DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 1-18 is/are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-19 of U.S. Patent No. 12065340. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims under examination are anticipated, respectively, by the claims of the reference patent. Every limitation in the application under examination claims is recited in the conflicting reference patent claims, and the differences between the claims being that the claims under examination are broader than the conflicting reference patent claims. Specifically, the pulley recited in the claims of the conflicting reference patent.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 14-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Schafer US 3373844.
Schafer discloses a lift device comprising: a base (10); a platform (24) that is capable of being repositionable relative to the base between a fully lowered position and a fully raised position; and a scissor assembly coupling the base to the platform, the scissor assembly including: a plurality of scissor layers including a first scissor layer, the first scissor layer including a first arm (15) pivotally coupled to a second arm (16), wherein the first scissor arm is configured to rotate relative to the second scissor arm about a first middle axis (17) that extends laterally; a first pulley (27 or 42) coupled to the first arm and aligned with the middle axis; a second pulley (28, 29, 30, 31, 32) coupled to the scissor assembly; a tensile member (26) contacting the first pulley (27, 42) and the second pulley (28, 29, 30, 31, 32) in both the fully lowered position and the fully raised position; and a motor (35) configured to reduce a working length of the tensile member such that the first pulley (27, 42) moves longitudinally relative to the second pulley (28, 29, 30 31, 32) and the platform (24) moves toward the fully raised position.
As for claim 15, Schafer discloses in Fig. 1 wherein the plurality of scissor layers further includes a second scissor layer coupling the first scissor layer to the base.
As for claim 16, Schafer discloses a drum (25) coupling the tensile member to the motor, wherein the motor (35) is configured to rotate the drum (25) to reduce the working length of the tensile member (26, col. 2, lines 60-72 and col. 3, lines 1-6).
As for claim 17, Schafer discloses a third pulley and a fourth pulley (28, 29, 30, 31, 32) coupled to the plurality of scissor layers, wherein the tensile member (26) surrounds the third pulley and the fourth pulley.
As for claim 18, Schaffer discloses a lift device comprising: a base (10); a platform (24) that is capable of being repositionable relative to the base between a fully lowered position and a fully raised position; and a scissor assembly coupling the base to the platform, the scissor assembly including: a plurality of scissor layers including a first scissor layer, the first scissor layer including a first arm (15) pivotally coupled to a second arm (16); a first pulley (27 or 42) coupled to the first arm; a second pulley (28, 29, 30, 31, 32) coupled to the second arm (16); a tensile member (26) surrounding the first pulley (27, 42) and the second pulley (28, 29, 30, 31, 32) such that (a) a first section of the tensile member (26) extends between and engages the first pulley (27, 42) and the second pulley (28, 29, 30, 31, 32) and (b) a second section of the tensile member (26) extends between and engages the first pulley and the second pulley; and a motor (35) configured to apply a tensile force onto the tensile member to move the platform toward the fully raised position.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 19-20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/TYRONE V HALL JR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3723