DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 23 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
With respect to claim 23, the limitation “wherein a plurality of projectors separate from the projector attached to the center console are provided, and wherein the controller sets projection positions of the plurality of projectors in response to the state of the seat” contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
The specification of the instant application discloses in para. [0112]: ”A plurality of the projectors may be disposed inside the vehicle, and the ECU 2040 may set a vehicle seat that follows each projector.” However, claim 23 recites “wherein the controller sets projection positions of the plurality of projectors in response to the state of the seat”. These descriptions are not equivalent, since in the specification the controller sets (i.e. controls) the seats but in the claim the controller sets (i.e. controls) the projectors. Therefore, the subject matter of claim 23 was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 11-13, 15, 17-19, and 21-24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Akira (United States Patent Application Publication 2022/0242241 A1) in view of Kanaguchi (United States Patent Application Publication 2019/0077313 A1).
With respect to claim 1, Akira discloses a display system (see fig.1) comprising: a seat (see 36B) that is provided inside a vehicle and of which at least a part is movable (see the movement arrow in fig.3); a projector (see 72 in fig.1) that is provided inside the vehicle to project an image onto a wall surface (see at least fig.4) inside the vehicle (see the location in fig.1); and a controller (see fig.2, 90) configured to acquire a state of the seat (see 82 and 86) and control a projection position of the projector (see para.[0111]: “The stand is configured by a plate member of a size that enables projector 72 to be mounted thereon, and plural truncated conical cylinder-shaped members that are disposed concentrically, that raise and lower the plate member in the vehicle vertical direction, and that are rotatable with the vehicle vertical direction as an axial direction. Operation of the motor for rotation and operation of the motor for vertical movement is controlled by control part 90 (refer to FIG. 2). Further, in a state in which projector 72 is mounted on the stand, support part 110 changes the projection direction of projector 72 to the vehicle front or the vehicle rear by operation of the motor for rotation. Further, in a state in which projector 72 is mounted on the stand, support part 110 changes the projection height of projector 72 by operation of the motor for vertical movement.”); and a center console (see 72 in fig.1 and 8) that is disposed beside the seat (see 36A, B, and C), wherein the projector is attached to the center console (see fig.1, 17), and includes a projector body (see 72) and a projector movable unit (see second embodiment:110, para. [0111] : “ (Support Part) Support part 110, as one example, is configured by a stand, a motor for rotation, and a motor for vertical movement.”) to which the projector body is attached, wherein the projector movable unit is configured to change an angle in a vertical direction and an angle in a horizontal direction of the projector body with respect to the vehicle (see para. {see para.[0111]: “Further, in a state in which projector 72 is mounted on the stand, support part 110 changes the projection direction of projector 72 to the vehicle front or the vehicle rear by operation of the motor for rotation. Further, in a state in which projector 72 is mounted on the stand, support part 110 changes the projection height of projector 72 by operation of the motor for vertical movement.”; also see the starting position of the projector 72 in fig.1, which would require a vertical change in angle: see figs.10A, 10B, 11) wherein the controller controls the projector movable unit to change the angles of the projector body with respect to the vehicle to change the projection position of the projector in response to the state of the seat ([0115]: As shown in FIG. 10A, in a case of autonomous driving in which occupant P is facing the vehicle front, vertical movement part 109 raises screen plate 108. Further, support part 110, while supporting projector 72, raises and rotates projector 72 to face the vehicle front.) but does not explicitly disclose the center console and the projector movable unit in the same embodiment.
Kanaguchi discloses the center console (see 80 in figs.12, 13 and 14) and the projector movable unit (see 90 in figs.14) in the same embodiment.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Akira with the teaching of Kanaguchi so that the center console and the projector movable unit are in the same embodiment to enhance the mobility and versatility of the projector.
With respect to claim 2, Akira in view of Kanaguchi discloses the display system according to claim 1, Akira in combination with Kanaguchi discloses wherein the seat includes a seat back portion (see the seat back portion of 36B in Akira) and a seat cushion portion (see the seat cushion portion of 36A) connected to the seat back portion (see 36B), wherein the projector (see 72) is positioned behind a front end portion of the seat cushion portion (see 72 in fig.1) in a front to rear direction of the vehicle (see the configuration of 72 and 36A).
With respect to claim 11, Akira in view of Kanaguchi discloses the display system according to claim 2, Akira in combination with Kanaguchi discloses wherein the projector is positioned in front of a rear end portion of the seat back portion in the front to rear direction of the vehicle (see the position of the projector 72 and seat back portion when the seat is reclined as in fig.11 of Akira; also see the disclosure of Kanaguchi wherein 5 in fig.12, 13 and 14 are positioned in front of a rear end portion of the seat back portion in the front to rear direction of the vehicle).
With respect to claim 12, Akira in view of Kanaguchi discloses The display system according to claim 2, Akira in combination with Kanaguchi discloses wherein the seat is configured to be transformed into an upright posture in which the seat back portion is upright and a reclined posture in which the seat back portion is inclined backward (see figs.10A and 11 of Akira: [0074] :In vehicle 10 shown in FIG. 6A and FIG. 6B, as one example, virtual positions A, B, C, D, E, F, G and H are established. Three-dimensional coordinate information for virtual positions A, B, C, D, E, F, G and H is stored in advance in control part 90 (refer to FIG. 2).), and wherein when the seat is in the reclined posture (see fig.11), the projector is positioned in front of a rear end portion of the seat back portion and behind the front end portion of the seat cushion portion in the front to rear direction of the vehicle (see the configuration of 72 in fig.11 in combination with the positioning disclosed by Kanaguchi in figs.12-13).
With respect to claim 13, Akira in view of Kanaguchi discloses the display system according to claim 12, Akira in combination with Kanaguchi wherein when the seat is in the upright posture (see the upright posture of Akria A in fig.6A and Kanaguchi in figs.12-14), the projector is positioned above the seat cushion portion (see the projector position of 5 in fig.14 stored position of Kanaguchi ) and below an upper end portion of the seat back portion (see the projector position of 5 in fig.14 stored position of Kanaguchi and Akia disclosing a below head rest portion of the back seat portion in fig.10A (see where head is located)).
With respect to claim 15, Akira in view of Kanaguchi discloses the display system according to claim 1, Akira discloses wherein the projection position of the projector is one selected from: a roof of the vehicle (see the roof in fig.11), a window of the vehicle, a door of the vehicle, a seat back of a front seat located in front of the seat, or a headrest portion of the front seat.
With respect to claim 17, Akira in view of Kanaguchi discloses the display system according to claim 1, Akira in combination with Kanaguchi discloses wherein the seat includes a seat back portion (see 36B of Akira) and a seat cushion portion (see 36C) connected to the seat back portion, and is configured to be transformed into an upright posture in which the seat back portion is upright and a reclined posture in which the seat back portion is inclined backward (see the operations disclosed in fig.7, which include upright (S16) and decline (see S22)), wherein the projector is provided at a center portion of the center console (see 17 in fig.1), and wherein when the seat is in the reclined posture, the projector projects the image onto a roof of the vehicle (see S22 and S24).
With respect to claim 18, Akira in in view of Kanaguchi discloses the display system according to claim 1, Akira in combination with Kanaguchi discloses wherein a front end portion of the projector (see the projector in fig.1 of Akira) is positioned between a front end portion and a rear end portion of the center console (see the configuration of the center console 17 in fig.1), and wherein the projection position of the projector is set to a window of the vehicle in response to the state of the seat (see 42 in fig.9A and also see fig.7, S20).
With respect to claim 19, Akira in view of Kanaguchi discloses the display system according to claim 1, Akira discloses wherein the projector is provided above an upper surface of the center console (see where the projector must move beyond a stored position in fig.1), wherein the display is set to a door of the vehicle in response to the state of the seat (see S22 and S14) but does not disclose wherein the projection position of the projector is set to a door.
Kanaguchi discloses wherein the projection position of the projector is set to a door (see [0066]: “the control unit 4 causes the projector 5 to project images or videos onto the second liquid crystal unit 10Y which is now white translucent. In this case, the first liquid crystal unit 10X”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Akira in view of Kanaguchi with the teaching of Kanaguchi so that the projection position of the projector is set to a door to improve the versatility of the projection system.
With respect to claim 20, Akira in view of Kanaguchi discloses a vehicle (see the vehicle of fig.1) comprising the display system according to claim 1 (see the display system of 72 in fig.1).
With respect to claim 21, Akira in view of Kanaguchi discloses the display system according to claim 1, Akira in combination with Kanaguchi discloses wherein the projector is located between both ends of the center console in a right to left direction (see fig.1 of Akira; also see figs.12-14 of Kanaguchi), and wherein the controller changes the angle in the horizontal direction of the projector body to set the projection position of the projector in front of a line of sight of an occupant seated on the seat (see wherein the projector is changed from fig.10B to 10A).
With respect to claim 22, Akira in view of Kanaguchi discloses the display system according to claim 1, Akira discloses wherein a screen is provided on a roof of the vehicle (see 126 in fig.11), wherein the projector is located on a centerline of the center console in a right to left direction (see the center of fig.1 and fig.11), and wherein the projector projects the image onto the screen provided on the roof (see screen on the roof 126 of fig.11 ).
With respect to claim 23, Akira in view of Kanaguchi discloses the display system according to claim 1, Akira discloses the controller sets displays of a projector and display devices in response to the state of the seat (see fig.7).
But Akira does not disclose wherein a plurality of projectors separate from the projector attached to the center console are provided, and wherein the controller sets projection positions of the plurality of projectors in response to the state of the seat.
Kanaguchi discloses using a plurality of projector (see para.[0053]: “Two or more projectors 5 may be provided”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Akira with the teaching of Kanaguchi so that a plurality of projectors separate from the projector attached to the center console are provided, and wherein the controller sets projection positions of the plurality of projectors in response to the state of the seat to enhance the versatility of the projection system.
With respect to claim 24, Akira in view of Kanaguchi discloses a vehicle comprising the display system according to claim 1 (see the application in fig.10A).
Claim(s) 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Akira (United States Patent Application Publication 2022/0242241 A1) in view of Kanaguchi (United States Patent Application Publication 2019/0077313 A1) and Watanabe (United States Patent Application Publication 2015/0306978 A1).
With respect to claim 14, Akira in view of Kanaguchi disclose the display system according to claim 12, Akira in combination with Kanaguchi discloses wherein the seat further includes a headrest portion (see 36C of Akira) attached to the seat back portion and wherein when the seat is in the reclined posture (see the position disclosed in fig.8), the projector is positioned in front of a rear end portion of the headrest portion (see 36C and 72 in fig.8) and behind a front end portion of the seat portion in the front to rear direction of the vehicle (see the location of 36A in fig.8).
Akira does not disclose an ottoman portion supported on the front end portion of the seat cushion portion.
Watanabe discloses an ottoman portion (see fig.9, S4) supported on the front end portion of the seat cushion portion (S1 in fig.9).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to Akira in view of Kanaguchi with Watanabe so that an ottoman portion is supported on the front end portion of the seat cushion portion and the projector is positioned in front of a rear end portion of the headrest portion and behind a front end portion of the ottoman portion in the front to rear direction of the vehicle to enhance the comfort of the user.
Claim(s) 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Akira (United States Patent Application Publication 2022/0242241 A1) in view of Kanaguchi (United States Patent Application Publication 2019/0077313 A1) and Maeda (United States Patent Application Publication 2011/0188008 ).
With respect to claim 16, Akira in view of Kanaguchi discloses the display system according to claim 1, but does not explicitly disclose wherein a projection start switch for starting projecting the image is provided in the center console, and wherein the projection start switch is arranged to be aligned with the projector in the front to rear direction of the vehicle.
Maeda discloses a projection start switch (see 166 in fig.3A) for starting projecting the image is provided in the console (see 166 in fig.3A), and wherein the projection start switch (see 166 in fig.3A) is arranged to be aligned with the projector in the front to rear direction (see fig.1 and top surface 104).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Akira in view of Kanaguchi with the teaching of Maeda so that a projection start switch for starting projecting the image is provided in the center console, and wherein the projection start switch is arranged to be aligned with the projector in the front to rear direction of the vehicle to enhance control of the projection device by providing a conveniently placed power button.
Claim(s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Akira (United States Patent Application Publication 2022/0242241 A1) in view of Kanaguchi (United States Patent Application Publication 2019/0077313 A1) and Xue (CN 102157022 A).
With respect to claim 20, Akira in view of Kanaguchi discloses the display system according to claim 1, wherein the seat is a first seat, and the display system further comprises a second seat provided inside the vehicle (see para.[0031]: “Panel part 16 has vehicle front side instrument panel 32 and vehicle rear side upper back panel 33. Center console 17 is provided at the approximate center of floor 15 in the vehicle width direction, and divides floor 15 into a driver's seat side and a front passenger seat side.”),
wherein the first seat and the second seat are arranged side by side in a right to left direction, wherein the projector is provided between the first seat and the second seat in the right and left direction (see the discussion in para.[0031]:” Panel part 16 has vehicle front side instrument panel 32 and vehicle rear side upper back panel 33. Center console 17 is provided at the approximate center of floor 15 in the vehicle width direction, and divides floor 15 into a driver's seat side and a front passenger seat side.”), and discloses either seat can be a seat to which operation of the projector is adapted between the first seat and the second seat (Under other variant example: para.[0134]: Front seat 36 is not limited to the driver's seat and may be the front passenger seat.).
but does not disclose wherein the controller is configured to arbitrarily set a seat to which operation of the projector is adapted between the first seat and the second seat.
Xue suggests using a controller that arbitrarily sets a seat ( para.[0031]: if not selecting the seat in advance, then the booking/selecting module randomly distributing [a] seat).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Akira in view of Kanaguchi with the teaching of Xue so that the controller is configured to arbitrarily set a seat to which operation of the projector is adapted between the first seat and the second seat to simply the functionality of the controller; furthermore, it would have been obvious to try modifying the controller so that the controller randomly sets a seat to which operation of the projector is adapted, among the plurality of seats , since there are a finite number of identified, predictable potential solutions (i.e. to deliberately select or randomly select a seat to which operation of the projector is adapted, among the plurality of seats) and since one ordinary skill in the art could have pursued the known potential solutions with a reasonable expectation of success KSR, 550 U.S. at 421, 82 USPQ2d at 1397.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, 2, and 11-24 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any rejections applied in the prior office action of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JERRY L BROOKS/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2882