Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20170082932 A1 (hereinafter Fu), in view of Aspnes, D. et al., US6134012A (hereinafter Aspnes), and further in view of US 20040246481 A1 (hereinafter Sandusky).
Regarding claim 1, Fu teaches a spectroscopic ellipsometer, comprising: a light source configured to emit light (fig. 1 elements 101, 119, para [0123]); a polarizer configured to polarize the light emitted from the light source (fig. 1 element 105, para [0144]); a substrate support supporting a substrate (fig. 1 element 112, para [0237] and para [0238]; a substrate has a support system, see evidentiary reference US7777878B2 fig. 4 “STG”); a polarization analysis assembly (fig. 1 elements 113, 114, para [0147] and para [0144]) that is rotatable (para [0144] lines 5-10) and optically connected to the substrate support (this is shown in fig. 1); and a spectroscope (these are elements 115 to 118 in fig. 1) configured to disperse the light from the polarization analysis assembly (fig. 1 element 117, para [0134]), wherein the spectroscope comprises: a line slit assembly comprising a slit extending linearly and configured to extract a portion of the light from the lens (fig.1 aperture 115, para [0134]); a spectral dispersion device configured to disperse the light from the line slit assembly (fig. 1 element 117, para [0134]); “a plane detector optically connected to the spectral dispersion device and configured to continuously detect the dispersed light that is dispersed by the spectral dispersion device” (fig. 1 element 118, para [0063] lines 13-17), wherein the plane detector comprises a plurality of detectors arranged in a first direction and a second direction (these are “AOI” and “ʎ” in fig. 1).
Fu fails to teach a lens configured to change a propagation path of the light from the polarization analysis assembly; and “wherein, along the first direction toward an end of the plane detector, a wavelength of light detected by the plurality of detectors increase”.
Aspnes, from the same field of endeavor as Fu, teaches a lens configured to change a propagation path of the light from the polarization analysis assembly (fig. 7 element 90).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to apply the teaching of Aspnes to Fu to have a lens configured to change a propagation path of the light from the polarization analysis assembly in order to focus the light to the aperture or slit of the spectroscopic assembly (this is shown in fig. 7).
Fu, when modified by Aspnes, does not teach “wherein, along the first direction toward an end of the plane detector, a wavelength of light detected by the plurality of detectors increase” (note that the examiner interprets this limitation based on para [0076] of the specification lines 3-6).
Sandusky, from the same field of endeavor as Fu, teaches “wherein, along the first direction toward an end of the plane detector, a wavelength of light detected by the plurality of detectors increase” (fig. 1 element 40, para [0018]; increasing NA increases the wavelength of light detected by the plurality of detectors; replacing element 40 of Sandusky to element of 115 of Fu).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to apply the teaching of Sandusky to Fu, when modified by Aspnes, to have “wherein, along the first direction toward an end of the plane detector, a wavelength of light detected by the plurality of detectors increase” in order to obtain a variety of reflected angles from the sample (para [0032]).
Regarding claim 4, Fu teaches the spectroscopic ellipsometer of claim 1, wherein the polarization analysis assembly comprises: an analyzer configured to determine information about polarization of the light from the substrate support (fig. 1 element 114, para [0144] lines 5-10); and a second compensator between the substrate support and the analyzer, the second compensator configured to change a phase of the light from the substrate support (fig. 1 element 113).
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fu, Aspnes and Sandusky, as applied to claim(s) 1 above, and in view of CN 103411890 A (hereinafter Liu).
Regarding claim 3, Fu teaches the spectroscopic ellipsometer of claim 1, further comprising a first compensator between the polarizer and the substrate support (fig. 1 element 106, para [0147]),
The modified device of Fu does not teach wherein the first compensator configured to delay a phase of the light from the polarizer.
Liu, from the same field of endeavor as Fu, teaches wherein the first compensator configured to delay a phase of the light from the polarizer (p. 5 para [0082]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to apply the teaching of Liu to the modified device of Fu to have wherein the first compensator configured to delay a phase of the light from the polarizer in order to have a simple and clear method of elimination the error in the device (Abstract last sentence).
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fu, Aspnes and Sandusky, as applied to claim(s) 1 above, and in view of Aspnes, D. et al., US 5798837 A (hereinafter Opsal).
Regarding claim 5, the modified device of Fu does not teach the spectroscopic ellipsometer of claim 4, wherein the polarization analysis assembly further comprises a polarization rotator configured to rotate at least one of the analyzer and the second compensator.
Opsal, from the same field of endeavor as Fu, teaches the spectroscopic ellipsometer of claim 4, wherein the polarization analysis assembly further comprises a polarization rotator (fig. 1 motor 100) configured to rotate at least one of the analyzer (col 10 lines 23-26) and the second compensator (fig. 1 motor 100, col 7 lines 18-21).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to apply the teaching of Opsal to the modified device of Fu to have the spectroscopic ellipsometer of claim 4, wherein the polarization analysis assembly further comprises a polarization rotator configured to rotate at least one of the analyzer and the second compensator in order to calibrate the ellipsometer (col 10 lines 14-26).
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fu, Aspnes and Sandusky, as applied to claim(s) 1 above, and in view of Chen, X. et al., CN 109001116 A (hereinafter Chen).
Regarding claim 6, the modified device of Fu does not teach the spectroscopic ellipsometer of claim 1, wherein the line slit assembly comprises a slit controller configured to adjust a width of the slit.
Chen, from the same field of endeavor as Fu, teaches the spectroscopic ellipsometer of claim 1, wherein the line slit assembly comprises a slit controller configured to adjust a width of the slit (fig. 5 element 700, p. 7 para 2 lines 1-16).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to apply the teaching of Chen to the modified device of Fu to have the spectroscopic ellipsometer of claim 1, wherein the line slit assembly comprises a slit controller configured to adjust a width of the slit in order to perform high-precision measurement (p. 2 para 6).
Claim(s) 7, 8, 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fu, Aspnes and Sandusky, as applied to claim(s) 1 above, and in view of Vohra, Q. et al., US11441948B2 (hereinafter Vohra).
Regarding claim 7, the modified device of Fu does not teach the spectroscopic ellipsometer of claim 1, further comprising a plane driver configured to adjust a distance between the spectral dispersion device and the plane detector.
Vohra, from the same field of endeavor as Fu, teaches the spectroscopic ellipsometer of claim 1, further comprising a plane driver configured to adjust a distance between the spectral dispersion device and the plane detector (fig. 6 col 13 lines 38-40).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to apply the teaching of Vohra to the modified device of Fu to have the spectroscopic ellipsometer of claim 1, further comprising a plane driver configured to adjust a distance between the spectral dispersion device and the plane detector in order to shift the spectroscopy signal relative to the optical sensor (col 13 lines 63-67).
Regarding claim 8, the modified device of Fu does not teach the spectroscopic ellipsometer of claim 1, wherein the lens comprises a first collimating lens and a second collimating lens configured to control a propagation direction of the light from the polarization analysis assembly, and wherein the line slit assembly is between the first collimating lens and the second collimating lens.
Vohra, from the same field of endeavor as Fu, teaches the spectroscopic ellipsometer of claim 1, wherein the lens comprises a first collimating lens and a second collimating lens configured to control a propagation direction of the light from the polarization analysis assembly, and wherein the line slit assembly is between the first lens and the second collimating lens (fig. 6 shows first collimating lens 40, slit 66, second collimating lens 42).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to apply the teaching of Vohra to the modified device of Fu to have the spectroscopic ellipsometer of claim 1, wherein the lens comprises a first lens and a second collimating lens configured to control a propagation direction of the light from the polarization analysis assembly, and wherein the line slit assembly is between the first collimating lens and the second collimating lens in order to direct the beam to the diffraction grating (col 13 lines 29-37).
Regarding claim 9, the modified device of Fu does not teach the spectroscopic ellipsometer of claim 8, wherein the spectroscope further comprises a plane driver configured to adjust a distance between the spectral dispersion device and the plane detector, wherein the lens further comprises a third lens between the plane detector and the spectral dispersion device, and wherein the plane driver is further configured to adjust a distance between the third lens and the plane detector.
Vohra, from the same field of endeavor as Fu, teaches the spectroscopic ellipsometer of claim 8, wherein the spectroscope further comprises a plane driver configured to adjust a distance between the spectral dispersion device (fig. 6 element 90, col 13 lines 38-50) and the plane detector, wherein the lens further comprises a third lens between the plane detector and the spectral dispersion device (fig. 6 element 50, col 13 lines 34-37), and wherein the plane driver is further configured to adjust a distance between the third lens and the plane detector (this is shown in fig. 6).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to apply the teaching of Vohra to the modified device of Fu to have the spectroscopic ellipsometer of claim 8, wherein the spectroscope further comprises a plane driver configured to adjust a distance between the spectral dispersion device and the plane detector, wherein the lens further comprises a third lens between the plane detector and the spectral dispersion device, and wherein the plane driver is further configured to adjust a distance between the third lens and the plane detector in order for the detector to detect a plurality of discrete shifted spectroscopy signals (Abstract lines 6-9).
Claim(s) 10, 11, 12, 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fu in view of Aspnes, Vohra, and Sandusky.
Regarding claim 10, Fu teaches a spectroscopic ellipsometer, comprising: a light source configured to emit light (fig. 1 elements 101, 119, para [0123]); a polarizer configured to polarize the light emitted from the light source (fig. 1 element 105, para [0144]); a substrate support configured to support a substrate (fig. 1 element 112, para [0237] and para [0238]; a substrate has a support system, see evidentiary reference US7777878B2 fig. 4 “STG”); a rotatable analyzer configured to determine a degree of polarization of the light from the polarizer and a position of a polarization plane (para [0144] lines 5-10); and a spectroscope configured to disperse the light from the rotatable analyzer (these are elements 115 to 118 in fig. 1), wherein the spectroscope comprises: a plane detector optically connected to the spectral dispersion device and configured to continuously detect the dispersed light from the spectral dispersion device (fig. 1 element 117), wherein the plane detector comprises a plurality of detectors arranged in a first direction and a second direction (these are “AOI” and “ʎ” in fig. 1), and a spectroscope (these are elements 115 to 118 in fig. 1) configured to disperse the light from the polarization analysis assembly (fig. 1 element 117, para [0134]), wherein the spectroscope comprises: a line slit assembly comprising a slit extending linearly and configured to extract a portion of the light from the lens (fig.1 aperture 115, para [0134]); a spectral dispersion device configured to disperse the light from the line slit assembly (fig. 1 element 117, para [0134]); “a plane detector optically connected to the spectral dispersion device and configured to continuously detect the dispersed light that is dispersed by the spectral dispersion device” (fig. 1 element 118, para [0063] lines 13-17), wherein the plane detector comprises a plurality of detectors arranged in a first direction and a second direction (these are “AOI” and “ʎ” in fig. 1).
Fu does not teach a first collimating lens configured to concentrate the light from the rotatable analyzer to form an image; a second collimating lens that is spaced apart from the first collimating lens and configured to parallel propagate the light from the first collimating lens; a line slit assembly between the first collimating lens and the second collimating lens and comprising a slit extending linearly; a spectral dispersion device optically connected to the second collimating lens and configured to disperse the light from the second collimating lens; wherein, along the first direction toward an end of the plane detector, a wavelength of light detected by the plurality of detectors increases.
Aspnes, from the same field of endeavor as Fu, teaches a first collimating lens configured to concentrate the light from the rotatable analyzer to form an image (fig. 7 element 90).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to apply the teaching of Aspnes to Fu to have a first collimating lens configured to concentrate the light from the rotatable analyzer to form an image in order to focus the light to the aperture or slit of the spectroscopic assembly (this is shown in fig. 7).
Fu, when modified by Aspnes, does not teach a second collimating lens that is spaced apart from the first collimating lens and configured to parallel propagate the light from the first collimating lens; a line slit assembly between the first collimating lens and the second collimating lens and comprising a slit extending linearly; a spectral dispersion device optically connected to the second collimating lens and configured to disperse the light from the second collimating lens; wherein, along the first direction toward an end of the plane detector, a wavelength of light detected by the plurality of detectors increases.
Vohra, from the same field of endeavor as Fu, teaches a second collimating lens (fig. 5 lens 42) that is spaced apart from the first collimating lens and configured to parallel propagate the light from the first collimating lens (first lens is 40); a line slit assembly between the first collimating lens and the second collimating lens and comprising a slit extending linearly (fig. 5 the slit is 66); a spectral dispersion device optically connected to the second collimating lens and configured to disperse the light from the second collimating lens (fig. 5 diffraction grating 64).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to apply the teaching of Vohra to Fu, when modified by Aspnes, to have a second collimating lens that is spaced apart from the first collimating lens and configured to parallel propagate the light from the first collimating lens; a line slit assembly between the first collimating lens and the second collimating lens and comprising a slit extending linearly; a spectral dispersion device optically connected to the second collimating lens and configured to disperse the light from the second collimating lens in order to determine a spectral component of the spectroscopy signal corresponding to one or more component(s) of the sample (col 11 lines 62-64).
Fu, when modified by Aspnes and Vohra, does not teach wherein, along the first direction toward an end of the plane detector, a wavelength of light detected by the plurality of detectors increases.
Sandusky, from the same field of endeavor as Fu, teaches “wherein, along the first direction toward an end of the plane detector, a wavelength of light detected by the plurality of detectors increases” (fig. 1 element 40, para [0018]; increasing NA increases the wavelength of light detected by the plurality of detectors; replacing element 40 of Sandusky to element of 115 of Fu).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to apply the teaching of Sandusky to Fu, when modified by Aspnes, to have “wherein, along the first direction toward an end of the plane detector, a wavelength of light detected by the plurality of detectors increase” in order to obtain a variety of reflected angles from the sample (para [0032]).
Regarding claim 11, Fu does not teach the spectroscopic ellipsometer of claim 10, wherein the line slit assembly comprises a slit controller configured to control a resolution of the light from the first collimating lens by adjusting a width of the slit.
Vohra, from the same field of endeavor as Fu, teaches the spectroscopic ellipsometer of claim 10, wherein the line slit assembly comprises a slit controller configured to control a resolution of the light from the first collimating lens by adjusting a width of the slit (fig. 5 element 68 moves slit 66, col 12 lines 15-20).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to apply the teaching of Vohra to Fu, when modified by Aspnes, to have the spectroscopic ellipsometer of claim 10, wherein the line slit assembly comprises a slit controller configured to control a resolution of the light from the first collimating lens by adjusting a width of the slit in order to determine a spectral component of the spectroscopy signal corresponding to one or more component(s) of the sample (col 11 lines 62-64).
Regarding claim 12, Fu does not teach the spectroscopic ellipsometer of claim 10, wherein the spectroscope further comprises a plane driver configured to adjust a distance between the plane detector and the spectral dispersion device.
Vohra, from the same field of endeavor as Fu, teaches the spectroscopic ellipsometer of claim 10, wherein the spectroscope further comprises a plane driver configured to adjust a distance between the plane detector and the spectral dispersion device (fig. 6 col 13 lines 38-40).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to apply the teaching of Vohra to Fu to have the spectroscopic ellipsometer of claim 10, wherein the spectroscope further comprises a plane driver configured to adjust a distance between the plane detector and the spectral dispersion device in order to shift the spectroscopy signal relative to the optical sensor (col 13 lines 63-67).
Regarding claim 13, Fu does not teach the spectroscopic ellipsometer of claim 12, wherein the spectroscope further comprises a third lens between the spectral dispersion device and the plane detector, the third lens configured to pass the light from the spectral dispersion device to toward the plane detector, and wherein the plane driver is further configured to adjust a distance between the third lens and the plane detector.
Vohra, from the same field of endeavor as Fu, teaches the spectroscopic ellipsometer of claim 12, wherein the spectroscope further comprises a third lens between the spectral dispersion device and the plane detector (fig. 6 lens 50), the third lens configured to pass the light from the spectral dispersion device to toward the plane detector (this is shown in fig. 6), and wherein the plane driver is further configured to adjust a distance between the third lens and the plane detector (fig. 6 element 86).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to apply the teaching of Vohra to Fu to have the spectroscopic ellipsometer of claim 12, wherein the spectroscope further comprises a third lens between the spectral dispersion device and the plane detector, the third lens configured to pass the light from the spectral dispersion device to toward the plane detector, and wherein the plane driver is further configured to adjust a distance between the third lens and the plane detector in order for the detector to detect a plurality of discrete shifted spectroscopy signals (Abstract lines 6-9).
Claim(s) 14, 15, 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fu in view of Aspnes, Vohra, and Sandusky, as applied to claim(s) 10 above, and in view of Aspnes, D. et al., US 5798837 A (hereinafter Opsal).
Regarding claim 14, the modified apparatus of Fu does not teach the spectroscopic ellipsometer of claim 10, further comprising a first compensator between the polarizer and the substrate support, the first compensator configured to convert a linear polarization into a circular polarization or an elliptical polarization.
Opsal, from the same field of endeavor as Fu, teaches the spectroscopic ellipsometer of claim 10, further comprising a first compensator between the polarizer and the substrate support (fig. 4 first compensator 98 is between elements 92 and 4, at the side of the light source), the first compensator configured to convert a linear polarization into a circular polarization or an elliptical polarization (col 7 lines 41-58; also Aspnes teaches this limitation, col 10 lines 63-65).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to apply the teaching of Opsal to the modified apparatus of Fu, to have the spectroscopic ellipsometer of claim 10, further comprising a first compensator between the polarizer and the substrate support, the first compensator configured to convert a linear polarization into a circular polarization or an elliptical polarization in order to change the polarization state of the beam (col 7 lines 41-58).
Regarding claim 15, the modified apparatus of Fu does not teach the spectroscopic ellipsometer of claim 14, further comprising a second compensator between the substrate support and the rotatable analyzer, wherein the second compensator is configured to change a phase of the light from the polarizer.
Opsal, from the same field of endeavor as Fu, teaches the spectroscopic ellipsometer of claim 14, further comprising a second compensator between the substrate support and the rotatable analyzer (fig. 4 element 98, opposite to the light source 90), wherein the second compensator is configured to change a phase of the light from the polarizer (col 7 lines 41-58).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to apply the teaching of Opsal to the modified apparatus of Fu to have the spectroscopic ellipsometer of claim 14, further comprising a second compensator between the substrate support and the rotatable analyzer, wherein the second compensator is configured to change a phase of the light from the polarizer in order to change the polarization state of the beam (col 7 lines 41-58).
Regarding claim 16, the modified apparatus of Fu does not teach the spectroscopic ellipsometer of claim 15, further comprising: a polarization rotator configured to rotate the second compensator; and a central processing unit connected to the plane detector, wherein the central processing unit is configured to determine a structural parameter of the substrate based on data obtained from the plane detector.
Aspnes, from the same field of endeavor as Fu, teaches the spectroscopic ellipsometer of claim 15, further comprising: a polarization rotator configured to rotate the second compensator (fig. 6 motor 9); and a central processing unit connected to the plane detector, wherein the central processing unit is configured to determine a structural parameter of the substrate based on data obtained from the plane detector (processing unit is the processor in fig. 6).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to apply the teaching of Aspnes to the modified apparatus of Fu to have the spectroscopic ellipsometer of claim 15, further comprising: a polarization rotator configured to rotate the second compensator; and a central processing unit connected to the plane detector, wherein the central processing unit is configured to determine a structural parameter of the substrate based on data obtained from the plane detector in order to analyze the sample with good accuracy (col 3 last para).
Claim(s) 17, 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fu in view of Faris, G. et al., US 20190204577 A1 (hereinafter Faris), and further in view of EP 1640706 A1 (hereinafter Leroux).
Regarding claim 17, Fu teaches a substrate analysis method, comprising: providing a substrate on a spectroscopic ellipsometer (fig. 1 element 112, para [0237] and para [0238]; a substrate has a support system, see evidentiary reference US7777878B2 fig. 4 “STG”); and analyzing the substrate (fig. 1 light from element 112 goes to detector 118), wherein the spectroscopic ellipsometer comprises: a light source configured to emit light (fig. 1 elements 101, 119, para [0123]); a polarizer configured to polarize the light emitted from the light source (fig. 1 element 105, para [0144]); a substrate support configured to support the substrate (fig. 1 element 112, para [0237] and para [0238]; a substrate has a support system, see evidentiary reference US7777878B2 fig. 4 “STG”); a rotatable polarization analysis assembly configured to determine information about polarization of the light from the substrate support (para [0144] lines 5-10); and a spectroscope configured to disperse the light from the rotatable polarization analysis assembly (fig. 1 element 117, para [0134]), wherein the spectroscope comprises: a line slit assembly comprising a slit extending linearly (fig.1 aperture 115, para [0134]); a spectral dispersion device configured to disperse the light from the line slit assembly (fig. 1 element 117, para [0134]); and a plane detector optically connected to the spectral dispersion device (fig. 1 detector 118), wherein the rotatable polarization analysis assembly comprises an analyzer configured to determine the information about the polarization of the light from the substrate support (para [0144] lines 5-10)
Fu does not teach wherein the slit comprises a first slit region and a second slit region, wherein the substrate comprises: a first substrate region corresponding to the first slit region; and a second substrate region corresponding to the second slit region, and wherein the analyzing the substrate comprises: rotating the rotatable polarization analysis assembly; measuring a continuous variation in intensity in accordance with a wavelength of the light caused by rotation of the rotatable polarization analysis assembly; measuring a first Fourier coefficient of the first slit region and a second Fourier coefficient of the second slit region; determining a first elliptical polarization coefficient of the first slit region based on the first Fourier coefficient and a second elliptical polarization coefficient of the second slit region based on the second Fourier coefficient, and obtaining structural parameters of the first substrate region and the second substrate region based on the first elliptical polarization coefficient and the second elliptical polarization coefficient, respectively.
Faris, from the same field of endeavor as Fu, teaches wherein the slit comprises a first slit region and a second slit region (this is shown in fig. 16A, para [0283] lines 1-10), wherein the substrate comprises: a first substrate region corresponding to the first slit region (para [0283] last sentence); and a second substrate region corresponding to the second slit region (para [0283] last sentence), and “measuring a first Fourier coefficient of the first slit region and a second Fourier coefficient of the second slit region; and obtaining structural parameters of the first substrate region and the second substrate region based on the first Fourier coefficient and the first Fourier coefficient” (para [0072] last sentence, the coefficients are related to the fourier transform).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to apply the teaching of Faris to Fu to have wherein the slit comprises a first slit region and a second slit region, wherein the substrate comprises: a first substrate region corresponding to the first slit region; and a second substrate region corresponding to the second slit region, and measuring a first Fourier coefficient of the first slit region and a second Fourier coefficient of the second slit region; and obtaining structural parameters of the first substrate region and the second substrate region based on the first Fourier coefficient and the first Fourier coefficient in order to prevent overlapping of the spectra (para [0283] lines 8-10).
Fu, when modified by Faris, fails to teach determining a first elliptical polarization coefficient of the first slit region based on the first Fourier coefficient and a second elliptical polarization coefficient of the second slit region based on the second Fourier coefficient, and obtaining structural parameters of the first substrate region and the second substrate region based on the first elliptical polarization coefficient and the second elliptical polarization coefficient, respectively.
Leroux, from the same field of endeavor as Fu, teaches “determining a first elliptical polarization coefficient of the first slit region based on the first Fourier coefficient and obtaining structural parameters of the first substrate region based on the first elliptical polarization coefficient” (this limitation is equated to p. 15 para [0055] lines 1-4 in the specification of the instant application; Leroux teaches this on para [0012] and para [0013] lines 8-17).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to apply the teaching of Leroux to Fu, when modified by Faris, to have “determining a first elliptical polarization coefficient of the first slit region based on the first Fourier coefficient and obtaining structural parameters of the first substrate region based on the first elliptical polarization coefficient” in order to analyze complex multilayer structures of the sample (para [0013] last sentence).
Fu, when modified by Faris and Leroux, does not teach determining a second elliptical polarization coefficient of the second slit region based on the second Fourier coefficient, and obtaining structural parameters of the second elliptical polarization coefficient, respectively.
It would be obvious to try to apply the teaching of Leroux to Fu, when modified by Faris to have “determining a second elliptical polarization coefficient of the second slit region based on the second Fourier coefficient, and obtaining structural parameters of the second elliptical polarization coefficient, respectively” in order to analyze the light passing through the second slit and obtain the complex multilayer structures of the sample (para [0013] last sentence).
Regarding claim 18, Fu teaches the substrate analysis method of claim 17, wherein the rotatable polarization analysis assembly comprises a compensator configured to change a phase of the light from the substrate support (fig. 1 element 113, para [0146] lines 1-4), and wherein the rotating the rotatable polarization analysis assembly comprises rotating at least one of the compensator and the analyzer (para [0144] lines 5-10).
Claim(s) 19, 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fu in view of Faris and Leroux, as applied to claim(s) 17 above, and in view of Vohra.
Regarding claim 19, the modified apparatus of Fu does not teach the substrate analysis method of claim 17, wherein the spectroscopic ellipsometer further comprises a plane driver configured to drive the plane detector to move, and wherein the analyzing the substrate comprises adjusting, by the plane driver, a distance between the plane detector and the substrate support.
Vohra, from the same field of endeavor as Fu, teaches “the substrate analysis method of claim 17, wherein the spectroscopic ellipsometer further comprises a plane driver configured to drive the plane detector to move, and wherein the analyzing the substrate comprises adjusting, by the plane driver, a distance between the plane detector and the substrate support” (fig. 6 shows detector 86 is moved by element 90).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to apply the teaching of Vohra to the modified apparatus of Fu to have the substrate analysis method of claim 17, wherein the spectroscopic ellipsometer further comprises a plane driver configured to drive the plane detector to move, and wherein the analyzing the substrate comprises adjusting, by the plane driver, a distance between the plane detector and the substrate support in order for the detector to detect a plurality of discrete shifted spectroscopy signals (Abstract lines 6-9).
Regarding claim 20, the modified apparatus of Fu does not teach the substrate analysis method of claim 17, wherein the line slit assembly comprises a slit controller configured to adjust a width of the slit, and wherein the analyzing the substrate comprises adjusting, by the slit controller, the width of the slit.
Vohra, from the same field of endeavor as Fu, teaches “the substrate analysis method of claim 17, wherein the line slit assembly comprises a slit controller configured to adjust a width of the slit, and wherein the analyzing the substrate comprises adjusting, by the slit controller, the width of the slit” (fig. 5 element 68 moves slit 66, col 12 lines 15-20).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to apply the teaching of Vohra to the modified apparatus of Fu, teaches “the substrate analysis method of claim 17, wherein the line slit assembly comprises a slit controller configured to adjust a width of the slit, and wherein the analyzing the substrate comprises adjusting, by the slit controller, the width of the slit” in order to determine a spectral component of the spectroscopy signal corresponding to one or more component(s) of the sample (col 11 lines 62-64).
Claim(s) 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fu, Aspnes and Sandusky, as applied to claim(s) 1 above, and in view of Faris and Leroux.
Regarding claim 21, Fu teaches the spectroscopic ellipsometer of claim 1, further comprising a central processing unit connected to the plane detector (fig. 1 element 130, para [0062] last sentence).
The modified device of Fu does not teach wherein the slit comprises a first slit region and a second slit region, wherein the substrate comprises a first substrate region corresponding to the first slit region and a second substrate region corresponding to the second slit region, and wherein the central processing unit is configured to: measure a first Fourier coefficient of the first slit region and a second Fourier coefficient of the second slit region, determine a first elliptical polarization coefficient of the first slit region based on the first Fourier coefficient and a second elliptical polarization coefficient of the second slit region based on the second Fourier coefficient, and obtain structural parameters of the first substrate region and the second substrate region based on the first elliptical polarization coefficient and the second elliptical polarization coefficient, respectively.
Faris, from the same field of endeavor as Fu, teaches wherein the slit comprises a first slit region and a second slit region (this is shown in fig. 16A, para [0283] lines 1-10), wherein the substrate comprises a first substrate region corresponding to the first slit region and a second substrate region corresponding to the second slit region (para [0283] last sentence), wherein the central processing unit is configured to: measure a first Fourier coefficient of the first slit region and a second Fourier coefficient of the second slit region (para [0072] last sentence, the coefficients are related to the fourier transform).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to apply the teaching of Faris to Fu to have wherein the slit comprises a first slit region and a second slit region, wherein the substrate comprises a first substrate region corresponding to the first slit region and a second substrate region corresponding to the second slit region, and wherein the central processing unit is configured to: measure a first Fourier coefficient of the first slit region and a second Fourier coefficient of the second slit region in order to prevent overlapping of the spectra (para [0283] lines 8-10).
Fu, when modified by Faris, fails to teach determine a first elliptical polarization coefficient of the first slit region based on the first Fourier coefficient and a second elliptical polarization coefficient of the second slit region based on the second Fourier coefficient, and obtain structural parameters of the first substrate region and the second substrate region based on the first elliptical polarization coefficient and the second elliptical polarization coefficient, respectively.
Leroux, from the same field of endeavor as Fu, teaches “determine a first elliptical polarization coefficient of the first slit region based on the first Fourier coefficient and obtain structural parameters of the first substrate region and the second substrate region based on the first elliptical polarization coefficient” (this limitation is equated to p. 15 para [0055] lines 1-4 in the specification of the instant application; Leroux teaches this on para [0012] and para [0013] lines 8-17).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to apply the teaching of Leroux to Fu, when modified by Faris, to have “determine a first elliptical polarization coefficient of the first slit region based on the first Fourier coefficient and obtain structural parameters of the first substrate region and the second substrate region based on the first elliptical polarization coefficient” in order to analyze complex multilayer structures of the sample (para [0013] last sentence).
Fu, when modified by Faris and Leroux, does not teach a second elliptical polarization coefficient of the second slit region based on the second Fourier coefficient, and obtain structural parameters of the second substrate region based on the second elliptical polarization coefficient, respectively.
It would be obvious to try to apply the teaching of Leroux to Fu, when modified by Faris to have “a second elliptical polarization coefficient of the second slit region based on the second Fourier coefficient, and obtain structural parameters of the second substrate region based on the second elliptical polarization coefficient, respectively” in order to analyze the light passing through the second slit and obtain the complex multilayer structures of the sample (para [0013] last sentence).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ROBERTO FABIAN JR/Examiner, Art Unit 2877
/Kara E. Geisel/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2877