DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the limitation of “semiconductor channel material nanosheets increases with a decrease in width of the recessed inner dielectric spacer” must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Hsu et al. (U.S. 2025/0089325 A1, hereinafter refer to Hsu).
Regarding Claim 1: Hsu discloses a semiconductor device (see Hsu, Fig.21B as shown below and ¶ [0009]) comprising:
a p-type field effect transistor (50P) comprising a vertical stack of stressed and spaced apart semiconductor channel material nanosheets (56B/88), a gate structure (120) wrapped around a portion of each semiconductor channel material nanosheet (56B/88) of the vertical stack of stressed and spaced apart semiconductor channel material nanosheets (56B/88), and a strained source/drain region (106) located on each side of the vertical stack of stressed and spaced apart semiconductor channel material nanosheets (56B/88) (see Hsu, Fig.21B as shown above and ¶ [0043]); and
a recessed inner dielectric spacer (104) located beneath each semiconductor channel material nanosheet (56B/88) of the vertical stack of stressed and spaced apart semiconductor channel material nanosheets (56B/88), wherein the recessed inner dielectric spacer (104) has an outermost sidewall that is located between a width of each semiconductor channel material nanosheet (56B/88) of the vertical stack of stressed and spaced apart semiconductor channel material nanosheets (56B/88) (see Hsu, Fig.21B as shown above).
Regarding Claim 2: Hsu discloses a semiconductor device as set forth in claim 1 as above. Hsu further teaches wherein the strained source/drain region (106) is in compression in a longitudinal direction of current flow (see Hsu, Fig.21B as shown above and ¶ [0043]).
Regarding Claim 3: Hsu discloses a semiconductor device as set forth in claim 1 as above. Hsu further teaches wherein the strained source/drain region (106) is present in in an underhanging region beneath each semiconductor channel material nanosheet (56B/88) of the vertical stack of stressed and spaced apart semiconductor channel material nanosheets (56B/88) and is in direct physical contact with the outermost sidewall of the recessed inner dielectric spacer (104) (see Hsu, Fig.21B as shown above).
Regarding Claim 4: Hsu discloses a semiconductor device as set forth in claim 1 as above. Hsu further teaches wherein each semiconductor channel material nanosheet (56B/88) of the vertical stack of stressed and spaced apart semiconductor channel material nanosheets (56B/88) is composed of silicon, and the strained source/drain region (106) is composed of SiGe (see Hsu, Fig.21B as shown above, ¶ [0019], and ¶ [0043]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 7-11 and 14-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yeong et al. (U.S. 2022/0140151 A1, hereinafter refer to Yeong).
Regarding Claim 7: Yeong discloses a semiconductor device (see Yeong, Figs.16-17 as shown below and ¶ [0011]) comprising:
a p-type field effect transistor comprising a vertical stack of stressed and spaced apart semiconductor channel material nanosheets (54), a gate structure (123) wrapped around a portion of each semiconductor channel material nanosheet (54) of the vertical stack of stressed and spaced apart semiconductor channel material nanosheets (54), and a strained source/drain region (112) located on each side of the vertical stack of stressed and spaced apart semiconductor channel material nanosheets (54) (see Yeong, Figs.16-17 as shown above and ¶ [0040]- ¶ [0041]);
a recessed inner dielectric spacer (131 and 133) located beneath each semiconductor channel material nanosheet (54) of the vertical stack of stressed and spaced apart semiconductor channel material nanosheets (54), wherein the recessed inner dielectric spacer (131/133) has an outermost sidewall that is located between a width of each semiconductor channel material nanosheet (54) of the vertical stack of stressed and spaced apart semiconductor channel material nanosheets (54) (see Yeong, Figs.16-17 as shown above and ¶ [0051]- ¶ [0052]); and
a semiconductor spacer (56) separating the strained source/drain region (112) from each semiconductor channel material nanosheet (54) of the vertical stack of stressed and spaced apart semiconductor channel material nanosheets (54) and from the recessed inner dielectric spacer (131 and 133) (see Yeong, Figs.16-17 as shown above, ¶ [0038], and ¶ [0050]).
Regarding Claim 8: Yeong discloses a semiconductor device as set forth in claim 7 as above. Yeong further teaches wherein the semiconductor spacer (56) is composed of a compositionally same semiconductor material as each semiconductor channel material nanosheet of the vertical stack of stressed and spaced apart semiconductor channel material nanosheets (54) (when, x is 1, both the channel material and semiconductor spacer material will be silicon) (see Yeong, Figs.16-17 as shown above, ¶ [0017], and ¶ [0050]).
Regarding Claim 9: Yeong discloses a semiconductor device as set forth in claim 7 as above. Yeong further teaches wherein the semiconductor spacer (56) is in direct physically contact with an end of each semiconductor channel material nanosheet (54) of the vertical stack of stressed and spaced apart semiconductor channel material nanosheets (54) and in direct physical contact with the outermost sidewall of the recessed inner dielectric spacer (131/133) (see Yeong, Figs.16-17 as shown above).
Regarding Claim 10: Yeong discloses a semiconductor device as set forth in claim 7 as above. Yeong further teaches wherein the strained source/drain region (112) is in compression in a longitudinal direction of current flow (see Yeong, Figs.16-17 as shown above).
Regarding Claim 11: Yeong discloses a semiconductor device as set forth in claim 7 as above. Yeong further teaches wherein each semiconductor channel material nanosheet (54) of the vertical stack of stressed and spaced apart semiconductor channel material nanosheets (54) is composed of silicon, and the strained source/drain region (112) is composed of SiGe (when, x is 1, both the channel material and semiconductor spacer material will be silicon) (see Yeong, Figs.16-17 as shown above, ¶ [0017], and ¶ [0041]).
Regarding Claim 14: Yeong discloses a semiconductor device (see Yeong, Figs.16-17 as shown above and ¶ [0011]) comprising:
a p-type field effect transistor comprising a vertical stack of stressed and spaced apart semiconductor channel material nanosheets (54), a gate structure (123) wrapped around a portion of each semiconductor channel material nanosheet (54) of the vertical stack of stressed and spaced apart semiconductor channel material nanosheets (54), and a strained source/drain region (112 not including the protrusions 112P) located on each side of the vertical stack of stressed and spaced apart semiconductor channel material nanosheets (54) (see Yeong, Figs.16-17 as shown above and ¶ [0040]- ¶ [0041]);
a recessed inner dielectric spacer (131 and 133) located beneath each semiconductor channel material nanosheet (54) of the vertical stack of stressed and spaced apart semiconductor channel material nanosheets (54), wherein the recessed inner dielectric spacer (131 and 133) has an outermost sidewall that is located between a width of each semiconductor channel material nanosheet (54) of the vertical stack of stressed and spaced apart semiconductor channel material nanosheets (54) (see Yeong, Figs.16-17 as shown above and ¶ [0051]- ¶ [0052]); and
an inner semiconductor spacer (56 and protrusions 112P) located adjacent to the recessed inner dielectric spacer (131 and 133), wherein the inner semiconductor spacer (56 and protrusions 112P) has an outermost sidewall that is vertically aligned to an end of each semiconductor channel material nanosheet (54) of the vertical stack of stressed and spaced apart semiconductor channel material nanosheets (56 and protrusions 112P) (see Yeong, Figs.16-17 as shown above).
Note: the configuration of the claimed inner semiconductor spacer was a matter of choice which a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found obvious absent persuasive evidence that the particular configuration of the claimed inner semiconductor spacer was significant.
Regarding Claim 15: Hsu discloses a semiconductor device as set forth in claim 14 as above. Yeong further teaches wherein the inner semiconductor spacer (56 and protrusions 112P) is composed of a compositionally same semiconductor material as each semiconductor channel material nanosheet (54) of the vertical stack of stressed and spaced apart semiconductor channel material nanosheets (54) (see Yeong, Figs.16-17 as shown above, ¶ [0017], and ¶ [0050]).
Regarding Claim 16: Hsu discloses a semiconductor device as set forth in claim 14 as above. Yeong further teaches wherein the inner semiconductor spacer (56 and protrusions 112P) separates the strained source/drain region (112 not including the protrusions 112P) from the recessed inner dielectric spacer (131/133) (see Yeong, Figs.16-17 as shown above).
Regarding Claim 17: Hsu discloses a semiconductor device as set forth in claim 14 as above. Yeong further teaches wherein the strained source/drain region (112 not including the protrusions 112P) is in compression in a longitudinal direction of current flow (see Yeong, Figs.16-17 as shown above).
Regarding Claim 18: Hsu discloses a semiconductor device as set forth in claim 14 as above. Yeong further teaches wherein each semiconductor channel material nanosheet (54) of the vertical stack of stressed and spaced apart semiconductor channel material nanosheets (54) is composed of silicon, and the strained source/drain region (112 not including the protrusions 112P) is composed of SiGe (when, x is 1, both the channel material and semiconductor spacer material will be silicon) (see Yeong, Figs.16-17 as shown above, ¶ [0017], and ¶ [0041]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hsu et al. (U.S. 2025/0089325 A1, hereinafter refer to Hsu) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Park et al. (U.S. 2024/0429307 A1, hereinafter refer to Park).
Regarding Claim 5: Hsu discloses a semiconductor device as applied to claim 1 above. Hsu further teaches wherein each semiconductor channel material nanosheet (56B/88) of the vertical stack of stressed and spaced apart semiconductor channel material nanosheets (56B/88) has a stress (see Hsu, Fig.21B as shown above and ¶ [0043]).
Hsu is silent upon explicitly disclosing wherein semiconductor channel material nanosheets has a stress from about 1.5 GPa to about 2.0 GPa.
For support see Park, which teaches wherein semiconductor channel material nanosheets has a stress from about 1.5 GPa to about 2.0 GPa (see Park, ¶ [0056]- ¶ [0059]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Hsu and Park to enable the semiconductor channel material nanosheets of Hsu to have the recited ranges of stress as taught by Park in order to improve hole mobility.
Claim(s) 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hsu et al. (U.S. 2025/0089325 A1, hereinafter refer to Hsu) and Park et al. (U.S. 2024/0429307 A1, hereinafter refer to Park) as applied to claim 5 above, and further in view of Wang (U.S. 2020/0035676 A1, hereinafter refer to Wang).
Regarding Claim 6: Hsu as modified teaches a semiconductor device as set forth in claim 5 as above. The combination of Hsu and Park further teaches wherein the stress on each semiconductor channel material nanosheet (56B/88) of the vertical stack of stressed and spaced apart semiconductor channel material nanosheets (56B/88) (see Hsu, Fig.21B as shown above).
The combination of Hsu and Park is silent upon explicitly disclosing wherein semiconductor channel material nanosheets increases with a decrease in width of the recessed inner dielectric spacer.
For support see Wang, which teaches wherein semiconductor channel material nanosheets (630) increases with a decrease in width of the recessed inner dielectric spacer (260) (see Wang, Fig.15 as shown below and ¶ [0005]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Hsu, Park, and Wang to enable the semiconductor channel material nanosheets of the combination of Hsu and Park to increases with a decrease in width of the recessed inner dielectric spacer as taught by Wang in order to improve device performance.
Claim(s) 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yeong et al. (U.S. 2022/0140151 A1, hereinafter refer to Yeong) as applied to claim 11 above, and further in view of Park et al. (U.S. 2024/0429307 A1, hereinafter refer to Park).
Regarding Claim 12: Hsu discloses a semiconductor device as applied to claim 11 above. Yeong further teaches wherein each semiconductor channel material nanosheet (54) of the vertical stack of stressed and spaced apart semiconductor channel material nanosheets (54) has a stress (see Yeong, Figs.16-17 as shown above and ¶ [0040]- ¶ [0041]).
Yeong is silent upon explicitly disclosing wherein semiconductor channel material nanosheets has a stress from about 1.5 GPa to about 2.0 GPa.
For support see Park, which teaches wherein semiconductor channel material nanosheets has a stress from about 1.5 GPa to about 2.0 GPa (see Park, ¶ [0056]- ¶ [0059]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Yeong and Park to enable the semiconductor channel material nanosheets of Yeong to have the recited ranges of stress as taught by Park in order to improve hole mobility.
Claim(s) 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yeong et al. (U.S. 2022/0140151 A1, hereinafter refer to Yeong) and Park et al. (U.S. 2024/0429307 A1, hereinafter refer to Park) as applied to claim 12 above, and further in view of Wang (U.S. 2020/0035676 A1, hereinafter refer to Wang).
Regarding Claim 13: Hsu discloses a semiconductor device as applied to claim 12 above. The combination of Yeong and Park further teaches wherein the stress on each semiconductor channel material nanosheet (54) of the vertical stack of stressed and spaced apart semiconductor channel material nanosheets (54) (see Yeong, Figs.16-17 as shown above).
The combination of Yeong and Park is silent upon explicitly disclosing wherein semiconductor channel material nanosheets increases with a decrease in width of the recessed inner dielectric spacer.
For support see Wang, which teaches wherein semiconductor channel material nanosheets (630) increases with a decrease in width of the recessed inner dielectric spacer (260) (see Wang, Fig.15 as shown above and ¶ [0005]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Yeong, Park, and Wang to enable the semiconductor channel material nanosheets of the combination of Yeong and Park to increases with a decrease in width of the recessed inner dielectric spacer as taught by Wang in order to improve device performance.
Claim(s) 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yeong et al. (U.S. 2022/0140151 A1, hereinafter refer to Yeong) as applied to claim 14 above, and further in view of Park et al. (U.S. 2024/0429307 A1, hereinafter refer to Park).
Regarding Claim 19: Hsu discloses a semiconductor device as applied to claim 14 above. Yeong further teaches wherein each semiconductor channel material nanosheet (54) of the vertical stack of stressed and spaced apart semiconductor channel material nanosheets (54) has a stress (see Yeong, Figs.16-17 as shown above and ¶ [0040]- ¶ [0041]).
Yeong is silent upon explicitly disclosing wherein semiconductor channel material nanosheets has a stress from about 1.5 GPa to about 2.0 GPa.
For support see Park, which teaches wherein semiconductor channel material nanosheets has a stress from about 1.5 GPa to about 2.0 GPa (see Park, ¶ [0056]- ¶ [0059]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Yeong and Park to enable the semiconductor channel material nanosheets of Yeong to have the recited ranges of stress as taught by Park in order to improve hole mobility.
Claim(s) 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yeong et al. (U.S. 2022/0140151 A1, hereinafter refer to Yeong) and Park et al. (U.S. 2024/0429307 A1, hereinafter refer to Park) as applied to claim 19 above, and further in view of Wang (U.S. 2020/0035676 A1, hereinafter refer to Wang).
Regarding Claim 20: Hsu discloses a semiconductor device as applied to claim 19 above. The combination of Yeong and Park further teaches wherein the stress on each semiconductor channel material nanosheet (54) of the vertical stack of stressed and spaced apart semiconductor channel material nanosheets (54) (see Yeong, Figs.16-17 as shown above).
The combination of Yeong and Park is silent upon explicitly disclosing wherein semiconductor channel material nanosheets increases with a decrease in width of the recessed inner dielectric spacer.
For support see Wang, which teaches wherein semiconductor channel material nanosheets (630) increases with a decrease in width of the recessed inner dielectric spacer (260) (see Wang, Fig.15 as shown above and ¶ [0005]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Yeong, Park, and Wang to enable the semiconductor channel material nanosheets of the combination of Yeong and Park to increases with a decrease in width of the recessed inner dielectric spacer as taught by Wang in order to improve device performance.
Conclusion
/BITEW A DINKE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2812