DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 3-5, 7-8, and 14-15 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 10, and 12-17 of U.S. Patent No. 12,064,167. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the limitations of the examined claims 1, 3-5, 7-8, and 14-15 would have been obvious over the reference claims 1, 10, and 12-17.
Regarding claim 1, Patent ‘167 claims a method for a catheter apparatus comprising: an elongated shaft having a proximal portion and a distal portion; a carrier carrying at least one therapeutic assembly, wherein the carrier is located at, or proximate to, the distal portion of the elongated shaft, and wherein the at least one therapeutic assembly comprises at least one therapeutic member for intravascular treatment; wherein the carrier is configured to vary between a delivery configuration and a deployed configuration; wherein the distal portion of the shaft is configured for intravascular delivery of the carrier; wherein the carrier comprises m right-handed wire helixes and n left-handed wire helixes that are plainly or bi-axially woven into each other, m?2, and n?2; wherein the carrier comprises at least one interstice that is defined by four wire helix segments from two immediately adjacent right-handed wire helixes and two immediately adjacent left-handed wire helixes that are plainly or bi-axially woven into each other; wherein said at least one therapeutic assembly wraps around at least one of said four wire helix segments to stabilize said at least one interstice, to maintain structural integrity of the carrier, and to prevent tangling of wire helixes, when the carrier is being distorted intravascularly; wherein the therapeutic assembly wraps around only one of said four wire helix segments to stabilize the interstice; wherein the therapeutic assembly includes two terminal bodies and a main body positioned between the two terminal bodies, all of the two terminal bodies and the main body wrapping around said at least one of said four wire helix segments; wherein cross-sectional area of the main body along a plane perpendicular to the elongation direction of a wire segment being wrapped around is larger than cross-sectional areas of the terminal bodies along a plane perpendicular to the elongation direction of the wire segment being wrapped around, which are larger than a cross-sectional area of the wire segment being wrapped around along a plane perpendicular to the elongation direction of the wire segment; and wherein at least one of the two terminal bodies and the main body includes (1) one or more grooves on the main body for accommodating or guiding one or more wire helixes that slide(s) over the wire segment around which the therapeutic assembly wraps, wherein the one or more grooves are not corners formed between one of the two terminal bodies and the main body; and/or (2) one, two or more protrusions, wherein the gap(s) between the protrusion(s) and the wire segment around which the therapeutic assembly wraps, and the gap(s) between said protrusion(s) themselves, is(are) configured for accommodating or guiding one or more wire helixes that slide(s) over the wire segment around which the therapeutic assembly wraps (see reference claims 1, 13-14, and 17).
Regarding claim 3, Patent ‘167 claims wherein the carrier comprises m right-handed wire helixes and n left-handed wire helixes that are plainly or bi-axially woven into a tubular structure, 2≤m≤30, 2≤n≤30, and m=n. (see reference claim 1).
Regarding claim 4, Patent ‘167 claims wherein the carrier carries six therapeutic assemblies, each of which includes an electrode as the at least one therapeutic member, providing six electrodes in total (see reference claim 10).
Regarding claim 5, Patent ‘167 claims wherein the six electrodes are configured to create interrupted spiral but full circumferential lesions on internal wall of a target blood vessel (see reference claim 12).
Regarding claim 7, Patent ‘167 claims herein length of the wire segment being wrapped around is maintained to be equal to, or longer than, the main body’s length along the elongation direction of the wire segment being wrapped around (see reference claim 15).
Regarding claim 8, Patent ‘167 claims wherein length of the wire segment being wrapped around is maintained to be equal to, or longer than, the main body’s length combined with length of one of the two terminal bodies along the elongation direction of the wire segment being wrapped around (see reference claim 16).
Regarding claim 14, Patent ‘167 claims a method of stabilizing structural integrity of a carrier of a catheter apparatus comprising an elongated shaft having a proximal portion and a distal portion, and preventing tangling of wire helixes of the carrier, wherein the carrier is located at, or proximate to, the distal portion of the elongated shaft, and wherein a therapeutic assembly comprises at least one therapeutic member for intravascular treatment; wherein the carrier is configured to vary between a delivery configuration and a deployed configuration; wherein the distal portion of the shaft is configured for intravascular delivery of the carrier; the method comprising: weaving plainly or bi-axially m?2 right-handed wire helixes and n?2 left-handed wire helixes into each other to prepare a carrier comprising at least one interstice that is defined by four wire helix segments from two immediately adjacent right-handed wire helixes and two immediately adjacent left-handed wire helixes that are plainly or bi-axially woven into each other; and wrapping at least one therapeutic assembly around at least one of said four wire helix segments to stabilize said at least one interstice, to maintain structural integrity of the carrier, and to prevent tangling of wire helixes, when the carrier is being distorted intravascularly; wherein the therapeutic assembly wraps around only one of said four wire helix segments to stabilize the interstice; wherein the therapeutic assembly includes two terminal bodies and a main body positioned between the two terminal bodies, all of the two terminal bodies and the main body wrapping around said at least one of said four wire helix segments; wherein cross-sectional area of the main body along a plane perpendicular to the elongation direction of a wire segment being wrapped around is larger than cross-sectional areas of the terminal bodies along a plane perpendicular to the elongation direction of the wire segment being wrapped around, which are larger than a cross-sectional area of the wire segment being wrapped around along a plane perpendicular to the elongation direction of the wire segment; and wherein at least one of the two terminal bodies and the main body includes (1) one or more grooves on the main body for accommodating or guiding one or more wire helixes that slide(s) over the wire segment around which the therapeutic assembly wraps, wherein the one or more grooves are not corners formed between one of the two terminal bodies and the main body; and/or (2) one, two or more protrusions, wherein the gap(s) between the protrusion(s) and the wire segment around which the therapeutic assembly wraps, and the gap(s) between said protrusion(s) themselves, is(are) configured for accommodating or guiding one or more wire helixes that slide(s) over the wire segment around which the therapeutic assembly wraps (see reference claims 1, 13-14, and 17).
Regarding claim 15, Patent ‘167 claims a method of manufacturing a catheter apparatus comprising: an elongated shaft having a proximal portion and a distal portion; a carrier carrying at least one therapeutic assembly, wherein the carrier is located at, or proximate to, the distal portion of the elongated shaft, and wherein the at least one therapeutic assembly comprises at least one therapeutic member for intravascular treatment; wherein the carrier is configured to vary between a delivery configuration and a deployed configuration; wherein the distal portion of the shaft is configured for intravascular delivery of the carrier; wherein the carrier comprises m right-handed wire helixes and n left-handed wire helixes that are plainly or bi-axially woven into each other, m?2, and n?2; wherein the carrier comprises at least one interstice that is defined by four wire helix segments from two immediately adjacent right-handed wire helixes and two immediately adjacent left-handed wire helixes that are plainly or bi-axially woven into each other; and wherein said at least one therapeutic assembly wraps around at least one of said four wire helix segments to stabilize said at least one interstice, to maintain structural integrity of the carrier, and to prevent tangling of wire helixes, when the carrier is being distorted intravascularly; and wherein the therapeutic assembly includes two terminal bodies and a main body positioned between the two terminal bodies, all of the two terminal bodies and the main body wrapping around said at least one of said four wire helix segments, the method comprising: (i) providing m right-handed wire helixes and n left-handed wire helixes, m?2, and n?2; (ii) weaving the wire helixes plainly or bi-axially into a tubular structure as the carrier; (iii) forming at least one interstice that is defined by four wire helix segments of two immediately adjacent right-handed wire helixes and two immediately adjacent left-handed wire helixes that are plainly or bi-axially woven into each other; and (iv) wrapping at least one therapeutic assembly around at least one of said four wire helix segments to stabilize the interstice; wherein step (i) includes: (ia) providing one single wire having a first portion of right-handed wire helix and a second portion of left-handed wire helix; and (ib) folding or bending the single wire at a point between the first portion and the second portion to provide a right-handed wire helix and a left-handed wire helix. (see reference claims 1, 13-14, and 17).
Therefore, examined claims 1, 3-5, 7-8, and 14-15 are not patentably distinct from reference claims 1, 10, and 12-17.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Beetel et al., (US 20120101413; hereinafter Beetel).
Regarding claim 1, Beetel (Figures 1, 6-7, and 20C-D) discloses a catheter apparatus comprising: an elongated shaft (16) having a proximal portion and a distal portion; a carrier (22) carrying at least one therapeutic assembly (24), wherein the carrier is located at, or proximate to, the distal portion of the elongated shaft (16), and wherein the at least one therapeutic assembly comprises at least one therapeutic member (24) for intravascular treatment; wherein the carrier (22) is configured to vary between a delivery configuration and a deployed configuration; wherein the distal portion of the shaft (16) is configured for intravascular delivery of the carrier (22); wherein the carrier (22) comprises m right-handed wire helixes and n left-handed wire helixes that are plainly or bi-axially woven into each other, m≥2, and n≥2; wherein the carrier (22) comprises at least one interstice that is defined by four wire helix segments from two immediately adjacent right-handed wire helixes and two immediately adjacent left-handed wire helixes that are plainly or bi-axially woven into each other; wherein said at least one therapeutic assembly wraps around at least one of said four wire helix segments to stabilize said at least one interstice, to maintain structural integrity of the carrier (22), and to prevent tangling of wire helixes, when the carrier (22) is being distorted intravascularly; wherein the therapeutic assembly wraps around only one of said four wire helix segments to stabilize the interstice (the therapeutic assembly may be wrapped as a ribbon, therefore, this ribbon may be located around just one of the helix segments); wherein the therapeutic assembly includes two terminal bodies (bulbous part A on the left side of the left dotted line of element 24 and bulbous part B on the right side of the right dotted line of element 24 shown in annotated Figure 21 below) and a main body (center portion of element 24 between the two dotted lines shown in annotated Figure 21 below) positioned between the two terminal bodies, all the two terminal bodies wrapping around said at least one of said four wire helix segments that is through the two terminal bodies (as seen in annotated Figure 21 below, all of the elements appear to wrap around said at least one of said four wire helix segments on at least on surface); wherein cross-sectional area of the main body along a plane perpendicular to the elongation direction of a wire segment being wrapped around is larger than cross-sectional areas of the terminal bodies along a plane perpendicular to the elongation direction of the wire segment being wrapped around, which are larger than a cross-sectional area of the wire segment being wrapped around along a plane perpendicular to the elongation direction of the wire segment; and wherein at least one of the two terminal bodies and the main body includes (1) one or more grooves (one or more grooves accommodating elements 58 in Figure 21) on the main body for accommodating or guiding one or more wire helixes that slide(s) over the wire segment around which the therapeutic assembly wraps, wherein the one or more grooves are not corners formed between one of the two terminal bodies and the main body ([0064]-[0065], [0078], [0107], [0110]: as seen in annotated Figure 21 below, the one or more grooves holding elements 58 are depressions formed between wall 55 and the terminal/main bodies, not corners formed between the terminal bodies and the main body).
Annotated Figure 21 from the Beetel reference
Regarding claim 2, Beetel further discloses (Figures 1, 6-7, and 20C-D) that at least one of the two terminal bodies and the main body includes one, two, or more protrusions (58), wherein the gap(s) between the protrusions(s) and the wire segment around which the therapeutic assembly wraps, and the gap(s) between said protrusion(s) themselves, is(are) configured for accommodating or guiding one or more wire helixes that slide(s) over the wire segment around which the therapeutic assembly wraps ([0064]-[0065], [0078], [0107], [0110]).
Regarding claim 3, Beetel further discloses (Figures 1, 6-7, and 20C-D) that the carrier (22) comprises m right-handed wire helixes and n left-handed wire helixes that are plainly or bi-axially woven into a tubular structure, 2<m<30, 2<n<30, and m=n ([0064]-[0065], [0078], [0107], [0110]).
Regarding claim 4, Beetel further discloses (Figures 1, 6-7, and 20C-D) that the carrier carries six therapeutic assemblies, each of which includes an electrode as the therapeutic member, providing six electrodes (one or more electrodes, which may be six electrodes) in total ([0064]-[0065], [0078], [0107], [0110]).
Regarding claim 5, Beetel further discloses (Figures 1, 6-7, and 20C-D) that the six electrodes are configured to create interrupted spiral but full circumferential lesions on internal wall of a target blood vessel ([0064]-[0065], [0078], [0107], [0110]).
Regarding claim 6, Beetel further discloses (Figures 1, 6-7, and 20C-D) that at least one of the m right-handed wire helixes and at least one of the n left-handed wire helixes are made from one single wire having a first portion of right-handed wire helix and a second portion of left-handed wire helix by folding or bending a point of the single wire between the first portion and the second portion at an angle of from about 160 to 180 degree ([0064]-[0065], [0078], [0092], [0107], [0110]).
Regarding claim 7, Beetel further discloses (Figures 1, 6-7, and 20C-D) that length of the wire segment being wrapped around is maintained to be equal to, or longer than, the main body's length along the elongation direction of the wire segment being wrapped around ([0064]-[0065], [0078], [0107], [0110], [0116]).
Regarding claim 8, Beetel further discloses (Figures 1, 6-7, and 20C-D) that length of the wire segment being wrapped around is maintained to be equal to, or longer than, the main body's length combined with length of one of the two terminal bodies along the elongation direction of the wire segment being wrapped around ([0064]-[0065], [0078], [0107], [0110], [0116]).
Regarding claim 9, Beetel further discloses (Figures 1, 6-7, and 20C-D) that length of the wire segment being wrapped around is maintained to be equal to, or longer than, the main body's length combined with total length of the two terminal bodies along the elongation direction of the wire segment being wrapped around ([0064]-[0065], [0078], [0107], [0110], [0116]).
Regarding claim 10, Beetel further discloses (Figures 1, 6-7, and 20C-D) that the carrier or the therapeutic assembly includes one or more sensors selected from temperature sensor, impedance sensor, pressure sensor, optical sensor, flow sensor, and chemical sensor ([0064]-[0067], [0078], [0107], [0110], [0116]).
Regarding claim 11, Beetel further discloses (Figures 1, 6-7, and 20C-D) a handle (34) with an actuator (36) such as a knob, pin, or lever to vary the carrier's configuration or shape, and wherein the carrier in compressed configuration is stored within a protective tube ([0064]-[0065], [0078], [0107], [0110], [0116]).
Regarding claim 12, Beetel further discloses (Figures 1, 6-7, and 20C-D) a pull/push or control wire (68) connected to the actuator, wherein the control wire is fixed to distal end of the carrier, which passes through the elongated shaft to the proximal portion of the elongated shaft to facilitate expansion and/or contraction of the carrier when the wire is pulled or pushed to shorten or lengthen the carrier ([0064]-[0065], [0078], [0107], [0110], [0116]).
Regarding claim 13, Beetel further discloses (Figures 1, 6-7, and 20C-D) that distal end of the carrier is coupled to a rounded part that is radiopaque ([0078]-[0080], [0214]-[0216]: although the proximal cap 72 is described as being radiopaque while the reference is silent on the material of the distal cap 74, it is known in the art to use radiopaque material for a distal cap; therefore, the distal cap 74 may be made of the same radiopaque material used for the proximal cap 72 as well).
Regarding claim 14, Beetel discloses (Figures 1, 6-7, and 20C-D) a method of stabilizing structural integrity of a carrier (22) of a catheter apparatus comprising an elongated shaft (16) having a proximal portion and a distal portion, and preventing tangling of wire helixes of the carrier, wherein the carrier (22) is located at, or proximate to, the distal portion of the elongated shaft (16), and wherein the therapeutic assembly comprises at least one therapeutic member (24) for intravascular treatment; wherein the carrier (22) is configured to vary between a delivery configuration and a deployed configuration; wherein the distal portion of the shaft (16) is configured for intravascular delivery of the carrier; the method comprising: weaving plainly or bi-axially m>2 right-handed wire helixes and n>2 left-handed wire helixes into each other to prepare a carrier (22) comprising at least one interstice that is defined by four wire helix segments from two immediately adjacent right-handed wire helixes and two immediately adjacent left-handed wire helixes that are plainly or bi-axially woven into each other; and wrapping at least one therapeutic assembly around at least one of said four wire helix segments to stabilize said at least one interstice, to maintain structural integrity of the carrier, and to prevent tangling of wire helixes, when the carrier is being distorted intravascularly; the therapeutic assembly wraps around only one of said four wire helix segments to stabilize the interstice (the therapeutic assembly may be wrapped as a ribbon, therefore, this ribbon may be located around just one helix segments); the therapeutic assembly includes two terminal bodies (bulbous part A on the left side of the left dotted line of element 24 and bulbous part B on the right side of the right dotted line of element 24 shown in annotated Figure 21 below) and a main body (center portion of element 24 between the two dotted lines shown in annotated Figure 21 below) positioned between the two terminal bodies, all the two terminal bodies wrapping around said at least one of said four wire helix segments that is through the two terminal bodies (as seen in annotated Figure 21 below, all of the elements appear to wrap around said at least one of said four wire helix segments on at least on surface); and wherein cross-sectional area of the main body along a plane perpendicular to the elongation direction of the wire segment being wrapped around is larger than cross-sectional areas of the terminal bodies along a plane perpendicular to the elongation direction of the wire segment being wrapped around, which are larger than a cross-sectional area of the wire segment being wrapped around along a plane perpendicular to the elongation direction of the wire segment, ([0064]-[0065], [0078], [0107], [0110]: as seen in annotated Figure 21 below, the one or more grooves holding elements 58 are depressions formed between wall 55 and the terminal/main bodies, not corners formed between the terminal bodies and the main body); and wherein at least one of the two terminal bodies and the main body includes one, two, or more protrusions (58), wherein the gap(s) between the protrusions(s) and the wire segment around which the therapeutic assembly wraps, and the gap(s) between said protrusion(s) themselves, is(are) configured for accommodating or guiding one or more wire helixes that slide(s) over the wire segment around which the therapeutic assembly wraps ([0064]-[0065], [0078], [0107], [0110]: as seen in annotated Figure 21 below, the one or more grooves holding elements 58 are depressions formed between wall 55 and the terminal/main bodies, not corners formed between the terminal bodies and the main body).
Annotated Figure 21 from the Beetel reference
Regarding claim 15, Beetel discloses (Figures 1, 6-7, and 20C-D) a method of manufacturing a catheter apparatus comprising: an elongated shaft (16) having a proximal portion and a distal portion; a carrier (22) carrying at least one therapeutic assembly, wherein the carrier is located at, or proximate to, the distal portion of the elongated shaft (16), and wherein the therapeutic assembly comprises at least one therapeutic member (24) for intravascular treatment; wherein the carrier (22) is configured to vary between a delivery configuration and a deployed configuration; wherein the distal portion of the shaft (16) is configured for intravascular delivery of the carrier; wherein the carrier (22) comprises m right-handed wire helixes and n left-handed wire helixes that are plainly or bi-axially woven into each other, m>2, and n>2; wherein the carrier (22) comprises at least one interstice that is defined by four wire helix segments from two immediately adjacent right-handed wire helixes and two immediately adjacent left-handed wire helixes that are plainly or bi-axially woven into each other; and wherein said at least one therapeutic assembly wraps around at least one of said four wire helix segments to stabilize said at least one interstice, to maintain structural integrity of the carrier, and to prevent tangling of wire helixes, when the carrier is being distorted intravascularly. The method comprises: (i) providing m right-handed wire helixes and n left-handed wire helixes, m>2, and n>2; (ii) weaving the wire helixes plainly or bi-axially into a tubular structure as the carrier (22); (iii) forming at least one interstice that is defined by four wire helix segments of two immediately adjacent right-handed wire helixes and two immediately adjacent left-handed wire helixes that are plainly or bi-axially woven into each other; and (iv) wrapping at least one therapeutic assembly (with electrodes 24) around at least one of said four wire helix segments to stabilize the interstice, wherein step (i) includes (ia) providing one single wire having a first portion of right-handed wire helix and a second portion of left-handed wire helix; and (ib) folding or bending the single wire at a point between the first portion and the second portion to provide a right-handed wire helix and a left-handed wire helix; the therapeutic assembly includes two terminal bodies (bulbous part A on the left side of the left dotted line of element 24 and bulbous part B on the right side of the right dotted line of element 24 shown in annotated Figure 21 below) and a main body (center portion of element 24 between the two dotted lines shown in annotated Figure 21 below) positioned between the two terminal bodies, all the two terminal bodies wrapping around said at least one of said four wire helix segments that is through the two terminal bodies (as seen in annotated Figure 21 below, all of the elements appear to wrap around said at least one of said four wire helix segments on at least on surface), ([0064]-[0065], [0078], [0107], [0110]: as seen in annotated Figure 21 below, the one or more grooves holding elements 58 are depressions formed between wall 55 and the terminal/main bodies, not corners formed between the terminal bodies and the main body).
Annotated Figure 21 from the Beetel reference
Regarding claim 16, Beetel further discloses (Figures 1, 6-7, and 20C-D) cutting the bent single wire near the bending point to make a separate right-handed wire helix and a separate left-handed wire helix ([0064]-[0065], [0078], [0091]-[0092], [0107], [0110]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 08/03/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. In response to Applicant’s argument that Beetel fails to disclose the newly amended limitation “all the two terminal bodies wrapping around said at least one of said four wire helix segments that is through the two terminal bodies,” Examiner respectfully disagrees. Examiner notes that all the two terminal bodies do wrap around said at least one of said four wire helix segments that is through the two terminal bodies in the perpendicular plane from the longitudinal axis. Therefore, Examiner maintains that the rejections of claims 1-16 using the Beetel reference remain tenable. Furthermore, Examiner recommends amending the claims to define the specific orientation of at least the terminal bodies in this case.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/C.C.P./Examiner, Art Unit 3794
/EUN HWA KIM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3794