DETAILED ACTION
Examiner’s Comment
Claim 52 recites “the particulate substrate” in line 1. It appears that claim 52 should recite “the particulate material” to mirror the language of claim 49 from which claim 52 depends.
Claim 57 recites “the particulate substrate” in line 3. It appears that claim 57 should recite “the particulate material” to mirror the language of claim 49 from which claim 57 depends.
Claim 58 recites “depth in the range” in line 2. It appears that claim 58 should recite “depth in a range” in line 2.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 49, 50, 53-56, 59-62 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Albertelli et al. (US Patent Application No. 2011/0262721, referred to hereinafter as Albertelli ‘721) in view of Xu et al. (US Patent Application No. 2008/0016819).
Regarding claim 49, Albertelli ‘721 teaches a cured polymeric skin (page 1, paragraphs [0001], [0017], [0018]) comprising a cured sheet form curable material (page 1, paragraphs [0017], [0018]) including a thermosetting material (page 1, paragraph [0018]), the thermosetting material including a cured phenolic resin (page 1, paragraphs [0017], [0018], page 3, paragraph [0064]), and further comprising a particulate material (page 1, paragraph [0006], page 6, paragraph [0128]), into which the sheet form material has flowed (page 1, paragraph [0006], page 4, paragraph [0082], page 6, paragraph [0128]), and is at least partially exposed in a surface of the sheet form material (page 1, paragraph [0006], page 4, paragraph [0082], page 6, paragraph [0128]).
Albertelli ‘721 fails to teach wherein the sheet form curable material includes a filler and further wherein the filler comprises a transition metal hydroxide and/or aluminum hydroxide. However, Xu et al. teach a cured polymeric skin (page 1, paragraph [0013], page 2, paragraph [0025], page 4, paragraph [0038]) comprising a thermosetting material including a cured phenolic resin (page 2, paragraph [0025], page 4, paragraph [0038]) and nanocomponents of mixed metal hydroxides (page 1, paragraph [0013], page 3, paragraph [0026]).
Xu et al. do not disclose wherein the filler is present in a ratio of filler to cured phenolic resin in an amount of 3:1 and greater and a ratio of metal hydroxide to cured phenolic resin in an amount of 2:1 to 3:1. However, where in the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges in amount involve only routine skill in the art, absence a showing of criticality. MPEP 2144.05 II. One would have been motivated to modify the amount of mixed metal hydroxide and cured phenolic resin in Xu et al. in order to reduce the amount of shrinkage occurring in the composition to provide low or zero shrinkage compositions (Xu et al., page 4, paragraph [0039]).
It would have been obvious to a person of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the mixed metal hydroxide of Xu et al. in the sheet form curable material of Albertelli ‘721 in order to reduce the amount of shrinkage occurring in the composition to provide low or zero shrinkage compositions (Xu et al., page 4, paragraph [0039]).
Regarding claim 50, Albertelli ‘721 teaches wherein the particulate material is at least substantially embedded in a surface of the sheet form material (page 1, paragraph [0006], page 4, paragraph [0082], page 6, paragraph [0128]).
Regarding claim 53, Albertelli ‘721 teaches wherein the cured sheet form curable material has a thickness of at least 1 mm which reads on Applicant’s claimed range of 0.3 to 50 mm (page 1, paragraphs [0017], [0018], page 6, paragraph [0130]).
Regarding claim 54, Albertelli ‘721 fails to teach wherein the transition metal or aluminum hydroxides are of formula M(OH)3, wherein M is a metal. However, Xu et al. teach a cured polymeric skin (page 1, paragraph [0013], page 2, paragraph [0025], page 4, paragraph [0038]) comprising a thermosetting material including a cured phenolic resin (page 2, paragraph [0025], page 4, paragraph [0038]) and nanocomponents of mixed metal hydroxides (page 1, paragraph [0013], page 3, paragraph [0026]).
It would have been obvious to a person of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the mixed metal hydroxide of Xu et al. in the sheet form curable material of Albertelli ‘721 in order to reduce the amount of shrinkage occurring in the composition to provide low or zero shrinkage compositions (Xu et al., page 4, paragraph [0039]).
Regarding claim 55, Albertelli ‘721 fails to teach wherein the filler is a particulate solid which is insoluble in the thermosetting material. However, Xu et al. teach a cured polymeric skin (page 1, paragraph [0013], page 2, paragraph [0025], page 4, paragraph [0038]) comprising a thermosetting material including a cured phenolic resin (page 2, paragraph [0025], page 4, paragraph [0038]) and nanocomponents of mixed metal hydroxides (page 1, paragraph [0013], page 3, paragraph [0026]), wherein the nanocomponent is a particulate solid which is insoluble in the thermosetting material (page 1, paragraph [0013], page 3, paragraph [0026]).
It would have been obvious to a person of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the mixed metal hydroxide of Xu et al. in the sheet form curable material of Albertelli ‘721 in order to reduce the amount of shrinkage occurring in the composition to provide low or zero shrinkage compositions (Xu et al., page 4, paragraph [0039]).
Regarding claim 56, Albertelli ‘721 teaches wherein the sheet form curable material further comprises fibers (page 4, paragraph [0065]).
Albertelli ‘721 does not disclose wherein the fibers are added to the uncured material in a ratio of resin to fiber of 6:1 to 1:3. However, where in the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges in amount involve only routine skill in the art, absence a showing of criticality. MPEP 2144.05 II. One would have been motivated to modify the amount of resin to fiber in order to provide adequate reinforcement (Albertelli ‘721, page 4, paragraph [0065]).
Regarding claim 59, Albertelli ‘721 teaches wherein the cured polymeric skin (page 1, paragraphs [0001], [0017], [0018]) has been molded by means of a mold (page 4, paragraph [0082], page 5, paragraph [0102])
Regarding claim 60, Albertelli ‘721 teaches wherein the skin further comprises a pattern on a surface of the cured sheet form material (page 1, paragraph [0006]).
Regarding claim 61, Albertelli ‘721 teaches wherein the skin further comprises a veil on a second surface of the cured sheet form curable material (page 5, paragraphs [0090], [0091]).
Regarding claim 62, Albertelli ‘721 teaches wherein the skin further comprises a particulate material (page 1, paragraph [0006], page 6, paragraph [0128]), into which the sheet form material has flowed (page 1, paragraph [0006], page 4, paragraph [0082], page 6, paragraph [0128]), and is at least partially exposed in a second surface of the sheet form material (page 1, paragraph [0006], page 4, paragraph [0082], page 6, paragraph [0128]).
Claims 51, 57 and 58 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Albertelli et al. (US Patent Application No. 2011/0262721, referred to hereinafter as Albertelli ‘721) in view of Xu et al. (US Patent Application No. 2008/0016819), in further view of Albertelli et al. (GB 2480253, referred to hereinafter as Albertelli ‘253).
Albertelli ‘721 and Xu et al. are relied upon as disclosed above.
Regarding claim 51, Albertelli ‘721 fails to teach wherein the particulate material comprises one or more particulate materials selected from sand, gypsum, graphite, calcium carbonate, hydrated organic slats, ceramic materials, clay materials, and metal oxides. However, Albertelli ‘253 teaches a composite product comprising a sheet form material including a thermosetting material (page 2, lines 25-30, page 5, lines 15-20) and a particulate material (page 2, lines 25-30, page 9, lines 14-34), wherein the particulate material comprises clay materials or metal oxides (page 9, lines 14-34).
It would have been obvious to a person of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the particulate material of Albertelli ‘253 in the particulate material of Albertelli ‘721 in order to provide reinforcement (Albertelli ‘253, page 9, lines 20-34).
Regarding claims 57 and 58, Albertelli ‘721 fails to teach wherein the skin further comprises one or more masonry tiles, the masonry tiles being applied to the surface of the cured sheet form curable material prior to contacting with the particulate substrate. However, Albertelli ‘253 teaches a composite product comprising a sheet form material including a thermosetting material (page 2, lines 25-30, page 5, lines 15-20) and a particulate material (page 2, lines 25-30, page 9, lines 14-34), further comprising one or more masonry tiles (page 2, lines 25-32, page 4, lines 25-30) having a depth in the range of less than 30 mm which reads on Applicant’s claimed range of 3 to 30 mm (page 3, lines 19-25).
It would have been obvious to a person of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the masonry tiles of Albertelli ‘253 on the cured sheet form curable material prior to contacting the particulate substrate of Albertelli ‘721 in order to provide a desirable aesthetic finish to the product and/or provide durability to the product (Albertelli ‘253, page 3, lines 1-3).
Claim 52 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Albertelli et al. (US Patent Application No. 2011/0262721, referred to hereinafter as Albertelli ‘721) in view of Xu et al. (US Patent Application No. 2008/0016819), in further view of Twardowska-Baxter et al. (US Patent Application No. 2006/0252869).
Regarding claim 52, Albertelli ‘721 fail to teach wherein the particulate substrate comprise one or more materials susceptible to electromagnetic radiation. However, Twardowska-Baxter et al. teach a sheet molding capable of curing into structures (page 2, paragraph [0015]) comprising graphite (a material susceptible to electromagnetic radiation) (page 2, paragraph [0017]).
It would have been obvious to a person of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the graphite of Twardowska-Baxter et al. in the particulate material of Albertelli ‘721 in order to maintain toughness (Twardowska-Baxter et al., page 2, paragraph [0017]).
Conclusion
/Chinessa T. Golden/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1788 4/30/2026