DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claim 21 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 12095139 in view of US 20200374980 (“Zimmerman” or “Z”).
Claim 1 of ‘139 teaches a system (line 1 of claim 1 as filed on 5/10/2024) comprising: an integrated roofing accessory (line 2) installed on a roof of a home (line 3), the integrated roofing accessory comprising: a roofing accessory (lines 4-11), at least one transceiver integrated into the roofing accessory for exchanging data with at least one backhaul network via electromagnetic communication signals according to at least one electromagnetic communication protocol (13-18), and at least one antenna integrated into the roofing accessory (lines 15-18), the at least one antenna being configured to emit, receive or emit and receive the electromagnetic communication signals with the at least one backhaul network (lines 15-18).
However, claim 1 fails to teach a customer access radio in communication with the at least one transceiver; wherein the customer access radio is configured to exchange the data with at least one client device using the electromagnetic communication signals according to the at least one electromagnetic communication protocol.
Nevertheless, Z teaches components 300 comprise wireless transceiver module 356 to enable communication of Z’s small cell device with a user client to allow the user’s client to communicate with the internet (0057-0084).
Thus, it would have been obvious to modify the device of claim 1 to provide a customer access radio in communication with the at least one transceiver; wherein the customer access radio is configured to exchange the data with at least one client device using the electromagnetic communication signals according to the at least one electromagnetic communication protocol.
The motive would have been to allow a user’s client to access the internet, or other services.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 21, 23, 24, 31, 33-34, 38-40 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20200374980 (“Zimmerman” or “Z”).
21: Z teaches a system comprising: an integrated roofing accessory (402G) installed on a roof of a home (402G is installed on the roof of an apartment home), the integrated roofing accessory comprising: a roofing accessory (402G is a roofing accessory since it is installed on a roof), at least one transceiver (356, 346 of fig 3A) integrated into the roofing accessory for exchanging data with at least one backhaul network via electromagnetic communication signals according to at least one electromagnetic communication protocol (as shown in fig 1), and at least one antenna (352A, B, C, N) integrated into the roofing accessory (as shown, the at least one antenna being configured to emit, receive or emit and receive the electromagnetic communication signals with the at least one backhaul network (as shown in fig 1); and a customer access radio in communication with the at least one transceiver (as shown in fig 1, 116 communicates with 402G); wherein the customer access radio is configured to exchange the data with at least one client device using the electromagnetic communication signals according to the at least one electromagnetic communication protocol (0057-0084).
31: Z teaches a method comprising: obtaining an integrated roofing accessory comprising: a roofing accessory, at least one transceiver integrated into the roofing accessory for exchanging data with at least one backhaul network via electromagnetic communication signals according to at least one electromagnetic communication protocol, and at least one antenna integrated into the roofing accessory, the at least one antenna being configured to emit, receive or emit and receive the electromagnetic communication signals with the at least one backhaul network; installing the integrated roofing accessory on a roof of a home; obtaining a customer access radio; wherein the customer access radio is configured to exchange the data with at least one client device using the electromagnetic communication signals according to the at least one electromagnetic communication protocol; and installing the customer access radio on a portion of the home and in communication with the at least one transceiver (the method inherent in the device of claim 21, as described above).
23, 33: Z teaches that the at least one transceiver-comprises a software-defined radio module (as shown in fig 3A).
24, 34: Z teaches that the integrated roofing accessory further comprises: a compartment (that of fig 3B), holding: the at least one transceiver (as shown in 3A, the at least one antenna (as shown in 3A); wherein a portion of the compartment comprises a roofing material (it’s shown on a roof of the apartment home); and a frame connected to the compartment and to the roof (the body of the device of fig 3B can be considered a frame connecting it to the roof).
28, 38: Z teaches that the customer access radio is further configured to cause, when executed, the electromagnetic communication network to communicate with at least one customer access radio enabled computing device (as shown in fig 1).
29, 39: Z teaches that the customer access radio enabled device comprises a WiFi communication module (as shown in fig 3A).
30, 40: Z teaches that the integrated roofing accessory comprises a data storage device (342) and a compute device (340); wherein the customer access radio is configured to cause, when executed, the integrated roofing accessory to form a distributed datacenter across the electromagnetic communication network (as shown in fig 1).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 22, 25-27, 32, 35, 36, 37 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/GRAHAM P SMITH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2845