleaning operations, enable endpoint measurements, and the like. According to [0064] of the original specification, the controller, in some implementations, may be a part of or coupled to a computer that is integrated with the system, coupled to the system, otherwise networked to the system, or a combination thereof. For example, the controller may be in the “cloud” or all or a part of a fab host computer system, which can allow for remote access of the wafer processing.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 4, 6-10, and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al (US 2018/0076032) in view of Behera et al (US 2016/0005596).
Regarding claim 1: The prior art of Wang et al teaches a system see Fig. 1 configured to deposit carbon on a substrate in a processing chamber, the system comprising: a gas delivery system 108 see [0034] configured to supply process gases into the processing chamber; a radio frequency (RF) plasma generating system which includes RF source 165 and impedance matching circuit 173 see [0039] and [0040] configured to generate plasma in the processing chamber; and a controller (system controller 175) configured to, with the substrate arranged on a substrate support in the processing chamber, wherein the substrate includes a carbon film having a first thickness formed on at least one underlying layer of the substrate, control the RF plasma generating system.
Fig. 1 of Wang et al (US 2018/0076032)
See [0097] where etching is discussed, but the prior art of Wang et al does not explicitly teach that the controller controls a first and second etching step. to etch the substrate to form features on the substrate, wherein performing the first etching step removes portions of the carbon film and decreases the first thickness of the carbon film; control the gas delivery system to selectively deposit carbon onto only remaining portions of the carbon film, without depositing carbon onto the features on the substrate and the at least one underlaying layer of the substrate; and control the RF plasma generating system to perform at least one second etching step to etch the substrate to complete the forming of the features on the substrate.
See the abstract of Behera et al teaches the deposition of a conformal amorphous carbon layer with patterned features and the exposed upper surface of the substrate, selectively removing the amorphous carbon layer (first etching step) from an upper surface of the patterned features and the upper surface of the substrate and removing the patterned features (second etching step). See Fig. 2 which illustrates deposition steps (film formation) 202, 204, 206, 208 and etching/film removal steps 210, 212. See also Fig. 4. The motivation to modify the controller of Wang et al to be used to control the overall system to include the first and second etching steps as suggested by the prior art of Behera et al is that this twostep etching process ensures selective etching. Thus, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the system of Wang et al with the teachings of Behera et al to control the overall system to include the first and second etching steps as suggested by the prior art of Behera et al is that this twostep etching process ensures selective etching.
Fig. 2 of Behera et al
Regarding 3: Recall Wang et al teaches controller 175 which is configured to control the gas delivery system and the RF plasma generating system. Wang et al fails to specially teach the carbon film and to deposit a carbon seed layer on the substrate and deposit the carbon film onto the carbon seed layer. Recall the prior art of Behere et al in the abstract teaches the deposition of carbon-based film. See the discussion of the carbon seed layer (sacrificial structural layer 320 see [0025] see the discussion of the carbon-based protective layer 340 in [0026]. Thus, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the system of Wang et al with the teachings of Behera et al to use the controller of Wang et al to control the gas delivery system and the RF plasma generating system and use the teachings of Behera et al which suggest a carbon film and to deposit a carbon seed layer on the substrate and deposit the carbon film onto the carbon seed layer in order to yield the desired product result.
Regarding claim 4: See the prior art of Wang et al teaches PECVD process in [0003] , [0028], and [0041]. Recall in the rejection of claim 3 above where the carbon seed layer and carbon film were discussed. Recall the prior art of Behere et al in the abstract teaches the deposition of carbon-based film. See the discussion of the carbon seed layer (sacrificial structural layer 320 see [0025] see the discussion of the carbon-based protective layer 340 in [0026]. See [0018], [0026], [0033], [0036], and [0045] of Behera et al. Thus, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the system of Wang et al with the teachings of Behera et al to use the controller of Wang et al to control the gas delivery system and the RF plasma generating system and use the teachings of Behera et al which suggest a carbon film and to deposit a carbon seed layer on the substrate and deposit the carbon film onto the carbon seed layer in order to yield the desired product result.
Regarding claim 6: See the prior art of Wang et al [0020] which teaches the at least one underlying layer comprises at least one of silicon, silicon dioxide, and silicon nitride.
The teachings of the prior art of Wang et al were discussed above.
The prior art of Wang et al fails to teach the
Regarding claim 7: that the substrate includes alternating oxide-nitride (ONON) layers formed on the at least one underlying layer and the carbon film is formed on the ONON layers.
Regarding claim 8: The system of claim 7, wherein forming the features includes forming ONON pillars in the ONON layers.
The prior art of Behera et al teaches the deposition of a conformal carbon-based material. See [0023] the discussion on the substrate 300 may include a plurality of alternating oxide and nitride materials where ONON are recited. The prior art of Behera et al teaches that the ONON is known and thus it is obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to modify the system of Wang et al with the teachings of Behera et al to form ONON pillars and layers as illustrated in the Figures.
Regarding claim 9: See Wang et al in [0020 teaches an amorphous hard mask film and [0022] of Wang et al teaches am amorphous based films. Recall above that the prior art of Behera et al teaches the carbon film is an amorphous hard mask (AHM) film. See also [0017], [0025], [0042], [0047], [0054], [0055] of Behera et al
Regarding claim 10: See the prior art of Wang et al [0058] where the first thickness is less than or equal to 1 µm. See the discussion of Wang et al of film thickness of 50-1000Angstroms. Note 1 Angstrom is 0.0001 microns.
Regarding claim 12: The controller 175 of Wang is capable of ensuring the generating the plasma includes generating the plasma while supplying a plasma process gas into the processing chamber without supplying the carbon-containing precursor gas as the controller control the supply of process gases and the plasma generation.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al
(US 2018/0076032) in view of Behera et al (US 2016/0005596) as applied in claims 1, 3, 4, 6-10, and 12 and in further view of Kim et al (US 2013/0280891).
The combined teachings of the prior art of Wang et al and Behera et al were discussed above.
The combined teachings of the prior art of Wang et al and Behera et al fails to teach the carbon-containing precursor gas includes at least one of carbon tetrabromide (CBr4), tribromomethane (CHBr3), and tribromomethane (CH2Br2).
The prior art of Kim et al teaches a metal precursor is typically a metal halide. According to the abstract a group IV halide deposition control agent is used to provide selective deposition on semiconductor regions of the substrate relative to dielectric regions. See [0025] where it is recited that the deposition control agent is a halogen containing species such as carbon tetrabromide is recited. Thus, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to modify the system of Wang et al as modified by Behera et al with the teachings of Kim et al to use a group IV halide deposition control agent such as carbon tetrabromide to enhance film deposition control.
Claims 2 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al (US 2018/0076032) in view of Behera et al (US 2016/0005596) as applied in claims 1, 3, 4, 6-10, and 12 and in further view of Nishio (US 2015/0132587).
The teachings of the combined teachings of the prior art of Wang et al and Behera et al were discussed above. Wang et al teaches ALD see [0027].
The combined teachings of the prior art of Wang et al and Behera et al fails to specifically teach:
Regarding claim 2: The controller 175 of Wang et al is configured to control the gas delivery system and the RF plasma generating system to perform an atom layer deposition (ALD) process to deposit the carbon, wherein, to perform the ALD process, the controller is configured to control the gas delivery system to supply at least one carbon-containing precursor gas into the processing chamber in a dosing step first period, purge the processing chamber in a purging step in a second period, and control the RF plasma generating system to generate plasma in the processing chamber in a plasma step in a third period.
Regarding claim 11: the ALD process includes repeatedly alternating the dosing step, the purging step, and the plasma step.
Nishio teaches a gas barrier film where the first and third layers of film are formed using the ALD consisting of the repeated steps see [0068] and [0069]. The steps of ALD include dosing (introducing a first gas and an inert gas), purging first gas and then second gas and plasma is discussed in [0058] – [0060]. According to [0072] of Nishio the repetition of the cycles of alternating the dosing step, the purging step, and the plasma step ensures the desired thickness of the film. Thus, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to modify the system derived from the combined teachings of Wang et al and Behera et al with the teachings of Nishio to the ALD process includes repeatedly alternating the dosing step, the purging step, and the plasma step.
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al (US 2018/0076032) in view of Behera et al (US 2016/0005596) as applied in claims 1, 3, 4, 6-10, and 12 and in further view of the Article entitled “Investigation of Fluorocarbon Plasma Deposition from c-C4F8 for Use as Passivation During Deep Silicon Etching by Labelle et al.
The combined teachings of the prior art of Wang et al and Behera et al were discussed above.
The combined teachings of the prior art of Wang et al and Behera et al fails to teach the carbon seed layer comprises carbon fluoride (CFx), wherein x is an integer.
See the article where the abstract discussed CxFy species. Throughout the article there is a discussion of Bosch cycle film deposition and Fig. 8 where various CF films are not as effected by processing parameters when forming these carbon fluorinated films using plasma. The article discusses the advantages of using CxFy films. According to the article held to Labelle et al carbon fluoride is a known plasma deposited carbon layer. Thus, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to modify the system derived from the combined teachings of combined teachings of the prior art of Wang et al and Behera et al to ensure that the carbon seed layer include CFx as it is a known carbon film according to the article held to Labelle et al.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Article entitled “Hydrogen Plasma-Enhanced ALD of Hydrogenated Amorphous Carbon Thin Films held to Choi et al. teaches the ALD process, the use of brocarbon molecules.
Article entitled “Plasma Deposition and Etching of DLC Films held to David et al teaches that carbon film can be deposited in the form of amorphous carbon. CF4 is discussed as an advantageous reactant gas.
Aorora et al US 2016/0064026 teaches a method for making a magnetic recording disk made of hard mask pillars see [0024] recited diamond like carbon materials, silicon dioxide, and silicon nitride.
/SYLVIA MACARTHUR/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1716