This Office Action is issued in lieu of the Office Action mailed on June 26, 2026, which is hereby withdrawn and superseded. This action constitutes the complete and current Office Action for the above-identified application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
[AltContent: oval]
[AltContent: textbox (Figure 1- Tureaud et al. Figure 2)][AltContent: oval]Claim(s) 1, 3-6, 8-11, 13, 14, and 17-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tureaud et al. (US8205570) in view of Moody (US20090173270).
In regard to claim 1, Tureaud et al. teaches a submersible vehicle (autonomous unmanned underwater vehicle “AUV” 20) comprising:
[AltContent: textbox (Figure 3.- Tureaud et al. Figure 1)][AltContent: oval][AltContent: oval][AltContent: oval][AltContent: oval]a propulsion assembly 26 comprising a motor 58 and a propeller 60;
a pressure vessel comprising a pressure shell (hull 22); and
a bulkhead (bulkhead 41b), the bulkhead being configured to seal the pressure shell to prevent fluid intrusion into an interior cargo compartment of the pressure shell when the submersible vehicle is submersed into a fluid.
Tureaud et al. does not teach:
a floodable actuator vessel coupled to the pressure vessel, the floodable actuator vessel comprising a floodable shell and a plurality of actuators;
a floodable shell comprising a plurality of flood openings configured to permit fluid intrusion into an interior flood space of the floodable shell when the submersible vehicle is submersed into the fluid; and
each actuator of the plurality of actuators being disposed within the interior flood space and affixed to an interior surface of the floodable shell at an actuator opening through which an external fin is actuated to maneuver the submersible vehicle in coordination with the propulsion assembly.
Moody teaches:
a floodable actuator vessel coupled to the pressure vessel, the floodable actuator vessel comprising a floodable shell and a plurality of actuators 24;
[AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Flood openings)]the floodable shell (the area surrounding actuator 24) comprising a plurality of flood openings (as seen on hull 12 in Figure 1) configured to permit fluid intrusion into an interior flood space of the floodable shell when the submersible vehicle is submersed into the fluid; and
each actuator 24 of the plurality of actuators being disposed within the interior flood space and affixed to an interior surface of the floodable shell at an actuator opening through which an external fin 22 is actuated to maneuver the submersible vehicle in coordination with the propulsion assembly (from motor 16 to propeller 18 as seen in Figure 1).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify an actuator of a submersible vehicle to be floodable as taught by Moody in order to enable greater versatility of the actuator to handle a greater variety of environments without the worry of use of dynamic seals and/or to move and control various mechanisms and subsystems of the vehicle. It should be noted that as modified, the portion housing the actuators as floodable.
In regard to claim 3, Tureaud et al. teaches a submersible vehicle in regard to claim 2, wherein, when submerged, a first pressure within the interior cargo compartment is different from a second pressure within the interior flood space; and wherein an external pressure on an external surface of the pressure shell and the second pressure are equal.
In regard to claim 4, Tureaud et al. and Moody teach a submersible vehicle in regard to claim 1. Furthermore, Tureaud et al. teaches a battery (one of the operational components 70a-n further detailed in [column 7 lines 7-10]) and a controller 28 disposed within the interior cargo compartment; wherein the controller 28 is configured to output electrical signals to control actuation of the plurality of actuators (electric actuators 66) and a rotational speed of the motor 58 via electrical wires that pass through penetrators of the bulkhead.
In regard to claim 5, Tureaud et al. and Moody teach a submersible vehicle (AUV 20) in regard to claim 1. Furthermore, Tureaud et al. teaches a pressure shell (hull 22), the propulsion assembly (rotary propulsion system 26), and electrical wires that control operation of the motor 58 of the propulsion assembly (rotary propulsion system 26).
Tureaud et al. does not teach:
wherein the floodable shell is coupled between the pressure shell and the propulsion assembly; and
wherein electrical wires that control operation of the motor of the propulsion assembly pass through the interior flood space of the floodable shell.
Moody teaches wherein the floodable shell (the area around actuator 24) is coupled between the pressure shell (hull 12) and the propulsion assembly (the area around propeller 18 and shaft 20); wherein electrical wires that control operation of the motor of the propulsion assembly pass through the interior flood space of the floodable shell.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the pressure shell of Tureaud et al. (as seen in Figure 2) with the floodable shell of Moody in order to provide and/or benefit from a means of buoyancy.
In regard to claim 6, Tureaud et al. teaches a submersible vehicle in regard to claim 5. Tureaud et al does not teach further comprising a sensor shell configured to support a sensor, the sensor shell being operably coupled to the pressure shell; wherein, when submersed, an internal pressure of the pressure shell is higher than an internal pressure of the floodable shell and the sensor shell.
Moody teaches a floodable sensor coupled being operably coupled to the pressure shell; wherein, when submersed, an internal pressure of the pressure shell is higher than an internal pressure of the floodable shell and the sensor.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the location of the floodable sensor of Moody to be coupled wherever to the pressure shell of Tureaud et al. in order to compartmentalize a sensor and/or satisfy an aesthetic design, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70.
In regard to claim 8, Tureaud et al. and Moody teach a submersible vehicle in regard to claim 1. Tureaud et al, does not teach wherein an external profile of each of the flood openings is disposed substantially parallel to a direction of fluid flow over an exterior of the submersible vehicle when moving to prevent fluid flow into the interior flood space and associated turbulence.
Moody teaches wherein an external profile of each of the flood openings (as seen in Figure 1) is disposed substantially parallel to a direction of fluid flow over an exterior of the submersible vehicle when moving to prevent fluid flow into the interior flood space and associated turbulence.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the actuators of Tureaud et al. with the floodable actuators of Moody in order to benefit from a reliable actuator that can reduce or eliminate loss and/or permit a greater range of operating depth.
In regard to claim 9, Tureaud et al. and Moody teaches a submersible vehicle in regard to claim 1. Tureaud et al. does not teach wherein a first material used to form the pressure shell has a lower plasticity, a higher impact strength, a higher compressive strength, and a higher fatigue strength than a second material used to form the floodable shell.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the material of the hulls of a submersible vehicle in order to maintain strength integrity and/or reduce fatigue, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416. See also Ballas Liquidating Co. v. Allied industries of Kansas, Inc. (DC Kans) 205 USPQ 331.
In regard to claim 10, Tureaud et al. and Moody teach a submersible vehicle (AUV 20) in regard to claim 1. Tureaud et al. teaches wherein each actuator of the plurality of actuators comprises an actuator shaft that extends throughout the hull.
Tureaud et al. does not teach:
wherein each actuator of the plurality of actuators comprises an actuator shaft that extends from the interior flood space through the actuator opening and into a space external to the floodable shell.
wherein a pressure applied to the actuator shaft is uniform across an external surface of the actuator shaft due to equal pressures within the interior flood space and the space external to the floodable shell.
Moody teaches a submersible vehicle of claim 1:
wherein each actuator 24 of the plurality of actuators comprises an actuator shaft (fin linkage 26).
wherein a pressure applied to the actuator shaft is uniform across an external surface of the actuator shaft due to equal pressures within the interior flood space and the space external to the floodable shell.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the actuators of Tureaud et al. and make them floodable as taught by Moody in order to benefit from a reliable actuator that can reduce or eliminate loss and/or permit a greater range of operating depth. It should be noted that as modified the actuator shafts would be from the flood space out.
In regard to claim 11, Tureaud et al. teaches a floodable actuator vessel of a submersible vehicle (AUV 20) with a plurality of external fins. Tureaud et al. does not teach:
a floodable shell comprising a plurality of flood openings configured to permit fluid intrusion into an interior flood space of the floodable shell when the submersible vehicle is submersed into a fluid; and
a plurality of actuators being disposed within the interior flood space and affixed to an interior surface of the floodable shell at an actuator opening through which a respective external fin of the plurality of external fins is actuated to maneuver the submersible vehicle.
Moody teaches a floodable shell comprising:
a floodable shell (the area around actuator 24) comprising a plurality of flood openings (as seen on hull 12 on Figure 1) configured to permit fluid intrusion into an interior flood space of the floodable shell when the submersible vehicle is submersed into a fluid; and
a plurality of actuators, each actuator 24 of the plurality of actuators being disposed within the interior flood space and affixed to an interior surface of the floodable shell at an actuator opening through which a respective external fin 22 of the plurality of external fins is actuated to maneuver the submersible vehicle.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify an actuator of a submersible vehicle to be floodable as taught by Moody in order to benefit from a reliable actuator that can reduce or eliminate loss and/or permit a greater range of operating depth due to the lack of worry of use of dynamic seals.
In regard to claim 13, Tureaud et al. and Moody teaches a floodable actuator vessel in regard to claim 11. Furthermore, Tureaud et al. does teach wherein, when submerged, a pressure within the interior flood space and an external pressure on an external surface of the floodable shell are equal.
In regard to claim 14, Tureaud et al. and Moody teaches a floodable actuator vessel in regard to claim 11. Furthermore, Tureaud et al. does teach wherein the actuators are configured to receive electrical signals to control actuation of the external fins.
In regard to claim 17, Tureaud et al. and Moody teaches a floodable actuator vessel in regard to claim 11. Tureaud et al. does not teach wherein an external profile of each of the flood openings is disposed substantially parallel to a direction of fluid flow over an exterior of the submersible vehicle when moving to prevent fluid flow into the interior flood space and associated turbulence.
Moody teaches a floodable actuators (actuator 24), wherein an external profile of each of the flood openings (as seen in Figure 1) is disposed substantially parallel to a direction of fluid flow over an exterior of the submersible vehicle when moving to prevent fluid flow into the interior flood space and associated turbulence.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the actuators of Tureaud et al. with the floodable actuators of Moody in order to benefit from a reliable actuator that can reduce or eliminate loss and/or permit a greater range of operating depth.
In regard to claim 18, Tureaud et al. and Moody teach a floodable actuator in regard to claim 11. Furthermore, Tureaud et al. teaches wherein each actuator of the plurality of actuators comprises an actuator shaft that extends throughout the hull.
Tureaud et al. does not teach:
wherein each actuator of the plurality of actuators comprises an actuator shaft that extends from the interior flood space through the actuator opening and into a space external to the floodable shell, and
wherein a pressure applied to the actuator shaft is uniform across an external surface of the actuator shaft due to equal pressures within the interior flood space and the space external to the floodable shell.
Moody teaches:
wherein each actuator of the plurality of actuators (actuator 24) comprises an actuator shaft that extends from the interior flood space through the actuator opening and into a space external to the floodable shell; and
wherein a pressure applied to the actuator shaft is uniform across an external surface of the actuator shaft due to equal pressures within the interior flood space and the space external to the floodable shell.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the actuators of Tureaud et al. with the floodable actuators of Moody in order to benefit from a reliable actuator that can reduce or eliminate loss and/or permit a greater range of operating depth. It should be noted that as modified the actuator shafts would be from the flood space out.
In regard to claim 19, Tureaud et al. and Moody teach the invention as claimed in claim 1 and 11. The system renders the claimed method steps (flooding an interior flood space of a floodable shell of the floodable actuator vessel with a fluid due to submersion of the submersible vehicle into the fluid, the fluid flooding into the interior flood space via a plurality of flood openings in the floodable shell, wherein a plurality of actuators are disposed within the interior flood space, wherein the plurality of actuators are affixed to a plurality of external fins that extend from an exterior surface of the floodable shell; preventing intrusion of the fluid into an interior cargo compartment of a pressure shell of the pressure vessel despite submersion of the submersible vehicle into the fluid, the interior cargo compartment being air-filled, wherein a controller is disposed within the interior cargo compartment; and controlling, via the controller, an output of electrical signals to the plurality of actuators and a motor of a propulsion assembly to maneuver the submersible vehicle while the interior flood space of the floodable shell is flooded and the interior cargo compartment is air-filled) obvious since such would be a logical manner of using the combination.
Claim(s) 2 and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tureaud et al. (US8205570) in view of Clabburn et al. (US20240217637).
In regard to claim 2, Tureaud et al. teaches a submersible vehicle in regard to claim 1. Tureaud et al. does not teach wherein the floodable shell is removably coupled to the bulkhead; wherein the bulkhead is removably coupled to the pressure shell to permit access into the interior cargo compartment of the pressure shell.
Clabburn et al. teaches a submersible vehicle that has removable modules wherein a floodable shell can be removably coupled to the bulkhead; wherein the bulkhead can removably coupled to the pressure shell to permit access into the interior cargo compartment of the pressure shell (as described in the following; “...able to assemble and dissemble the hull modules (for example using nut and bolt (or stud) to fix them together allows the aft end of watercraft to be rapidly removed for the purposes of easy maintenance and replacement of an external motor drive unit and control surface actuation systems...” [0074]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify a submersible vehicle to have removable modules as taught by Clabburn et al. in order to provide access for an operator for maintenance or similar needs.
In regard to claim 12, Tureaud et al. teaches a floodable actuator vessel in regard to claim 11. Tureaud et al. does not teach wherein the floodable shell is configured to be removably coupled to a pressure vessel of the submersible vehicle such that the floodable actuator vessel is a removable modular component of the submersible vehicle.
Clabburn et al. teaches a submersible vehicle that has removable modules wherein a floodable shell can be removably coupled to the bulkhead; wherein the bulkhead can removably coupled to the pressure shell to permit access into the interior cargo compartment of the pressure shell (as described in the following; “...able to assemble and dissemble the hull modules (for example using nut and bolt (or stud) to fix them together allows the aft end of watercraft to be rapidly removed for the purposes of easy maintenance and replacement of an external motor drive unit and control surface actuation systems...” [0074]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify a submersible vehicle to have removable modules as taught by Clabburn et al. in order to provide access for an operator for maintenance or similar needs.
Claim(s) 7, 15, 16 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tureaud et al. (US8205570) in view of Pearson et al. (US20230271686).
In regard to claim 7, Tureaud et al. teaches a submersible vehicle in regard to claim 1. Tureaud et al. does not teach:
wherein the floodable actuator vessel further comprises foam disposed within the interior flood space of the floodable shell that is subjected to at-depth pressures; and
wherein the foam provides buoyancy to the floodable actuator vessel to compensate for a weight of the plurality of actuators and the plurality of external fins; wherein the foam comprises a syntactic foam.
Pearson et al. teaches a submersible vehicle; wherein the floodable actuator vessel further comprises foam (buoyancy foam 210) disposed within the interior flood space of the floodable shell that is subjected to at-depth pressures, wherein the foam provides buoyancy to the floodable actuator vessel; wherein the foam comprises a syntactic foam (as described in the following; “By way of example and not limitation, buoyancy foam 210 can be a syntactic foam—e.g., hollow glass microspheres (microballoons) cast in resin.” [0025]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify a submersible to include a foam as taught by Pearson et al. in order to provide an additional means to control the buoyancy of a submersible vehicle.
In regard to claim 15, Tureaud et al. teaches a floodable actuator vessel in regard to claim 11. Tureaud et al. does not teach;
further comprising foam disposed within the interior flood space of the floodable shell that is subjected to at-depth pressures; and
wherein the foam provides buoyancy to the floodable actuator vessel to compensate for a weight of the plurality of actuators and the external fins.
Pearson et al. teaches a submersible vehicle further comprising foam (buoyancy foam 210) disposed within the interior flood space of the floodable shell that is subjected to at-depth pressures, wherein the foam (buoyancy foam 210) provides buoyancy to the floodable actuator vessel.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify a submersible to include a foam as taught by Pearson et al. in order to provide an additional means to control the buoyancy of a submersible vehicle.
In regard to claim 16, Tureaud et al. teaches a floodable actuator vessel in regard to claim 15. Tureaud et al. does not teach wherein the foam comprises a syntactic foam.
Pearson et al. teaches a floodable actuator vessel wherein the foam (buoyancy foam 210) comprises a syntactic foam (as described in the following “By way of example and not limitation, buoyancy foam 210 can be a syntactic foam—e.g., hollow glass microspheres (microballoons) cast in resin.” [0025]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify a submersible to include a foam as taught by Pearson et al. in order to provide an additional means to control the buoyancy of a submersible vehicle.
In regard to claim 20, Tureaud et al. teaches a submersible vehicle in regard to claim 19. Tureaud et al. does not teach a method further comprising maintaining level buoyancy of the submersible vehicle due to foam disposed within the interior flood space.
Pearson et al. teaches a submersible vehicle which comprising maintaining level buoyancy of the submersible vehicle due to foam (buoyancy foam 210) disposed within the interior flood space.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify a submersible to include a foam as taught by Pearson et al. in order to provide an additional means to control the buoyancy of a submersible vehicle.
Conclusion
/M.P.F./Examiner, Art Unit 3615
/MARC BURGESS/Primary Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3615