CTNF 18/775,456 CTNF 88806 DETAILED ACTION This Office action is a response to an Application No. 18/775,456 filed on 07/17/2024 in which claims 1-21 are pending for examination. Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. Priority Acknowledgement is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d). Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55. Drawings The Examiner contends that the drawings submitted on 07/17/2024 are acceptable for examination proceedings. Information Disclosure Statement The Examiner has considered the reference(s) listed on the Information Disclosure Statement submitted on 08/20/2024. Specification 07-29 AIA The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: it is suggested to include “CROSS-REFERENCES TO RELATED APPLICATION” for claiming any priority after the title. See 37 CFR 1.78 and MPEP § 211 . Appropriate correction is required. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-12-aia AIA (a)(2) the claimed invention was described in a patent issued under section 151, or in an application for patent published or deemed published under section 122(b), in which the patent or application, as the case may be, names another inventor and was effectively filed before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15-03-aia AIA Claim s 1, 4-5, 7-10, 14-15, and 17-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by LI et al. (US 2025/0192842 A1) hereinafter “Li” . Regarding claims 1 and 20, Li discloses Claim 1 of a first apparatus (see FIG. 10; see ¶ [0191], a UE) and Claim 20 of a method comprising: at least one processor (see FIG. 10; see ¶ [0191], a processor) ; and at least one memory storing instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor (see FIG. 10; see ¶ [0191], a memory storing code) , cause the first apparatus to: receive, from a second apparatus, a first set of reference signals and a second set of reference signals different from the first set of reference signals (see FIG. 6; see ¶ [0149], the network entity may transmit, and the UE may receive (e.g., via the transceiver of the UE), control signaling indicating a first CSI report setting configuration associated with measured channel characteristics of a first CMR set and a second CSI report setting configuration associated with predicted channel characteristics for a second CMR set that is associated with the first CMR set. For example, the UE may be configured with the first CSI report setting for measured channel characteristics and the second CSI report setting for predicted channel characteristics. In some examples, the control signaling may configure multiple CSI report settings for measured channel characteristics or multiple CSI report settings for predicted channel characteristics, or multiples of each. In some examples, the first CMR set and the second CMR set may be the same (e.g., identical), or the first CMR set and the second CMR set may be different) ; generate a predicted result for a first time period based on the first set of reference signals (see FIG. 6; see ¶ [0154], the UE may determine the predicted channel characteristics at 625, such as based on the measured channel characteristics and a machine learning model) ; generate a measured result for the first time period based on the second set of reference signals (see FIG. 6; see ¶ [0154], the UE may measure the set of reference signals over the first CMR at 620 to obtain the measured channel characteristics) ; and transmit the predicted result and the measured result to the second apparatus (see FIG. 6; see ¶ [0155], the UE may transmit (e.g., via the transceiver of the UE), and the network entity may receive, a first CSI report that indicates one or more measured channel characteristics of the first CMR set based on the first CSI report setting configuration and a second CSI report that indicates one or more predicted channel characteristics based on the second CSI report setting configuration) . Regarding claims 4 and 14, Li discloses wherein the second set of reference signals are received within the first time period, and the first set of reference signals are received within a second time period different from the first time period (see FIG. 3; see ¶ [0143-43], the UE may receive control signaling configuring the first CSI report setting associated with the first CMR set and the second CSI report setting associated with the second CMR set) . Regarding claims 5 and 15, Li discloses wherein the first set of reference signals are allocated with a first resource element, and the second set of reference signals are allocated with a second resource element different from the first resource element (see FIG. 3; see ¶ [0143-43], the UE may receive control signaling configuring the first CSI report setting associated with the first CMR set and the second CSI report setting associated with the second CMR set) . Regarding claims 7 and 17, Li discloses wherein the first resource element and the second resource element are adjacent within a physical resource block (see FIG. 3; see ¶ [0143-43], the UE may receive control signaling configuring the first CSI report setting associated with the first CMR set and the second CSI report setting associated with the second CMR set) . Regarding claims 8 and 18, Li discloses wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the first apparatus to: receive, from the second apparatus, a configuration for the first set of reference signals and the second set of reference signals (see FIG. 6; see ¶ [0149], the network entity may transmit, and the UE may receive (e.g., via the transceiver of the UE), control signaling indicating a first CSI report setting configuration associated with measured channel characteristics of a first CMR set and a second CSI report setting configuration associated with predicted channel characteristics for a second CMR set that is associated with the first CMR set. For example, the UE may be configured with the first CSI report setting for measured channel characteristics and the second CSI report setting for predicted channel characteristics. In some examples, the control signaling may configure multiple CSI report settings for measured channel characteristics or multiple CSI report settings for predicted channel characteristics, or multiples of each. In some examples, the first CMR set and the second CMR set may be the same (e.g., identical), or the first CMR set and the second CMR set may be different) . Regarding claims 9 and 19, Li discloses the first apparatus comprises a terminal device (see FIG. 10; see ¶ [0191], a UE) , and the second apparatus comprises a network device (see FIG. 14; see ¶ [0223], a network entity) . Regarding claims 10 and 21, Li discloses Claim 10 of a second apparatus (see FIG. 14; see ¶ [0223], a network entity) and Claim 20 of a method comprising: at least one processor (see FIG. 14; see ¶ [0223], a processor) ; and at least one memory storing instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor (see FIG. 14; see ¶ [0223], a memory storing code) , cause the first apparatus to: transmit, to a first apparatus, a first set of reference signals and a second set of reference signals different from the first set of reference signals (see FIG. 6; see ¶ [0149], the network entity may transmit, and the UE may receive (e.g., via the transceiver of the UE), control signaling indicating a first CSI report setting configuration associated with measured channel characteristics of a first CMR set and a second CSI report setting configuration associated with predicted channel characteristics for a second CMR set that is associated with the first CMR set. For example, the UE may be configured with the first CSI report setting for measured channel characteristics and the second CSI report setting for predicted channel characteristics. In some examples, the control signaling may configure multiple CSI report settings for measured channel characteristics or multiple CSI report settings for predicted channel characteristics, or multiples of each. In some examples, the first CMR set and the second CMR set may be the same (e.g., identical), or the first CMR set and the second CMR set may be different) ; receive, from the first apparatus, a predicted result for a first time period and a measured result for the first time period, wherein the predicted result is based on the first set of reference signals, and the measured result is based on the second set of reference signals (see FIG. 6; see ¶ [0155], the UE may transmit (e.g., via the transceiver of the UE), and the network entity may receive, a first CSI report that indicates one or more measured channel characteristics of the first CMR set based on the first CSI report setting configuration and a second CSI report that indicates one or more predicted channel characteristics based on the second CSI report setting configuration and see ¶ [0154], the UE may determine the predicted channel characteristics at 625, such as based on the measured channel characteristics and a machine learning model and the UE may measure the set of reference signals over the first CMR at 620 to obtain the measured channel characteristics) ; and determine a prediction performance based on the predicted result and the measured result (see ¶ [0140] [0146], reporting both the measured and predicted channel characteristics may enable the network entity to make a better decision on the final beams to be used for communications with the UE. For example, the network entity may measure one or more sounding reference signals (SRS) and may jointly use the reported measurements and predictions together with the SRS measurements to decide a beam to be used for scheduling PDSCH) . Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-20 AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102 of this title, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negatived by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-23-aia AIA The factual inquiries set forth in Graham v. John Deere Co. , 383 U.S. 1, 148 USPQ 459 (1966), that are applied for establishing a background for determining obviousness under 35 U.S.C. 103 are summarized as follows: 1. Determining the scope and contents of the prior art. 2. Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue. 3. Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art. 4. Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness. 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 2, 11, and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li in view of LIU et al. (US 2018/0213527 A1) hereinafter “Liu” . Regarding claims 2 and 11, Li discloses does not explicitly disclose the second set of reference signals are precoded with a signal characteristic unknown to the first apparatus. However, Liu discloses wherein the second set of reference signals are precoded with a signal characteristic unknown to the first apparatus (see ¶ [0005], a precoding matrix for the multiple sets of precoded candidate reference signal resources is unknown to the UE) . Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to provide the second set of reference signals are precoded with a signal characteristic unknown to the first apparatus as taught by Liu in the system of Li, so that it would provide to improve CSI feedback accuracy (Liu: see ¶ [0004]) . Regarding claim 13, the combined system of Li and Liu disclose wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the second apparatus to: update the measured result based on the signal characteristic; and generate the prediction performance by comparing the updated measured result and the predicted result (Li: see ¶ [0140] [0146], reporting both the measured and predicted channel characteristics may enable the network entity to make a better decision on the final beams to be used for communications with the UE. For example, the network entity may measure one or more sounding reference signals (SRS) and may jointly use the reported measurements and predictions together with the SRS measurements to decide a beam to be used for scheduling PDSCH) . 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 3 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li in view of Liu further in view of Jose et al. (US 2014/0105120 A1) hereinafter “Jose” . Regarding claims 3 and 12, the combined system of Li and Liu does not explicitly disclose a pseudo random phase. However, Jose discloses wherein the signal characteristic comprises at least one of: a pseudo random phase (see ¶ [0078], the serving base station applies one or more predetermined pseudo-random phase rotations to modulated data symbols within resource elements carrying data in the set of resource blocks) . Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to provide a pseudo random phase as taught by Jose in the combined system of Li and Liu, so that it would provide to improve the received signal to interference plus noise ratio (Jose: see ¶ [0053]) . 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 6 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li in view of Nimbalker et al. (US 2016/0227519 A1) hereinafter “Nimbalker” . Regarding claims 6 and 16, Li does not explicitly disclose a zero power and a non-zero power. However, Nimbalker discloses wherein the first set of reference signals are transmitted with a zero power within the first time period, and the second set of reference signals are transmitted with a non-zero power within the first time period (see ¶ [0034], set of resource elements that is a subset of resource elements indicated by the ZP-CSI-RS configuration information and a Non-Zero Power CSI-RS (NZP-CSI-RS) configuration) . Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to provide a zero power and a non-zero power as taught by Nimbalker in the system of Li, so that it would provide the base station can indicate to the UE to measure CSI based on resource elements in the subframe that are a subset of the ZP-CSI-RS configuration (Nimbalker: see ¶ [0083]) . Conclusion A shortened statutory period for reply to this action is set to expire THREE MONTHS from the mailing date of the action. An extension of time may be obtained under 37 CFR 1.136(a). However, in no event, will the statutory period for reply expire later than SIX MONTHS from the mailing date of this action. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to PETER CHEN whose telephone number is (571)270-7241. The examiner can normally be reached Monday - Friday 8:00am to 5:00pm. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Yemane Mesfin can be reached at (571) 272-3927. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /PETER CHEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2462 Application/Control Number: 18/775,456 Page 2 Art Unit: 2462 Application/Control Number: 18/775,456 Page 3 Art Unit: 2462