2026DETAILED ACTION
Applicant filed a response dated June 12, 2026, in which claims 32-33, 35-37, 40, and 49 have been amended and claims 1-31, 34, 38, 48, and 50-51 have been canceled. Therefore, claims 32-33, 35-37, 39-40, 46, and 49 are currently pending in the application.
Priority
Application 18/775,774 was filed on July 17, 2024, and claims benefit of CHINA 202310884417.8 July 18, 2023.
Examiner Request
The Applicant is requested to indicate where in the specification there is support for amendments to claims should Applicant amend. The purpose of this is to reduce potential 35 U.S.C. § 112(a) or § 112 1st paragraph issues that can arise when claims are amended without support in the specification. The Examiner thanks the Applicant in advance.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 32-33, 37, 39, and 49 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Herwig, U.S. Patent Application Publication Number 2010/0161434; in view of Lim, WIPO Patent Application Publication Number 2024/228179A2; in view of Kothandaraman, U.S. Patent Application Publication Number 2012/0005074.
As per claim 32,
Herwig explicitly teaches:
A payment method based on near field communication, comprising: sending, by a mobile terminal with a near field communication function, an electromagnetic signal used to trigger a passive NFC tag that is separate from the mobile phone;
(Herwig US20100161434 at paras. 15, 82, 87-92, 101-103) ("[0015] The at least one NFC tag may be located upon a shelf adjacent the product associated with the at least one NFC tag. The at least one NFC tag may be embedded in a price label on the shelf. The at least one NFC tag may be permanently attached to a shelf location and reprogrammed to reflect a product adjacent to the at least one NFC tag, as said product is changed. Alternatively, or additionally, the at least one NFC tag may be affixed to the product with which it is associated." "[0082] In the present embodiment the NFC tag 106 will be described with reference to a passive device with no internal power source in which power for generating an output signal is derived from a signal receive at the antenna." "[0102] Referring now to FIG. 4, a method of self-checkout comprises outputting an interrogation signal from an NFC communication module of a mobile telephone (Step 400). An antenna of an NFC tag receives the interrogation signal (Step 402). The interrogation signal is passed to a tag processor of the NFC tag (Step 404). The tag processor passes product data, related to a product associated with the NFC tag, to the antenna in response to receipt of the interrogation signal (Step 406). The antenna transmits the product data such that the product data is received by the NFC communications module of the mobile telephone (Step 408). The product data is passed to the mobile processor (Step 410). The mobile processor updates a list data structure stored at thereupon, the list data structure representing a list of items purchased by a user of the mobile device in response to receiving the product data. (Step 412).")
obtaining tag information in the passive NFC tag in response to the electromagnetic signal,
(Herwig US20100161434 at paras. 87-92, 101-103) ("[0102] Referring now to FIG. 4, a method of self-checkout comprises outputting an interrogation signal from an NFC communication module of a mobile telephone (Step 400). An antenna of an NFC tag receives the interrogation signal (Step 402). The interrogation signal is passed to a tag processor of the NFC tag (Step 404). The tag processor passes product data, related to a product associated with the NFC tag, to the antenna in response to receipt of the interrogation signal (Step 406). The antenna transmits the product data such that the product data is received by the NFC communications module of the mobile telephone (Step 408). The product data is passed to the mobile processor (Step 410). The mobile processor updates a list data structure stored at thereupon, the list data structure representing a list of items purchased by a user of the mobile device in response to receiving the product data. (Step 412).")
Herwig does not explicitly teach, however, Lim does teach:
wherein the tag information comprises an application identification of a payment application and payment link information;
(Lim WO2024228179A2 at paras. 18, 23-25, 145-147, 151, 163-170, 176-180, 252-254) ("[0018] An example embodiment is a computer-implemented method comprising: receiving, from a Point-Of-Sale (POS) terminal, transaction information corresponding to a transaction and an identification of an electronic wallet payment application of an electronic wallet payment server; sending, to a server, the transaction information and the identification of the electronic wallet payment application; establishing a uniform resource locator (URL) which addresses the server and which identifies a first web resource which activates the electronic wallet payment application, wherein the URL includes a unique transaction identifier that includes: a hash function applied to the transaction information, and/or date information and time information of the transaction, and/or a unique device identifier; generating, via a Near Field Communication (NFC) tag controller, an NFC data exchange format (NDEF) message comprising the URL as a pay load; and emitting, via the NFC tag controller, an NFC signal corresponding to the NDEF message." "[0023] In another example embodiment of any of the above described computer- implemented methods, the account information of the electronic wallet payment application that is associated with the POS terminal includes a Quick Response (QR) code of the electronic wallet payment application that is unique to the POS terminal. [0024] In another example embodiment of any of the above described computer- implemented methods, wherein the URL includes the identification of the electronic wallet payment application. [0025] In another example embodiment of any of the above described computer- implemented methods, the URL is a deep link, wherein, in the URL, the identification of the electronic wallet payment application is nested from the unique transaction identifier." “[0151] In an example of the method 1300, the URL is of the form “www. domain/mobile app/unique transaction identifier”. In an example, the URL includes the mobile application, which is an identification of the electronic wallet payment application. In an example of the URL, the identification of the electronic wallet payment application is nested from the unique transaction identifier.”)
in response to obtaining the tag information, automatically starting, based on the tag information, a payment application in the mobile terminal, without reliance on a pre-set default payment application setting of the mobile terminal; and
(Lim WO2024228179A2 at paras. 18, 23-25, 145-147, 151, 163-170, 176-180, 252-254) ("[0151] In an example of the method 1300, the URL is of the form “www. domain/mobile app/unique transaction identifier”. In an example, the URL includes the mobile application, which is an identification of the electronic wallet payment application. In an example of the URL, the identification of the electronic wallet payment application is nested from the unique transaction identifier." "[0252] In examples, the server 300 may store transaction information corresponding to the address. The server 300 may generate an e-receipt by converting the transaction information into an e-receipt format through an application. The server 300 may display the generated e-receipt on a web page linked to the address. As a result, the user device 400 may display the e-receipt by accessing the web page linked to the address via the user device 400. [0253] In an example, the user device 400 displays the e-receipt through a web page corresponding to the web page URL or an application page. [0254] For example, the user device 400 can operate without having to activate a camera to scan QR code, exchange email address or phone number, or exchange sensitive financial credentials with the server 300. Rather, through the URL the web resource can be loaded as part of the NFC proximity between the user device 400 and the NFC tag controller 2070 to communicate the address and initiate the electronic wallet payment application on the user device 400.")
displaying a payment page based on the started payment application and the payment link information,
(Lim WO2024228179A2 at paras. 252-254) ("[0252] In examples, the server 300 may store transaction information corresponding to the address. The server 300 may generate an e-receipt by converting the transaction information into an e-receipt format through an application. The server 300 may display the generated e-receipt on a web page linked to the address. As a result, the user device 400 may display the e-receipt by accessing the web page linked to the address via the user device 400. [0253] In an example, the user device 400 displays the e-receipt through a web page corresponding to the web page URL or an application page. [0254] For example, the user device 400 can operate without having to activate a camera to scan QR code, exchange email address or phone number, or exchange sensitive financial credentials with the server 300. Rather, through the URL the web resource can be loaded as part of the NFC proximity between the user device 400 and the NFC tag controller 2070 to communicate the address and initiate the electronic wallet payment application on the user device 400.")
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Herwig and Lim, because it allows for improved methods for facilitating payments such as electronic wallet payments using Near Field Communication (NFC). (Lim at Abstract and paras. 3-20).
Herwig and Lim do not explicitly teach, however, Kothandaraman does teach:
wherein the payment page comprises an area used to fill in or select a payment amount.
(Kothandaraman US20120005074 at paras. 28-37) ("[0031] Next, at step 204, the user is presented with a log in page for the payment provider. The page can be opened from a new window (e.g., a pop-up window) or tab, where the window can be a small window overlaying a portion of the original content page. The page may include fields for the user to enter information, such as a password or PIN. The user account name or identifier may be already filled in by the payment provider, or the user may be asked to enter that as well. Other types of information may include the amount of payment." "[0037] FIG. 3C shows a screen shot when the user selects button 320 in FIG. 3B. The screen shot is from a payment provider site (here PayPal) that includes an amount field 322, an update button 324, a user identifier field 326, a password field 328, and a log in button 330. In this example, amount field 322 is empty, which the user fills in; however, in other embodiments, amount field 322 can be automatically filled in, such as with the $25 amount noted in window 316 of FIG. 3B.")
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Herwig, Lim, and Kothandaraman, because it allows for improved systems for payments made from links on an on-line content page. (Kothandaraman at Abstract and paras. 1-10).
As per claim 33,
Herwig and Lim do not explicitly teach, however, Kothandaraman does teach:
wherein the payment page further comprises at least one of an area used to fill in or select a payment amount.
(Kothandaraman US20120005074 at paras. 28-37) ("[0031] Next, at step 204, the user is presented with a log in page for the payment provider. The page can be opened from a new window (e.g., a pop-up window) or tab, where the window can be a small window overlaying a portion of the original content page. The page may include fields for the user to enter information, such as a password or PIN. The user account name or identifier may be already filled in by the payment provider, or the user may be asked to enter that as well. Other types of information may include the amount of payment." "[0037] FIG. 3C shows a screen shot when the user selects button 320 in FIG. 3B. The screen shot is from a payment provider site (here PayPal) that includes an amount field 322, an update button 324, a user identifier field 326, a password field 328, and a log in button 330. In this example, amount field 322 is empty, which the user fills in; however, in other embodiments, amount field 322 can be automatically filled in, such as with the $25 amount noted in window 316 of FIG. 3B.")
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Herwig, Lim, and Kothandaraman, because it allows for improved systems for payments made from links on an on-line content page. (Kothandaraman at Abstract and paras. 1-10).
As per claim 37,
Herwig explicitly teaches:
wherein the NFC tag is located in a carrier comprising a payment code of a first transaction party, or is located in a carrier that does not comprise a payment code of the first transaction party.
(Herwig US20100161434 at paras. 14-16) ("[0015] The at least one NFC tag may be located upon a shelf adjacent the product associated with the at least one NFC tag. The at least one NFC tag may be embedded in a price label on the shelf. The at least one NFC tag may be permanently attached to a shelf location and reprogrammed to reflect a product adjacent to the at least one NFC tag, as said product is changed. Alternatively, or additionally, the at least one NFC tag may be affixed to the product with which it is associated.")
As per claim 39,
Herwig explicitly teaches:
the method comprises: generating a page indicating a transaction result or prompt information.
(Herwig US20100161434 at paras. 87-92, 101-103) ("[0090] In some embodiments, the customer receives a prompt on the screen 112 of the mobile phone 102 to confirm that they wish to purchase the item 150. The prompt may contain pricing information about the item, confirmation usually proceeds via the consumer pressing a key on the keypad 110. If the customer rejects the item no further action is taken, a timeout period may be set where a consumer is presumed to have rejected the item if its purchase is not confirmed within the timeout period. This prevents items being added to the consumer's list when they have merely picked up the item to browse.")
Claim 49 is substantially similar to claim 32, thus, it is rejected on similar grounds.
Claims 35-36 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Herwig, U.S. Patent Application Publication Number 2010/0161434; in view of Lim, WIPO Patent Application Publication Number 2024/228179A2; in view of Kothandaraman, U.S. Patent Application Publication Number 2012/0005074; in view of Rule, U.S. Patent Application Publication Number 2023/0419295.
As per claim 35,
Herwig, Lim, and Kothandaraman do not explicitly teach, however, Rule does teach:
wherein the method further comprises: determining whether the payment application exists in the terminal; and in response to determining that the payment application does not exist in the terminal, generating prompt information indicating that user downloads and installs the payment application if the payment application does not exist in the terminal.
(Rule US20230419295 at paras. 33, 45-50, 101-104) ("[0046] As stated, in some embodiments, the account application 138 may not be installed on the computing device 102. Therefore, in some embodiments, the web page 142 may encode a graphical representation of the URI 144 (including the merchant ID parameter, user ID parameter, and session ID parameter), which may be displayed in the web page 142. The graphical representation may generally be used to initiate the autofill techniques described herein without requiring the user to select the URI 144 and/or select a financial institution from the list. The graphical representation may include a matrix code (also referred to as a matrixed code, matrix barcode, etc.). Examples of matrix codes include, but are not limited to, a quick response (QR) code, app clip code, and the like. Therefore, in such embodiments, a camera (not pictured) or other optical reader of the computing device 102 may detect the matrix code that encodes the URI 144, e.g., in one or more images. Once the matrix code is detected, the operating system 136, web browser 140, and/or the web page 142 may decode the URI 144 and determine whether the account application 138 is installed on the computing device 102 based on the URI 144 as described herein. If the account application 138 is not installed on the computing device 102, the OS 136 may download the account application 138 and install the account application 138 on the computing device 102. In some embodiments, the account application 138 is downloaded based on approval input received from a user. As stated, the downloaded application may include a persistent or non-persistent (e.g., instant application, app clip, progressive web application, etc.) version of the account application 138. The downloaded account application 138 may then be accessed, launched, or otherwise displayed. As stated, the parameters of the URI 144 may be provided to the account application 138, which opens the account authentication page to facilitate the autofill techniques described herein. Embodiments are not limited in these contexts.")
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Herwig, Lim, Kothandaraman, and Rule, because it allows for an improved system to provide secure, automated, checkout processes using a contactless card. (Rule at Abstract and paras. 1-2, 28).
As per claim 36,
Herwig, Lim, and Kothandaraman do not explicitly teach, however, Rule does teach:
wherein the tag information includes request identification information used to request to obtain payment page information, and displaying the payment page based on the started payment application specifically comprises: generating, by the payment application in a started state, a payment page information obtaining request based on the request identification information;
(Rule US20230419295 at paras. 24-27, 33, 38, 45-50, 101-104) ("[0046] As stated, in some embodiments, the account application 138 may not be installed on the computing device 102. Therefore, in some embodiments, the web page 142 may encode a graphical representation of the URI 144 (including the merchant ID parameter, user ID parameter, and session ID parameter), which may be displayed in the web page 142. The graphical representation may generally be used to initiate the autofill techniques described herein without requiring the user to select the URI 144 and/or select a financial institution from the list." "If the account application 138 is not installed on the computing device 102, the OS 136 may download the account application 138 and install the account application 138 on the computing device 102. In some embodiments, the account application 138 is downloaded based on approval input received from a user." "The downloaded account application 138 may then be accessed, launched, or otherwise displayed. As stated, the parameters of the URI 144 may be provided to the account application 138, which opens the account authentication page to facilitate the autofill techniques described herein. Embodiments are not limited in these contexts.")
sending the payment page information obtaining request to a server; obtaining payment page information that is generated by the server based on the payment page obtaining request and that includes the user information of a first transaction party; and displaying the payment page, based on the payment page information.
(Rule US20230419295 at paras. 24-27, 33, 38, 45-50, 101-104) ("[0024] Once authenticated, the account application may associate the user ID and the session ID with the account (e.g., in an account database stored by the application and/or a server). The application may then instruct the user to tap their contactless card to the device, which causes the contactless card to generate a cryptogram. The application may read the cryptogram and transmit the cryptogram to a server associated with the first financial institution for verification. The application may further the parameters of the URI to the server." "[0026] The merchant server may receive the information from the server associated with the first financial institution, and identify the browsing session based on the session ID and/or user ID. The merchant server may then cause one or more form fields on the checkout page to be populated with the received information from the server. In some embodiments, the merchant server may push these values to the mobile web browser. In other embodiments, the merchant server causes the checkout page to be reloaded. Once reloaded, the form fields may include the payment information (e.g., VCN, expiration date, CVV) as well as any other personal information (e.g., name, address, email address, phone number, etc.) received from the server associated with the first financial institution. [0027] Furthermore, the server associated with the first financial institution may transmit a decryption result to the account application. The decryption result may specify that the server verified (or decrypted) the cryptogram and generated the VCN. The decryption result may cause the account application to return the device to the mobile web browser. The checkout page may be refreshed in the web browser (e.g., by the merchant server and/or by the mobile device). Once refreshed, the payment information and personal information may be populated into the form in the web page. The user may then submit the form to process the payment in the web browser.")
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Herwig, Lim, Kothandaraman, and Rule, because it allows for an improved system to provide secure, automated, checkout processes using a contactless card. (Rule at Abstract and paras. 1-2, 28).
Claims 40 and 46 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Herwig, U.S. Patent Application Publication Number 2010/0161434; in view of Lim, WIPO Patent Application Publication Number 2024/228179A2; in view of Rule, U.S. Patent Application Publication Number 2023/0419295.
As per claim 40,
Herwig explicitly teaches:
A payment method based on near field communication, comprising: sending, by a mobile terminal with a near field communication function, an electromagnetic signal used to trigger a passive NFC tag that is separate from the mobile phone;
(Herwig US20100161434 at paras. 15, 82, 87-92, 101-103) ("[0015] The at least one NFC tag may be located upon a shelf adjacent the product associated with the at least one NFC tag. The at least one NFC tag may be embedded in a price label on the shelf. The at least one NFC tag may be permanently attached to a shelf location and reprogrammed to reflect a product adjacent to the at least one NFC tag, as said product is changed. Alternatively, or additionally, the at least one NFC tag may be affixed to the product with which it is associated." "[0082] In the present embodiment the NFC tag 106 will be described with reference to a passive device with no internal power source in which power for generating an output signal is derived from a signal receive at the antenna." "[0102] Referring now to FIG. 4, a method of self-checkout comprises outputting an interrogation signal from an NFC communication module of a mobile telephone (Step 400). An antenna of an NFC tag receives the interrogation signal (Step 402). The interrogation signal is passed to a tag processor of the NFC tag (Step 404). The tag processor passes product data, related to a product associated with the NFC tag, to the antenna in response to receipt of the interrogation signal (Step 406). The antenna transmits the product data such that the product data is received by the NFC communications module of the mobile telephone (Step 408). The product data is passed to the mobile processor (Step 410). The mobile processor updates a list data structure stored at thereupon, the list data structure representing a list of items purchased by a user of the mobile device in response to receiving the product data. (Step 412).")
obtaining tag information in the passive NFC tag in response to the electromagnetic signal,
(Herwig US20100161434 at paras. 87-92, 101-103) ("[0102] Referring now to FIG. 4, a method of self-checkout comprises outputting an interrogation signal from an NFC communication module of a mobile telephone (Step 400). An antenna of an NFC tag receives the interrogation signal (Step 402). The interrogation signal is passed to a tag processor of the NFC tag (Step 404). The tag processor passes product data, related to a product associated with the NFC tag, to the antenna in response to receipt of the interrogation signal (Step 406). The antenna transmits the product data such that the product data is received by the NFC communications module of the mobile telephone (Step 408). The product data is passed to the mobile processor (Step 410). The mobile processor updates a list data structure stored at thereupon, the list data structure representing a list of items purchased by a user of the mobile device in response to receiving the product data. (Step 412).")
Herwig does not explicitly teach, however, Lim does teach:
wherein the tag information comprises an application identification of a payment application and payment link information;
(Lim WO2024228179A2 at paras. 18, 23-25, 145-147, 151, 163-170, 176-180, 252-254) ("[0018] An example embodiment is a computer-implemented method comprising: receiving, from a Point-Of-Sale (POS) terminal, transaction information corresponding to a transaction and an identification of an electronic wallet payment application of an electronic wallet payment server; sending, to a server, the transaction information and the identification of the electronic wallet payment application; establishing a uniform resource locator (URL) which addresses the server and which identifies a first web resource which activates the electronic wallet payment application, wherein the URL includes a unique transaction identifier that includes: a hash function applied to the transaction information, and/or date information and time information of the transaction, and/or a unique device identifier; generating, via a Near Field Communication (NFC) tag controller, an NFC data exchange format (NDEF) message comprising the URL as a pay load; and emitting, via the NFC tag controller, an NFC signal corresponding to the NDEF message." "[0023] In another example embodiment of any of the above described computer- implemented methods, the account information of the electronic wallet payment application that is associated with the POS terminal includes a Quick Response (QR) code of the electronic wallet payment application that is unique to the POS terminal. [0024] In another example embodiment of any of the above described computer- implemented methods, wherein the URL includes the identification of the electronic wallet payment application. [0025] In another example embodiment of any of the above described computer- implemented methods, the URL is a deep link, wherein, in the URL, the identification of the electronic wallet payment application is nested from the unique transaction identifier." “[0151] In an example of the method 1300, the URL is of the form “www. domain/mobile app/unique transaction identifier”. In an example, the URL includes the mobile application, which is an identification of the electronic wallet payment application. In an example of the URL, the identification of the electronic wallet payment application is nested from the unique transaction identifier.”)
in response to obtaining the tag information, automatically starting a payment application-based on the tag information, without reliance on a pre-set default payment application setting of the mobile terminal;
(Lim WO2024228179A2 at paras. 18, 23-25, 145-147, 151, 163-170, 176-180, 252-254) ("[0151] In an example of the method 1300, the URL is of the form “www. domain/mobile app/unique transaction identifier”. In an example, the URL includes the mobile application, which is an identification of the electronic wallet payment application. In an example of the URL, the identification of the electronic wallet payment application is nested from the unique transaction identifier." "[0252] In examples, the server 300 may store transaction information corresponding to the address. The server 300 may generate an e-receipt by converting the transaction information into an e-receipt format through an application. The server 300 may display the generated e-receipt on a web page linked to the address. As a result, the user device 400 may display the e-receipt by accessing the web page linked to the address via the user device 400. [0253] In an example, the user device 400 displays the e-receipt through a web page corresponding to the web page URL or an application page. [0254] For example, the user device 400 can operate without having to activate a camera to scan QR code, exchange email address or phone number, or exchange sensitive financial credentials with the server 300. Rather, through the URL the web resource can be loaded as part of the NFC proximity between the user device 400 and the NFC tag controller 2070 to communicate the address and initiate the electronic wallet payment application on the user device 400.")
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Herwig and Lim, because it allows for improved methods for facilitating payments such as electronic wallet payments using Near Field Communication (NFC). (Lim at Abstract and paras. 3-20).
Herwig and Lim do not explicitly teach, however, Rule does teach:
sending, based on the started payment application, payment processing request to a server, wherein the server is configured to process a payment service and to feed back a transaction result information based on the payment processing request; and displaying a transaction result page based on the transaction result information fed back by the server.
(Rule US20230419295 at paras. 24-27, 33, 38, 45-50, 6870, 101-104) ("[0024] Once authenticated, the account application may associate the user ID and the session ID with the account (e.g., in an account database stored by the application and/or a server). The application may then instruct the user to tap their contactless card to the device, which causes the contactless card to generate a cryptogram. The application may read the cryptogram and transmit the cryptogram to a server associated with the first financial institution for verification. The application may further the parameters of the URI to the server." "[0026] The merchant server may receive the information from the server associated with the first financial institution, and identify the browsing session based on the session ID and/or user ID. The merchant server may then cause one or more form fields on the checkout page to be populated with the received information from the server. In some embodiments, the merchant server may push these values to the mobile web browser. In other embodiments, the merchant server causes the checkout page to be reloaded. Once reloaded, the form fields may include the payment information (e.g., VCN, expiration date, CVV) as well as any other personal information (e.g., name, address, email address, phone number, etc.) received from the server associated with the first financial institution. [0027] Furthermore, the server associated with the first financial institution may transmit a decryption result to the account application. The decryption result may specify that the server verified (or decrypted) the cryptogram and generated the VCN. The decryption result may cause the account application to return the device to the mobile web browser. The checkout page may be refreshed in the web browser (e.g., by the merchant server and/or by the mobile device). Once refreshed, the payment information and personal information may be populated into the form in the web page. The user may then submit the form to process the payment in the web browser." "[0069] FIG. 1F depicts an embodiment where the web browser 140 and/or web page 142 generates a transaction package 156 to process a payment using the payment information 150 filled into the form fields of the web page 142. Generally, the transaction package 156 may be transmitted according to the hypertext transfer protocol (HTTP). Once received, the merchant server 108 may process payment for the transaction using the payment information 150. The authentication server 106 may approve the transaction based at least in part on the VCN being used as payment for the transaction with the merchant, as the VCN is bound or restricted to the merchant. The merchant server 108 may then create a transaction record 160 for the transaction in a transaction database 158. A confirmation for the transaction may then be displayed in the web browser 140.")
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Herwig, Lim, and Rule, because it allows for an improved system to provide secure, automated, checkout processes using a contactless card. (Rule at Abstract and paras. 1-2, 28).
As per claim 46,
Herwig and Lim do not explicitly teach, however, Rule does teach:
wherein the tag information comprises identification of the payment application; starting the payment application based on the tag information, specifically comprises: starting the payment application based on the identification of the payment application.
(Rule US20230419295 at paras. 33, 38, 45-50, 101-104) ("[0046] As stated, in some embodiments, the account application 138 may not be installed on the computing device 102. Therefore, in some embodiments, the web page 142 may encode a graphical representation of the URI 144 (including the merchant ID parameter, user ID parameter, and session ID parameter), which may be displayed in the web page 142. The graphical representation may generally be used to initiate the autofill techniques described herein without requiring the user to select the URI 144 and/or select a financial institution from the list. The graphical representation may include a matrix code (also referred to as a matrixed code, matrix barcode, etc.). Examples of matrix codes include, but are not limited to, a quick response (QR) code, app clip code, and the like. Therefore, in such embodiments, a camera (not pictured) or other optical reader of the computing device 102 may detect the matrix code that encodes the URI 144, e.g., in one or more images. Once the matrix code is detected, the operating system 136, web browser 140, and/or the web page 142 may decode the URI 144 and determine whether the account application 138 is installed on the computing device 102 based on the URI 144 as described herein. If the account application 138 is not installed on the computing device 102, the OS 136 may download the account application 138 and install the account application 138 on the computing device 102. In some embodiments, the account application 138 is downloaded based on approval input received from a user. As stated, the downloaded application may include a persistent or non-persistent (e.g., instant application, app clip, progressive web application, etc.) version of the account application 138. The downloaded account application 138 may then be accessed, launched, or otherwise displayed. As stated, the parameters of the URI 144 may be provided to the account application 138, which opens the account authentication page to facilitate the autofill techniques described herein. Embodiments are not limited in these contexts.")
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Herwig, Lim, and Rule, because it allows for an improved system to provide secure, automated, checkout processes using a contactless card. (Rule at Abstract and paras. 1-2, 28).
Response to Arguments
With respect to Applicant’s arguments as to the §§ 112, 101, and 102 rejections for now pending claims 32-33, 35-37, 39-40, 46, and 49, Examiner notes that the rejections are withdrawn.
With respect to Applicant’s arguments as to the § 103 rejections for now pending claims 32-33, 35-37, 39-40, 46, and 49, Examiner notes that the arguments are moot in light of the new grounds for rejection.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure and is available for review on Form PTO-892 Notice of References Cited.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MERRITT J HASBROUCK/Examiner, Art Unit 3695
/CHRISTINE M Tran/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3695