DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed on 06/29/26, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) under 35 USC 102 as being anticipated by Cho (WO 2018/110953 A1) reference has been fully considered and are persuasive in light of the amendment. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made Cho (WO 2018/110953 A1) in view of Lee et al (US 2022/0049343).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 12, and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cho (WO 2018/110953 A1) in view of Lee et al (US 2022/0049343 hereinafter “Lee”).
Regarding claim 1; Cho discloses a deposition apparatus (figures 1-2: e.g., As shown in FIG. 1, in a deposition apparatus for OLEDs) comprising:
a substrate (S @ figures 2c and 6);
a mask (350 @ figure 2c) configured to be used with the substrate (S @ figure 2C and 6), the mask (350 @ figure 2c) being configured to be disposed on a first surface of the substrate (S @ figure 2c and 6) and including a mask frame (360 @ figure 2c and 6: e.g., a frame 360 coupled with the electrostatic chuck 340) supporting an edge area of the substrate (S @ figure 2c);
a through-hole (342 @ figure2c and 6) formed in the mask frame (360 @ figure 2c and 6) along the edge area of the substrate (S @ figure 2c);
a measurement member (blocking member 346 @ figure 6: e.g., the blocking member 346 may be a ring-shaped member installed at the inner circumference or the end of the through-hole 342) configured to be disposed between the substrate (S @ figure 6) and the mask frame (360 @ figure 6) at a position corresponding to the through-hole (342 @ figure 6), wherein the measurement member (346 @ figure 6) includes a measurement hole (figure 6 "it is inherent to be a measurement hole is between two blocking member 346”) connected to the through-hole (342 @ figure 6); and
a measurement camera (500 @ figure 6) disposed on a first surface of the mask frame (360 @ figure 6) at the position corresponding to the through-hole (342 @ figure 6),
wherein the measurement camera (500 @ figure 6: e.g., The distance measuring unit 500 may measures the distance between the substrate S and the mask 350 based on a relative distance L1 between the first distance measuring unit and the mask 350 and a relative distance L2 between the second distance measuring unit and the substrate ) measures a first distance (L2 @ figure 6) to the measurement member (346 @ figure 6) exposed through the through-hole (342 @ figure 6) and a second distance (L1 @ figure 6) to the substrate (S @ figure 6) exposed through the measurement hole (figure 6 "hole between two blocking member 346”) when the deposition apparatus (figures 1-2: e.g., As shown in FIG. 1, in a deposition apparatus for OLEDs) is used with substrate (S @ figure 2c). See figures 1-10
Cho discloses all of feature of claimed invention except for the mask frame supports the edge area of the substrate. However, Lee et al teaches that it is known in the art to provide a mask assembly (MA @ figures 1 and 7A) including the mask (MK @ figures 1 and 7A) and the frame mask (FR @ figure 1 and 7A), wherein the mask frame (FR @ figures 1 and 7A) supports the edge area (figure 7A) of the substrate (SUB @ figure 7A).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of claimed invention to combine the deposition apparatus of Cho with the mask frame supports the edge area of the substrate as taught by Lee for the purpose of improving light emission efficiency and improving the deposition precision.
Regarding claim 2; Cho discloses the measurement member (346 @ figure 6) is positioned on a second surface of the mask frame (360 @ figure 6) to be disposed opposite to the first surface of the mask frame (352 @ figure 6).
Regarding claim 3; Cho discloses the measurement member (346 @ figure 6) further includes a cover portion (blocked member 346 @ figure 6), wherein the cover portion is an area other than the measurement hole (figure 6), and the measurement hole (figure 6 "it is inherent to be a measurement hole is between two blocking member 346 has a small size”) is positioned at a center of the cover portion (346 @ figure 6) and is formed to have a smaller size than the through-hole (342 @ figure 6, it is inherent to be the through-hole's size 342 is greater than to blocking member's size 346 ) and to penetrate through the cover portion (figure 6).
Regarding claim 12; Cho discloses further comprising: an electrostatic chuck ESC (340 @ figure 2b-2c and 6) positioned on a second surface of the substrate (S @ figures 2b-2c) to be opposite to the first surface of the substrate (S @ figure 2b-2c); and a magnetic force generator (figures 2b-2c: e.g., The electrostatic chuck 340 attracts and fixes a substrate S while the substrate carrier 320 transfers the substrate S by the electromagnetic force. The electrostatic chuck 340 generates the electromagnetic force by receiving power from the DC power supply installed in the substrate carrier 320 or from an external DC power source) positioned on a first surface of the electrostatic chuck (340 @ figure 2b-2c).
Regarding claim 21; Cho discloses the mask frame (351 @ figures 2b-2c) and the measurement member (346 @ figure 6) are located opposite the first surface of the substrate (S @ figure 2b-2c and 6), and the ESC (340 @ figures 2b-2c) is located opposite a second surface of the substrate (S @ figures 2b-2c), the second surface of the substrate (S @ figures 2b-2c) being opposite of the first surface of the substrate (S @ figures 2b-2c).
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cho (WO 2018/110953 A1) in view of Lee et al (US 2022/0049343 hereinafter “Lee”) as applied to claims3 above, and further in view of Okamoto (US 2022/0403498).
Regarding claim 4; Cho in view of Lee discloses all of feature of claimed invention except for the cover portion is attached to the second surface of the mask frame to open a portion of the through-hole to the same size as the measurement hole and to cover the remaining area of the through-hole. However, Okamoto teaches that it is known in the art to provide the cover portion (mask holder 3 @ figure 3) is attached to the second surface of the mask frame (40 @ figure 4) to open (45 @ figure 3) a portion of the through- hole (56 @ figure 3) to the same size as the measurement hole and to cover the remaining area (3 @ see figure 3 "right side") of the through-hole (56 @ figure 3). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of claimed invention to combine deposition apparatus of Cho with limitation above as taught by Okamoto for the purpose of reducing the manufacturing cost of an organic device is increasing the size of the substrate.
Claims 5 and 7-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cho (WO 2018/110953 A1) in view of Lee et al (US 2022/0049343 hereinafter “Lee”) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Okamoto (US 2022/0403498).
Regarding claim 5; Cho in view of Lee combination discloses all of feature of claimed invention except for the measurement member is formed as a thin film. However, Okamoto teaches that it is known in the art to provide the measurement member (50 @ figure 3 and It is inherent to considered to be Mask 50 is between the substrate 110 and the mask frame 40) is formed as a thin film (paragraph [0072]: e.g., an example of a mask for use in patterning an organic material "thin film" or electrodes on a substrate in a desired pattern and a method of manufacturing the mask in manufacturing an organic EL display). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of claimed invention to combine deposition apparatus of Cho with limitation above as taught by Okamoto for the purpose of reducing the manufacturing cost of an organic device is increasing the size of the substrate.
Regarding claim 7; Cho discloses the measurement camera (500 @ figure 6) is decoupled from the first surface of the mask frame (360 @ figure 6) at the position corresponding to the through-hole (342 @ figure 6).
Cho in view of Lee combination discloses all of feature of claimed invention except for the measurement camera is coupled to the first surface of the mask frame at the position corresponding to the through- hole. However, Okamoto teaches that it is known in the art to provide the measurement camera (sensor head 611 @ figure 11 and paragraphs [0137] and [0234]: e.g., the sensor head 611 of the displacement meter 61x is brought into contact with the frame 40 (frame 40 having first side 41, second side 42, third side 43 and fourth side 44 in figure 4), with the rod 621 of the pressing unit 62x spaced apart from the frame 40. This allows determining the position of the frame 40 not deformed, that is, the reference position) is coupled to the first surface (41 @ figure 4) of the mask frame (40 @ figure 3) at the position corresponding to the through-hole (56 @ figure 3). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of claimed invention to combine deposition apparatus of Cho with limitation above as taught by Okamoto for the purpose of reducing the manufacturing cost of an organic device is increasing the size of the substrate.
Regarding claim 8; Cho discloses the measurement camera (500 @ figure 6) for decoupling from the mask frame (360 @ figure 6) by blocking the magnetic force (blocking member 346 @ figure 6).
Cho in view of Lee combination discloses all of feature of claimed invention except for the mask frame includes a metal, and the measurement camera includes a magnetic force applying portion for coupling the measurement camera to the mask frame by generating a magnetic force. However, Okamoto teaches that it is known in the art to provide the mask frame (40 @ figure 3) includes a metal (paragraph [0180] e.g., the frame 40 may be an iron alloy containing nickel. The iron alloy may contain cobalt in addition to nickel), and the measurement camera (611 @ figure 11) includes a magnetic force applying portion (pressing unit 62x @ figure 11 and paragraph [0222] e.g., The pressing unit 62x may include a rod 621 and a drive unit 622. The drive unit 622 drives the rod 621 in the first direction D1. The drive unit 622 includes, for example, a motor. The rod 621 includes an end that is in contact with the outer surface 41a of the first side 41. The pressing unit 62x may include a load meter, such as a load cell. The load meter detects the pressing force that the rod 621 applies to the frame 40) for coupling the measurement camera (612, 611 @ figure 11) to the first side (41 @ figure 11) of the mask frame (40 @ figure 3) by generating a magnetic force (paragraph [0222]). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of claimed invention to combine deposition apparatus of Cho with limitation above as taught by Okamoto for the purpose of reducing the manufacturing cost of an organic device is increasing the size of the substrate.
Regarding claim 9; Cho in view of Lee combination discloses all of feature of claimed invention except for a connection support portion positioned between the measurement camera and the magnetic force applying portion to connect the measurement camera to the magnetic force applying portion. However, Okamoto teaches that it is known in the art to provide a connection support portion (first side 41 of the mask frame 40 @ figure 4 and 11) positioned between the measurement camera (611, 612 @ figure 11) and the magnetic force applying portion (621, 622 @ figure 11) to connect the measurement camera (611, 612 @ figure 11) to the magnetic force applying portion (621, 622 @ figure 11). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of claimed invention to combine deposition apparatus of Cho with limitation above as taught by Okamoto for the purpose of reducing the manufacturing cost of an organic device is increasing the size of the substrate.
Regarding claim 10; Cho in view of Lee combination discloses all of feature of claimed invention except for the mask further includes a mask pattern portion positioned in a central area of the mask frame and disposed on the first surface of the substrate. However, Okamoto teaches that it is known in the art to provide the mask (50 @ figure 3) further includes a mask pattern portion (56 @ figure 3) positioned in a central area of the mask frame (40 @ figure 3) and disposed on the first surface (111 @ figure 3) of the substrate (110 @ figure 3). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of claimed invention to combine deposition apparatus of Cho with limitation above as taught by Okamoto for the purpose of reducing the manufacturing cost of an organic device is increasing the size of the substrate.
Regarding claim 11; Cho in view of Lee combination discloses all of feature of claimed invention except for a mask support portion positioned on the first surface of the mask frame together with the measurement camera to support the mask on the first surface of the mask frame. However, Okamoto teaches that it is known in the art to provide a mask support portion (3 @ figure 3) positioned on the first surface (402 @ figure 3) of the mask frame (40 @ figure 3) together with the measurement camera (611 @ figure 11) to support the mask (50 @ figures 3-4) on the first surface (402 @ figure 3) of the mask frame (40 @ figure 3). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of claimed invention to combine deposition apparatus of Cho with limitation above as taught by Okamoto for the purpose of reducing the manufacturing cost of an organic device is increasing the size of the substrate.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cho (WO 2018/110953 A1) in view of Lee et al (US 2022/0049343 hereinafter “Lee”) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Khayrullin et al (US 2019/0131590 hereinafter "Khayrullin").
Regarding claim 6; Cho in view of Lee combination discloses all of feature of claimed invention except for a controller storing the first distance and the second distance measured by the measurement camera and calculating a gap between the substrate and the mask, wherein the gap is a difference value between the stored first distance and second distance. However, Khayrullin teaches that it is known in the art to provide a controller (30, 60 @ figure 1 and 3A-3D) storing the first distance and the second distance (paragraph [0062]: e.g., the first distance D and the second distance) measured by the measurement camera (52 @ figures 1 and 3A-3D) and calculating a gap (D @ figures 3A-3D) between the substrate (2 @ figures 1 and 3A-3D) and the mask (10 @ figures 1 and 3A-3D), wherein the gap (D @ figures 1 and 3A- 3D) is a difference value (paragraphs [0066] and [0062] e.g., active alignment may further include where the first distance D in the vertical direction comprises a spacing distance between 3-100 microns. The method of active alignment may further include wherein the second distance in the vertical direction comprises a spacing distance between 3-100 microns) between the stored first distance and second distance (paragraph [0062]: e.g., the first distance D and the second distance). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of claimed invention to combine deposition apparatus of Cho with limitation above as taught by Khayrullin for the purpose of active alignment for direct patterning a high-resolution micro-display via a shadow mask upon a micro-display substrate.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
1) Hong et al (US 2009/0127236) discloses a method and apparatus for fabricating a vertical deposition mask capable of welding a mask sheet and a mask frame for preventing a large area mask from drooping due to the weight of the mask.
2) Shik et al (KR 20230091727 A) discloses the substrate processing device that can accurately align a mask and a substrate before proceeding with a processing process for the substrate using the mask; and the substrate alignment method. The substrate processing device comprises: a chamber; a substrate support part; a mask; and a camera.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SN/
July 24, 2026
/SANG H NGUYEN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2877