DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
2. Claims 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Kim et al. U.S. Patent Application Publication 20210028112 A1 (the ‘112 reference, of record and matured into U.S. Patent 11,721,628 B2).
The reference discloses in Figs. 1, 2 and related text a method of fabricating an integrated circuit as claimed.
Referring to claim 18, the ‘112 reference discloses a method of fabricating an integrated circuit, the method comprising:
fabricating a set of transistors (of a logic circuit or a memory device (para [3], (paragraph(s) [0003]))) in a front-side of a substrate (101, para [48]);
depositing a first set of conductive structures (“second wiring portion ML2”, para [48], note that structures ML2 include M2’s and that Fig. 2 is a cross-sectional view of the semiconductor device illustrated in FIG. 1, para [11]) on a back-side of the substrate (101) opposite from the front-side thereby forming a set of power rails (para [50]: each of “second wiring portion[s] ML2 may provide a signal line and a power line for a plurality of elements); and
depositing a second set of conductive structures (other M2’s of ML2’s) on the back-side of the substrate (101) thereby forming a set of signal lines (para [50]: “signal line[s]”), the set of signal lines being electrically connected to the set of transistors (para [48]: “contact structure 180 connected to a plurality of elements (for example, the source/drain region 110, and the like) formed on the substrate 101 may be connected to a second wiring portion ML2 located on the rear surface of the substrate 101, via the buried conductive wiring 120 and the conductive through structure 250”).
Referring to claim 19, the ‘112 reference further discloses: depositing a third set of conductive structures (M1 of ML1, para [46]) over the set of transistors thereby forming a first metal layer.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
3. Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. §103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. U.S. Patent Application Publication 20210028112 A1 (the ‘112 reference) in view of Komuro U.S. Patent Application Publication 20060012639 or Fratti et al. U.S. Patent 8,859,395.
Referring to claim 20, the ‘112 reference discloses an integrated circuit comprising the substrate (101) as detailed above for claim 18 including electrodes (through structure 250, para [36]) and the set of transistors, but does not disclose performing thinning on the back-side of the substrate opposite from the front-side.
Komuro, in disclosing an integrated circuit (Fig. 1) including electrodes 12 (para [33]) through a substrate 10, teaches performing thinning on the back-side of the substrate opposite from the front-side to expose the electrodes (end of claim 1); or, Fratti, in disclosing an integrated circuit (Fig. 4) including DMOS transistor 102 (col. 1, lines 19-25) on a substrate 104, teaches performing thinning on the back-side of the substrate opposite from the front-side to reduce stress (col. 3, lines 12-32).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have performed thinning on the back-side of the substrate (101) opposite from the front-side. One would have been motivated to make such a modification in view of the teachings in Komuro to expose the electrodes (250) or in Fratti to reduce stress.
Allowable Subject Matter
4. Claims 1-17 are allowable over the prior art of record.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The cited art, whether taken singularly or in combination, especially when all limitations are considered within the claimed specific combination, fails to teach or render obvious an integrated circuit with all exclusive limitations as recited in claims 1 and 11, which may be characterized (claim 1) in that a second conductor is on the back-side of the substrate, extends in the first direction and is separated from the first conductor in a second direction, that a first contact extends in the second direction, is electrically coupled to the second conductor and the first active region, and is located on a second level different from the first level, and in that the second conductor is electrically coupled to the first set of transistors and the second set of transistors, and (claim 11) a second conductor is on the back-side of the substrate, extends in the first direction and is separated from the first conductor in a second direction, and in that the second conductor electrically couples the first gate and the second gate together.
Conclusion
08-19-2026
/TU-TU V HO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2818