DETAILED ACTION
first inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the
statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art
relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen et al. (US 6872281) in view of Koshimizu et al. (US 20100304572), Forster et al. (US 20100012029), Koshimizu et al. (JP 2020061546A), which utilizes US 20230162946 as the official English translation, and Rasheed et al. (US 20110209995), with Dhindsa et al. (US 20110011534), Sadjadi et al. (US 20130288483), Shim et al. (US 20190304754), Patrick (US 20090061542), and Aramaki et al. (US 20190122864) as evidentiary references.
Regarding Claim 1:
Chen teaches a system for monitoring a substrate processing apparatus, the system comprising: a substrate processing apparatus comprising an electrostatic chuck (bottom electrode 20 which may serve as a chuck), and an edge ring (edge ring 27) disposed between opposite sides of the electrostatic chuck and surrounding the electrostatic chuck; a bias power supply apparatus (RF power supply 28) electrically connected to the electrostatic chuck and configured to apply a high-frequency RF power signal and a low-frequency RF power signal to the electrostatic chuck (RF power supply 28 comprises power supplies 28A and 28B; the power supplies 28A and 28B can be directed to supply a higher and a lower frequency, respectively); a matching circuit (matching network 30) disposed between the substrate processing apparatus and the bias power supply apparatus (as evidenced by Fig. 1, the matching network 30 is between the power supply 28 and the electrode 20) [Fig. 1 & Col. 5 lines 32-60].
Chen does not specifically disclose a high-frequency filter electrically connected to the edge ring and configured to filter a high-frequency RF signal among signals flowing from the edge ring.
Koshimizu ‘572 teaches a high-frequency filter (low pass filter 232) electrically connected to the edge ring (outer ring 224) and configured to filter a high-frequency RF signal among signals flowing from the edge ring (LPF 232 is configured to filter high frequencies introduced from susceptor 105) [Fig. 1, 7 & 0070, 0097].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the edge ring of Chen to utilize the DC power and filter arrangement of the edge ring of Koshimizu '572 in order to provide more uniform processing [Koshimizu '572 - 0011, 0076, 0095]. Dhindsa et al. (US 20110011534) also discloses that DC power application to an edge ring may be beneficial so as to provide further control over ion incidence [Dhindsa - 0014, 0024-0025]. Sadjadi et al. (US 20130288483) also discloses that filter circuits are beneficial to protect power sources from RF power [Sadjadi - 0034].
Modified Chen does not specifically disclose a low-frequency filter electrically connected to the high-frequency filter and configured to filter a low-frequency RF signal among signals flowing from the high-frequency filter.
Forster teaches a low-frequency filter electrically connected to the high-frequency filter (there can be a plurality of notch filters 156-m) and configured to filter a low-frequency RF signal among signals flowing from the high-frequency filter (the notch filters 156-m of Forster comprise variable capacitors, and as such, can be controlled to block any desired frequency) [Forster - 0033].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the edge ring of Modified Chen to include a plurality of filters, as in Forster, to provide further control over frequency filtering, thereby improving uniformity [Forster - 0026, 0031, 0033]. Shim et al. (US 20190304754) also discloses that utilizing an additional variable filter circuit would be beneficial so as to better cope with any changes in frequency [Shim - 0118].
Modified Chen (Chen modified by Koshimizu ‘572 and Forster) does not specifically disclose a monitoring apparatus configured to measure a low-frequency RF voltage value at a first point between the electrostatic chuck and the matching circuit.
Koshimizu ‘546 teaches a monitoring apparatus (controller 200) configured to measure a low-frequency RF voltage value at a first point between the electrostatic chuck and the matching circuit (there is a sensor between the matching circuits 46/48 and the stage 16; the sensor can measure various properties such as a voltage or current of HF, a voltage or current of LF, a phase signal of HF, and a phase signal of LF) [Fig. 3B & 0079].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to position a voltage sensor with the power sources of Modified Chen, as in Koshimizu '546, to provide feedback for power applied, thereby improving control over power, allowing for more precise etching results [Koshimizu '546 - 0059, 0079, 0085, 0103, 0176].
Modified Chen (Chen modified by Koshimizu ‘572, Forster, and Koshimizu ‘546) does not specifically disclose wherein the monitoring apparatus is configured to measure a low-frequency RF voltage value at a second point between the high-frequency filter and the low-frequency filter.
Rasheed teaches wherein the monitoring apparatus is configured to measure a low-frequency RF voltage value at a second point between the high-frequency filter and the low-frequency filter (sensor 18 may be placed at points 27 or 14 and the variable capacitor 10 may be used as a variable capacitor in the notch filter array 172 or the pass filter array. As such, the sensor 18 may be placed between two filter circuits. It is also noted that the inductor/capacitor circuit in Fig. 12 can be interpreted as a filter circuit) [Fig. 12 & 0088-0091].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to position the voltage sensor between the filters of Modified Chen, as in Rasheed, to provide more information and control for variable capacitors, thereby improving uniformity [Rasheed - 0008, 0052, 0094, 0109]. It is also noted that Rasheed discloses that a capacitor and inductor in series can function as a filter [Rasheed - Fig. 4 & 0060].
It is noted that, although cited by the prior art, the limitations “and configured to apply a high-frequency RF power signal and a low-frequency RF power signal to the electrostatic chuck; and configured to match an impedance of the substrate processing apparatus and an impedance of the bias power supply apparatus; and configured to filter a high-frequency RF signal among signals flowing from the edge ring; and configured to filter a low-frequency RF signal among signals flowing from the high-frequency filter; configured to measure a low-frequency RF voltage value at a first point between the electrostatic chuck and the matching circuit and a low-frequency RF voltage value at a second point between the high-frequency filter and the low-frequency filter,” are merely intended use and are given weight to the extent that the prior art is capable of performing the intended use. A claim containing a “recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus” if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim. Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1987).
The limitations “to monitor the edge ring based on the low-frequency RF voltage value at the first point and the low-frequency RF voltage value at the second point,” are also intended use. It is noted that if a voltage sensor (such as the one in Rasheed) was placed in between the high and low frequency filters of Modified Chen (which would be connected to an edge ring) then the voltage measured can be used to sense edge ring wear. Patrick (US 20090061542) and Aramaki et al. (US 20190122864) also disclose that a voltage sensor for an edge ring to determine edge ring wear [Patrick - 0017; Aramaki - 0059].
Regarding Claim 2:
Chen teaches wherein the bias power supply apparatus comprises: a high-frequency power generating device (first RF power supply 28A) configured to generate the high-frequency RF power signal; and a low-frequency power generating device (second RF power supply 28A)
configured to generate the low-frequency RF power signal (RF power supply 28 comprises power supplies 28A and 28B; the power supplies 28A and 28B can be directed to supply a higher and a lower frequency, respectively) [Fig. 1 & Col. 5 lines 32-60].
It is noted that, although cited by the prior art, the limitations “configured to generate the high-frequency RF power signal; configured to generate the low-frequency RF power signal.,” are merely intended use and are given weight to the extent that the prior art is capable of performing the intended use. A claim containing a “recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus” if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim. Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1987).
Regarding Claim 3:
The limitations of claim 3 are merely intended use and are given weight to the extent that the prior art is capable of performing the intended use. A claim containing a “recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus” if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim. Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1987). RF power supplies 28A and 28B of Chen can be configured to deliver high and low frequency power signals, and as such, would be capable of delivering the same frequencies to the edge ring [Chen - Fig. 1 & Col. 5 lines 32-60].
Regarding Claim 3:
The limitations of claim 3 are merely intended use and are given weight to the extent that the prior art is capable of performing the intended use. A claim containing a “recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus” if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim. Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1987). It is noted that the notch filters 156-m of Forster comprise variable capacitors, and as such, can be controlled to block any desired frequency [Forster - 0033]. It's further noted that the LPF 232 of Koshimizu '572 is directed to block high frequencies coming from the susceptor [Chen - 0097].
Regarding Claim 4:
Modified Chen (Chen modified by Koshimizu ‘572 and Forster) does not specifically disclose a first voltage measurement sensor disposed at the first point, and configured to measure the low-frequency RF voltage value at the first point and to transmit the low-frequency RF voltage value at the first point to the monitoring apparatus.
Koshimizu ‘546 teaches a first voltage measurement sensor disposed at the first point, and configured to measure the low-frequency RF voltage value at the first point and to transmit the low-frequency RF voltage value at the first point to the monitoring apparatus (there is a sensor between the matching circuits 46/48 and the stage 16; the sensor can measure various properties such as a voltage or current of HF, a voltage or current of LF, a phase signal of HF, and a phase signal of LF) [Fig. 3B & 0079].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to position a voltage sensor with the power sources of Modified Chen, as in Koshimizu '546, to provide feedback for power applied, thereby improving control over power, allowing for more precise etching results [Koshimizu '546 - 0059, 0079, 0085, 0103, 0176].
Modified Chen (Chen modified by Koshimizu ‘572, Forster, and Koshimizu ‘546) does not specifically disclose and a second voltage measurement sensor disposed at the second point, and configured to measure the low-frequency RF voltage value at the second point and to transmit the low-frequency RF voltage value at the second point to the monitoring apparatus. Rasheed teaches and a second voltage measurement sensor (sensor 18) disposed at the second point (sensor 18 may be placed at points 27 or 14), and configured to measure the low-frequency RF voltage value at the second point and to transmit the low-frequency RF voltage value at the second point to the monitoring apparatus (the sensor 18 can be placed at points 27 or 14 to measure voltage; the sensor 18 sends the measured values to the processor 24) [Fig. 12 & 0088-0092].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to position the voltage sensor between the filters of Modified Chen, as in Rasheed, to provide more information and control for variable capacitors, thereby improving uniformity [Rasheed - 0008, 0052, 0094, 0109]. It is also noted that Rasheed discloses that a capacitor and inductor in series can function as a filter [Rasheed - Fig. 4 & 0060].
It is noted that, although cited by the prior art, the limitations “configured to measure the low-frequency RF voltage value at the first point and to transmit the low-frequency RF voltage value at the first point to the monitoring apparatus; and configured to measure the low-frequency RF voltage value at the second point and to transmit the low-frequency RF voltage value at the second point to the monitoring apparatus,” are merely intended use and are given weight to the extent that the prior art is capable of performing the intended use. A claim containing a “recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus” if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim. Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1987).
Regarding Claim 5:
The limitations of claim 5 are merely intended use and are given weight to the extent that the prior art is capable of performing the intended use. A claim containing a “recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus” if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim. Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1987). It is noted that modified Chen would comprise a controller (such as the controller 300 of Koshimizu '572) and voltage sensors at two points (such as the sensor of Koshimizu '546 and the sensor 18 of Rasheed). As such, the controller would be capable of comparing the voltages at the two points.
Regarding Claim 6:
Chen does not specifically disclose a direct current (DC) power supply apparatus electrically connected to the low-frequency filter and configured to apply a DC power signal to the edge ring.
Koshimizu ‘572 teaches a direct current (DC) power supply apparatus (DC power supply 230) electrically connected to the low-frequency filter (LPF 232) and configured to apply a DC power signal to the edge ring (DC power supply 230 supplies a DC power to the ring 220) [Fig. 1, 7 & 0097].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the edge ring of Chen to utilize the DC power and filter arrangement of the edge ring of Koshimizu '572 in order to provide more uniform processing [Koshimizu '572 - 0011, 0076, 0095]. Dhindsa et al. (US 20110011534) also discloses that DC power application to an edge ring may be beneficial so as to provide further control over ion incidence [Dhindsa - 0014, 0024-0025]. Sadjadi et al. (US 20130288483) also discloses that filter circuits are beneficial to protect power sources from RF power [Sadjadi - 0034].
It is noted that, although cited by the prior art, the limitations “configured to apply a DC power signal to the edge ring,” are merely intended use and are given weight to the extent that the prior art is capable of performing the intended use. A claim containing a “recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus” if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim. Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1987).
Claim(s) 7-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen et al. (US 6872281) in view of Koshimizu et al. (US 20100304572), Forster et al. (US 20100012029), Koshimizu et al. (JP 2020061546A), which utilizes US 20230162946 as the official English translation, and Rasheed et al. (US 20110209995), with Dhindsa et al. (US 20110011534), Sadjadi et al. (US 20130288483), Shim et al. (US 20190304754), Patrick (US 20090061542), and Aramaki et al. (US 20190122864) as evidentiary references.
Regarding Claim 7:
Chen teaches a system for monitoring a substrate processing apparatus, the system comprising: a substrate processing apparatus comprising an electrostatic chuck (bottom electrode 20 which may serve as a chuck), and an edge ring (edge ring 27) disposed between opposite sides of the electrostatic chuck and surrounding the electrostatic chuck; a bias power supply apparatus (RF power supply 28) electrically connected to the electrostatic chuck and configured to apply a high-frequency RF power signal and a low-frequency RF power signal to the electrostatic chuck (RF power supply 28 comprises power supplies 28A and 28B; the power supplies 28A and 28B can be directed to supply a higher and a lower frequency, respectively); a matching circuit (matching network 30) disposed between the substrate processing apparatus and the bias power supply apparatus (as evidenced by Fig. 1, the matching network 30 is between the power supply 28 and the electrode 20) [Fig. 1 & Col. 5 lines 32-60].
Chen does not specifically disclose a high-frequency filter electrically connected to the edge ring and configured to filter a high-frequency RF signal among signals flowing from the edge ring; a direct current (DC) power supply apparatus electrically connected to the low-frequency filter; and configured to apply a DC power signal to the edge ring;
Koshimizu ‘572 teaches a high-frequency filter (low pass filter 232) electrically connected to the edge ring (outer ring 224) and configured to filter a high-frequency RF signal among signals flowing from the edge ring (LPF 232 is configured to filter high frequencies introduced from susceptor 105); a direct current (DC) power supply apparatus (DC power supply 230) electrically connected to the low-frequency filter (LPF 232) and configured to apply a DC power signal to the edge ring (DC power supply 230 supplies a DC power to the ring 220) [Fig. 1, 7 & 0070, 0097].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the edge ring of Chen to utilize the DC power and filter arrangement of the edge ring of Koshimizu '572 in order to provide more uniform processing [Koshimizu '572 - 0011, 0076, 0095]. Dhindsa et al. (US 20110011534) also discloses that DC power application to an edge ring may be beneficial so as to provide further control over ion incidence [Dhindsa - 0014, 0024-0025]. Sadjadi et al. (US 20130288483) also discloses that filter circuits are beneficial to protect power sources from RF power [Sadjadi - 0034].
Modified Chen does not specifically disclose a low-frequency filter electrically connected to the high-frequency filter and configured to filter a low-frequency RF signal among signals flowing from the high-frequency filter.
Forster teaches a low-frequency filter electrically connected to the high-frequency filter (there can be a plurality of notch filters 156-m) and configured to filter a low-frequency RF signal among signals flowing from the high-frequency filter (the notch filters 156-m of Forster comprise variable capacitors, and as such, can be controlled to block any desired frequency) [Forster - 0033].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the edge ring of Modified Chen to include a plurality of filters, as in Forster, to provide further control over frequency filtering, thereby improving uniformity [Forster - 0026, 0031, 0033]. Shim et al. (US 20190304754) also discloses that utilizing an additional variable filter circuit would be beneficial so as to better cope with any changes in frequency [Shim - 0118].
Modified Chen (Chen modified by Koshimizu ‘572 and Forster) does not specifically disclose a first voltage measurement sensor connected to a first point between the electrostatic chuck and the matching circuit and configured to measure a low-frequency RF voltage value at the first point; and a monitoring apparatus configured to receive the low-frequency RF voltage value at the first point.
Koshimizu ‘546 teaches a first voltage measurement sensor disposed at the first point,
and configured to measure a low-frequency RF voltage value at the first point (there is a sensor between the matching circuits 46/48 and the stage 16; the sensor can measure various properties such as a voltage or current of HF, a voltage or current of LF, a phase signal of HF, and a phase signal of LF) [Fig. 3B & 0079]; and a monitoring apparatus (controller 200) configured to measure a low-frequency RF voltage value at a first point between the electrostatic chuck and the matching circuit (there is a sensor between the matching circuits 46/48 and the stage 16; the sensor can measure various properties such as a voltage or current of HF, a voltage or current of LF, a phase signal of HF, and a phase signal of LF) [Fig. 3B & 0079].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to position a voltage sensor with the power sources of Modified Chen, as in Koshimizu '546, to provide feedback for power applied, thereby improving control over power, allowing for more precise etching results [Koshimizu '546 - 0059, 0079, 0085, 0103, 0176].
Modified Chen (Chen modified by Koshimizu ‘572, Forster, and Koshimizu ‘546) does not specifically disclose a second voltage measurement sensor connected to a second point between the high-frequency filter and the low-frequency filter and configured to measure a low-frequency RF voltage value at the second point; wherein the monitoring apparatus is configured to receive the low-frequency RF voltage value at the second point from the first voltage measurement sensor and the second voltage measurement sensor,
Rasheed teaches and a second voltage measurement sensor (sensor 18) disposed at the second point (sensor 18 may be placed at points 27 or 14), and configured to measure the low-frequency RF voltage value at the second point and to transmit the low-frequency RF voltage value at the second point to the monitoring apparatus (the sensor 18 can be placed at points 27 or 14 to measure voltage; the sensor 18 sends the measured values to the processor 24) [Fig. 12 & 0088-0092]; wherein the monitoring apparatus is configured to receive the low-frequency RF voltage value at the second point from the first voltage measurement sensor and the second voltage measurement sensor (sensor 18 may be placed at points 27 or 14 and the variable capacitor 10 may be used as a variable capacitor in the notch filter array 172 or the pass filter array. As such, the sensor 18 may be placed between two filter circuits. It is also noted that the inductor/capacitor circuit in Fig. 12 can be interpreted as a filter circuit) [Fig. 12 & 0088-0091].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to position the voltage sensor between the filters of Modified Chen, as in Rasheed, to provide more information and control for variable capacitors, thereby improving uniformity [Rasheed - 0008, 0052, 0094, 0109]. It is also noted that Rasheed discloses that a capacitor and inductor in series can function as a filter [Rasheed - Fig. 4 & 0060].
It is noted that, although cited by the prior art, the limitations “and configured to apply a high-frequency RF power signal and a low-frequency RF power signal to the electrostatic chuck; and configured to match an impedance of the substrate processing apparatus and an impedance of the bias power supply apparatus; and configured to filter a high-frequency RF signal among signals flowing from the edge ring; and configured to filter a low-frequency RF signal among signals flowing from the high-frequency filter; and configured to apply a DC power signal to the edge ring; and configured to measure a low-frequency RF voltage value at the first point, and configured to measure a low-frequency RF voltage value at the second point; configured to receive the low-frequency RF voltage value at the first point; and the low-frequency RF voltage value at the second point from the first voltage measurement sensor and the second voltage measurement sensor,” are merely intended use and are given weight to the extent that the prior art is capable of performing the intended use. A claim containing a “recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus” if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim. Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1987).
The limitations “to acquire a voltage ratio between the low-frequency RF voltage value at the first point and the low-frequency RF voltage value at the second point, and to monitor a state of the edge ring by comparing a threshold with the voltage ratio,” are also intended use. It is noted that if a voltage sensor (such as the one in Rasheed) was placed in between the high and low frequency filters of Modified Chen (which would be connected to an edge ring) then the voltage measured can be used to sense edge ring wear. Patrick (US 20090061542) and Aramaki et al. (US 20190122864) also disclose that a voltage sensor for an edge ring to determine edge ring wear [Patrick - 0017; Aramaki - 0059]. It is further noted that modified Chen would comprise a controller (such as the controller 300 of Koshimizu '572) and voltage sensors at two points (such as the sensor of Koshimizu '546 and the sensor 18 of Rasheed). As such, the controller would be capable of comparing the voltages at the two points.
Regarding Claim 8:
The limitations of claim 8 are merely intended use and are given weight to the extent that the prior art is capable of performing the intended use. A claim containing a “recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus” if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim. Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1987). It is noted that modified Chen would comprise a controller (such as the controller 300 of Koshimizu '572) and voltage sensors at two points (such as the sensor of Koshimizu '546 and the sensor 18 of Rasheed). As such, the controller would be capable of comparing the voltages at the two points.
Regarding Claim 8:
The limitations of claim 9 are merely intended use and are given weight to the extent that the prior art is capable of performing the intended use. A claim containing a “recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus” if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim. Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1987). It is noted that the power supplies 28A and 28B of Chen can be directed to supply any frequency desired [Fig. 1 & Col. 5 lines 32-60].
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s
disclosure. Celestino et al. (US 4579618) and Maeda et al. (US 20010022293) disclose filter circuits [Celestino – Fig. 2; Maeda – Fig. 7].
/J.R./Examiner, Art Unit 1718 /GORDON BALDWIN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1718