DETAILED ACTION
This communication is responsive to Amendment filed 04/27/2026.
Claims 1-20 are pending in this application. Claims 1, 8, and 15 are independent claims. In Amendment, claims 1-4, 6-11, 13, and 15-18 are amended. This Office Action is made final.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter. The claim(s) does/do not fall within at least one of the four categories of patent eligible subject matter because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception (i.e., a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea) without significantly more. Claim(s) 1, 8, and 15 is/are directed to an abstract idea under the mental process.
Re claim 1, a computer-implemented method, comprising:
transmitting, by a computing device of a video conference provider system, one or more video streams corresponding to one or more participants in a video conference, at least a subset of the one or more video streams displayed in one or more windows by client devices connected to the video conference, wherein each of the one or more windows correspond to one or more videoconference participants;
identifying, by a language identification process of the computing device, a respective identified-language for at least one audio stream of one or more audio streams that correspond to the one or more windows;
translating, by a translation process of the computing device, the at least one audio stream from the respective identified-language to a target language of the computing device; and
transmitting, by the computing device, an indication of a first translation of an audio stream to one or more client devices to cause at least a first subset of the client devices to display a first notification on each window that corresponds to a translated audio stream of the one or more audio streams.
Under Prong I step 2A, the italic limitations “identifying…” and “translating…” can be mentally done in human mind wherein one with multiple language knowledge can listen conversation/audio and be able to translate and speak in another language as desired. Under Prong II step 2A, the other non-italic limitations in the claims including memories, processors, and instructions are considered as additional elements however, these additional elements are not sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because these additional elements including memories, processors, and instructions of the computer device are merely generalized high level hardware component of computer system and the limitations of transmitting and displaying are considered as pre and post activity solutions for gathering/collecting information over the network and be able to present or display data. These additional elements are not integrated into the practical application. Under step 2B, these additional elements individually or in combination is not sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because these additional elements including memories, processors, and instructions of the computer device are merely generalized high level hardware component of computer system and the limitations of transmitting and displaying are considered as pre and post activity solutions for gathering/collecting information over the network and be able to present or display data as evidently seen in MPEP 2106.05(d) and (f).
Re claims 2-7, these claims are similarly analyzed and rejected as seen in claim 1 above as these claims recite limitations that are either abstract idea limitations or insignificant additional elements that are not integrated into the practical application as required.
Re claim 9-14, these are medium claim having similar limitations as cited in claims 2-7. Thus, claims 9-14are also rejected under the same rationale as cited in the rejection of claim 2-7 above.
Re claim 15-20, these are device claim having similar limitations as cited in claims 2-6. Thus, claims 15-20 are also rejected under the same rationale as cited in the rejection of claim 2-6 above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Merhej (U.S. 2020/0075000 A1) in view of Liu et al. (U.S. 2022/0199086 A1).
Re claim 1, Merhej discloses in Figures 1-5 a computer-implemented method, comprising: transmitting, by a computing device of a video conference provider system, one or more video streams corresponding to one or more participants in a video conference, at least a subset of the one or more video streams displayed in one or more windows by client devices connected to the video conference, wherein each of the one or more windows correspond to one or more videoconference participants (e.g. abstract, Figures 1-2 with multiple participants in video conference and paragraphs [0002-0003]); identifying, by a language identification process of the computing device, a respective identified-language for at least one audio stream of one or more audio streams that correspond to the one or more windows (e.g. paragraphs [0002-0003; 0011-0012; and 0043]); translating, by a translation process of the computing device, the at least one audio stream from the respective identified-language to a target language of the computing device (e.g. paragraphs [0004 and 0007-0010, 0018, and 0027] wherein specific segment can be translated to different language voice/audio). Merhej does not explicitly disclose transmitting, by the computing device, an indication of a first translation of an audio stream to one or more client devices to cause at least a first subset of the client devices to display a first notification on each window that corresponds to a translated audio stream of the one or more audio streams. However, Liu et al. disclose transmitting, by the computing device, an indication of a first translation of an audio stream to one or more client devices to cause at least a subset of the client devices to display a first notification on each window that corresponds to a translated audio stream of the one or more audio streams (e.g. paragraph [0117]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to add transmitting, by the computing device, an indication of a first translation of an audio stream to one or more client devices to cause at least a first subset of the client devices to display a first notification on each window that corresponds to a translated audio stream of the one or more audio streams as seen in Liu et al.’s invention into Merhej’s invention because it would enable to alert the receiver end various translation options.
Re claim 2, Merhej in view of Liu et al. disclose identifying the respective identified- language for each audio stream comprises: accessing, by the computing device, audio information comprising a first audio stream from a client device of the one or more client devices (e.g. Merhej – Figures 1-2 from various user’s devices); providing, by the computing device, a first audio segment from the first audio stream to the language identification process of the computing device comprising a machine learning model that is trained to identify a language of a plurality of languages within recorded speech, wherein the language identification process assigns a first confidence score to the first audio segment (e.g. Liu et al. - paragraphs [0013-0014]); and identifying, by the language identification process of the computing device, the respective identified-language corresponding to the first audio segment based at least in part on the first confidence score exceeding a confidence threshold (e.g. Merhej – paragraphs [0017-0018 and 0048]).
Re claim 3, Merhej in view of Liu et al. disclose providing, by the computing device, the first audio segment as first input to the translation process; receiving, by the computing device, a first translated text as output from the translation process; and displaying the first translated text (e.g. Merhej – Figures 1-2).
Re claim 4, Merhej in view of Liu et al. disclose providing, by the computing device, a second audio segment as second input to the translation process, wherein the second audio segment is generated after the first audio segment; receiving, by the computing device, a second translated text as second output from the translation process; and updating, by the computing device, the first translated text based at least in part on the second translated text (e.g. Merhej - Figures 1-3 wherein translation in sequence and display on the screen in sequence).
Re claim 5, Merhej in view of Liu et al. disclose receiving, by the translation process of the computing device, a chat message from a particular client device that corresponds to a particular translated audio stream; and translating, by the translation process of the computing device, the chat message from the respective identified-language to the target language (e.g. Merhej - paragraphs [0002, 0004 and 0007-0010, 0018, and 0027]).
Re claim 6, Merhej in view of Liu et al. disclose transmitting, by the computing device, an indication of a second translation of the chat message to the one or more client devices to cause at least a subset of the client devices to display a second notification on a chat window (e.g. Liu et al. – paragraph [0117]).
Re claim 7, Merhej in view of Liu et al. disclose receiving, from a particular client device, information identifying a particular translation notification that corresponds to a particular translated audio stream (e.g. Liu et al. – paragraph [0117]); and transmitting, by the computing device, instructions to present information identifying the respective identified-language that corresponds to the particular translated audio stream on the particular client device (e.g. Merhej – Figures 1-3).
Re claim 8, it is a medium claim having similar limitations cited in claim 1. Thus, claim 8 is also rejected under the same rationale as cited in the rejection of claim 1 above.
Re claim 9, it is a medium claim having similar limitations cited in claim 2. Thus, claim 9 is also rejected under the same rationale as cited in the rejection of claim 2 above.
Re claim 10, it is a medium claim having similar limitations cited in claim 3. Thus, claim 10 is also rejected under the same rationale as cited in the rejection of claim 3 above.
Re claim 11, it is a medium claim having similar limitations cited in claim 4. Thus, claim 11 is also rejected under the same rationale as cited in the rejection of claim 4 above.
Re claim 12, it is a medium claim having similar limitations cited in claim 5. Thus, claim 12 is also rejected under the same rationale as cited in the rejection of claim 5 above.
Re claim 13, it is a medium claim having similar limitations cited in claim 6. Thus, claim 13 is also rejected under the same rationale as cited in the rejection of claim 6 above.
Re claim 14, it is a medium claim having similar limitations cited in claim 7. Thus, claim 14 is also rejected under the same rationale as cited in the rejection of claim 7 above.
Re claim 15, it is a device claim having similar limitations cited in claim 1. Thus, claim 15 is also rejected under the same rationale as cited in the rejection of claim 1 above.
Re claim 16, it is a device claim having similar limitations cited in claim 2. Thus, claim 16 is also rejected under the same rationale as cited in the rejection of claim 2 above.
Re claim 17, it is a device claim having similar limitations cited in claim 3. Thus, claim 17 is also rejected under the same rationale as cited in the rejection of claim 3 above.
Re claim 18, it is a device claim having similar limitations cited in claim 4. Thus, claim 18 is also rejected under the same rationale as cited in the rejection of claim 4 above.
Re claim 19, Merhej in view of Liu et al. disclose the computing device is a client device of the one or more client devices of a video conference provider system (e.g. Merhej – Figures 1-2).
Re claim 20, Merhej in view of Liu et al. disclose the one or more processors are configured to: receive, by the translation process, a chat message from a particular client device that corresponds to a particular translated audio stream (e.g. Merhej – paragraph [0002]); translate, by the translation process, the chat message from the respective identified-language to the target language; and display the chat message on a chat window (e.g. Merhej – paragraphs [0004 and 0007-0010, 0018, and 0027]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 04/27/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The applicant argues in pages 9-11 for claim 1 that the additional elements, in particular the first “transmitting” step constitute an improvement to automated language identification technology and the second “transmitting” step delivers translation result as per-window notification tied to the specific participant window. Thus, as a whole the claim recites a specific technical solution to the technical problems.
The examiner respectfully submits that the “transmitting” steps in the independent claims are merely sending the information over the network which are considered as additional elements under Prong II step 2A. These additional elements merely recite insignificant extra solution activity such as gathering, displaying, updating, transmitting and storing data which does not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application under Prong II. See MPEP 2106.05(g). Under step 2B, the courts have identified these functions such as gathering, displaying, updating, transmitting and storing data as well-understood, routine, conventional activity, thus do not amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. See MPEP 2106.05(d).
The applicant argues in pages 11-12 for claims that neither Merhej nor Liu disclose the limitation “identifying, by a language identification process of the computing device, a respective…to the one or more windows”.
The examiner respectfully submits that the primary reference Merhej clearly discloses the alleged limitation wherein Merhej disclose the same concept of the claimed invention by detecting/identifying the first language audio and convert to the second language audio which corresponding to the target language audio. The process of detecting/identifying the respective identified-language for at least one audio stream can be reasonable seen throughout specification including the paragraphs [0038] which using some language modeling for detection.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/PHUOC H NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2451