DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to the communication filed on March 30, 2026 in response to the first office action on merit.
Remarks
Pending claims for reconsideration are claims 1-20.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed on March 30, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In the remarks, applicant argues in substance:
In response to argument (Page 11) - Examiner respectfully disagrees with applicant’s argument that the applied prior art, Honz, failed to disclose claimed first circulator receiving multiplexed data from a first multiplexer/demultiplexer and structures reflected in Figure 1. of applicant provided specification in regard to independent claims 1, 15 and 15. Figure 1. of applicant provided drawing shows Mux/Demux 130 and Mux/Demux 150 and explains these two elements can be dense wavelength-division multiplexing (DWDM) multiplexers. Applicant argues that the DWDM 130 provides multiplexed data to a first Cir 140 (see, Fig. 1) and a second Cir 145 providing received multiplexed to the DWDM 150 but Honz failed disclose such structure. However, Figure below of Honz, shows TX DWDM (indicated by red arrow on the TX side) multiplexing the data before providing to a circulator and similarly RX DWDM receiving multiplexed data and providing the DWDM (indicated by red arrow on the RX side). Note: as per applicant’s argument Circulator’s are clearly identified below.
In response to argument (Page 12) - Examiner respectfully disagrees with applicant’s argument that the applied prior art, Honz, failed to disclose a first circulator receiving multiplexed classical data from DWDM. The figure above clearly shows that the DWDM on TX side provides multiplexed data to the Circulator. Honz further discloses that data multiplexed by the DWDM can be classical data (Page 3592: Col 1, Para 1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-17, and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Honz et al. ( NPL: First Demonstration of 25λ × 10 Gb/s C+L Band Classical / DV-QKD Co-Existence Over Single Bidirectional Fiber Link/ or “Honz” hereinafter [provided by the applicant]).
Regarding claim 1, Honz discloses “A system, comprising” (Fig. 4: a system for classical and quantum band transmission; and Abstract):
“a first electronic device” (Fig. 4: TX side of the figure) “comprising a first multiplexer/demultiplexer and a first circulator [i.e., a circulator is a non-reciprocal multiport device that routes signals from one port to the next, in a cyclic manner (applicant provided specification, Para 0047)]” (Fig. 4: on the TX side of figure 4 illustrates the course wavelength division multiplexing (CWDM) in combination with the dense wavelength division multiplexing (DWDM) i.e., the “first multiplexer/demultiplexer” are used in multiplexing/demultiplexing. Fig. 4: 10 GbE Switch i.e., a “first circulator” of TX side of figure 4; and Page 3589: Col 2: Para 2: lines 11-21, Circulators are used),
“wherein the first electronic device receives service classical data from a first service device in a first quantum layer” (Fig. 4: TX side of figure 4 i.e., the “first electronic device” where Synch 161 frame synchronization channel receive classical data),
“key management system classical data from a first key management system device in the first quantum layer” (Fig. 4; and Page 3589, Col 2: Second Paragraph: “The classical communication channel over which the key distillation was implemented is spanned between two Ethernet switches equipped with SFP+ optics capable of operating at 10 Gb/s"),
“and classical data from a classical data layer” (Page 3589, Col 2: Second Paragraph),
“the first multiplexer/demultiplexer multiplexes the service classical data, the key management system classical data, and the classical data into multiplexed classical data onto a common transmission channel” (Fig. 4: CWDM in combination with DWDM combine the signals: Synch., classical communication channel and key destination signa1),
“and the first circulator receives the multiplexed classical data from the common transmission channel at a first port and routes the multiplexed classical data to a fiber optic channel via a second port” (Fig. 4: 10 GbE Switch i.e., a “first circulator” of TX side of figure 4; and Page 3589: Col 2: Para 2: lines 11-21, Circulators are used);
“and a second electronic device comprising a second multiplexer/demultiplexer and a second circulator” ( Fig. 4: on the RX side of figure 4 illustrates the course wavelength division multiplexing (CWDM) in combination with the dense wavelength division multiplexing (DWDM) i.e., the “second multiplexer/demultiplexer” are used in multiplexing/demultiplexing. Fig. 4: 10 GbE Switch i.e., a “second circulator” of RX side of figure 4; and Page 3589: Col 2: Para 2: lines 11-21, Circulators are used),
“wherein the second circulator receives the multiplexed classical data from the fiber optic channel on a second port, and routes the multiplexed classical data to the second multiplexer/demultiplexer on a third port” (Fig. 4: 10 GbE Switch i.e., a “second circulator” of RX side of figure 4; and Page 3589: Col 2: Para 2: lines 11-21, Circulators are used),
“and the second multiplexer/demultiplexer demultiplexes the multiplexed classical data into the service classical data, the key management system classical data, and the classical data, and outputs the service classical data, the key management system classical data, and the classical data to a second quantum layer” (Fig. 4: Synch., classical communication channel and key destination signal; synch and key destination signal are forwarded to quantum receiver representing the quantum layer).
Regarding claim 2, in view of claim 1, Honz discloses “A further comprising a quantum channel that receives quantum key distribution data from the first quantum layer and communicates the quantum key distribution data to the second quantum layer” (Fig" 4: Quantum; see also section III).
Regarding claim 3, in view of claim 1, Honz discloses “further comprising: an optical attenuator that receives the multiplexed classical data, attenuates the multiplexed classical data, and outputs the attenuated multiplexed classical data to the first circulator, wherein the optical attenuator reduces an aggregated power of the multiplexed classical data” (see Fig. 4; wherein the attenuators Aq and A-tx are considered as combined entity; see also page 3590, last column: "After levelling up the signal power, an attenuator (A-tx) is used to control the co-existence power of the classical channels").
Regarding claim 4, in view of claim 3, Honz discloses “further comprising: an amplifier that receives the attenuated multiplexed classical data from the second circulator, amplifies the attenuated multiplexed classical data, and outputs the amplified multiplexed classical data to the second multiplexer/demultiplexer, wherein the amplifier increases the aggregated power of the multiplexed classical data” (Page 3589, Col 2: last paragraph: "After this initial filtering, the downstream signals are boosted"; see also Fig. 4: Booster EDFAs).
Regarding claim 5, in view of claim 4, Honz discloses “wherein the amplifier comprises an Erbium-doped fiber amplifier” (Page 3589, Col 2: last paragraph: “After this initial filtering, the downstream signals are boosted"; see also Fig. 4: Booster EDFAs).
Regarding claim 6, in view of claim 3, Honz discloses “further comprising a first filter and a second filter, the first filter receiving the attenuated multiplexed classical data and quantum key distribution data from the first quantum layer and passing the attenuated multiplexed classical data and the quantum key distribution data, and the second filter receiving the attenuated multiplexed classical data and the quantum key distribution data, filtering the quantum key distribution data, passing the filtered quantum key distribution data to the second quantum layer, and outputting the attenuated multiplexed classical data to the second circulator” (see Fig. 4; and Page 3589, Col 2: Second paragraph).
Regarding claim 7, in view of claim 6, Honz discloses “wherein the first filter and the second filter are centered on a frequency of a quantum channel” (see Fig. 4; and Page 3589, Col 2: Second paragraph).
Regarding claim 8, claim 8 is directed to a method corresponding to the system recited in claim 1. Claim 8 is similar in scope to claim 1, and is therefore, rejected under similar rationale.
Regarding claim 9, claim 9 is directed to a method corresponding to the system recited in claim 2. Claim 9 is similar in scope to claim 2, and is therefore, rejected under similar rationale.
Regarding claim 10, claim 10 is directed to a method corresponding to the system recited in claim 3. Claim 10 is similar in scope to claim 3, and is therefore, rejected under similar rationale.
Regarding claim 11, claim 11 is directed to a method corresponding to the system recited in claim 4. Claim 11 is similar in scope to claim 4, and is therefore, rejected under similar rationale.
Regarding claim 12, claim 12 is directed to a method corresponding to the system recited in claim 5. Claim 12 is similar in scope to claim 5, and is therefore, rejected under similar rationale.
Regarding claim 13, claim 13 is directed to a method corresponding to the system recited in claim 6. Claim 13 is similar in scope to claim 6, and is therefore, rejected under similar rationale.
Regarding claim 14, claim 14 is directed to a method corresponding to the system recited in claim 7. Claim 14 is similar in scope to claim 7, and is therefore, rejected under similar rationale.
Regarding claim 15, claim 15 is directed to a device corresponding to the system recited in claim 1. Claim 15 is similar in scope to claim 1, and is therefore, rejected under similar rationale.
Regarding claim 16, in view of claim 15, Honz discloses “further comprising: a receiving input interface that is configured to receive multiplexed classical data and to route the multiplexed classical data to the second port of the circulator; and a receiving output interface that is configured to receive demultiplexed classical data from the multiplexer/demultiplexer and to output the demultiplexed classical data” (Fig. 4: 10 GbE Switch i.e., a “second circulator” of RX side of figure 4; and Page 3589: Col 2: Para 2: lines 11-21, Circulators are used).
Regarding claim 17, claim 17 is directed to a device corresponding to the system recited in claim 3. Claim 17 is similar in scope to claim 3, and is therefore, rejected under similar rationale.
Regarding claim 19, in view of claim 17, Honz discloses “further comprising: a filter that is configured to receive the attenuated multiplexed classical data and quantum key distribution data from the first quantum layer and to pass the attenuated multiplexed classical data and the quantum key distribution data to the receiving output interface” (see Fig. 4; and Page 3589, Col 2: Second paragraph).
Regarding claim 20, in view of claim 19, Honz discloses “wherein the filter is further configured to receive multiplexed classical data and the quantum key distribution data, to filter the quantum key distribution data, to pass the filtered quantum key distribution data, and to output the attenuated multiplexed classical data to a second circulator” (see Fig. 4; and Page 3589, Col 2: Second paragraph).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Honz in view of Dmitrievich et al. (RU 2796653 C1/ or “Dmitrievich” hereinafter).
Regarding claim 18, in view of claim 17, Honz discloses "After levelling up the signal power, an attenuator (A-tx) is used to control the co-existence power of the classical channels" (Page 3590, last column).
But Henz fails to specially disclose “…amplify the attenuated multiplexed classical data, wherein the amplifier increases the aggregated power of the multiplexed classical data…”
However, Dmitrievich discloses “further comprising: an amplifier that is configured to receive the attenuated multiplexed classical data from a second circulator, to amplify the attenuated multiplexed classical data, wherein the amplifier increases the aggregated power of the multiplexed classical data, and to output the amplified multiplexed classical data to a second multiplexer/demultiplexer” (Dmitrievich, Page 5: Para 1).
It would have been obvious to an ordinary person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ the teachings of “…amplify the attenuated multiplexed classical data, wherein the amplifier increases the aggregated power of the multiplexed classical data…” of Dmitrievich in the system of Henz to “… reduces the effect of noise during the joint propagation of a quantum and classical signal…” and the ordinary person skilled in the art would have been motivated to combine “…which leads to a decrease in the influence of nonlinear effects on the joint propagation of classical and quantum signals and, as a result, to an increase in the throughput of the quantum channel” (Dmitrievich, Page 5: Para 1).
Relevant Prior Arts
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Ran et al. (CN 209170378 U) discloses “…an attenuator, a first DWDM, second DWDM filter and optical isolator quantum ALICE, the first DWDM, second DWDM optical isolator, filter and quantum BOB are orderly connected through optical fibre; and the quantum signal transmitted by the quantum ALICE connected through the first DWDM transmitted to the second DWDM BOB connected with the quantum, and eliminating the backward Raman scattering light passing through the isolator, then filtering and channel crosstalk through the filter, then sending to the quantum BOB, the key generation rate, the first DWDM and second DWDM classical are connected with signal receiving and transmitting device, classical signal after its transmission through the attenuator to reduce transmit power, to the second or the first DWDM connected with it through the first or the second DWDM, and received by classical signal transceiver device are correspondingly connected….” (Abstract).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a). A shortened statutory period for reply to this final action is set to expire THREE MONTHS from the mailing date of this action. In the event a first reply is filed within TWO MONTHS of the mailing date of this final action and the advisory action is not mailed until after the end of the THREE-MONTH shortened statutory period, then the shortened statutory period will expire on the date the advisory action is mailed, and any extension fee pursuant to 37 CFR 1.136(a) will be calculated from the mailing date of the advisory action. In no event, however, will the statutory period for reply expire later than SIX MONTHS from the mailing date of this final action.
Contact Information
/ABDULLAH ALMAMUN/Examiner, Art Unit 2431
/LYNN D FEILD/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2431