DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Park et al. (US Pub. 2024/0420772).
Regarding claims 1, 10, and 20, Fig. 19 of Park disclose a system [Fig. 5], comprising: a memory device, comprising: a memory cell array [200, Fig. 8] comprising a plurality of blocks [SB1 to SB3], wherein the plurality of blocks comprises a first block [SB1, Fig. 19], a second block [SB3, Fig. 19], and a third block [SB2, Fig. 19] located between the first and second blocks [SB1, SB3, respectively] in a plane of the memory device; a peripheral circuit [430, Fig. 8] coupled to the memory cell array [200, Fig. 8], and configured to: select the first and second blocks [SB1, SB3 are selected (SEL)] from the plurality of blocks, wherein the third block [SB2 is unselected (UNS)] is unselected while the first and second blocks are being selected [clearly shows in Fig. 19]; and perform a first erase operation on the first and second blocks in a first period of time [as shows in Fig. 20, SB1 and SB3 are selected to erase during the time between T33 and T35]; and a memory controller [450, Fig. 8] coupled to the memory device and configured to control an operation of the memory device [control 450 control reading, programming, and erasing operations of memory device].
Regarding claims 2 and 11, Fig. 22 of Park discloses selecting the third block [SB2] from the memory device; and performing a second erase operation on the third block in a second period of time [between T44 to T45] that is different from the first period of time.
Regarding claims 3 and 13, Fig. 8 of Park discloses wherein the memory device comprises a peripheral circuit [430] coupled to the plurality of blocks [within array 200], and selecting the first block and the second block from the memory device comprises: unselecting, by the peripheral circuit [as shows in Fig. 8, Address Decoder 430 generating wordline signals (WLs) to select memory blocks in Fig. 19], the plurality of blocks [SB1 to SB3 in Fig. 19]; and for each block in the first and second blocks, responsive to receiving a block address [R_ADDR] of the corresponding block, generating, by the peripheral circuit [430], a block-select signal [WL1 to WL12, Fig. 19] having a block-select value to select the corresponding block, wherein the block-select signal is stored in a block address latch [latch 470 in Fig. 14, within controller 450] associated with the corresponding block.
Regarding claims 4 and 14, Fig. 19 of Park discloses wherein unselecting the plurality of blocks comprises: resetting [by generating low signal for WL5 to WL8], by the peripheral circuit [430 in Fig. 8], a plurality of block address latches associated with the plurality of blocks to an unselect state [low state], so that the plurality of blocks are unselected.
Regarding claims 5 and 15, Fig. 8 of Park discloses wherein generating the block-select signal further comprises: responsive to receiving the block address [R_ADDR, since R_ADDR is used to select a block, it can be considered block address] of the corresponding block [SB1 to SB3] and a state of a block labeling latch associated with the corresponding block indicating that the corresponding block is a functioning block, generating the block-select signal [WLs] having the block-select value [high state = selected state].
Regarding claims 6 and 16, Fig. 8 of Park discloses wherein the memory device comprises a peripheral circuit [430] coupled to the plurality of blocks [SB1 to SB3 within array 200], and selecting the first block [SB1] and the second block [SB2] from the memory device comprises: labeling, by the peripheral circuit, the plurality of blocks [SB2] as bad blocks [not ready to erase is equivalent to bad]; relabeling, by the peripheral circuit, the first [SB1] and second [SB3] blocks as functioning blocks [ready to erase]; and selecting, by the peripheral circuit [430], the first and second blocks relabeled as the functioning blocks based on a select-all-block signal [WLs].
Regarding claims 7 and 17, Fig. 8 of Park discloses labeling the plurality of blocks as the bad [bad is a relative term. Not ready to erase can be considered bad] blocks comprises: setting, by the peripheral circuit [430], a plurality of block labeling latches associated with the plurality of blocks to a bad block state [unselected state], so that the plurality of blocks [SB2] are labeled as the bad blocks; and relabeling the first and second blocks [SB1, SB3] as the functioning blocks comprises: for each block in the first and second blocks, setting, by the peripheral circuit, a block labeling latch associated with the corresponding block to a functioning block state [ready and selected state], so that the corresponding block is relabeled as a functioning block [selected block].
Regarding claims 8 and 18, Fig. 8 of Park discloses wherein selecting the first and second blocks [SB1, SB3] relabeled as the functioning blocks based on the select-all-block signal comprises: generating, by the peripheral circuit [430], first block-select signals [WL1 to WL4 and WL9 to WL12] having a block-select value [high] to select the first and second blocks [SB1, SB3], respectively, based on the select-all-block signal [R_ADDR]; and generating, by the peripheral circuit, second block-select signals [WL5 to WL8] having a block-unselect value to unselect remaining blocks in the plurality of blocks [SB2], respectively, based on the select-all-block signal.
Regarding claims 9 and 19, Fig. 19 and Fig. 20 of Park discloses wherein performing the first erase operation on the first and second blocks [SB1, SB3] in the first period of time comprises: applying an erase voltage [VERS] to erase the first and second blocks in the first period of time [between T33 and T37] while the first and second blocks are being selected [SEL]; and applying a verify voltage [vev2] to verify the erasing of the first and second blocks in the first period of time [between T36 and T37].
Regarding claim 12, Fig. 8 of Park discloses wherein the peripheral circuit [430] comprises: a plurality of block select circuits [within circuit 430, circuits that generating plurality word line signals WLs] corresponding to the plurality of blocks [SB1 to SB3, Fig. 19], respectively; and control logic [450] configured to control an operation of the plurality of block select circuits.
Conclusion
/ANTHAN TRAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2825