DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species I (claims 1-5, 7-11, 13, and 15-23) in the reply filed on 9/17/26 is acknowledged.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, (1) “wherein the first sidewall … has a top edge elevated relative to a top edge of the second sidewall,” (claim 3), (2) “wherein the conductive plug and the conductive barrier form a top surface of the conductive structure” (claim 7), and “wherein the GC structure is closer to the substrate at a first bottom-surface location laterally between and offset from the AR contact and the gate electrode” (claim 8) must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3, 7 thru 11, 13, and 15 thru 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In claim 3-4 of claim 3, the applicant states “wherein the conductive structure …, the
first sidewall … has a top edge elevated relative to a top edge of the second sidewall,”; however, it appears (see, for example, Fig. 1A) that the top portion 102 of the conductive structure 102/106 has sidewalls whose edges are at the same level. Appropriate clarification and/or correction are required,
In lines 3-4 of claim 7, the applicant states “wherein the conductive plug and the
conductive barrier form a top surface of the conductive structure.”; however, it appears (see, for example, Fig. 1A) the conductive barrier 112 does not form a top surface of the conductive structure 102/106. Appropriate clarification and/or correction are required.
In lines 1-2 of claim 8, the applicant states “the GC structure is closer to the substrate at a
first bottom-surface location laterally between and offset from the AR contact and the gate electrode”; however, it appears (see, for example, Fig. 1A) that the GC structure 102 has a first bottom-surface location Wgv, which is not laterally between the AR contact 106 and the gate electrode 104, and also not offset from the AR contact 106 and the gate electrode 104, but rather the bottom-surface location Wgv is only entirely on the gate electrode 104. Appropriate clarification and/or correction are required.
In lines 2-3 of claim 15, the applicant states “a gate contact overlying the gate electrode and the AR contact; and a gate via extending from the gate contact to the gate electrode;”; however, it appears (see, for example, Fig. 1A) the gate contact 116 and gate via 114 are actually portions of the same structure, and not actually separate structures as stated in the claim. Examiner is interpreting portions of the same contiguous structure may be defined as a gate contact and a gate via as stated in claim 15, and, also, in general, any portions of the same contiguous structure may be defined as different structures in the same manner as shown in Fig. 1A and in claim 15; however, appropriate clarification and/or correction are required.
In lines 3-4 of claim 18, the applicant states “wherein a dimension of the AR contact laterally in a second direction transverse to the first direction is greater than a dimension of the gate contact laterally in the second direction.”; however, it is unclear how the AR contact can be laterally in a second direction transverse to the first direction since it appears the second direction transverse to the first direction is a vertical direction, and unclear how “laterally” can be greater than a vertical direction because of the different dimensions. The same applies to claim 19, which contains similar limitations. Appropriate clarification and/or correction are required.
In lines 2-4 of claim 20, the applicant states “wherein the gate contact and the gate via form a common conductive structure having a sidewall that faces laterally in a second direction transverse to the first direction, and wherein the sidewall has a lateral indent at a boundary between the gate contact and the gate via.”; however, similar to the 112 rejections of claims 18-19 above, it is unclear (see, for example, Fig. 1A) what the applicant means by the sidewall that “faces laterally in a second direction transverse to the first direction” since the sidewall is vertical and can not face “laterally”, and, further, there is no boundary between the gate contact 116, and gate via 114 since they are the same contiguous structure. Appropriate clarification and/or correction are required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
In view of the 112 rejection, claim(s) 1 thru 4, 7 thru 11, 13, 22, and 23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Bae et al. US 2018/0286957 A1 as disclosed by applicant’s IDS filed 7/17/24. Bae discloses (see, for example, FIG. 9) an integrated circuit (IC), comprising: a substrate 101; a source/drain region 190a overlying and inset into a top of the substrate 101; a gate electrode 160 bordering the source/drain region 190a and overlying the substrate 101; an interlayer dielectric (ILD) layer 210 overlying the source/drain region 190a and the gate electrode 160; and a conductive structure 230 overlying and conforming to a top surface portion 210” of the ILD layer 210, which is elevated and slanted relative to a top surface of the gate electrode 160, wherein the conductive structure 230 extends from the top surface of the gate electrode 160 to the source/drain region 190a.
Regarding claim 2, see, for example, FIG. 9 wherein Bae discloses the top surface portion
P2 of the ILD layer 210 slants downward to a sidewall of the ILD layer 210 that overlies the gate electrode 160.
Regarding claim 3, see, for example, FIG. 9 wherein Bae discloses the conductive structure 230 has a first sidewall P1 overlying the source/drain region 190a and a second sidewall P2 overlying the gate electrode 160, wherein the first sidewall faces the second sidewall and has a top edge elevated relative to a top edge of the second sidewall, and wherein the top surface portion P2 of the ILD layer 210 slants from the first sidewall to the second sidewall. Also see 112 rejection above.
Regarding claim 4, see, for example, FIG. 9 wherein Bae discloses the conductive structure 230 comprises a first level contact CA1 overlying and electrically coupled to the source/drain region 190a, a second level contact CS overlying the first level contact CA1 and the gate electrode 160, and a gate via CB1 extending from the second level contact CS to the gate electrode 160.
Regarding claim 7, see, for example, FIG. 9 wherein Bae discloses a conductive plug 230 and conductive barrier 226.
Regarding claim 8, see, for example, FIG. 9 wherein Bae discloses an integrated circuit (IC), comprising: a substrate 101; a device overlying the substrate 101 and comprising a gate electrode 160; an active region (AR) contact CA1 extending along a sidewall of the gate electrode 160, from the substrate 101 to an elevation above a top surface of the gate electrode 160; and a gate-to-contact (GC) structure CS/CB1 overlying the AR contact CA1 and the gate electrode 160, wherein the GC structure CS/CB1 extends from the top surface of the gate electrode 160 to a top surface of the AR contact CA1, wherein the GC structure CS/CB1 is closer to the substrate 101 at a first bottom-surface location laterally between and offset from the AR contact CA1 and the gate electrode 160 than at a second bottom-surface location directly over the AR contact CA1. Also see 112 rejection above.
Regarding claims 9-11, 13, 22, and 23, see the 112 rejection above.
In view of the 112 rejection, claim(s) 15 thru 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Oosuka et al. 2016/0163649 A1. Oosuka discloses (see, for example, FIG. 6) an integrated circuit (IC), comprising: a substrate 16; a gate electrode 42 overlying the substrate 16; an active region (AR) contact 61 extending from the substrate 16; a gate contact (i.e. right side) 63 overlying the gate electrode 42 and the AR contact 61; and a gate via (i.e. left side) 63 extending from the gate contact 63 to the gate electrode 42; wherein a bottom of the gate contact 63 has a concave recess receiving a top of the AR contact 61. The right side of the structure 63 is being defined as the “gate contact”, and the left side of the structure 63 is being defined as the “gate via”.
Regarding claim 16, see, for example, FIG. 6 wherein Oosuka discloses the top of the AR
contact 61 has a curved profile conforming to the concave recess.
Regarding claim 17, see, for example, FIG. 6 wherein Oosuka discloses the gate contact 63 and the substrate 16 have a vertical separation that increases laterally from the gate via 63 towards the AR contact 61.
Regarding claim 18, see, for example, FIG. 6 wherein Oosuka discloses the AR contact 61 and the gate electrode 42 are laterally spaced from each other in a first direction (i.e. horizontal direction). Also see 112 rejection above.
Regarding claim 19, see, for example, FIG. 6 wherein Oosuka discloses the AR contact 61 and the gate electrode 42 are laterally spaced from each other in a first direction (i.e. horizontal direction). Also see 112 rejection above.
Regarding claim 20, see, for example, FIG. 6 wherein Oosuka discloses the AR contact 61 and the gate electrode 42 are laterally spaced from each other in a first direction (i.e. horizontal direction), wherein the gate contact 63 and the gate via 63 form a common conductive structure 63 having a sidewall that faces laterally in a second direction transverse to the first direction, and wherein the sidewall has a lateral indent (i.e. curve) at a boundary between the gate contact 63 and the gate via 63. Also see the 112 rejection above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bae et al. US 2018/0286957 as applied to claims 1-4, 7-11, 13, and 22-23 above, and further in view of Son et al. US 2013/0160722 A1. Bae does not disclose an etch stop layer overlying and directly on the ILD layer, wherein the conductive structure has a sidewall facing the etch stop layer, and wherein the sidewall of the conductive structure has a top edge elevated relative to a top surface of the etch stop layer and a bottom edge recessed relative to a bottom surface of the etch stop layer. However, Son discloses (see, for example, FIG. 1) an integrated circuit comprising conductive structure 456, and etch stop layer 290. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at a time prior to the effective filing date, to have an etch stop layer overlying and directly on the ILD layer, wherein the conductive structure has a sidewall facing the etch stop layer, and wherein the sidewall of the conductive structure has a top edge elevated relative to a top surface of the etch stop layer and a bottom edge recessed relative to a bottom surface of the etch stop layer in order to minimize misalignment and maintain contact resistance.
Claim(s) 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bae et al. US 2018/0286957 as applied to claims 1-4, 7-11, 13, and 22-23 above, and further in view of Hung et al. US 2014/0361381 A1. Bae discloses (see, for example, FIG. 9) the conductive structure 230 comprises a first level contact CA1 overlying and electrically coupled to the source/drain region 190a, a second level contact CS overlying the first level contact CA1 and the gate electrode 160, and a gate via CB1 extending from the second level contact CS to the gate electrode 160, and wherein the conductive barrier 226 separates the conductive plug 230 from the first level contact CA1. However, Bae does not disclose the conductive barrier separates the conductive plug from the first level contact. Hung discloses (see, for example, FIG. 1H) a conductive barrier 26 that separates the conductive plug 27a from the first level contact 23’. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at a time prior to the effective filing date, to have the conductive barrier separates the conductive plug from the first level contact in order to lower contact resistance and decrease overall volume.
Double Patenting
Claims 1 thru 5, 7 thru 11, and 13, and 15 thru 23 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. US 11,189,525 B2. Although the conflicting claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the structural limitations disclosed in the application and patent are the same and any differences are slight and are obvious modifications to one of ordinary skill in the art. In this case, the applicant’s claims are broader (i.e. applicant’s claim 1 states “a conductive structure” whereas claim 1 of US Patent No. 11,189,525 B2 states “a first level contact” and “a second level contact”), and also include modifications that are slightly varied from U.S. Patent No. 11,189,525 B2 that use different combinations from other claims. The same applies to, for example, applicant' s independent claims 8, and 15 which contain the same structural limitations as U.S. Patent No. 11,189,525 B2 but have different dependencies so that there are variations wherein such variations would have been obvious modifications to one of ordinary skill in the art. For example, applicant’s claim 1 states “a conductive structure … , which is elevated and slanted …”, and claim 5 of U.S. Patent No. 11,189,525 B2 states “the bottom surface of the second level contact slants downwards from the first level contact …” wherein such language is similar and/or would have been obvious modification to one of ordinary skill in the art.
Regarding claims 2-5, 7-11, 13, and 15-23, see, for example, claims 2-20 of U.S. Patent No. 11,189,525 B2 which are the same and/or similar wherein modifications would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art.
INFORMATION ON HOW TO CONTACT THE USPTO
Eugene Lee
October 22, 2026
/EUGENE LEE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2815