DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because the unlabeled rectangular boxes shown in the drawings (Figures 1 and 2) should be provided with descriptive text labels. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lui et al. (U.S. Patent Number 9,959,439), Stanford et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication Number 2022/0242190), and Kim et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication Number 2012/0139337).
Regarding Claim 1, Lui discloses a system comprising:
a plurality of switches (Figure 2, items 222, 230A, and 230B, Column 6, lines 25-32; i.e., the sensors may instead be switches), wherein each of the plurality of switches is configured to transmit a signal (Figure 2, item 250) in response to being triggered (Column 7, lines 50-58; i.e., each of the various switches/sensors 222, 230A, and 230B may transmit the activation signal 250 in response to being triggered); and
radio frequency identification (RFID) trigger circuitry, wherein the RFID trigger circuitry is configured to receive one or more signals from one or more of the plurality of switches, wherein the RFID trigger circuitry is configured to activate or deactivate a RFID reader (Figure 2, item 210) based at least in part on the one or more signals received from one or more of the plurality of switches (Column 7, lines 50-58 and Column 11, lines 45-58; i.e., the RFID reader 210 contains trigger circuitry that activates or deactivates the RFID reader based on whether it receives the activation signal 250 from the switches/sensors 222, 230A, and 230B).
Lui does not expressly disclose wherein each of the plurality of switches comprises an energy harvesting component and a switch controller, wherein a first switch of the plurality of switches is fixed to an ignition switch of a vehicle, a second switch of the plurality of switches is fixed to a brake pedal of the vehicle, and a third switch of the plurality of switches is fixed to an accelerator pedal of the vehicle.
In the same field of endeavor (e.g., vehicle detection techniques), Stanford teaches wherein each of the plurality of switches (paragraph 0294) comprises an energy harvesting component (Figure 20, item 306, paragraph 0276) and a switch controller (Figure 20, item 309, paragraphs 0302 and 0305; i.e., although the reference does not explicitly state that the switch 301 includes a controller, the transmitter 309 can transmit using one of a variety of protocols such as Bluetooth, WiFi, BLE, etc.; this would indicate that a controller is present in order for it to be able to perform essential protocol functions such as data formatting, timing, connection management, and collision handling); and
a second switch of the plurality of switches is fixed to a brake pedal of the vehicle (paragraph 0293), and a third switch of the plurality of switches is fixed to an accelerator pedal of the vehicle (paragraphs 0293 and 0296; i.e., the switches 301 may be mounted on control pedals of the vehicle; though not explicitly stated in the reference, an accelerator pedal is a well known control pedal of a vehicle and therefore, a third switch would be fixed to the accelerator pedal).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined Stanford’s teachings of vehicle detection techniques with the teachings of Lui, for the purpose of being able to power the switches for an indefinite amount of time without required any type of recharge, battery change, etc. (see Stanford, paragraph 0303).
Also in the same field of endeavor (e.g., vehicle detection techniques), Kim teaches wherein a first switch (Figure 1, item 14) of the plurality of switches (Figure 1, items 14, 26, and 28) is fixed to an ignition switch (Figure 1, item 12) of a vehicle (paragraph 0026).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined Kim’s teachings of vehicle detection techniques with the teachings of Lui, for the purpose of providing another mechanism for determining when to activate the RFID reader. More specifically, by incorporating one of the detection switches in a vehicle (Lui discloses a forklift may be used - see Column 5, lines 40-41) the RFID reader would be able to detect when it should be activated so that the various RFID tags can be read in a way that the RFID readers can be placed in areas other than only near doors as is described in Lui.
Regarding Claim 2, Stanford teaches wherein the vehicle is an electric vehicle (paragraph 0075; i.e., an electric bike).
Regarding Claim 3, Lui discloses wherein the RFID trigger circuitry comprises a receiving component (Column 6, lines 46-47; i.e., the RFID reader 210 may include antennas for receiving the activation signal 250) and a RFID trigger circuitry controller (Column 7, lines 50-58; i.e., the RFID reader 210 includes a component [the claimed “RFID trigger circuitry controller”] that actually causes the RFID reader 210 to become activated in response to receiving the activation signal 250 at the antennas).
Regarding Claim 4, Lui discloses wherein the receiving component is configured to receive one or more signals from one or more of the plurality of switches, wherein, in response to receiving one or more signals from the plurality of switches, the receiving component is configured to wake up the RFID trigger circuitry controller from a power saving mode (Column 11, lines 45-58; i.e., the RFID reader may be off and then awoken to read the RFID tag).
Regarding Claim 5, Lui discloses wherein, in response to receiving a signal from the first switch and the second switch (e.g., Figure 2, items 222 and 230A), the RFID trigger circuitry is configured to activate the RFID reader by causing the RFID reader to enter an idle mode (Column 2, lines 48-50).
Regarding Claim 6, Lui discloses wherein, in response to receiving a signal from the first switch, the second switch, and the third switch (Figure 2, items 222, 230A, and 230B), the RFID trigger circuitry is configured to activate the RFID reader by causing the RFID reader to enter an active mode (Column 7, lines 50-58; i.e., each of the various switches/sensors 222, 230A, and 230B may transmit the activation signal 250 in response to being triggered to cause the RFID reader to enter an active mode).
Regarding Claim 7, Lui discloses wherein, in response to receiving a signal from the first switch and the second switch, the RFID trigger circuitry is configured to deactivate the RFID reader by causing the RFID reader to enter a power saving mode (Column 11, lines 19-29; i.e., a signal is received from the switches [in this embodiment, the switches transmit their signals to a “computer system” which in turn sends the activation signal to the RFID reader]; if a predetermined condition is not met, the RFID reader is not activated or is entered into a power saving mode [see Column 13, lines 41-42]).
Regarding Claim 8, Lui discloses wherein, in response to receiving a signal from the first switch, the second switch, and the third switch, the RFID trigger circuitry is configured to deactivate the RFID reader by causing the RFID reader to enter a power saving mode (Column 11, lines 19-29; i.e., a signal is received from the switches [in this embodiment, the switches transmit their signals to a “computer system” which in turn sends the activation signal to the RFID reader]; if a predetermined condition is not met, the RFID reader is not activated or is entered into a power saving mode [see Column 13, lines 41-42]).
Regarding Claim 9, Lui discloses wherein each of the plurality of switches is configured to transmit a signal in response to being triggered for a first time period (Column 6, lines 54-59; i.e., the various sensors/switches will trigger the activation signal 250 immediately [the “first time period”] upon detecting a change in status).
Regarding Claim 10, Stanford teaches wherein each energy harvesting component comprises a piezoelectric sensor (Figure 20, item 306, paragraph 0276; i.e., although the reference does not explicitly disclose a piezoelectric sensor, an energy harvesting component may be used; piezoelectric sensor are well known in the art to be a type of energy harvesting component and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have used one for the purpose of providing a solid-state design that would lead to extreme durability, environmental sealing, and no contact bounce).
Regarding Claim 11, Lui discloses a method comprising:
receiving one or more signals (Figure 2, item 250) from one or more of a plurality of switches (Figure 2, items 222, 230A, and 230B, Column 6, lines 25-32; i.e., the sensors may instead be switches), wherein each of the plurality of switches is configured to transmit a signal in response to being triggered (Column 7, lines 50-58; i.e., each of the various switches/sensors 222, 230A, and 230B may transmit the activation signal 250 in response to being triggered); and
causing a radio frequency identification (RFID) reader (Figure 2, item 210) to be activated or deactivated based at least in part on the one or more signals received from one or more of the plurality of switches (Column 7, lines 50-58 and Column 11, lines 45-58; i.e., the RFID reader 210 is activated or deactivated based on whether it receives the activation signal 250 from the switches/sensors 222, 230A, and 230B).
Lui does not expressly disclose wherein each of the plurality of switches comprises an energy harvesting component and a switch controller; and
wherein a first switch of the plurality of switches is fixed to an ignition switch of a vehicle, a second switch of the plurality of switches is fixed to a brake pedal of the vehicle, and a third switch of the plurality of switches is fixed to an accelerator pedal of the vehicle.
In the same field of endeavor, Stanford teaches wherein each of the plurality of switches (paragraph 0294) comprises an energy harvesting component (Figure 20, item 306, paragraph 0276) and a switch controller (Figure 20, item 309, paragraphs 0302 and 0305; i.e., although the reference does not explicitly state that the switch 301 includes a controller, the transmitter 309 can transmit using one of a variety of protocols such as Bluetooth, WiFi, BLE, etc.; this would indicate that a controller is present in order for it to be able to perform essential protocol functions such as data formatting, timing, connection management, and collision handling); and
a second switch of the plurality of switches is fixed to a brake pedal of the vehicle (paragraph 0293), and a third switch of the plurality of switches is fixed to an accelerator pedal of the vehicle (paragraphs 0293 and 0296; i.e., the switches 301 may be mounted on control pedals of the vehicle; though not explicitly stated in the reference, an accelerator pedal is a well known control pedal of a vehicle and therefore, a third switch would be fixed to the accelerator pedal).
Also in the same field of endeavor, Kim teaches wherein a first switch (Figure 1, item 14) of the plurality of switches (Figure 1, items 14, 26, and 28) is fixed to an ignition switch (Figure 1, item 12) of a vehicle (paragraph 0026).
The motivation discussed above with regards to Claim 1 applies equally as well to Claim 11.
Regarding Claim 12, Stanford teaches wherein the vehicle is an electric vehicle (paragraph 0075; i.e., an electric bike).
Regarding Claim 13, Lui discloses in response to receiving a signal from the first switch and the second switch (e.g., Figure 2, items 222 and 230A), activating the RFID reader by causing the RFID reader to enter an idle mode (Column 2, lines 48-50).
Regarding Claim 14, Lui discloses in response to receiving a signal from the first switch, the second switch, and the third switch (Figure 2, items 222, 230A, and 230B), activating the RFID reader by causing the RFID reader to enter an active mode (Column 7, lines 50-58; i.e., each of the various switches/sensors 222, 230A, and 230B may transmit the activation signal 250 in response to being triggered to cause the RFID reader to enter an active mode).
Regarding Claim 15, Lui discloses in response to receiving a signal from the first switch and the second switch, deactivating the RFID reader by causing the RFID reader to enter a power saving mode (Column 11, lines 19-29; i.e., a signal is received from the switches [in this embodiment, the switches transmit their signals to a “computer system” which in turn sends the activation signal to the RFID reader]; if a predetermined condition is not met, the RFID reader is not activated or is entered into a power saving mode [see Column 13, lines 41-42]).
Regarding Claim 16, Lui discloses in response to receiving a signal from the first switch, the second switch, and the third switch, deactivating the RFID reader by causing the RFID reader to enter a power saving mode (Column 11, lines 19-29; i.e., a signal is received from the switches [in this embodiment, the switches transmit their signals to a “computer system” which in turn sends the activation signal to the RFID reader]; if a predetermined condition is not met, the RFID reader is not activated or is entered into a power saving mode [see Column 13, lines 41-42]).
Regarding Claim 17, Lui discloses wherein each of the plurality of switches is configured to transmit a signal in response to being triggered for a first time period (Column 6, lines 54-59; i.e., the various sensors/switches will trigger the activation signal 250 immediately [the “first time period”] upon detecting a change in status).
Regarding Claim 18, Stanford teaches wherein each energy harvesting component comprises a piezoelectric sensor (Figure 20, item 306, paragraph 0276; i.e., although the reference does not explicitly disclose a piezoelectric sensor, an energy harvesting component may be used; piezoelectric sensor are well known in the art to be a type of energy harvesting component and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have used one for the purpose of providing a solid-state design that would lead to extreme durability, environmental sealing, and no contact bounce).
Regarding Claim 19, Lui discloses a computer program product comprising at least one non-transitory computer-readable storage medium having computer program code stored thereon that, in execution with at least one processor (Column 10, lines 43-47), configures the computer program product for:
receiving one or more signals (Figure 2, item 250) from one or more of a plurality of switches (Figure 2, items 222, 230A, and 230B, Column 6, lines 25-32; i.e., the sensors may instead be switches), wherein each of the plurality of switches is configured to transmit a signal in response to being triggered (Column 7, lines 50-58; i.e., each of the various switches/sensors 222, 230A, and 230B may transmit the activation signal 250 in response to being triggered); and
causing a radio frequency identification (RFID) reader (Figure 2, item 210) to be activated or deactivated based at least in part on the one or more signals received from one or more of the plurality of switches (Column 7, lines 50-58 and Column 11, lines 45-58; i.e., the RFID reader 210 is activated or deactivated based on whether it receives the activation signal 250 from the switches/sensors 222, 230A, and 230B).
Lui does not expressly disclose wherein each of the plurality of switches comprises an energy harvesting component and a switch controller; and
wherein a first switch of the plurality of switches is fixed to an ignition switch of a vehicle, a second switch of the plurality of switches is fixed to a brake pedal of the vehicle, and a third switch of the plurality of switches is fixed to an accelerator pedal of the vehicle.
In the same field of endeavor, Stanford teaches wherein each of the plurality of switches (paragraph 0294) comprises an energy harvesting component (Figure 20, item 306, paragraph 0276) and a switch controller (Figure 20, item 309, paragraphs 0302 and 0305; i.e., although the reference does not explicitly state that the switch 301 includes a controller, the transmitter 309 can transmit using one of a variety of protocols such as Bluetooth, WiFi, BLE, etc.; this would indicate that a controller is present in order for it to be able to perform essential protocol functions such as data formatting, timing, connection management, and collision handling); and
a second switch of the plurality of switches is fixed to a brake pedal of the vehicle (paragraph 0293), and a third switch of the plurality of switches is fixed to an accelerator pedal of the vehicle (paragraphs 0293 and 0296; i.e., the switches 301 may be mounted on control pedals of the vehicle; though not explicitly stated in the reference, an accelerator pedal is a well known control pedal of a vehicle and therefore, a third switch would be fixed to the accelerator pedal).
Also in the same field of endeavor, Kim teaches wherein a first switch (Figure 1, item 14) of the plurality of switches (Figure 1, items 14, 26, and 28) is fixed to an ignition switch (Figure 1, item 12) of a vehicle (paragraph 0026).
The motivation discussed above with regards to Claim 1 applies equally as well to Claim 19.
Regarding Claim 20, Stanford teaches wherein the vehicle is an electric vehicle (paragraph 0075; i.e., an electric bike).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure because each reference discloses a system for triggering an RFID reader based on signals received from switches in a vehicle.
/FAISAL M ZAMAN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2175