Response to Arguments and Amendments
Applicant’s arguments, see Remark’s page 6, filed 2 September 2026 AD with respect to the rejection under nonstatuory double patenting has been fully considered and is persuasive. The rejection has been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments, see Remark’s page 6, filed 2 September 2026 AD with respect to rejection under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) for claim 14 has been fully considered and is persuasive. The rejection has been withdrawn.
Applicant's arguments, see Remark’s pages 6-9 filed 2 September 2026 AD with respect to rejections under 35 U.S.C. 103 for claims 1-19 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Cited prior art references by the applicant of “ISHII” and “Guo” fail to exist and no combination constructed between the two references exists. Therefore, the argument considering “ISHII” and “Guo” are moot.
Request for Clarification of the Grounds of Rejection
Rejection for claims 1-6, 8-16, and 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ozturk et al. (US 20230262541 A1) or Ozturk in view of Zhang et al. (US 20240373304 A1) or Zhang.
All cited claims in the statement of rejection remain rejected under the cited prior art references of Ozturk and Zhang because both references reject all of the cited claims.
Rejection for claims 7 and 17 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ozturk et al. (US 20230262541 A1) or Ozturk in view of Zhang et al. (US 20240373304 A1) or Zhang in further view of Leng et al. (US 20230247492 A1) or Leng.
Claims 7 and 17 consists of dependent claims depending on independent claims 1 and 8. Both independent claims 1 and 8 stand rejected under Ozturk and Zhang. Because claims 7 and 17 depend from independent claims 1 and 8, claims 7 and 17 are rejected under Ozturk and Zhang in addition to Leng.
The Claimed Set is a Single Set Comprising Both Measurement Configurations and Execution Conditions
Ozturk recites in paragraph 0110, “The master node may transmit a control message (e.g., an RRC reconfiguration message) to the UE 115 indicating a configuration that includes a set of execution conditions for the multiple conditional PSCell change or addition procedures,…” In other words, the user equipment or UE receives a control message from the master node, a network node. The control message contains a configuration with execution conditions for multiple conditional PSCell change or addition procedures. In addition to the execution conditions, the configuration contains other parameters as recited in Ozturk paragraph 0110 “The UE 115 may store the configuration received from the master node, which may include the set of execution conditions, SCG configurations associated with prepared PSCells, MCG configurations, or any combination thereof, for use in the series of conditional PSCell changes or additions.” One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention would have combined the configuration message with the multiple parameters received by the UE and transmitted from the master node as disclosed by Ozturk with the measurement configuration of the many candidate cells as recited in paragraph 0018 of Zhang, “a configuration message that includes a plurality of candidate cells with configurations for each and a measurement configuration for at least one of the candidate cells;” Ozturk’s control message may contain multiple parameters in addition to the single execution conditions. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine the control message with the multiple parameters including the execution conditions and the measurement configuration for the candidate cells. The motivation to combine would have been to increase the efficiency of the system by increasing the accuracy of the UE identifying a target cell with the highest signal-to-noise ratio or SNR.
“Associated with Selective Activation of a Plurality of Candidate Cells”
In paragraph 0110, Ozturk recites, “The master node may transmit a control message (e.g., an RRC reconfiguration message) to the UE 115 indicating a configuration that includes a set of execution conditions for the multiple conditional PSCell change or addition procedures, where the execution conditions may be based on the subset of secondary nodes indicated by each target secondary node.” The execution conditions may be based on the subset of secondary nodes or candidate cells indicated by each target secondary node. The targe secondary node selects the subset of secondary nodes or candidate cells.
The Articulated Reason to Combine
The MPEP fails to require the rationale to combine references be recited in the prior art references as stated in MPEP 2145.X.A,
“However, there is no requirement that an "express, written motivation to combine must appear in prior art references before a finding of obviousness." Ruiz v. A.B. Chance Co., 357 F.3d 1270, 1276, 69 USPQ2d 1686, 1690 (Fed. Cir. 2004). See KSR, 550 U.S. at 402, 82 USPQ2d at 1389 ("The diversity of inventive pursuits and of modern technology counsels against confining the obviousness analysis by a formalistic conception of the words teaching, suggestion, and motivation, or by overemphasizing the importance of published articles and the explicit content of issued patents.") See also Uber Techs., Inc. v. X One, Inc., 957 F.3d 1334, 1339-40, 2020 USPQ2d 10476 (Fed. Cir. 2020).”
Claims 3 and 13
Claim 3 recites in part, “The terminal device of claim 1, wherein the set of measurement configurations and execution conditions comprises a common measurement configuration and…
(See Zhang paragraph 0099, …the NW pre-configures the updated measurement configuration associated with each candidate cell to the UE. For example, the measurement configuration is included in each candidate cell configuration,…)
Shows the measurement configuration may be included in the candidate cell configuration for each candidate cell
(See Zhang paragraph 0084, …one or more separate common set/template(s) are defined as a baseline for the candidate cell configuration,…)
Shows a common set or template defined for the candidate cell configuration
Claim 6 and 16
Claim 6 recites, “The terminal device of claim 5, wherein the at least one memory and the at least one processor cause the terminal device to:
receive the update from the network device in response to at least one of:
addition of a further candidate cell to the plurality of candidate cells,…
In other words, claim 6 recites, “If an addition of a further candidate cell to the plurality of candidate cells, then receive an update from the network.” With broadest reasonable interpretation, one of ordinary skill in the art may interpret claim 6 for the terminal to conduct the PSCell change or addition to the candidate cells. The claim fails to explicitly teach excluding a terminal from conducting the addition of a further candidate cell to the plurality of candidate cells. The applicant seeks to argue limitations not cited in the rejected claims.
Claims 7 and 17
Claim 7 recites, “The terminal device of claim 1, wherein the at least one memory and the at least one processor cause the terminal device to: receive, from the network device, one or more preparation configurations for handover from a source cell to one or more target cells among the plurality of candidate cells,
…and execution conditions…
(See Ozturk paragraph 0004, The master node may transmit a control message (e.g., an RRC reconfiguration message) to the UE indicating a configuration that includes a set of execution conditions for the multiple PSCell change or addition procedures,…)
Shows the UE receiving execution conditions for multiple PSCell change in an RRC reconfiguration message
…wherein the set of measurement configurations… …is received from the network device outside of the one or more preparation configurations.”
(See Leng paragraph 0092, AS illustrated in FIG. 8, for 810, the source gNB 802 configures the measurement procedure and the UE 801 reports according to the measurement configuration.)
Shows the UE receiving the measurement configuration from the gNB before receiving the preparation configuration message for handover
(See Leng paragraph 0095, For 830, the source gNB 802 sends an RRCReconfiguration message to the UE 801 containing CG pool configuration for handover. The CG pool configuration includes a list of encapsulated RRCReconfiguration messages from all candidate target gNBs for potential handover. The information for target gNB access can include the target cell ID, the new C-RNTI, a set of dedicated RACH resources, the association between RACH resources and SSB(s), the association between RACH resources and UE-specific CSI-RS configuration(s), common RACH resources, and system information of the target cell, etc.)
Shows the UE receiving an RRCRecofiguration message to prepare the UE for handover between gNBs after receiving the measurement configurations
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine the control message including the set of execution conditions for multiple PSCell change or addition or procedures in as taught by Ozturk with the measurement configuration received before the preparation configuration message for handover as taught by Leng to increase the efficiency of the system by reduce the number of messages transmitted between the UE and base station immediately prior to handover.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6, 8-16, and 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ozturk et al. (US 20230262541 A1) or Ozturk in view of Zhang et al. (US 20240373304 A1) or Zhang.
Claim 1
Ozturk teaches,
A terminal device comprising: at least one processor; and at least one memory storing instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the terminal device at least to:
(See Ozturk paragraph 0006, An apparatus for wireless communications at a UE is described. The apparatus may include a processor, memory coupled with the processor, and instructions stored in the memory. The instructions may be executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to…)
receive, from a network device, a set of… …and execution conditions, the set of… …and execution conditions being associated with selective activation of a plurality of candidate cells;
(See Ozturk paragraph 0110, The master node may transmit a control message (e.g., an RRC reconfiguration message) to the UE 115 indicating a configuration that includes a set of execution conditions for the multiple conditional PSCell change or addition procedures, where the execution conditions may be based on the subset of secondary nodes indicated by each target secondary node.)
Shows the master node transmitting a set of execution conditions for a subset of secondary nodes or candidate cells
Shows the execution conditions may be based on the subset of secondary nodes or candidate cells indicated by each target secondary node
Shows The target secondary node selects the subset of secondary nodes or candidate cells
store the set of… …and execution conditions; and
(See Ozturk paragraph 0110, The UE 115 may store the configuration received from the master node, which may include the set of execution conditions, SCG configurations associated with prepared PSCells, MCG configurations, or any combination thereof, for use in the series of conditional PSCell changes or additions.)
perform cell changes among the plurality of candidate cells based on the stored set of… …and execution conditions.
(See Ozturk paragraph 0110, The use of the single configuration stored at the UE 115 for multiple conditional PSCell changes or additions may minimize signaling overhead by avoiding signaling configurations each time the UE 115 adds or changes a PSCell.)
Shows the UE explicitly utilizing the stored configuration for PSCell change
However, Ozturk fails to explicitly teach,
…measurement configurations…
Nevertheless, Zhang, in the same field of endeavor, teaches,
…measurement configurations…
(See Zhang paragraph 0018, ...receiving a configuration message that includes a plurality of candidate cells with configurations for each and a measurement configuration for at least one of the candidate cells;)
Shows receiving a configuration message with a plurality of candidate cells for each cell and a measurement configuration for at least one candidate cell
(See Zhang paragraph 0018, The measurement configuration comprises at least one of a Layer 1 (“L1”) measurement configuration or a Layer 3 (“L3”) measurement configuration for at least one of the candidate cells or a neighbor cell.)
Shows the measurement configuration comprises L1 measurement configuration or L3 measurement configuration
(See Zhang paragraph 0019, The L1 measurement configuration includes a reference signal (“RS”) resource of each candidate cell or neighbor cell, wherein the RS resource includes: a RS resource identification; and at least one of a synchronization signal block (“SSB”) resource, a channel state information reference signal (“CSI-RS”) resource, or a temporary reference signal (“TRS”) resource.)
Shows the L1 measurement configurations contains a set of reference signal resources for each candidate cell
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling data of the claimed invention to combine the terminal receiving a set of execution conditions being associated with selective activation of multiple candidate cells, storing the execution conditions, and performing cell changes among multiple candidate cells based on the execution conditions disclosed by Ozturk with the receiving as set of measurement configurations as disclosed by Zhang to increase the efficiency of the system (i.e. to increase the accuracy of UE identifying a target cell with the highest signal-to-noise ratio or SNR).
Claim 2
Ozturk fails to explicitly teach limitations of claim 2. Nevertheless, Zhang, in the same field of endeavor, teaches,
The terminal device of claim 1, wherein the set of measurement configurations and execution conditions comprises respective measurement configurations and respective lists of execution conditions for the plurality of candidate cells.
(See Zhang paragraph 0019, The L1 measurement configuration includes a reference signal (“RS”) resource of each candidate cell or neighbor cell, wherein the RS resource includes: a RS resource identification; and at least one of a synchronization signal block (“SSB”) resource, a channel state information reference signal (“CSI-RS”) resource, or a temporary reference signal (“TRS”) resource.)
Shows the L1 measurement configuration includes a reference signal or RS resource for each respective candidate cell
(See Zhang paragraph 0009, The execution conditions comprises at least one of a list of measurement configuration identifier information to indicate the execution condition, a measurement event based on the L1 measurement for the candidate cell, or a measurement event based on the L3 measurement for the candidate cell. The configuration message comprises at least one of an information to indicate a plurality of candidate cells can be identified together, or at least one execution condition for a plurality of candidate cells to be identified together.)
Shows at least one least of execution conditions for several candidate cells
(See Zang paragraph 0009, The candidate cells comprise separate lists for any of the candidate cells that are configured as special cells (“SpCells”) and any of the candidate cells that are configured as secondary cells (“SCells”), wherein the identifying is based on the separate lists.)
Shows separate lists for candidate cells configured as special cells and secondary cells
The motivation to combine Ozturk and Zhang in the dependent claim consists of the same motivation as stated in claim 1.
Claim 3
Ozturk fails to explicitly teach limitations of claim 2. Nevertheless, Zhang, in the same field of endeavor, teaches,
The terminal device of claim 1, wherein the set of measurement configurations and execution conditions comprises a common measurement configuration and
(See Zhang paragraph 0099, …the NW pre-configures the updated measurement configuration associated with each candidate cell to the UE. For example, the measurement configuration is included in each candidate cell configuration,…)
Shows the measurement configuration may be included in the candidate cell configuration for each candidate cell
(See Zhang paragraph 0084, …one or more separate common set/template(s) are defined as a baseline for the candidate cell configuration,…)
Shows a common set or template defined for the candidate cell configuration
respective lists of execution conditions for the plurality of candidate cells.
(See Zhang paragraph 0075, ...the candidate cell configuration may be included as a cell list in the RRC message and each cell configuration may be linked with the cell identification information (e.g. like a cell activation/deactivation based solution).)
Shows the candidate cell configuration included as a cell list linked with cell identification information
(See Zhang paragraph 0076, The cell ID information used for the configuration and maintenance of candidate cells may include a candidate cell configuration index (e.g. CandReconfigId), a candidate/serving cell ID, (e.g. ServCellIndex), a physical cell ID (PCI), a PCI+frequency, or a reference signal (RS) ID related to the candidate cell (e.g. the RS ID linked with the candidate cell via PCI, which has been configured as part of the current serving cell configuration).)
Shows the cell ID information consists of a respective way to identify the configuration
(See Zhang paragraph 0017, wherein the configuration message includes at least one of the candidate cell list or the identified at least one of the candidate cells and configurations for each of the candidate cells, or one or more execution conditions for each of the candidate cells;)
Shows the configuration message includes execution conditions for each of the candidate cells
The motivation to combine Ozturk and Zhang in the dependent claim consists of the same motivation as stated in claim 1.
Claim 4
Ozturk teaches,
The terminal device of claim 1, wherein the at least one memory and the at least one processor cause the terminal device to:
(See Ozturk paragraph 0006, An apparatus for wireless communications at a UE is described. The apparatus may include a processor, memory coupled with the processor, and instructions stored in the memory. The instructions may be executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to…)
receive the set of… …and execution conditions from the network device before handover from a source cell to a candidate cell of the plurality of candidate cells.
(See Ozturk paragraph 0109, ...a UE 115 may perform a CPC, CPA, conditional handover, or the like, based on one or more configurations provided by one or more network entities. For example, a master node may provide SCG configurations (e.g., and MCG configurations, in some cases) to the UE 115 for a CPC procedure to establish a connection with one or more target PSCells. Such configurations may include resource block (RB) configurations, execution conditions for multiple target PSCells, and the like.)
Shows the UE performing handover based on configurations provided by network entities before the handover
However, Ozturk fails to explicitly teach,
…measurement configurations…
Nevertheless, Zhang, in the same field of endeavor, teaches,
…measurement configurations…
(See Zhang paragraph 0018, ...receiving a configuration message that includes a plurality of candidate cells with configurations for each and a measurement configuration for at least one of the candidate cells;)
Shows receiving a configuration message with a plurality of candidate cells for each cell and a measurement configuration for at least one candidate cell
(See Zhang paragraph 0018, The measurement configuration comprises at least one of a Layer 1 (“L1”) measurement configuration or a Layer 3 (“L3”) measurement configuration for at least one of the candidate cells or a neighbor cell.)
Shows the measurement configuration comprises L1 measurement configuration or L3 measurement configuration
(See Zhang paragraph 0019, The L1 measurement configuration includes a reference signal (“RS”) resource of each candidate cell or neighbor cell, wherein the RS resource includes: a RS resource identification; and at least one of a synchronization signal block (“SSB”) resource, a channel state information reference signal (“CSI-RS”) resource, or a temporary reference signal (“TRS”) resource.)
Shows the L1 measurement configurations contains a set of reference signal resources for each candidate cell
The motivation to combine Ozturk and Zhang in the dependent claim consists of the same motivation as stated in claim 1.
Claim 5
Ozturk teaches,
The terminal device of claim 1, wherein the at least one memory and the at least one processor cause the terminal device to:
(See Ozturk paragraph 0006, An apparatus for wireless communications at a UE is described. The apparatus may include a processor, memory coupled with the processor, and instructions stored in the memory. The instructions may be executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to…)
receive an update on the set of measurement configurations and execution conditions from the network device; and
(See Ozturk paragraph 0118, ... after performing one or more PSCell changes/additions, the UE 215 may receive supplementary or additional information (e.g., updated measurement configurations, execution conditions) for subsequent PSCell changes/additions of the series of conditional PSCell procedures.)
Shows the UE receiving updated measurement configurations and execution conditions after performing PScell changes
update the stored set of measurement configurations and execution conditions based on the received update.
(See Ozturk paragraph 0118, the UE 215 may retain (e.g., store, save) the configuration after each PSCell change or addition.)
Shows the UE storing the updated configuration after each PSCell change
The motivation to combine Ozturk and Zhang in the dependent claim consists of the same motivation as stated in claim 1.
Claim 6
Ozturk teaches,
The terminal device of claim 5, wherein the at least one memory and the at least one processor cause the terminal device to:
(See Ozturk paragraph 0006, An apparatus for wireless communications at a UE is described. The apparatus may include a processor, memory coupled with the processor, and instructions stored in the memory. The instructions may be executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to…)
receive the update from the network device in response to at least one of:
addition of a further candidate cell to the plurality of candidate cells,…
(See Ozturk paragraph 0118, ...after performing one or more PSCell changes/additions, the UE 215 may receive supplementary or additional information (e.g., updated measurement configurations, execution conditions) for subsequent PSCell changes/additions of the series of conditional PSCell procedures.)
The motivation to combine Ozturk and Zhang in the dependent claim consists of the same motivation as stated in claim 1.
Claim 8
A network device comprising: at least one processor; and at least one memory storing instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the network device at least to:
(See Ozturk paragraph 0027, An apparatus for wireless communications at a master node is described. The apparatus may include a processor, memory coupled with the processor, and instructions stored in the memory. The instructions may be executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to…)
generate a set of… …and execution conditions, the set of… …and execution conditions being associated with selective activation of a plurality of candidate cells for a terminal device; and
transmit the set of… …and execution conditions to the terminal device.
(See Ozturk paragraph 0059, Each secondary node may respond to the master node with an indication (e.g., via a secondary node modification request acknowledgment message) of an updated measurement configuration for the target PSCells.)
Shows the secondary nodes transmitting measurement configuration for target PSCells to the master node
(See Ozturk paragraph 0060, Based on the information received related to the subset of target secondary nodes, the master node may transmit a control message (e.g., a radio resource control (RRC) reconfiguration message) to the UE indicating a configuration for the CPA and/or CPC. The configuration may include a set of execution conditions for the multiple conditional PSCell change or addition procedures, where the execution conditions may be based on the subset of secondary nodes indicated by each target secondary node.)
Shows the master node transmitting a configuration, generated by the master node and containing execution conditions, to a UE based on the received measurement configurations from the secondary nodes
(See Ozturk paragraph 0110, The master node may transmit a control message (e.g., an RRC reconfiguration message) to the UE 115 indicating a configuration that includes a set of execution conditions for the multiple conditional PSCell change or addition procedures, where the execution conditions may be based on the subset of secondary nodes indicated by each target secondary node.)
Shows the master node transmitting a set of execution conditions for a subset of secondary nodes or candidate cells
Shows the execution conditions may be based on the subset of secondary nodes or candidate cells indicated by each target secondary node
Shows The target secondary node selects the subset of secondary nodes or candidate cells
However, Ozturk fails to explicitly teach,
…measurement configurations…
Nevertheless, Zhang, in the same field of endeavor, teaches,
…measurement configurations…
(See Zhang paragraph 0021, ...transmitting a configuration message that includes a plurality of candidate cells with configurations for each and a measurement configuration for at least one of the candidate cells;)
Shows a configuration message with measurement configuration
(See Zhang paragraph 0021, The measurement configuration comprises at least one of a Layer 1 (“L1”) measurement configuration or a Layer 3 (“L3”) measurement configuration for at least one of the candidate cells or a neighbor cell.)
Shows the measurement configuration comprises an L1 measurement
(See Zhang paragraph 0021, The L1 measurement configuration comprises a threshold for L1 Reference Signal Received Power (“RSRP”) measurements of serving cell to control the L1 measurement for the candidate cell or neighbor cell.)
Shows the L1 measurement comprises a reference signal received power or RSRP threshold for RSRP measurements
The motivation to combine Ozturk and Zhang in the independent claim consists of the same motivation as stated in claim 1.
Claim 9
Ozturk teaches,
The network device of claim 8, wherein the at least one memory and the at least one processor cause the network device to:
(See Ozturk paragraph 0027, An apparatus for wireless communications at a master node is described. The apparatus may include a processor, memory coupled with the processor, and instructions stored in the memory. The instructions may be executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to…)
collect, from one or more further network devices, measurement configurations and execution conditions associated with the selective activation of respective candidate cells of the one or more further network devices; and
(See Ozturk paragraph 0059, Each secondary node may respond to the master node with an indication (e.g., via a secondary node modification request acknowledgment message) of an updated measurement configuration for the target PSCells.)
Shows the secondary nodes transmitting measurement configuration for target PSCells to the master node
(See Ozturk paragraph 0042, A method for wireless communications at a first secondary node is described.... ...transmitting, to a master node associated with a primary cell, a first message based on modifying the secondary node of the UE, the first message indicating respective identifiers for a set of multiple target secondary nodes, a set of measurement results for each secondary node of the set of multiple target secondary nodes, one or more candidate PSCells associated with each secondary node of the set of multiple target secondary nodes, and a set of execution conditions for the UE...)
Shows a secondary node transmitting execution conditions for a UE to a master node
generate the set of… …and execution conditions based on the collected measurement configurations and execution conditions.
(See Ozturk paragraph 0060, Based on the information received related to the subset of target secondary nodes, the master node may transmit a control message (e.g., a radio resource control (RRC) reconfiguration message) to the UE indicating a configuration for the CPA and/or CPC. The configuration may include a set of execution conditions for the multiple conditional PSCell change or addition procedures, where the execution conditions may be based on the subset of secondary nodes indicated by each target secondary node.)
Shows the master node transmitting a configuration, generated by the master node and containing execution conditions, to a UE based on the received measurement configurations from the secondary nodes
However, Ozturk fails to explicitly teach,
…measurement configurations…
Nevertheless, Zhang, in the same field of endeavor, teaches,
…measurement configurations…
(See Zhang paragraph 0021, ...transmitting a configuration message that includes a plurality of candidate cells with configurations for each and a measurement configuration for at least one of the candidate cells;)
Shows a configuration message with measurement configuration
(See Zhang paragraph 0021, The measurement configuration comprises at least one of a Layer 1 (“L1”) measurement configuration or a Layer 3 (“L3”) measurement configuration for at least one of the candidate cells or a neighbor cell.)
Shows the measurement configuration comprises an L1 measurement
(See Zhang paragraph 0021, The L1 measurement configuration comprises a threshold for L1 Reference Signal Received Power (“RSRP”) measurements of serving cell to control the L1 measurement for the candidate cell or neighbor cell.)
Shows the L1 measurement comprises a reference signal received power or RSRP threshold for RSRP measurements
The motivation to combine Ozturk and Zhang in the dependent claim consists of the same motivation as stated in claim 1.
Claim 10
Ozturk teaches,
The network device of claim 9, wherein the network device comprises a master node, and the one or more other network devices comprises a secondary node or a further master node.
(See Ozturk paragraph 0003, ...a master node may transmit a message to each secondary node of a set of target secondary nodes,...)
The motivation to combine Ozturk and Zhang in the dependent claim consists of the same motivation as stated in claim 1.
Claim 11
Ozturk teaches,
The network device of claim 8, wherein the at least one memory and the at least one processor cause the network device to:
(See Ozturk paragraph 0027, An apparatus for wireless communications at a master node is described. The apparatus may include a processor, memory coupled with the processor, and instructions stored in the memory. The instructions may be executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to…)
generate the set of… …and execution conditions per candidate cell.
(See Ozturk paragraph 0060, Based on the information received related to the subset of target secondary nodes, the master node may transmit a control message (e.g., a radio resource control (RRC) reconfiguration message) to the UE indicating a configuration for the CPA and/or CPC. The configuration may include a set of execution conditions for the multiple conditional PSCell change or addition procedures, where the execution conditions may be based on the subset of secondary nodes indicated by each target secondary node.)
Shows the master node generating executions conditions for each target cell
However, Ozturk fails to explicitly teach,
…measurement configurations…
Nevertheless, Zhang, in the same field of endeavor, teaches,
…measurement configurations…
(See Zhang paragraph 0021, ...transmitting a configuration message that includes a plurality of candidate cells with configurations for each and a measurement configuration for at least one of the candidate cells;)
Shows a configuration message with measurement configuration
(See Zhang paragraph 0021, The measurement configuration comprises at least one of a Layer 1 (“L1”) measurement configuration or a Layer 3 (“L3”) measurement configuration for at least one of the candidate cells or a neighbor cell.)
Shows the measurement configuration comprises an L1 measurement
(See Zhang paragraph 0021, The L1 measurement configuration comprises a threshold for L1 Reference Signal Received Power (“RSRP”) measurements of serving cell to control the L1 measurement for the candidate cell or neighbor cell.)
Shows the L1 measurement comprises a reference signal received power or RSRP threshold for RSRP measurements
The motivation to combine Ozturk and Zhang in the dependent claim consists of the same motivation as stated in claim 1.
Claim 12
Ozturk fails to explicitly teach limitations of claim 12 as stated in claim 2. Nevertheless, Zhang, in the same field of endeavor, teaches limitations of claim 12 as stated in claim 2. The motivation to combine Ozturk and Zhang in the dependent claim consists of the same motivation as stated in claim 1.
Claim 13
Ozturk fails to explicitly teach limitations of claim 13 as stated in claim 3. Nevertheless, Zhang, in the same field of endeavor, teaches limitations of claim 13 as stated in claim 3. The motivation to combine Ozturk and Zhang in the dependent claim consists of the same motivation as stated in claim 1.
Claim 14
Ozturk teaches,
The network device of claim 15, wherein the at least one memory and the at least one processor cause the network device to:
(See Ozturk paragraph 0027, An apparatus for wireless communications at a master node is described. The apparatus may include a processor, memory coupled with the processor, and instructions stored in the memory. The instructions may be executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to…)
transmit the set of… …and execution conditions to the terminal device before handover from a source cell to a candidate cell of the plurality of candidate cells; and
(See Ozturk paragraph 0109, ...a UE 115 may perform a CPC, CPA, conditional handover, or the like, based on one or more configurations provided by one or more network entities. For example, a master node may provide SCG configurations (e.g., and MCG configurations, in some cases) to the UE 115 for a CPC procedure to establish a connection with one or more target PSCells.)
Shows the UE receiving from a network entity SCG and MCG configurations to perform handover
(See Ozturk paragraph 0060, The UE may store the configuration received from the master node, which may include the set of execution conditions, SCG configurations associated with prepared PSCells, MCG configurations, or any combination thereof, for use in the series of conditional PSCell changes or additions.)
Shows the UE storing the configuration with the execution conditions received from the master node
(See Ozturk paragraph 0060, The use of the single configuration stored at the UE for multiple conditional PSCell changes or additions...)
Shows the UE utilizing the configuration for PSCell change or handover
in response to accessing a candidate cell of the plurality of candidate cells, transmit, to the terminal device, a list of execution conditions for the candidate cell.
(See Ozturk paragraph 0118, ...after performing one or more PSCell changes/additions, the UE 215 may receive supplementary or additional information (e.g., updated measurement configurations, execution conditions) for subsequent PSCell changes/additions of the series of conditional PSCell procedures.)
However, Ozturk fails to explicitly teach,
…measurement configurations…
Nevertheless, Zhang, in the same field of endeavor, teaches,
…measurement configurations…
(See Zhang paragraph 0021, ...transmitting a configuration message that includes a plurality of candidate cells with configurations for each and a measurement configuration for at least one of the candidate cells;)
Shows a configuration message with measurement configuration
(See Zhang paragraph 0021, The measurement configuration comprises at least one of a Layer 1 (“L1”) measurement configuration or a Layer 3 (“L3”) measurement configuration for at least one of the candidate cells or a neighbor cell.)
Shows the measurement configuration comprises an L1 measurement
(See Zhang paragraph 0021, The L1 measurement configuration comprises a threshold for L1 Reference Signal Received Power (“RSRP”) measurements of serving cell to control the L1 measurement for the candidate cell or neighbor cell.)
Shows the L1 measurement comprises a reference signal received power or RSRP threshold for RSRP measurements
The motivation to combine Ozturk and Zhang in the dependent claim consists of the same motivation as stated in claim 1.
Claim 15
Ozturk teaches limitations of claim 15 as stated in claim 5. The motivation to combine Ozturk and Zhang in the dependent claim consists of the same motivation as stated in claim 1.
Claim 16
Ozturk teaches limitations of claim 16 as stated in claim 6. The motivation to combine Ozturk and Zhang in the dependent claim consists of the same motivation as stated in claim 1.
Claim 18
Ozturk teaches,
A method comprising:
receiving, from a network device, a set of… …and execution conditions, the set of… …and execution conditions being associated with selective activation of a plurality of candidate cells;
(See Ozturk paragraph 0110, The master node may transmit a control message (e.g., an RRC reconfiguration message) to the UE 115 indicating a configuration that includes a set of execution conditions for the multiple conditional PSCell change or addition procedures, where the execution conditions may be based on the subset of secondary nodes indicated by each target secondary node.)
Shows the master node transmitting a set of execution conditions for a subset of secondary nodes or candidate cells
Shows the execution conditions may be based on the subset of secondary nodes or candidate cells indicated by each target secondary node
Shows The target secondary node selects the subset of secondary nodes or candidate cells
storing the set of… …and execution conditions; and
(See Ozturk paragraph 0110, The UE 115 may store the configuration received from the master node, which may include the set of execution conditions, SCG configurations associated with prepared PSCells, MCG configurations, or any combination thereof, for use in the series of conditional PSCell changes or additions.)
performing cell changes among the plurality of candidate cells based on the stored set of… …and execution conditions.
(See Ozturk paragraph 0110, The use of the single configuration stored at the UE 115 for multiple conditional PSCell changes or additions may minimize signaling overhead by avoiding signaling configurations each time the UE 115 adds or changes a PSCell.)
Shows the UE explicitly utilizing the stored configuration for PSCell change
However, Ozturk fails to explicitly teach,
…measurement configurations…
Nevertheless, Zhang, in the same field of endeavor, teaches,
…measurement configurations…
(See Zhang paragraph 0018, ...receiving a configuration message that includes a plurality of candidate cells with configurations for each and a measurement configuration for at least one of the candidate cells;)
Shows receiving a configuration message with a plurality of candidate cells for each cell and a measurement configuration for at least one candidate cell
(See Zhang paragraph 0018, The measurement configuration comprises at least one of a Layer 1 (“L1”) measurement configuration or a Layer 3 (“L3”) measurement configuration for at least one of the candidate cells or a neighbor cell.)
Shows the measurement configuration comprises L1 measurement configuration or L3 measurement configuration
(See Zhang paragraph 0019, The L1 measurement configuration includes a reference signal (“RS”) resource of each candidate cell or neighbor cell, wherein the RS resource includes: a RS resource identification; and at least one of a synchronization signal block (“SSB”) resource, a channel state information reference signal (“CSI-RS”) resource, or a temporary reference signal (“TRS”) resource.)
Shows the L1 measurement configurations contains a set of reference signal resources for each candidate cell
The motivation to combine Ozturk and Zhang in the independent claim consists of the same motivation as stated in claim 1.
Claim 19
A method comprising:
generating a set of… ..and execution conditions, the set of… …and execution conditions being associated with selective activation of a plurality of candidate cells for a terminal device; and
transmitting the set of… …and execution conditions to the terminal device.
(See Ozturk paragraph 0059, Each secondary node may respond to the master node with an indication (e.g., via a secondary node modification request acknowledgment message) of an updated measurement configuration for the target PSCells.)
Shows the secondary nodes transmitting measurement configuration for target PSCells to the master node
(See Ozturk paragraph 0060, Based on the information received related to the subset of target secondary nodes, the master node may transmit a control message (e.g., a radio resource control (RRC) reconfiguration message) to the UE indicating a configuration for the CPA and/or CPC. The configuration may include a set of execution conditions for the multiple conditional PSCell change or addition procedures, where the execution conditions may be based on the subset of secondary nodes indicated by each target secondary node.)
Shows the master node transmitting a configuration, generated by the master node and containing execution conditions, to a UE based on the received measurement configurations from the secondary nodes
(See Ozturk paragraph 0110, The master node may transmit a control message (e.g., an RRC reconfiguration message) to the UE 115 indicating a configuration that includes a set of execution conditions for the multiple conditional PSCell change or addition procedures, where the execution conditions may be based on the subset of secondary nodes indicated by each target secondary node.)
Shows the master node transmitting a set of execution conditions for a subset of secondary nodes or candidate cells
Shows the execution conditions may be based on the subset of secondary nodes or candidate cells indicated by each target secondary node
Shows The target secondary node selects the subset of secondary nodes or candidate cells
However, Ozturk fails to explicitly teach,
…measurement configurations…
Nevertheless, Zhang, in the same field of endeavor, teaches,
…measurement configurations…
(See Zhang paragraph 0021, ...transmitting a configuration message that includes a plurality of candidate cells with configurations for each and a measurement configuration for at least one of the candidate cells;)
Shows a configuration message with measurement configuration
(See Zhang paragraph 0021, The measurement configuration comprises at least one of a Layer 1 (“L1”) measurement configuration or a Layer 3 (“L3”) measurement configuration for at least one of the candidate cells or a neighbor cell.)
Shows the measurement configuration comprises an L1 measurement
(See Zhang paragraph 0021, The L1 measurement configuration comprises a threshold for L1 Reference Signal Received Power (“RSRP”) measurements of serving cell to control the L1 measurement for the candidate cell or neighbor cell.)
Shows the L1 measurement comprises a reference signal received power or RSRP threshold for RSRP measurements
The motivation to combine Ozturk and Zhang in the dependent claim consists of the same motivation as stated in claim 1.
Claims 7 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ozturk et al. (US 20230262541 A1) or Ozturk in view of Zhang et al. (US 20240373304 A1) or Zhang in further view of Leng et al. (US 20230247492 A1) or Leng.
Claim 7
Ozturk teaches,
The terminal device of claim 1, wherein the at least one memory and the at least one processor cause the terminal device to:
(See Ozturk paragraph 0006, An apparatus for wireless communications at a UE is described. The apparatus may include a processor, memory coupled with the processor, and instructions stored in the memory. The instructions may be executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to…)
…and execution conditions…
(See Ozturk paragraph 0004, The master node may transmit a control message (e.g., an RRC reconfiguration message) to the UE indicating a configuration that includes a set of execution conditions for the multiple PSCell change or addition procedures,…)
Shows the UE receiving execution conditions for multiple PSCell change in an RRC reconfiguration message
However, Ozturk fails to explicitly teach,
…receive, from the network device, one or more preparation configurations for handover from a source cell to one or more target cells among the plurality of candidate cells,…
Nevertheless, Zhang, in the same field of endeavor, teaches,
…receive, from the network device, one or more preparation configurations for handover from a source cell to one or more target cells among the plurality of candidate cells,…
(See Zhang paragraph 0164, In block 908, the DU forwards the received RRCReconfiguration message to the UE.)
Shows the UE receiving from the network device, base station distributed unit or DU, an RRCReconfiguration message
(See Zhang paragraph 0164, In block 906, the CU sends the generated RRCReconfiguration message to the DU (e.g. via DL RRC MESSAGE TRANSFER message). The RRC message includes the candidate cell configuration and may also include the triggering events/conditions associated with the candidate cell(s) (e.g for UE triggered mobility).)
Shows the RRCRconfiguration message contains candidate cell configuration for cell preparation (See Zhang paragraph 0162, FIG. 9 shows an embodiment of intra-DU mobility based on CU initiated candidate cell preparation.)
Shows FIG. 9 concerns a method of candidate cell preparation for handover
The motivation to combine Ozturk and Zhang in the dependent claim consists of the same motivation as stated in claim 1.
However, Ozturk fails to explicitly teach,
…wherein the set of measurement configurations… …is received from the network device outside of the one or more preparation configurations.
Nevertheless, Leng, in the same field of endeavor, teaches,
…wherein the set of measurement configurations… …is received from the network device outside of the one or more preparation configurations.
(See Leng paragraph 0092, AS illustrated in FIG. 8, for 810, the source gNB 802 configures the measurement procedure and the UE 801 reports according to the measurement configuration.)
Shows the UE receiving the measurement configuration from the gNB before receiving the preparation configuration message for handover
(See Leng paragraph 0095, For 830, the source gNB 802 sends an RRCReconfiguration message to the UE 801 containing CG pool configuration for handover. The CG pool configuration includes a list of encapsulated RRCReconfiguration messages from all candidate target gNBs for potential handover. The information for target gNB access can include the target cell ID, the new C-RNTI, a set of dedicated RACH resources, the association between RACH resources and SSB(s), the association between RACH resources and UE-specific CSI-RS configuration(s), common RACH resources, and system information of the target cell, etc.)
Shows the UE receiving an RRCRecofiguration message to prepare the UE for handover between gNBs after receiving the measurement configurations
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling data of the claimed invention to combine the terminal receiving a set of execution conditions being associated with selective activation of multiple candidate cells, storing the execution conditions, and performing cell changes among multiple candidate cells based on the execution conditions disclosed by Ozturk with the a set of measurement configurations received from a network device outside of at least one preparation configuration as disclosed by Leng to increase the efficiency of the system (i.e. to reduce the probability of the UE incorrectly decoding the handover preparation configurations).
See above “Response to Arguments and Amendments” for further explanation
Claim 17
Ozturk teaches limitations of claim 17 as stated in claim 7. However, Ozturk fails to explicitly teach limitations of claim 17 as stated in claim 7. Nevertheless, Zhang and Leng, in the same field of endeavor, teach limitations of claim 17 as stated in claim 7. The motivation to combine Ozturk, Zhang, and Leng in the dependent claim consists of the same motivation as stated in claim 7.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Agiwal et al. (US 20260214681 A1) or Agiwal teaches a terminal receiving configuration information for candidate target base station and switching to the candidate target base station.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SAMUEL ROBERGE BETTENDORF/Examiner, Art Unit 2414
/EDAN ORGAD/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2414