DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: in lines 12-13, replace “an radio frequency identification (RFID) trigger circuitry is configured to” with --a radio frequency identification (RFID) trigger circuitry that is configured to--. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 7-13, and 15-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lui et al. (U.S. Patent Number 9,959,439), Stanford et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication Number 2022/0242190), and Kim et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication Number 2012/0139337).
Regarding Claim 1, Lui discloses a system comprising:
a plurality of switches (Figure 2, items 222, 230A, and 230B, Column 6, lines 25-32; i.e., the sensors may instead be switches), wherein each of the plurality of switches is configured to transmit a signal in response to being triggered (Column 4, lines 29-41 and Column 7, lines 50-58; i.e., each switch transmits a signal to the computer system 130); and
a radio frequency identification (RFID) trigger circuitry (Figure 1, item 130, Column 4, lines 22-41; i.e., a computer system such as back-end system 130 or the “computer system” described with respect to Figure 3 [see Column 11, lines 45-58]) that is configured to:
receive signals from the first switch (Figure 2, item 222), the second switch (Figure 2, item 230A), and the third switch (Figure 2, item 230B) of the plurality of switches (Column 7, lines 45-58, Column 11, lines 14-16 and 30-33; i.e., the computer system [equivalent to the claimed “RFID trigger circuitry”] receives signals from the three switches 222, 230A, and 230B in order to determine when to send the activation signal 132/250 [Figures 1 and 2] to the RFID reader 110/210); and
activate an RFID reader (Figure 2, item 210), in response to receiving the signals from the first switch, the second switch, and the third switch of the plurality of switches, by causing the RFID reader to enter an active mode (Column 4, lines 29-41, Column 5, lines 48-55, Column 7, lines 45-58, and Column 11, lines 1-58; i.e., the computer system 130 activates the RFID reader 110/210 [e.g., by switching it from an idle state to an activated state] in response to receiving signals from each of the switches 220, 230A, and 230B).
Lui does not expressly disclose wherein each of the plurality of switches comprises an energy harvesting component and a switch controller, wherein a first switch of the plurality of switches is fixed to an ignition switch of a vehicle, a second switch of the plurality of switches is fixed to a brake pedal of the vehicle, and a third switch of the plurality of switches is fixed to an accelerator pedal of the vehicle.
In the same field of endeavor (e.g., vehicle detection techniques), Stanford teaches wherein each of the plurality of switches (Figure 20, item 301, paragraph 0294) comprises an energy harvesting component (Figure 20, item 306, paragraph 0276) and a switch controller (Figure 20, item 309, paragraphs 0302 and 0305; i.e., transmitters that implement protocols such as Bluetooth, WiFi, and BLE such as transmitter 309 are well known in the art to comprise controllers that perform essential protocol functions such as data formatting, timing, connection management, and collision handling); and
a second switch of the plurality of switches is fixed to a brake pedal of the vehicle (paragraph 0293), and a third switch of the plurality of switches is fixed to an accelerator pedal of the vehicle (paragraphs 0293 and 0296; i.e., the switches 301 may be mounted on “control pedals” of the vehicle; an accelerator pedal is well known in the art to be a control pedal of a vehicle).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined Stanford’s teachings of vehicle detection techniques with the teachings of Lui, for the purpose of being able to power the switches for an indefinite amount of time without required any type of recharge, battery change, etc. (see Stanford, paragraph 0303).
Also in the same field of endeavor (e.g., vehicle detection techniques), Kim teaches wherein a first switch (Figure 1, item 14) of the plurality of switches (Figure 1, items 14, 26, and 28) is fixed to an ignition switch (Figure 1, item 12) of a vehicle (paragraph 0026).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined Kim’s teachings of vehicle detection techniques with the teachings of Lui, for the purpose of providing another mechanism for determining when to activate the RFID reader. More specifically, by incorporating one of the detection switches in a vehicle (Lui discloses a forklift may be used - see Column 5, lines 40-41) the RFID reader would be able to detect when it should be activated so that the various RFID tags can be read in a way that the RFID readers can be placed in areas other than only near doors as is described in Lui.
Regarding Claim 2, Stanford teaches wherein the vehicle is an electric vehicle (paragraph 0075; i.e., an electric bike).
Regarding Claim 3, Lui discloses wherein the RFID trigger circuitry comprises a receiving component (Column 6, lines 46-47; i.e., the RFID reader 210 may include antennas for receiving the activation signal 250) and a RFID trigger circuitry controller (Column 7, lines 50-58; i.e., the RFID reader 210 includes a component [the claimed “RFID trigger circuitry controller”] that actually causes the RFID reader 210 to become activated in response to receiving the activation signal 250 at the antennas).
Regarding Claim 4, Lui discloses wherein the receiving component is configured to receive one or more signals from one or more of the plurality of switches, wherein, in response to receiving one or more signals from the plurality of switches, the receiving component is configured to wake up the RFID trigger circuitry controller from a power saving mode (Column 11, lines 45-58; i.e., the RFID reader may be off and then awoken to read the RFID tag).
Regarding Claim 5, Lui discloses wherein, in response to receiving a signal from the first switch and the second switch (e.g., Figure 2, items 222 and 230A), the RFID trigger circuitry is configured to activate the RFID reader by causing the RFID reader to enter an idle mode (Column 2, lines 48-50).
Regarding Claim 7, Lui discloses wherein, in response to receiving a signal from the first switch and the second switch, the RFID trigger circuitry is configured to deactivate the RFID reader by causing the RFID reader to enter a power saving mode (Column 11, lines 19-29; i.e., a signal is received from the switches [in this embodiment, the switches transmit their signals to a “computer system” which in turn sends the activation signal to the RFID reader]; if a predetermined condition is not met, the RFID reader is not activated or is entered into a power saving mode [see Column 13, lines 41-42]).
Regarding Claim 8, Lui discloses wherein, in response to receiving a signal from the first switch, the second switch, and the third switch, the RFID trigger circuitry is configured to deactivate the RFID reader by causing the RFID reader to enter a power saving mode (Column 11, lines 19-29; i.e., a signal is received from the switches [in this embodiment, the switches transmit their signals to a “computer system” which in turn sends the activation signal to the RFID reader]; if a predetermined condition is not met, the RFID reader is not activated or is entered into a power saving mode [see Column 13, lines 41-42]).
Regarding Claim 9, Lui discloses wherein each of the plurality of switches is configured to transmit a signal in response to being triggered for a first time period (Column 6, lines 54-59; i.e., the various sensors/switches will trigger the activation signal 250 immediately [the “first time period”] upon detecting a change in status).
Regarding Claim 10, Stanford teaches wherein each energy harvesting component comprises a piezoelectric sensor (Figure 20, item 306, paragraph 0276; i.e., although the reference does not explicitly disclose a piezoelectric sensor, an energy harvesting component may be used; piezoelectric sensor are well known in the art to be a type of energy harvesting component and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have used one for the purpose of providing a solid-state design that would lead to extreme durability, environmental sealing, and no contact bounce).
Regarding Claim 11, Lui discloses a method comprising:
receiving signals (Figure 2, item 250) from one or more of a plurality of switches (Figure 2, items 222, 230A, and 230B, Column 6, lines 25-32; i.e., the sensors may instead be switches), wherein each of the plurality of switches is configured to transmit a signal in response to being triggered (Column 4, lines 29-41 and Column 7, lines 50-58; i.e., each switch transmits a signal to the computer system 130); and
activating an RFID reader (Figure 2, item 210), in response to receiving signals from the first switch, the second switch, and the third switch of the plurality of switches by causing the RFID reader to enter an active mode (Column 4, lines 29-41, Column 5, lines 48-55, Column 7, lines 45-58, and Column 11, lines 1-58; i.e., the computer system 130 activates the RFID reader 110/210 [e.g., by switching it from an idle state to an activated state] in response to receiving signals from each of the switches 220, 230A, and 230B).
Lui does not expressly disclose wherein each of the plurality of switches comprises an energy harvesting component and a switch controller; and
wherein a first switch of the plurality of switches is fixed to an ignition switch of a vehicle, a second switch of the plurality of switches is fixed to a brake pedal of the vehicle, and a third switch of the plurality of switches is fixed to an accelerator pedal of the vehicle.
In the same field of endeavor, Stanford teaches wherein each of the plurality of switches (Figure 20, item 301, paragraph 0294) comprises an energy harvesting component (Figure 20, item 306, paragraph 0276) and a switch controller (Figure 20, item 309, paragraphs 0302 and 0305; i.e., transmitters that implement protocols such as Bluetooth, WiFi, and BLE such as transmitter 309 are well known in the art to comprise controllers that perform essential protocol functions such as data formatting, timing, connection management, and collision handling); and
a second switch of the plurality of switches is fixed to a brake pedal of the vehicle (paragraph 0293), and a third switch of the plurality of switches is fixed to an accelerator pedal of the vehicle (paragraphs 0293 and 0296; i.e., the switches 301 may be mounted on “control pedals” of the vehicle; an accelerator pedal is well known in the art to be a control pedal of a vehicle).
Also in the same field of endeavor, Kim teaches wherein a first switch (Figure 1, item 14) of the plurality of switches (Figure 1, items 14, 26, and 28) is fixed to an ignition switch (Figure 1, item 12) of a vehicle (paragraph 0026).
The motivation discussed above with regards to Claim 1 applies equally as well to Claim 11.
Regarding Claim 12, Stanford teaches wherein the vehicle is an electric vehicle (paragraph 0075; i.e., an electric bike).
Regarding Claim 13, Lui discloses in response to receiving a signal from the first switch and the second switch (e.g., Figure 2, items 222 and 230A), activating the RFID reader by causing the RFID reader to enter an idle mode (Column 2, lines 48-50).
Regarding Claim 15, Lui discloses in response to receiving a signal from the first switch and the second switch, deactivating the RFID reader by causing the RFID reader to enter a power saving mode (Column 11, lines 19-29; i.e., a signal is received from the switches [in this embodiment, the switches transmit their signals to a “computer system” which in turn sends the activation signal to the RFID reader]; if a predetermined condition is not met, the RFID reader is not activated or is entered into a power saving mode [see Column 13, lines 41-42]).
Regarding Claim 16, Lui discloses in response to receiving a signal from the first switch, the second switch, and the third switch, deactivating the RFID reader by causing the RFID reader to enter a power saving mode (Column 11, lines 19-29; i.e., a signal is received from the switches [in this embodiment, the switches transmit their signals to a “computer system” which in turn sends the activation signal to the RFID reader]; if a predetermined condition is not met, the RFID reader is not activated or is entered into a power saving mode [see Column 13, lines 41-42]).
Regarding Claim 17, Lui discloses wherein each of the plurality of switches is configured to transmit a signal in response to being triggered for a first time period (Column 6, lines 54-59; i.e., the various sensors/switches will trigger the activation signal 250 immediately [the “first time period”] upon detecting a change in status).
Regarding Claim 18, Stanford teaches wherein each energy harvesting component comprises a piezoelectric sensor (Figure 20, item 306, paragraph 0276; i.e., although the reference does not explicitly disclose a piezoelectric sensor, an energy harvesting component may be used; piezoelectric sensor are well known in the art to be a type of energy harvesting component and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have used one for the purpose of providing a solid-state design that would lead to extreme durability, environmental sealing, and no contact bounce).
Regarding Claim 19, Lui discloses a computer program product comprising at least one non-transitory computer-readable storage medium having computer program code stored thereon that, in execution with at least one processor (Column 10, lines 43-47), configures the computer program product for:
receiving signals (Figure 2, item 250) from one or more of a plurality of switches (Figure 2, items 222, 230A, and 230B, Column 6, lines 25-32; i.e., the sensors may instead be switches), wherein each of the plurality of switches is configured to transmit a signal in response to being triggered (Column 4, lines 29-41 and Column 7, lines 50-58; i.e., each switch transmits a signal to the computer system 130); and
activating an RFID reader (Figure 2, item 210), in response to receiving signals from the first switch, the second switch, and the third switch of the plurality of switches by causing the RFID reader to enter an active mode (Column 4, lines 29-41, Column 5, lines 48-55, Column 7, lines 45-58, and Column 11, lines 1-58; i.e., the computer system 130 activates the RFID reader 110/210 [e.g., by switching it from an idle state to an activated state] in response to receiving signals from each of the switches 220, 230A, and 230B).
Lui does not expressly disclose wherein each of the plurality of switches comprises an energy harvesting component and a switch controller; and
wherein a first switch of the plurality of switches is fixed to an ignition switch of a vehicle, a second switch of the plurality of switches is fixed to a brake pedal of the vehicle, and a third switch of the plurality of switches is fixed to an accelerator pedal of the vehicle.
In the same field of endeavor, Stanford teaches wherein each of the plurality of switches (Figure 20, item 301, paragraph 0294) comprises an energy harvesting component (Figure 20, item 306, paragraph 0276) and a switch controller (Figure 20, item 309, paragraphs 0302 and 0305; i.e., transmitters that implement protocols such as Bluetooth, WiFi, and BLE such as transmitter 309 are well known in the art to comprise controllers that perform essential protocol functions such as data formatting, timing, connection management, and collision handling); and
a second switch of the plurality of switches is fixed to a brake pedal of the vehicle (paragraph 0293), and a third switch of the plurality of switches is fixed to an accelerator pedal of the vehicle (paragraphs 0293 and 0296; i.e., the switches 301 may be mounted on “control pedals” of the vehicle; an accelerator pedal is well known in the art to be a control pedal of a vehicle).
Also in the same field of endeavor, Kim teaches wherein a first switch (Figure 1, item 14) of the plurality of switches (Figure 1, items 14, 26, and 28) is fixed to an ignition switch (Figure 1, item 12) of a vehicle (paragraph 0026).
The motivation discussed above with regards to Claim 1 applies equally as well to Claim 19.
Regarding Claim 20, Stanford teaches wherein the vehicle is an electric vehicle (paragraph 0075; i.e., an electric bike).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure because each reference discloses a system for triggering an RFID reader based on signals received from switches in a vehicle.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 6/15/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding Claim 1, Applicant argues “Lui at best discloses that an RFID reader is activated based on the status of a door (such as open or shut) and the motion of a pallet measured by photoelectric sensors. Lui nowhere describes that an RFID reader is activated based on the actuation of an ignition switch, a brake pedal switch, and an accelerator pedal switch in a vehicle. Rather, in Lui, activation of the RFID reader is limited to the status of a door and the movement of a pallet within a storage facility.” Response, page 8. The examiner disagrees. Lui discloses “a radio frequency identification (RFID) trigger circuitry that is configured to: receive signals from the first switch, the second switch, and the third switch of the plurality of switches; and activate an RFID reader, in response to receiving the signals from the first switch, the second switch, and the third switch of the plurality of switches, by causing the RFID reader to enter an active mode” as required by the claim. Specifically, Lui discloses that a computer system 130 (equivalent to the claimed “RFID trigger circuitry”) activates a RFID reader 110/210 (e.g., by switching it from an idle state to an activated state) in response to receiving signals from each of the switches 220, 230A, and 230B. See Lui, Column 4, lines 29-41, Column 5, lines 48-55, Column 7, lines 45-58, and Column 11, lines 1-58. With regards to Applicant’s argument that “Lui nowhere describes that an RFID reader is activated based on the actuation of an ignition switch, a brake pedal switch, and an accelerator pedal switch in a vehicle”, it is noted that the Stanford and Kim reference were used in the § 103 rejection to teach these limitations. Specifically, Stanford was used to teach the brake pedal switch and the accelerator pedal switch, while the Kim reference was used to teach the ignition switch. In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986). The resulting § 103 combination would have an ignition switch, a brake pedal switch, and an accelerator pedal switch as taught by Stanford and Kim in, e.g., the forklift described in Lui (see Column 5, lines 39-45) for activating the RFID reader. Accordingly, Applicant’s argument is not persuasive.
Therefore, the claims stand as previously rejected.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/FAISAL M ZAMAN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2175