Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Should applicant desire to obtain the benefit of foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d) prior to declaration of an interference, a certified English translation of the foreign application must be submitted in reply to this action. 37 CFR 41.154(b) and 41.202(e).
Failure to provide a certified translation may result in no benefit being accorded for the non-English application.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5-9, 14, 15, 17, & 18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 10-13, 16, 19, & 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Li et al (US20170331090).
Regarding Claim 1, Li et al discloses the battery cell, comprising: a shell (See Figure 2 Item 10 & 20 housing & top cover); a pressure relief mechanism disposed on the shell; an electrode assembly accommodated within the shell (See Figure 2 Item 14 explosion proof valve); and an insulating member accommodated within the shell, wherein at least a portion of the insulating member is located between the pressure relief mechanism and the electrode assembly (See Figure 2 Item 40/42 is located between the electrode assembly and pressure relief mechanism), and a portion of the insulating member located between the pressure relief mechanism and the electrode assembly is provided with a first weak portion (See Figure 2 Item 42 bottom of insulating member with one or more of the through openings).
Regarding Claim 2, Li et al discloses the battery cell according to claim 1, wherein the pressure relief mechanism comprises a second weak portion (See Figure 2 Item 42 bottom of insulating member with one or more of the through openings not cited in Claim 1).
Regarding Claim 3, Li et al discloses the battery cell according to claim 1, wherein the shell is provided with a pressure relief hole, and the pressure relief mechanism is installed on the shell and covers the pressure relief hole (See Figure 2 Item 10 has the pressure relief hole, and the pressure relief mechanism is installed on the shell and covers the pressure relief hole).
Regarding Claim 4, Li e al discloses the battery cell according to claim 3, wherein the first weak portion at least partially overlaps with the pressure relief hole in a thickness direction of the pressure relief mechanism (See Figure 2 Item 42 at least one of the through holes is the first weak portion that at least partially overlaps with the pressure relief hole in a thickness direction of the pressure relief mechanism).
Regarding Claim 10, Li et al discloses the battery cell according to claim 1, wherein the shell comprises a shell body and a cap plate, the shell body comprises an opening, and the cap plate is adapted to cover and close the opening; and the pressure relief mechanism is disposed on the shell body or the cap plate (See Li et al Figure 2 Items 10 and 20 are the shell body and cap plate & pressure relief mechanism is disposed in the shell body).
Regarding Claim 11, Li et al discloses the battery cell according to claim 10, wherein the pressure relief mechanism is disposed on the shell body, the insulating member comprises a receiving chamber, at least a portion of the electrode assembly is accommodated in the receiving chamber, and the insulating member insulates and isolates at least a portion of the electrode assembly from the shell body (See Li et al, Figure 2, insulating member has a receiving chamber and the electrode assembly is accommodated in the receiving chamber and the insulating member insulates and isolates at least a portion of the electrode assembly from the shell body).
Regarding Claim 12, Li et al discloses the battery cell according to claim 11, wherein the shell body comprises a first wall, a second wall and two third walls, the first wall and the second wall are disposed opposite each other in a first direction, the two third walls are disposed opposite each other in a second direction, each of the third walls connects the first wall and the second wall, and the first direction intersects with the second direction; and the pressure relief mechanism is disposed on the first wall (See Figure 2 Item 10 has walls as recited in the claim).
Regarding Claim 13, Li et al discloses the battery cell according to claim 12, wherein the first wall has an area smaller than that of each of the third walls (See Li et al, Figure 2 Item 10 has portions of the respective walls as recited in the claim).
Regarding Claim 16 Li et al discloses the battery cell according to claim 1, wherein the shell comprises a first wall, and the pressure relief mechanism is installed on the first wall; the first wall comprises an inner surface facing the electrode assembly and an outer surface facing away from the electrode assembly, and the inner surface is closer to the electrode assembly than the pressure relief mechanism (See Li e al, Figure 17 where Item 140 convex hull shape is the recited structure in the claim).
Regarding Claim 19, Li et al discloses the battery comprising a plurality of battery cells according to claim 1 (See Li et al; Abstract).
Regarding Claim 20, Li et al discloses the electricity consuming device comprising a battery cell according to claim 1, wherein the battery cell is adapted to provide electrical energy (See Li et al, Abstract & [0002]).
Conclusion
/Bobby Ramdhanie/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1779