DETAILED ACTION
General Remarks
When responding to this office action, applicants are advised to provide the examiner with line numbers and page numbers in the application and/or references cited to assist the examiner in locating appropriate paragraphs.
Per MPEP 2111 and 2111.01, the claims are given their broadest reasonable interpretation and the words of the claims are given their plain meaning consistent with the specification without importing claim limitations from the specification.
For Examiner’s Interview fill out the online Automated Interview Request (AIR) form (http://www.uspto.gov/patent/uspto-automated-interview-request-air-form.html).
Status of claim(s) to be treated in this office action:
Independent: 21 and 28 and 35.
Pending: 21-40.
Canceled: 1-20
Information Disclosure Statement
Applicant’s IDS(s) submitted on 7/14/2024, 2/4/2026 is/are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement has/have considered by the examiner and made of record.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 21-25, 27-32, 34-37 and 39 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Tseng et al., US Patent 10157820 B2.
Re: Independent Claim 21, Tseng discloses a substrate (below 102, fig. 1);
a resistor (112 and 114, fig. 1) comprising: a resistive structure (112, fig. 1) overlying the substrate (below 102, fig. 1); and
a conductive contact (114, fig. 1) overlying and electrically coupled to the resistive structure (112, fig. 1); and
a capping structure (106, fig. 1) overlying and extending laterally along a top surface of the conductive contact (114, fig. 1) and further extending vertically along a sidewall of the conductive contact (114, fig. 1), such that a bottom surface of the capping structure (106, fig. 1) is recessed relative to a bottom surface of the conductive contact (114, fig. 1).
Re: Claim 22, Tseng disclose(s) all the limitations of claim 21 on which this claim depends. Tseng further discloses: wherein an entirety of the conductive contact (114, fig. 1) overlies the resistive structure (112, fig. 1).
Re: Claim 23, Tseng disclose(s) all the limitations of claim 21 on which this claim depends. Tseng further discloses: wherein the capping structure (106, fig. 1) further extends vertically along a sidewall of the resistive structure (112, fig. 1), such that the bottom surface of the capping structure (106, fig. 1) is recessed relative to a bottom surface of the resistive structure (112, fig. 1).
Re: Claim 24, Tseng disclose(s) all the limitations of claim 23 on which this claim depends. Tseng further discloses: wherein the sidewall of the conductive contact (114, fig. 1) overlies and is edge to edge with the sidewall of the resistive structure (112, fig. 1).
Re: Claim 25, Tseng disclose(s) all the limitations of claim 23 on which this claim depends. Tseng further discloses: wherein the capping structure (106, fig. 1) vertically and directly contacts the top surface of the conductive contact (114, fig. 1) and further laterally and directly contacts the sidewall of the conductive contact (114, fig. 1).
Re: Claim 27, Tseng disclose(s) all the limitations of claim 23 on which this claim depends. Tseng further discloses: wherein the resistor (112 and 114, fig. 1) further comprises: an additional conductive contact (right side 114, fig. 1) overlying the resistive structure (112, fig. 1) and spaced from the conductive contact (left side 114, fig. 1) along a length of the resistive structure (112, fig. 1), wherein a width of the resistive structure (112, fig. 1) extends laterally transverse to the length of the resistive structure (112, fig. 1), and wherein the width of the resistive structure (112, fig. 1) has a value at a length-wise center of the resistive structure (112, fig. 1) that is less than a shared value of the width of the resistive structure (112, fig. 1) at the additional conductive contact (right side 114, fig. 1) and the conductive contact (114, fig. 1).
Re: Independent Claim 28, Tseng discloses a substrate (below 102, fig. 1);
a first intermetal dielectric (IMD) structure (110, fig. 1) overlying the substrate (below 102, fig. 1);
a resistor (112 and 114, fig. 1) comprising: a resistive structure (112, fig. 1) overlying the first IMD structure (110, fig. 1); and
a first conductive contact (left side 114, fig. 1) overlying and electrically coupled to the resistive structure (112, fig. 1), wherein a first sidewall of the first conductive contact (left side 114, fig. 1) overlies and is substantially aligned with a first sidewall of the resistive structure (112, fig. 1); and
a first capping structure (left side 106, fig. 1) overlying a top surface of the first conductive contact (left side 114, fig. 1) and extending vertically along both the first sidewall of the first conductive contact (left side 114, fig. 1) and the first sidewall of the resistive structure (112, fig. 1).
Re: Claim 29, Tseng disclose(s) all the limitations of claim 28 on which this claim depends. Tseng further discloses: wherein a length of the resistive structure (112, fig. 1) extends from a first end of the resistive structure (112, fig. 1) to a second end of the resistive structure (112, fig. 1) opposite the first end of the resistive structure (112, fig. 1), and wherein the first capping structure (left side 106, fig. 1) is localized to the first end.
Re: Claim 30, Tseng disclose(s) all the limitations of claim 29 on which this claim depends. Tseng further discloses: wherein the first conductive contact (left side 114, fig. 1) has a second sidewall facing an opposite direction as the first sidewall of the first conductive contact (left side 114, fig. 1), and wherein the second sidewall of the first conductive contact (left side 114, fig. 1) is laterally between a first sidewall of the first capping structure (left side 106, fig. 1) and the first sidewall of the first conductive contact (left side 114, fig. 1).
Re: Claim 31, Tseng disclose(s) all the limitations of claim 28 on which this claim depends. Tseng further discloses: a first dielectric structure overlying the first conductive contact (left side 114, fig. 1) and underlying and the first capping structure (left side 106, fig. 1), wherein the first dielectric structure, the first conductive contact (left side 114, fig. 1), and the resistive structure (112, fig. 1) form a first common sidewall, including the first sidewall of the first conductive contact (left side 114, fig. 1) and the first sidewall of the resistive structure (112, fig. 1), and wherein the first common sidewall is lined by the first capping structure (left side 106, fig. 1).
Re: Claim 32, Tseng disclose(s) all the limitations of claim 31 on which this claim depends. Tseng further discloses: wherein a width of the first dielectric structure is greater than a width of the first conductive contact (left side 114, fig. 1).
Re: Claim 34, Tseng disclose(s) all the limitations of claim 28 on which this claim depends. Tseng further discloses: wherein the resistor (112 and 114, fig. 1) further comprises a second conductive contact (right side 114, fig. 1) overlying and electrically coupled to the resistive structure (112, fig. 1), and wherein the IC further comprises a second capping structure (right side 106, fig. 1) overlying the second conductive contact (right side 114, fig. 1) and laterally and directly contacting a second sidewall of the resistive structure (112, fig. 1) that borders a first sidewall of the second conductive contact (right side 114, fig. 1).
Re: Independent Claim 35, Tseng discloses a substrate (below 102, fig. 1);
a resistor (112 and 114, fig. 1) comprising: a resistive structure (112, fig. 1) overlying the substrate (below 102, fig. 1); and
a first conductive contact (left side 114, fig. 1) and a second conductive contact (right side 114, fig. 1) overlying and electrically coupled to the resistive structure (112, fig. 1), wherein a sidewall of the first conductive contact (left side 114, fig. 1) and a sidewall of the second conductive contact (right side 114, fig. 1) face away from each other and are separated from each other by a distance that is substantially the same as a length of the resistive structure (112, fig. 1); and
a first capping structure (left side 106, fig. 1) and a second capping structure (right side 106, fig. 1) respectively overlying the first conductive contact (left side 114, fig. 1) and the second conductive contact (right side 114, fig. 1) and respectively extending along the sidewall of the first conductive contact (left side 114, fig. 1) and the sidewall of the second conductive contact (right side 114, fig. 1).
Re: Claim 36, Tseng disclose(s) all the limitations of claim 35 on which this claim depends. Tseng further discloses: wherein the first conductive contact (left side 114, fig. 1) and the second conductive contact (right side 114, fig. 1) are spaced from each other along the length of the resistive structure (112, fig. 1).
Re: Claim 37, Tseng disclose(s) all the limitations of claim 35 on which this claim depends. Tseng further discloses: wherein the resistive structure (112, fig. 1) has a first sidewall and a second sidewall respectively adjoining the sidewall of the first conductive contact (left side 114, fig. 1) and the sidewall of the second sidewall of the second conductive contact (right side 114, fig. 1).
Re: Claim 39, Tseng disclose(s) all the limitations of claim 35 on which this claim depends. Tseng further discloses: an intermetal dielectric (IMD) structure (122, fig. 1) overlying the resistor (112 and 114, fig. 1) and the first and second capping structure (right side 106, fig. 1)s, wherein the IMD structure (122, fig. 1) extends to the resistive structure (112, fig. 1) between the first and second capping structure (left and right side 106, fig. 1)s to completely separate the first and second capping structure (left and right side 106, fig. 1)s from each other.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 26, 33, 38 and 40 is/are rejected under AIA 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tseng et al., US Patent 10157820 B2; in view of Leng et al., US Patent 7829428 B1.
Re: Claim 26, Tseng discloses all the limitations of claim 23 on which this claim depends. Tseng is silent regarding: wherein the conductive contact (114, fig. 1) has an additional sidewall that faces an opposite direction as the sidewall of the conductive contact (114, fig. 1), and wherein a cavity entirely underlies the capping structure (106, fig. 1) at the additional sidewall of the conductive contact (114, fig. 1).
Leng discloses in figure 5, there in the capping structure 460 is longer than the conductive contact 450 which create a cavity under the capping layer.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include longer/wider than the layer below to account for misalignment tolerance during processing step such that if the via or mask is off center it can still form within conductive contact boundary.
Re: Claim 33, Tseng discloses all the limitations of claim 28 on which this claim depends. Tseng is silent regarding: a first dielectric structure overlying the first conductive contact (left side 114, fig. 1) and underlying and the first capping structure (left side 106, fig. 1), wherein a first cavity underlies the first dielectric structure at a second sidewall of the first conductive contact (left side 114, fig. 1).
Leng discloses in figure 5, there in the capping structure 460 is longer than the conductive contact 450 which create a cavity under the capping layer.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include longer/wider than the layer below to account for misalignment tolerance during processing step such that if the via or mask is off center it can still form within conductive contact boundary.
Re: Claim 38, Tseng discloses all the limitations of claim 35 on which this claim depends. Tseng is silent regarding: a conductive via overlying the first conductive contact (left side 114, fig. 1) and extending through the first capping structure (left side 106, fig. 1) from the first conductive contact (left side 114, fig. 1).
Leng discloses in figure 5, a conductive via (520) overlying the first conductive contact (450) and extending through the first capping structure (460) from the first conductive contact (450).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include via through the capping structure to contact with the conductive contact since this can prevent over-etching when the via that goes through the capping layer 460 connects to the layer 450 below.
Re: Claim 40, Tseng discloses all the limitations of claim 39 on which this claim depends. Tseng is silent regarding: wherein the first and second capping structure (left and right side 106, fig. 1)s are spaced from each other along the length of the resistive structure (112, fig. 1) with a first separation, and wherein the first and second conductive contact (left and right side 114, fig. 1) are spaced from each other along the length of the resistive structure (112, fig. 1) with a second separation greater than the first separation.
Leng discloses in figure 5, there in the capping structure 460 is longer than the conductive contact 450 which create a cavity under the capping layer such that the separation of 450 is greater than layer 460.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include longer/wider than the layer below to account for misalignment tolerance during processing step such that if the via or mask is off center it can still form within conductive contact boundary.
Prior art made of record and not relied upon are considered pertinent to current application disclosure.
* (“Leng et al., US Patent 11626474 B2”) Discloses a thin film resistor (TFR) module is formed in an integrated circuit device. The TFR module includes a TFR element connected between first and second vertically-extending TFR side contacts. The TFR element includes a base portion extending laterally between the TFR side contacts, and first and second TFR element end flanges projecting vertically from opposing ends of the base portion. The first TFR element end flange is formed on a sidewall of the first TFR side contact, and the second TFR element end flange is formed on a sidewall of the second TFR side contact. A first TFR head contacts the first TFR side contact and a top of the first TFR element end flange, and a second TFR head contacts the second TFR side contact and a top of the second TFR element end flange, thus defining two parallel conductive paths between the TFR element and each TFR head.
* (“Leng US patent 11670439 B2”) discloses a damascene method for manufacturing a thin film resistor (TFR) module is provided. A pair of heads are formed spaced apart from each other. A dielectric region is deposited over the pair of heads, and an opening extending over both heads is formed in the dielectric region. A TFR layer is deposited over the dielectric region and extending into the opening to define a cup-shaped TFR layer structure including (a) a laterally-extending TFR element base conductively connected to both heads and (b) vertical ridges extending upwardly from the laterally-extending TFR element base. A high density plasma (HDP) ridge removal process is performed to remove or shorten the vertical ridges from the cup-shaped TFR layer structure, thereby defining a TFR element having removed or shorted vertical ridges. The removal or shortening of the vertical ridges may improve the temperature coefficient of resistance (TCR) characteristic of the TFR element.
* (“Fivas et al., US PG pub. 20070008062 A1”) discloses a thin film resistor semiconductor structure. In one aspect of the invention, the method includes forming a dielectric layer over a semiconductor substrate, forming a thin film resistor on the dielectric layer, and annealing the thin film resistor at a substantially high temperature for a predetermined time period to set the thermal coefficient of resistance of the thin film resistor. A passivation layer is formed over the semiconductor structure.
Conclusion
/TSZ K CHIU/Examiner, Art Unit 2898 Tsz.Chiu@uspto.gov
/Leonard Chang/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2898