DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
This office action is in response to the amendment filed on 12/17/2025.
Claims 1 and 11 have been amended.
Claim 19 has been canceled.
Claim 21 has been added.
Claims 1-18, 20, and 21 are pending and have been examined.
Examiner’s Comment: The examiner contacted applicant’s representation, Katherine Keough on 9/15/2025, for clarification regarding the terminology used in the claims. We discussed the term “content” and it is meant to refer to the “offer” in the spec. Further, “the media associated with the media title” refers to the actual movie or item of content to be played. The example discussed was if Frozen 2 was the media title, then the media associated with the media title was the actual movie Frozen 2.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-21 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory obviousness-type double patenting as
being unpatentable over claims 1-3, 5-14, and 16-20 of US Patent No. 11138625. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims are directed to the same subject matter, perform the equivalent functions and a person of ordinary skill in the art would not be free to practice one of the claimed inventions without infringing upon the other. The claimed invention is merely broader than the patented invention above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-18, 20, and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Step 1: Claims 1 -10 are directed to a method. Claims 11-20 are directed to a system. Thus, on their face they fall within the four statutory categories of patentable subject matter.
Step 2A prong 1:
Claims 1 and 11 recite virtually identical limitations. Claim 1 will be used as representative. Each claims additional elements will be addressed individually. The following limitations, when considered individually and as an ordered combination, are merely descriptive of abstract concepts:
Claims 1, 11:
storing at an entity, a data structure that is accessible by a media guidance entity and any of a plurality of media providers, wherein the data structure comprises:
entries for storing media titles in association with identifiers of media providers accessible by the entity;
receiving, by the entity, a content item accessible via a media provider, wherein the content item comprises (a) a media title, and (b) first metadata of the content item;
storing, in a particular entry of the data structure stored locally at the entity: (a) the media title, (b) the first metadata, and (c) an assigned identifier of the media provider via which the content item was received;
receiving, from a user, a search request by the media guidance entity for the media title;
searching for an additional media provider via which the content item associated with the media title can be played;
identifying, by the media guidance entity, the particular entry in the data structure that comprises the media title from the search request to access the first metadata stored in the data structure;
comparing, by the media guidance entity, the first metadata and second metadata of the additional media provider;
based at least in part on the comparing, performing at least one of:
providing for display the media provider based on the assigned identifier stored in the data structure, and causing the media provider to play the content item associated with the media title; or
providing for display of the additional media provider via which the content item associated with the media title can be played.
Claim 21:
storing at an entity, a data structure that is accessible by a media guidance entity and any of a plurality of media providers, wherein the data structure comprises:
entries for storing media titles in association with identifiers of media providers accessible by the entity;
receiving, by the entity, a content item accessible via a media provider, wherein the content item comprises (a) a media title, and (b) first metadata of the content item;
storing, in a particular entry of the data structure stored locally at the entity: (a) the media title, (b) the first metadata, and (c) an assigned identifier of the media provider via which the content item was received;
receiving, from a user, a search request by the media guidance entity for the media title;
searching for an additional media provider via which the content item associated with the media title can be played;
identifying, by the media guidance entity, the particular entry in the data structure that comprises the media title from the search request to access the first metadata stored in the data structure;
comparing, by the media guidance entity, the first metadata and second metadata of the additional media provider;
based at least in part on the comparing, performing at least one of:
providing for display the media provider based on the assigned identifier stored in the data structure, and causing the media provider to display a first selectable option to complete a first transaction corresponding to the content item; or
providing for display of the additional media provider and causing display of a second selectable option to complete a second transaction corresponding to the content item.
The following dependent claim limitations, when considered individually and as an ordered combination, are merely further descriptive of abstract concepts:
Claim 3, 13:
further comprising: extracting data comprising: (a) the media title, (b) the first metadata, and (c) the assigned identifier of the media provider via which the content item was received; and
storing the extracted data in the data structure of the entity.
Claims 4, 14:
extracting the second metadata from the additional media provider via which the media associated with the media title can be played.
Claim 5, 15:
wherein the comparing, by the media guidance entity, the first metadata and the second metadata is based on relevance.
Claim 6, 16:
wherein the search request is performed using at least one of text input, image recognition, a barcode or a QR code scan.
Claim 7, 17:
further comprising: storing the media associated with the media title for later presentation.
Claim 8, 18:
transmitting the media associated with the media title to another entity for display
Claims 9:
further comprising: generating an access address associated with the media title; and
providing the access address for later interaction.
Claim 10, 20:
searching another entity for the media associated with the media title, wherein the other entity and the entity are linked;
receiving, by the entity, (a) the media title, (b) a third metadata, and (c) a different assigned identifier of a different media provider from the other entity;
comparing, by the media guidance entity, the second metadata of the web page, and the third metadata of the other media provider;
based at least in part on the comparing, performing at least one of:
causing a selection of the additional media provider via which the media associated with the media title can be played; or
causing a selection of a media provider based on the different assigned identifier received from the other entity, and causing the different media provider to play the media associated with the media title.
The claims provide a manner receiving offers for media content and then storing the offers. When a user wants to view a piece of content, a search for new offers is compared with the offers that are stored. Based on the comparing, an offer is selected from either the stored offers or the searched offers. Additionally, the user can be provided the open to purchase the media. Thus, when considered individually and as an ordered combination, the claims embody certain methods of organizing human activity. Specifically, such activity is in the form of commercial interactions (in the form of advertising, marketing or sales activities or behaviors).
Step 2A prong 2: This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. The claims recite the following additional elements: local memory of a device (claim 1, 11, 21); device (claim 1, 3, 10,11 13, 20, 21); remote server over a network (claim 1, 11, 21); media guidance application (claim 1, 5, 10, 11, 15, 20, 21); media streaming applications (claim 1, 11, 21); user interface (claim 1, 11, 21); internet (claim 1, 11, 21); web page (claim 1, 4, 11, 14, 21); web application (claim 1, 11, 21); causing a launching of the media streaming application/ different media streaming application and causing the media streaming application/ different media streaming application to play the content(claim 1, 10,11, 20, 21); causing an opening of a web application to the webpage via which the media can be played (claim 1, 10, 11, 20, 21); wherein the web application is a web browser (claim 2, 12); link to the webpage (claim 9); another device (claim 10, 20); different media streaming application (claim 10, 20); storage circuitry (claim 11, 13, 17); control circuitry (claim 1, 11, 13, 14, 15, 16, 20, 21); input/output circuitry (claim 11, 18); first / second link (claim 21);
The local memory of a device, device, remote server over a network, another device, storage circuitry, control circuitry, input/output circuitry, internet, and user interface are recited at a high level of generality and merely “apply it” (the abstract idea) using generic computing devices (paragraph [0027]-[0032]; Fig. 3, 4). The devices merely store data (storing), send and receive data (receiving, transmitting, providing), and process data (searching, identifying, comparing, launching, opening, extracting, generating). The internet is merely the network in which the data is passed. The user interface describes no actual interface elements and thus is merely a generic interface. Nothing in the claims improves upon computers themselves, technology, or a technical field (See MPEP 2106.05(f)).
The media guidance application, media streaming applications, web application, causing a launching of the media streaming application/ different media streaming application and causing the media streaming application/ different media streaming application to play the content, causing an opening of a web application to the webpage via which the media can be played, website, wherein the web application is a web browser, and different media streaming application are recited at a high level of generality and provide no improvements to the underlying technology or technical field. The media streaming applications, website, and web application including the web application being a web browser are merely used as the source of content and the means to present the content to a user in a computing environment. The media guidance application merely the name given to the software used to implement the abstract idea. The causing a launching of the media streaming application/ different media streaming application and causing the media streaming application/ different media streaming application to play the media, causing an opening of a web application to the webpage via which the media can be played merely provides a high-level reciting of the computer program used to play the content. Nothing in the claims improves upon computers, media applications, or the playing of content. They merely act as the means to play the content once the option offering the best deal for the user is selected. Thus, they do not go beyond the “apply it level” of implementation (see MPEP 2106.05(f)).
The link to the webpage, first link, and second link merely provide a general link to a particular technological environment (i.e. online). The links merely acts as an address in which to obtain the content/ select a purchase in a computing environment. Nothing in the claims improve upon links themselves, technology, or a technical field (See MPEP 2106.05(h)).
Accordingly, when considered both individually and as an ordered combination, the additional elements do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea.
Step 2B: The claim(s) does/do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. Similarly, as above with regard to practical application, the additional elements when considered both individually and as an ordered combination, do not provide an inventive concept as they merely provide generic computing components used as a tool to implement the abstract idea or provide a general link to a particular technological environment or field of use (i.e. online).
As a result, the claims are not patent eligible.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5, 9-15, 19, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Peterson et al (US 2014/0007146) in view of Zimmerman et al (US 2018/0070121)
As per claim 1:
Peterson teaches:
A method comprising:
storing in a local memory of a device, a data structure that is accessible by a media guidance application and any of a plurality of media streaming applications, wherein the data structure comprises: (paragraph [0142] At step 1024, application 506 stores the lowest price charged by a content provider of the media content collection and information identifying the corresponding content provider to a data structure. The information identifying the corresponding content provider may include a network address through which access to the media content collection can be obtained, user readable information such as the content provider's name, information identifying another application through which access can be received and/or other user or computer readable information.)
entries for storing media titles in association with identifiers of streaming applications launchable by the device; (paragraph [0142] At step 1024, application 506 stores the lowest price charged by a content provider of the media content collection and information identifying the corresponding content provider to a data structure. The information identifying the corresponding content provider may include a network address through which access to the media content collection can be obtained, user readable information such as the content provider's name, information identifying another application through which access can be received and/or other user or computer readable information. [0090] Database 510 may also store separate data structures for each media asset. These data structures may also contain information identifying content providers of the media content collection and/or associated media assets. Database 510 may contain data structures identifying potential content providers (i.e., known content providers that may or may not be able to provide access to a specific media content collection or media asset) and/or data structures identifying actual content providers (i.e., known content providers capable of providing access to a specific media content collection or media asset). These content provider data structures may also contain information regarding the type of access provided by each content provider and/or a price charged by the content provider for providing access to a media content collection or a media asset. Application 506 may retrieve, optionally based on information received from application 508 or previously retrieved from database 510, any one of the data structures referred to above to identify a media content collection, identify the individual media assets that make up the media content collection, identify a content provider of the media content collection, identify a content provider of a media asset, identify a potential content provider and/or identify the price for receiving access to a media content collection or a media asset.)
receiving, by the device from a remote server over a network, a content item accessible via a media streaming application, wherein the content item comprises (a) a media title, and (b) first metadata of the content item; (paragraph [0142] At step 1024, application 506 stores the lowest price charged by a content provider of the media content collection and information identifying the corresponding content provider to a data structure. The information identifying the corresponding content provider may include a network address through which access to the media content collection can be obtained, user readable information such as the content provider's name, information identifying another application through which access can be received and/or other user or computer readable information. [0144] At step 1102, application 506 retrieves or receives information identifying each media asset of the media content collection. This information may be received from application 508, retrieved from database 510, received from server 502, received from remote server 534, received from content source 530, extracted from the data structure for the media content collection that was retrieved in step 1008, and/or received using one of the techniques discussed above in relations to step 1008. [0090] Database 510 may also store separate data structures for each media asset. These data structures may also contain information identifying content providers of the media content collection and/or associated media assets. Database 510 may contain data structures identifying potential content providers (i.e., known content providers that may or may not be able to provide access to a specific media content collection or media asset) and/or data structures identifying actual content providers (i.e., known content providers capable of providing access to a specific media content collection or media asset). These content provider data structures may also contain information regarding the type of access provided by each content provider and/or a price charged by the content provider for providing access to a media content collection or a media asset. Application 506 may retrieve, optionally based on information received from application 508 or previously retrieved from database 510, any one of the data structures referred to above to identify a media content collection, identify the individual media assets that make up the media content collection, identify a content provider of the media content collection, identify a content provider of a media asset, identify a potential content provider and/or identify the price for receiving access to a media content collection or a media asset.)
storing, using control circuitry of the device, in a particular entry of the data structure stored in the local memory of the device: (a) the media title, (b) the first metadata, and (c) an assigned identifier of the media streaming application via which the content item was received; (paragraph [0142] At step 1024, application 506 stores the lowest price charged by a content provider of the media content collection and information identifying the corresponding content provider to a data structure. The information identifying the corresponding content provider may include a network address through which access to the media content collection can be obtained, user readable information such as the content provider's name, information identifying another application through which access can be received and/or other user or computer readable information. [0090] Database 510 may also store separate data structures for each media asset. These data structures may also contain information identifying content providers of the media content collection and/or associated media assets. Database 510 may contain data structures identifying potential content providers (i.e., known content providers that may or may not be able to provide access to a specific media content collection or media asset) and/or data structures identifying actual content providers (i.e., known content providers capable of providing access to a specific media content collection or media asset). These content provider data structures may also contain information regarding the type of access provided by each content provider and/or a price charged by the content provider for providing access to a media content collection or a media asset. Application 506 may retrieve, optionally based on information received from application 508 or previously retrieved from database 510, any one of the data structures referred to above to identify a media content collection, identify the individual media assets that make up the media content collection, identify a content provider of the media content collection, identify a content provider of a media asset, identify a potential content provider and/or identify the price for receiving access to a media content collection or a media asset.)
receiving, from a user interface, a search request by the media guidance application for the media title; ([0091] - Application 506 may generate and transmit a search query in order to obtain necessary information. For example, application 506 may use information received from application 508 or database 510 identifying a media content collection or media asset to generate a search query requesting information regarding a media content collection, individual media assets of the media content collection, and/or content providers of the media content collection or media asset.)
searching internet for a web page via which the content item associated with the media title can be played; ([0052] A media content collection can be accessed from a number of potential sources through a number of different content providers. A user may be able to purchase a DVD containing the media content collection, receive a password for accessing a website that streams the media content collection over the internet, purchase access to the media content collection for on-demand viewing via a set-top box, or download the media content collection to a personal computer. The different methods of receiving access to media content (e.g., downloading, streaming, playing physical merchandise) are referred to as types of access. [0074] Remote server 534 may be a 3.sup.rd party server capable of providing other services. Remote server 534 may, for example, provide a search engine and/or a database of information. A search engine may perform a general search of information available via communications network 628, or may be a specific search engine for products, services and/or media content. Such a specific search engine may in fact be capable of performing some of the steps of process 400, such as determining the most cost-efficient way to receive access to a media content collection and/or media asset. Such a specific search engine may also be able to generate lists of content providers capable of providing access to media content or providers of physical merchandise. Remote server 534 may also host a database. Such a database may include information on media content collections and the media assets contained therein, or on providers of media content collection and/or media assets. The list of providers maintained by remote server 534 may contain only content providers that do not charge for the media content, content providers that do charge for the media content, or both. The database may also contain any further information discussed below as being stored in database 510, such as prices charged by content providers and/or types of access provided by content providers.)
identifying, by the media guidance application, the particular entry in the data structure that comprises the media title from the search request to access the first metadata stored in the data structure; ([0010] In some embodiments, identifying providers of a media asset involves generating a search query, transmitting the search query over a network connection, and, in response, receiving information identifying providers of the media asset. [0074] 0074] Remote server 534 may be a 3.sup.rd party server capable of providing other services. Remote server 534 may, for example, provide a search engine and/or a database of information. A search engine may perform a general search of information available via communications network 628, or may be a specific search engine for products, services and/or media content. Such a specific search engine may in fact be capable of performing some of the steps of process 400, such as determining the most cost-efficient way to receive access to a media content collection and/or media asset. Such a specific search engine may also be able to generate lists of content providers capable of providing access to media content or providers of physical merchandise. Remote server 534 may also host a database. Such a database may include information on media content collections and the media assets contained therein, or on providers of media content collection and/or media assets. The list of providers maintained by remote server 534 may contain only content providers that do not charge for the media content, content providers that do charge for the media content, or both. The database may also contain any further information discussed below as being stored in database 510, such as prices charged by content providers and/or types of access provided by content providers. [0091] Application 506 may generate and transmit a search query in order to obtain necessary information. For example, application 506 may use information received from application 508 or database 510 identifying a media content collection or media asset to generate a search query requesting information regarding a media content collection, individual media assets of the media content collection, and/or content providers of the media content collection or media asset. [0128] Application 506 may also receive a user selection of a media asset of the media content collection, such as in step 1006. [0139] At step 1014, application 506 determines a price charged by a first content provider of the identified list for providing access to the media content collection using a single transaction. Application 506 may retrieve this price from the data structure for the media content collection, from another data structure in database 510 that is associated with the content provider, from a remote server associated with the content provider, such as content source 530, or from remote server 534. The prices charged by different content providers may also be determined using different approaches. For example, database 510 may store the price charged by a first content provider but not a second content provider. In this case, application 506 may retrieve the price charged by the first content provider from database 510, and interact with a remote server associated with the second content provider to determine the price charged by the second content provider.))
comparing, by the media guidance application, the first metadata and second metadata of the web page; (paragraph [0139] The prices charged by different content providers may also be determined using different approaches. For example, database 510 may store the price charged by a first content provider but not a second content provider. In this case, application 506 may retrieve the price charged by the first content provider from database 510, and interact with a remote server associated with the second content provider to determine the price charged by the second content provider. [0142] At step 1024, application 506 stores the lowest price charged by a content provider of the media content collection and information identifying the corresponding content provider to a data structure. The information identifying the corresponding content provider may include a network address through which access to the media content collection can be obtained, user readable information such as the content provider's name, information identifying another application (first/third applications) through which access can be received and/or other user or computer readable information. [0144] At step 1102, application 506 retrieves or receives information identifying each media asset of the media content collection. This information may be received from application 508, retrieved from database 510, received from server 502, received from remote server 534, received from content source 530, extracted from the data structure for the media content collection that was retrieved in step 1008, and/or received using one of the techniques discussed above in relations to step 1008. [0146]-[0160] ; Fig 8B; The media asset is compared across multiple providers including local storage and remote storage. The one with the lowest price option is selected for the user and displayed to the user including indicating the best deal as seen in Fig. 8B. See also paragraphs [0113]-[0115)
based at least in part on the comparing, performing at least one of:
providing for display the media streaming application based on the assigned identifier stored in the data structure, (Fig 8B, element 860; [0113] User interface 850 may include multiple options for receiving access to the media content collection using a single transaction. Each of options 856-860 may be the lowest price charged by a content provider of the media content collection for accessing the media content collection using a particular type of access. In this example, user interface 850 includes option 856 for purchasing physical merchandise containing the media content collection, option 858 for downloading digital files with the media content collection, and option 860 for streaming the media content collection. However, application 506 may still indicate the most cost-efficient way to receive access to the media content collection, regardless of type of access, such as by highlighting the cheapest option. In this example, option 860 is labeled as "Best Deal!", since it is the most cost-efficient way of receiving access to the media content collection, whether using a single transaction or using multiple transactions. [0144] At step 1102, application 506 retrieves or receives information identifying each media asset of the media content collection. This information may be received from application 508, retrieved from database 510, received from server 502, received from remote server 534, received from content source 530, extracted from the data structure for the media content collection that was retrieved in step 1008, and/or received using one of the techniques discussed above in relations to step 1008. [0147] Application 506 may thus identify the lowest cost content provider of access to a media asset using a transaction, and store information regarding this price and the corresponding content provider to a data structure, while the accumulated lowest cost may or may not reflect the fact that one or more media assets can be accessed without a transaction. [0160] At step 1206, application 506 may receive a user selection of an option to access the media content collection or an individual media asset. [0163] Steps 1214 and 1216 are involved in receiving access to a media asset or media content collection that is streamed over a network connection. At step 1214, application 506 communicates with a remote server, such as content source 530, to receive access to the media asset or media content collection being streamed. As the data containing the media asset or the media content collection is received, user device 504 displays the received data, thereby providing access to the media asset or media content collection. [0164] The user may interact with application 506 or another application to cause user device 504 or another device to display the received digital files, thereby providing access to the media asset or the media content collection. See also [0146]-[0160] ; The media asset is compared across multiple providers including local storage and remote storage. The one with the lowest price option is selected for the user and displayed to the user including indicating the best deal as seen in Fig. 8B.)
providing for display a web application of the web page via which the content item associated with the media title can be played. (Fig 8B, element 860; [0113] User interface 850 may include multiple options for receiving access to the media content collection using a single transaction. Each of options 856-860 may be the lowest price charged by a content provider of the media content collection for accessing the media content collection using a particular type of access. In this example, user interface 850 includes option 856 for purchasing physical merchandise containing the media content collection, option 858 for downloading digital files with the media content collection, and option 860 for streaming the media content collection. However, application 506 may still indicate the most cost-efficient way to receive access to the media content collection, regardless of type of access, such as by highlighting the cheapest option. In this example, option 860 is labeled as "Best Deal!", since it is the most cost-efficient way of receiving access to the media content collection, whether using a single transaction or using multiple transactions. [0144] At step 1102, application 506 retrieves or receives information identifying each media asset of the media content collection. This information may be received from application 508, retrieved from database 510, received from server 502, received from remote server 534, received from content source 530, extracted from the data structure for the media content collection that was retrieved in step 1008, and/or received using one of the techniques discussed above in relations to step 1008. [0147] Application 506 may thus identify the lowest cost content provider of access to a media asset using a transaction, and store information regarding this price and the corresponding content provider to a data structure, while the accumulated lowest cost may or may not reflect the fact that one or more media assets can be accessed without a transaction. [0160] At step 1206, application 506 may receive a user selection of an option to access the media content collection or an individual media asset. [0163] Steps 1214 and 1216 are involved in receiving access to a media asset or media content collection that is streamed over a network connection. At step 1214, application 506 communicates with a remote server, such as content source 530, to receive access to the media asset or media content collection being streamed. As the data containing the media asset or the media content collection is received, user device 504 displays the received data, thereby providing access to the media asset or media content collection. [0164] The user may interact with application 506 or another application to cause user device 504 or another device to display the received digital files, thereby providing access to the media asset or the media content collection. See also [0146]-[0160] ; The media asset is compared across multiple providers including local storage and remote storage. The one with the lowest price option is selected for the user and displayed to the user including indicating the best deal as seen in Fig. 8B.)
Peterson does not expressly teach launching the application to play the media associated with the media title.
Zimmerman teaches:
and causing the media streaming application to play the content item associated with the media title; or (paragraph [0029] Furthermore, the navigation module 202 may receive a selection of a content object that either triggers automatic playing of the corresponding program or links the digital receiver 102 to a detailed content view (e.g., media view) for the program corresponding to the selected content object. In some embodiments, selecting a particular content object cross-launches the third party service application (e.g., Netflix; Hulu) or the digital receiver application (e.g., for record VODs), and begins playback of the corresponding program in full screen. For example, selecting a “House of Cards” content object triggers launch of the Netflix application and, based on a deep link to the content/program, automatically causes immediate playback of the selected episode of “House of Cards.”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include causing the media streaming application to play the media associated with the media title as taught by Zimmerman with the media offer comparer of Peterson in order to automatically cause immediate playback of selected content (paragraph [0029)).
As per claim 11:
Peterson teaches:
A system comprising:
storage circuitry configured to:
store in a local memory of a device, a data structure that is accessible by a media guidance application and any of a plurality of media streaming applications, wherein the data structure comprises: (paragraph [0142] At step 1024, application 506 stores the lowest price charged by a content provider of the media content collection and information identifying the corresponding content provider to a data structure. The information identifying the corresponding content provider may include a network address through which access to the media content collection can be obtained, user readable information such as the content provider's name, information identifying another application through which access can be received and/or other user or computer readable information.)
entries for storing media titles in association with identifiers of streaming applications launchable by the device; (paragraph [0142] At step 1024, application 506 stores the lowest price charged by a content provider of the media content collection and information identifying the corresponding content provider to a data structure. The information identifying the corresponding content provider may include a network address through which access to the media content collection can be obtained, user readable information such as the content provider's name, information identifying another application through which access can be received and/or other user or computer readable information. [0090] Database 510 may also store separate data structures for each media asset. These data structures may also contain information identifying content providers of the media content collection and/or associated media assets. Database 510 may contain data structures identifying potential content providers (i.e., known content providers that may or may not be able to provide access to a specific media content collection or media asset) and/or data structures identifying actual content providers (i.e., known content providers capable of providing access to a specific media content collection or media asset). These content provider data structures may also contain information regarding the type of access provided by each content provider and/or a price charged by the content provider for providing access to a media content collection or a media asset. Application 506 may retrieve, optionally based on information received from application 508 or previously retrieved from database 510, any one of the data structures referred to above to identify a media content collection, identify the individual media assets that make up the media content collection, identify a content provider of the media content collection, identify a content provider of a media asset, identify a potential content provider and/or identify the price for receiving access to a media content collection or a media asset.)
control circuitry configured to:
receive, by the device from a remote server over a network, a content item accessible via a media streaming application, wherein the content item comprises (a) a media title, and (b) first metadata of the content item; (paragraph [0142] At step 1024, application 506 stores the lowest price charged by a content provider of the media content collection and information identifying the corresponding content provider to a data structure. The information identifying the corresponding content provider may include a network address through which access to the media content collection can be obtained, user readable information such as the content provider's name, information identifying another application through which access can be received and/or other user or computer readable information. [0144] At step 1102, application 506 retrieves or receives information identifying each media asset of the media content collection. This information may be received from application 508, retrieved from database 510, received from server 502, received from remote server 534, received from content source 530, extracted from the data structure for the media content collection that was retrieved in step 1008, and/or received using one of the techniques discussed above in relations to step 1008. [0090] Database 510 may also store separate data structures for each media asset. These data structures may also contain information identifying content providers of the media content collection and/or associated media assets. Database 510 may contain data structures identifying potential content providers (i.e., known content providers that may or may not be able to provide access to a specific media content collection or media asset) and/or data structures identifying actual content providers (i.e., known content providers capable of providing access to a specific media content collection or media asset). These content provider data structures may also contain information regarding the type of access provided by each content provider and/or a price charged by the content provider for providing access to a media content collection or a media asset. Application 506 may retrieve, optionally based on information received from application 508 or previously retrieved from database 510, any one of the data structures referred to above to identify a media content collection, identify the individual media assets that make up the media content collection, identify a content provider of the media content collection, identify a content provider of a media asset, identify a potential content provider and/or identify the price for receiving access to a media content collection or a media asset.)
wherein the storage circuitry is further configured to:
store, in a particular entry of the data structure stored in the local memory of the device: (a) the media title, (b) the first metadata, and (c) an assigned identifier of the media streaming application via which the content item was received; (paragraph [0142] At step 1024, application 506 stores the lowest price charged by a content provider of the media content collection and information identifying the corresponding content provider to a data structure. The information identifying the corresponding content provider may include a network address through which access to the media content collection can be obtained, user readable information such as the content provider's name, information identifying another application through which access can be received and/or other user or computer readable information. [0090] Database 510 may also store separate data structures for each media asset. These data structures may also contain information identifying content providers of the media content collection and/or associated media assets. Database 510 may contain data structures identifying potential content providers (i.e., known content providers that may or may not be able to provide access to a specific media content collection or media asset) and/or data structures identifying actual content providers (i.e., known content providers capable of providing access to a specific media content collection or media asset). These content provider data structures may also contain information regarding the type of access provided by each content provider and/or a price charged by the content provider for providing access to a media content collection or a media asset. Application 506 may retrieve, optionally based on information received from application 508 or previously retrieved from database 510, any one of the data structures referred to above to identify a media content collection, identify the individual media assets that make up the media content collection, identify a content provider of the media content collection, identify a content provider of a media asset, identify a potential content provider and/or identify the price for receiving access to a media content collection or a media asset.)
input/output circuitry configured to:
receive, from a user interface, a search request by the media guidance application for the media title; ([0091] - Application 506 may generate and transmit a search query in order to obtain necessary information. For example, application 506 may use information received from application 508 or database 510 identifying a media content collection or media asset to generate a search query requesting information regarding a media content collection, individual media assets of the media content collection, and/or content providers of the media content collection or media asset.)
wherein the control circuitry is further configured to:
search internet for a web page via which the content item associated with the media title can be played; (([0052] A media content collection can be accessed from a number of potential sources through a number of different content providers. A user may be able to purchase a DVD containing the media content collection, receive a password for accessing a website that streams the media content collection over the internet, purchase access to the media content collection for on-demand viewing via a set-top box, or download the media content collection to a personal computer. The different methods of receiving access to media content (e.g., downloading, streaming, playing physical merchandise) are referred to as types of access. [0074] Remote server 534 may be a 3.sup.rd party server capable of providing other services. Remote server 534 may, for example, provide a search engine and/or a database of information. A search engine may perform a general search of information available via communications network 628, or may be a specific search engine for products, services and/or media content. Such a specific search engine may in fact be capable of performing some of the steps of process 400, such as determining the most cost-efficient way to receive access to a media content collection and/or media asset. Such a specific search engine may also be able to generate lists of content providers capable of providing access to media content or providers of physical merchandise. Remote server 534 may also host a database. Such a database may include information on media content collections and the media assets contained therein, or on providers of media content collection and/or media assets. The list of providers maintained by remote server 534 may contain only content providers that do not charge for the media content, content providers that do charge for the media content, or both. The database may also contain any further information discussed below as being stored in database 510, such as prices charged by content providers and/or types of access provided by content providers.)
identify, by the media guidance application, the particular entry in the data structure that comprises the media title from the search request to access the first metadata stored in the data structure; ([0010] In some embodiments, identifying providers of a media asset involves generating a search query, transmitting the search query over a network connection, and, in response, receiving information identifying providers of the media asset. [0074] 0074] Remote server 534 may be a 3.sup.rd party server capable of providing other services. Remote server 534 may, for example, provide a search engine and/or a database of information. A search engine may perform a general search of information available via communications network 628, or may be a specific search engine for products, services and/or media content. Such a specific search engine may in fact be capable of performing some of the steps of process 400, such as determining the most cost-efficient way to receive access to a media content collection and/or media asset. Such a specific search engine may also be able to generate lists of content providers capable of providing access to media content or providers of physical merchandise. Remote server 534 may also host a database. Such a database may include information on media content collections and the media assets contained therein, or on providers of media content collection and/or media assets. The list of providers maintained by remote server 534 may contain only content providers that do not charge for the media content, content providers that do charge for the media content, or both. The database may also contain any further information discussed below as being stored in database 510, such as prices charged by content providers and/or types of access provided by content providers. [0091] Application 506 may generate and transmit a search query in order to obtain necessary information. For example, application 506 may use information received from application 508 or database 510 identifying a media content collection or media asset to generate a search query requesting information regarding a media content collection, individual media assets of the media content collection, and/or content providers of the media content collection or media asset. [0128] Application 506 may also receive a user selection of a media asset of the media content collection, such as in step 1006. [0139] At step 1014, application 506 determines a price charged by a first content provider of the identified list for providing access to the media content collection using a single transaction. Application 506 may retrieve this price from the data structure for the media content collection, from another data structure in database 510 that is associated with the content provider, from a remote server associated with the content provider, such as content source 530, or from remote server 534. The prices charged by different content providers may also be determined using different approaches. For example, database 510 may store the price charged by a first content provider but not a second content provider. In this case, application 506 may retrieve the price charged by the first content provider from database 510, and interact with a remote server associated with the second content provider to determine the price charged by the second content provider.)
compare, by the media guidance application, the first metadata and second metadata of the web page; ((paragraph [0139] The prices charged by different content providers may also be determined using different approaches. For example, database 510 may store the price charged by a first content provider but not a second content provider. In this case, application 506 may retrieve the price charged by the first content provider from database 510, and interact with a remote server associated with the second content provider to determine the price charged by the second content provider. [0142] At step 1024, application 506 stores the lowest price charged by a content provider of the media content collection and information identifying the corresponding content provider to a data structure. The information identifying the corresponding content provider may include a network address through which access to the media content collection can be obtained, user readable information such as the content provider's name, information identifying another application (first/third applications) through which access can be received and/or other user or computer readable information. [0144] At step 1102, application 506 retrieves or receives information identifying each media asset of the media content collection. This information may be received from application 508, retrieved from database 510, received from server 502, received from remote server 534, received from content source 530, extracted from the data structure for the media content collection that was retrieved in step 1008, and/or received using one of the techniques discussed above in relations to step 1008. [0146]-[0160] ; Fig 8B; The media asset is compared across multiple providers including local storage and remote storage. The one with the lowest price option is selected for the user and displayed to the user including indicating the best deal as seen in Fig. 8B. See also paragraphs [0113]-[0115)
based at least in part on the comparing, perform at least one of:
provide for display the media streaming application based on the assigned identifier stored in the data structure, (Fig 8B, element 860; [0113] User interface 850 may include multiple options for receiving access to the media content collection using a single transaction. Each of options 856-860 may be the lowest price charged by a content provider of the media content collection for accessing the media content collection using a particular type of access. In this example, user interface 850 includes option 856 for purchasing physical merchandise containing the media content collection, option 858 for downloading digital files with the media content collection, and option 860 for streaming the media content collection. However, application 506 may still indicate the most cost-efficient way to receive access to the media content collection, regardless of type of access, such as by highlighting the cheapest option. In this example, option 860 is labeled as "Best Deal!", since it is the most cost-efficient way of receiving access to the media content collection, whether using a single transaction or using multiple transactions. [0144] At step 1102, application 506 retrieves or receives information identifying each media asset of the media content collection. This information may be received from application 508, retrieved from database 510, received from server 502, received from remote server 534, received from content source 530, extracted from the data structure for the media content collection that was retrieved in step 1008, and/or received using one of the techniques discussed above in relations to step 1008. [0147] Application 506 may thus identify the lowest cost content provider of access to a media asset using a transaction, and store information regarding this price and the corresponding content provider to a data structure, while the accumulated lowest cost may or may not reflect the fact that one or more media assets can be accessed without a transaction. [0160] At step 1206, application 506 may receive a user selection of an option to access the media content collection or an individual media asset. [0163] Steps 1214 and 1216 are involved in receiving access to a media asset or media content collection that is streamed over a network connection. At step 1214, application 506 communicates with a remote server, such as content source 530, to receive access to the media asset or media content collection being streamed. As the data containing the media asset or the media content collection is received, user device 504 displays the received data, thereby providing access to the media asset or media content collection. [0164] The user may interact with application 506 or another application to cause user device 504 or another device to display the received digital files, thereby providing access to the media asset or the media content collection. See also [0146]-[0160] ; The media asset is compared across multiple providers including local storage and remote storage. The one with the lowest price option is selected for the user and displayed to the user including indicating the best deal as seen in Fig. 8B.)
provide for display a web application of the web page via which the content item associated with the media title can be played. (Fig 8B, element 860; [0113] User interface 850 may include multiple options for receiving access to the media content collection using a single transaction. Each of options 856-860 may be the lowest price charged by a content provider of the media content collection for accessing the media content collection using a particular type of access. In this example, user interface 850 includes option 856 for purchasing physical merchandise containing the media content collection, option 858 for downloading digital files with the media content collection, and option 860 for streaming the media content collection. However, application 506 may still indicate the most cost-efficient way to receive access to the media content collection, regardless of type of access, such as by highlighting the cheapest option. In this example, option 860 is labeled as "Best Deal!", since it is the most cost-efficient way of receiving access to the media content collection, whether using a single transaction or using multiple transactions. [0144] At step 1102, application 506 retrieves or receives information identifying each media asset of the media content collection. This information may be received from application 508, retrieved from database 510, received from server 502, received from remote server 534, received from content source 530, extracted from the data structure for the media content collection that was retrieved in step 1008, and/or received using one of the techniques discussed above in relations to step 1008. [0147] Application 506 may thus identify the lowest cost content provider of access to a media asset using a transaction, and store information regarding this price and the corresponding content provider to a data structure, while the accumulated lowest cost may or may not reflect the fact that one or more media assets can be accessed without a transaction. [0160] At step 1206, application 506 may receive a user selection of an option to access the media content collection or an individual media asset. [0163] Steps 1214 and 1216 are involved in receiving access to a media asset or media content collection that is streamed over a network connection. At step 1214, application 506 communicates with a remote server, such as content source 530, to receive access to the media asset or media content collection being streamed. As the data containing the media asset or the media content collection is received, user device 504 displays the received data, thereby providing access to the media asset or media content collection. [0164] The user may interact with application 506 or another application to cause user device 504 or another device to display the received digital files, thereby providing access to the media asset or the media content collection. See also [0146]-[0160] ; The media asset is compared across multiple providers including local storage and remote storage. The one with the lowest price option is selected for the user and displayed to the user including indicating the best deal as seen in Fig. 8B.)
Peterson does not expressly teach launching the application to play the media associated with the media title.
Zimmerman teaches:
and causing the media streaming application to play the content item associated with the media title; or (paragraph [0029] Furthermore, the navigation module 202 may receive a selection of a content object that either triggers automatic playing of the corresponding program or links the digital receiver 102 to a detailed content view (e.g., media view) for the program corresponding to the selected content object. In some embodiments, selecting a particular content object cross-launches the third party service application (e.g., Netflix; Hulu) or the digital receiver application (e.g., for record VODs), and begins playback of the corresponding program in full screen. For example, selecting a “House of Cards” content object triggers launch of the Netflix application and, based on a deep link to the content/program, automatically causes immediate playback of the selected episode of “House of Cards.”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include causing the media streaming application to play the media associated with the media title as taught by Zimmerman with the media offer comparer of Peterson in order to automatically cause immediate playback of selected content (paragraph [0029)).
Peterson in view Zimmerman teaches the limitations of claims 1 and 11. As per claims 2 and 12:
Peterson further teaches:
wherein the web application is a web browser. (paragraph [0047] In one example of a client-server based guidance application, control circuitry 304 runs a web browser that interprets web pages provided by a remote server. [0062] For example, on user computer equipment, the guidance application may be provided as a web site accessed by a web browser. [0086] [0086] Application 506 may also interact with application 508 to execute process 400. Application 508 could, for example, be a web browser, the media guidance application, a shopping application or a display application.)
Peterson in view Zimmerman teaches the limitations of claims 1 and 11. As per claims 3 and 13:
Peterson further teaches:
further comprising: extracting data comprising: (a) the media title, (b) the first metadata, and (c) the assigned identifier of the media streaming application via which the content item was received; and storing the extracted data in the data structure of the device. ((paragraph [0142] At step 1024, application 506 stores the lowest price charged by a content provider of the media content collection and information identifying the corresponding content provider to a data structure. The information identifying the corresponding content provider may include a network address through which access to the media content collection can be obtained, user readable information such as the content provider's name, information identifying another application through which access can be received and/or other user or computer readable information. [0090] Database 510 may also store separate data structures for each media asset. These data structures may also contain information identifying content providers of the media content collection and/or associated media assets. Database 510 may contain data structures identifying potential content providers (i.e., known content providers that may or may not be able to provide access to a specific media content collection or media asset) and/or data structures identifying actual content providers (i.e., known content providers capable of providing access to a specific media content collection or media asset). These content provider data structures may also contain information regarding the type of access provided by each content provider and/or a price charged by the content provider for providing access to a media content collection or a media asset. Application 506 may retrieve, optionally based on information received from application 508 or previously retrieved from database 510, any one of the data structures referred to above to identify a media content collection, identify the individual media assets that make up the media content collection, identify a content provider of the media content collection, identify a content provider of a media asset, identify a potential content provider and/or identify the price for receiving access to a media content collection or a media asset. [0091] The received data structure, document and/or file may be a website or other information document. Application 506 then parses the received data structure, document and/or file to extract some or all of the information referred to above. The received data structure may also have a structure (e.g., set-width bit fields) or tags that allow application 506 to directly extract the information.)
Peterson in view Zimmerman teaches the limitations of claims 1 and 11. As per claims 4 and 14:
Peterson further teaches:
wherein the searching the internet for the web page via which the media associated with the media title can be played further comprises: extracting the second metadata from the web page via which the media associated with the media title can be played. (paragraph [0092] The received data structure may be a website or other information document of the content provider which application 506 parses to extract some or all of the information referred to above. The received data structure may also have a structure (e.g., set-width bit fields) or tags that allow application 506 to directly extract the information.)
Peterson in view Zimmerman teaches the limitations of claims 1 and 11. As per claims 5 and 15:
Peterson further teaches:
wherein the comparing, by the media guidance application, the first metadata and the second metadata is based on relevance ([0112] In response to receiving a user selection of option 802, application 506 generates user interface 850 of FIG. 8B. User interface 850 includes options 856-860 in region 852 for receiving access to a media content collection using a single transaction and option 862 in region 854 for receiving access to the media content collection using multiple transactions. User interface 850 also includes options 870 for receiving access to individual media assets 872-880 for prices 868. [0113] User interface 850 may include multiple options for receiving access to the media content collection using a single transaction. Each of options 856-860 may be the lowest price charged by a content provider of the media content collection for accessing the media content collection using a particular type of access. In this example, user interface 850 includes option 856 for purchasing physical merchandise containing the media content collection, option 858 for downloading digital files with the media content collection, and option 860 for streaming the media content collection. However, application 506 may still indicate the most cost-efficient way to receive access to the media content collection, regardless of type of access, such as by highlighting the cheapest option. In this example, option 860 is labeled as "Best Deal!", since it is the most cost-efficient way of receiving access to the media content collection, whether using a single transaction or using multiple transactions. [0130] Application 506 may also receive only limited information from user input or application 508, and use this limited information to retrieve a data structure for the media content collection from remote server 534, content source 530 or database 510. For example, application 506 may receive only a name (full or shortened) or other identification information for the media content collection and/or a single media asset of the media content collection, and utilize this information to locate a data structure stored in database 510 for the media content collection. Application 506 may also use such information to generate a request and/or search query, and may transmit this request and/or search query to remote server 534 or content source 530. In response, application 506 may receive a data structure for the media content collection from remote server 534 or content source 530.)
Peterson in view Zimmerman teaches the limitations of claims 1 and 11. As per claims 9 and 19:
Peterson further teaches:
further comprising: generating a link to the web page associated with the media title; and providing the link for later interaction. ((Fig 8B, element 860; [0029] While the displays of FIGS. 1-2 and 6A-9 are illustrated as full screen displays, they may also be fully or partially overlaid over content being displayed. A user may indicate a desire to access content information by selecting a selectable option provided in a display screen (e.g., a menu option, a listings option, an icon, a hyperlink, etc.) or pressing a dedicated button (e.g., a GUIDE button) on a remote control or other user input interface or device. [0113] User interface 850 may include multiple options for receiving access to the media content collection using a single transaction. Each of options 856-860 may be the lowest price charged by a content provider of the media content collection for accessing the media content collection using a particular type of access. In this example, user interface 850 includes option 856 for purchasing physical merchandise containing the media content collection, option 858 for downloading digital files with the media content collection, and option 860 for streaming the media content collection. However, application 506 may still indicate the most cost-efficient way to receive access to the media content collection, regardless of type of access, such as by highlighting the cheapest option. In this example, option 860 is labeled as "Best Deal!", since it is the most cost-efficient way of receiving access to the media content collection, whether using a single transaction or using multiple transactions. [0144] At step 1102, application 506 retrieves or receives information identifying each media asset of the media content collection. This information may be received from application 508, retrieved from database 510, received from server 502, received from remote server 534, received from content source 530, extracted from the data structure for the media content collection that was retrieved in step 1008, and/or received using one of the techniques discussed above in relations to step 1008. [0147] Application 506 may thus identify the lowest cost content provider of access to a media asset using a transaction, and store information regarding this price and the corresponding content provider to a data structure, while the accumulated lowest cost may or may not reflect the fact that one or more media assets can be accessed without a transaction. [0160] At step 1206, application 506 may receive a user selection of an option to access the media content collection or an individual media asset. [0163] Steps 1214 and 1216 are involved in receiving access to a media asset or media content collection that is streamed over a network connection. At step 1214, application 506 communicates with a remote server, such as content source 530, to receive access to the media asset or media content collection being streamed. As the data containing the media asset or the media content collection is received, user device 504 displays the received data, thereby providing access to the media asset or media content collection. [0164] The user may interact with application 506 or another application to cause user device 504 or another device to display the received digital files, thereby providing access to the media asset or the media content collection. See also [0146]-[0160] ; The media asset is compared across multiple providers including local storage and remote storage. The one with the lowest price option is selected for the user and displayed to the user including indicating the best deal as seen in Fig. 8B.)
Peterson in view Zimmerman teaches the limitations of claims 1 and 11. As per claims 10 and 20:
Peterson further teaches:
further comprising: searching another device for the media associated with the media title, wherein the other device and the device are linked; ([0091] Instead, or in combination, application 506 may also communicate with one or more of remote server 534, content source 530 and media guidance data source 532 through communications network 528 to execute process 400. Application 506 may generate and transmit a search query in order to obtain necessary information. For example, application 506 may use information received from application 508 or database 510 identifying a media content collection or media asset to generate a search query requesting information regarding a media content collection, individual media assets of the media content collection, and/or content providers of the media content collection or media asset. This search query may be transmitted to remote server 534, which may be a general purpose search engine or a search engine specialized in searches for providers and/or pricing information (of media content or general) or content source 530, which may be a server associated with a potential or actual content provider.)
receiving, by the device, (a) the media title, (b) a third metadata, and (c) a different assigned identifier of a different media streaming application from the other device; (paragraph [0004] For each media asset of the media content collection a set of providers of the media asset are identified, and the lowest price for receiving access to each media asset is determined. The lowest price for receiving access to each media asset of the media content collection is accumulated to determine a second price for receiving access to the media content collection using multiple transactions. The first and the second price are compared, and access to the media content collection is received based on this comparison. [0142] At step 1024, application 506 stores the lowest price charged by a content provider of the media content collection and information identifying the corresponding content provider to a data structure. The information identifying the corresponding content provider may include a network address through which access to the media content collection can be obtained, user readable information such as the content provider's name, information identifying another application through which access can be received and/or other user or computer readable information. [0090] Database 510 may also store separate data structures for each media asset. These data structures may also contain information identifying content providers of the media content collection and/or associated media assets. Database 510 may contain data structures identifying potential content providers (i.e., known content providers that may or may not be able to provide access to a specific media content collection or media asset) and/or data structures identifying actual content providers (i.e., known content providers capable of providing access to a specific media content collection or media asset). These content provider data structures may also contain information regarding the type of access provided by each content provider and/or a price charged by the content provider for providing access to a media content collection or a media asset. Application 506 may retrieve, optionally based on information received from application 508 or previously retrieved from database 510, any one of the data structures referred to above to identify a media content collection, identify the individual media assets that make up the media content collection, identify a content provider of the media content collection, identify a content provider of a media asset, identify a potential content provider and/or identify the price for receiving access to a media content collection or a media asset. [0139] The prices charged by different content providers may also be determined using different approaches. For example, database 510 may store the price charged by a first content provider but not a second content provider. In this case, application 506 may retrieve the price charged by the first content provider from database 510, and interact with a remote server associated with the second content provider to determine the price charged by the second content provider. [0144] At step 1102, application 506 retrieves or receives information identifying each media asset of the media content collection. This information may be received from application 508, retrieved from database 510, received from server 502, received from remote server 534, received from content source 530, extracted from the data structure for the media content collection that was retrieved in step 1008, and/or received using one of the techniques discussed above in relations to step 1008. [0146]-[0160] ; Fig 8B; The media asset is compared across multiple providers including local storage and remote storage. The one with the lowest price option is selected for the user and displayed to the user including indicating the best deal as seen in Fig. 8B. See also paragraphs [0113]-[0115)).
comparing, by the media guidance application, the second metadata of the web page, and the third metadata of the other device; ((paragraph [0139] The prices charged by different content providers may also be determined using different approaches. For example, database 510 may store the price charged by a first content provider but not a second content provider. In this case, application 506 may retrieve the price charged by the first content provider from database 510, and interact with a remote server associated with the second content provider to determine the price charged by the second content provider. [0142] At step 1024, application 506 stores the lowest price charged by a content provider of the media content collection and information identifying the corresponding content provider to a data structure. The information identifying the corresponding content provider may include a network address through which access to the media content collection can be obtained, user readable information such as the content provider's name, information identifying another application (first/third applications) through which access can be received and/or other user or computer readable information. [0144] At step 1102, application 506 retrieves or receives information identifying each media asset of the media content collection. This information may be received from application 508, retrieved from database 510, received from server 502, received from remote server 534, received from content source 530, extracted from the data structure for the media content collection that was retrieved in step 1008, and/or received using one of the techniques discussed above in relations to step 1008. [0146]-[0160] ; Fig 8B; The media asset is compared across multiple providers including local storage and remote storage. The one with the lowest price option is selected for the user and displayed to the user including indicating the best deal as seen in Fig. 8B. See also paragraphs [0113]-[0115)
Peterson does not expressly teach and causing the different media streaming application to play the media associated with the media title.
Zimmerman teaches:
based at least in part on the comparing, performing at least one of:
causing an opening of the web application to the web page via which the media associated with the media title can be played; or causing a launching of the different media streaming application based on the different assigned identifier received from the other device, (paragraph [0029] Furthermore, the navigation module 202 may receive a selection of a content object that either triggers automatic playing of the corresponding program or links the digital receiver 102 to a detailed content view (e.g., media view) for the program corresponding to the selected content object. In some embodiments, selecting a particular content object cross-launches the third party service application (e.g., Netflix; Hulu) or the digital receiver application (e.g., for record VODs), and begins playback of the corresponding program in full screen. For example, selecting a “House of Cards” content object triggers launch of the Netflix application and, based on a deep link to the content/program, automatically causes immediate playback of the selected episode of “House of Cards.”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include causing the media streaming application to play the media associated with the media title as taught by Zimmerman with the media offer comparer of Peterson in order to automatically cause immediate playback of selected content (paragraph [0029]).
13. Claim(s) 6 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Peterson et al (US 2014/0007146) in view of Zimmerman et al (US 2018/0070121) in view of Farell (US 2006/0036502)
Peterson in view Zimmerman teaches the limitations of claims 1 and 11. As per claims 6 and 16:
Peterson in view of Zimmerman does not expressly teach comparing using at least one of text input, image recognition, or barcode or QR code scanning.
Farell teaches:
wherein the search request is performed using at least one of text input, image recognition, a
barcode or a QR code scan. (paragraph [0018] Server 104 then retrieves product reviews, retail outlet information, price comparisons for a plurality of retail outlets, and/or other product information for the item based on the barcode information scanned by the user. Other product information may include the identities of similar items, the price of the similar item at various retail establishments, and product reviews for the similar product, thereby allowing the customer to do comparison shopping without the need of visiting several retail establishments.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include in the teachings of Peterson in view of Zimmerman in view of Lim comparing prices across multiple sales entities as taught by Farrell in order to help a user determine the best price for a product (paragraph [0018]).)
Claim(s) 7 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Peterson et al (US 2014/0007146) in view of Zimmerman et al (US 2018/0070121) Dankberg et al (US 2014/0164586)
Peterson in view Zimmerman teaches the limitations of claims 1 and 11. As per claims 7 and 17:
Peterson in view of Zimmerman does not expressly teach storing the media associated with the media title for later presentation.
Dankberg teaches:
further comprising: storing the media associated with the media title for later presentation. ([0049] As illustrated in FIG. 3B, it is assumed that a user selected Season 1 of a television program, called "Parks and Recreation," from a main selection page (e.g., the webpage 210 of FIG. 2). In response to the selection, the pop-up window 310b is generated to effectively provide a prompt that allows the user to select an option for how to watch the selected media. The pop-up window 310b presents the subscriber with a number of options. According to a first illustrated option (illustrated as button 330), the subscriber can watch the movie later (e.g., download the movie at some later time for storage to the subscriber's home CDN 125), with an estimated delivery time of 24 hours, for no cost to the subscriber's monthly usage allowance (presented as "DAP free"). According to a second illustrated option (illustrated as button 320), the subscriber can watch the movie now (e.g., stream or download the movie now from the aggregator's website) for an estimated cost of 2 Megabytes to the subscriber's monthly usage cap (e.g., according to the user's DAP).)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include storing the media associated with the media title for later presentation as taught by Dankberg with the media offer comparer of Peterson in view of Zimmerman in order to help manage network bandwidth (paragraphs [0002], [0003]).
Claim(s) 8 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Peterson et al (US 2014/0007146) in view of Zimmerman et al (US 2018/0070121) Casey et al (US 2009/0007171)
Gandhi in view Zimmerman teaches the limitations of claims 1 and 11. As per claims 8 and 18:
Peterson in view of Zimmerman does not expressly teach transmitting the media associated with the media title to another device for display.
Casey teaches:
further comprising: transmitting the media associated with the media title to another device for display. (Fig. 1; [0027] A set top box 105 comprises a viewer profile 110, an interest aggregator 125, an interest scheduler 130, a dynamic advertisement engine 140, and a content manager 145. A viewer 120 has access to the interest aggregator 125, a display device 150, and an IP network 155. [0028] The content manager 145 retrieves a content stream from programming contents 165 to be displayed on the display device 150 and has access to the dynamic advertisement engine 140, a first set of advertisement contents 160a that is stored locally, and the IP network 155. [0031] Accordingly, the user interface might include the display device 150 including a television set and/or various input devices including a remote control, and/or a remote keyboard. [0052] For example, in an embodiment, the set top box might send a video signal to a television, which causes the video component to be displayed on the television.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include transmitting the media associated with the media title to another device for display as taught by Casey with the media offer comparer of Peterson in view of Zimmerman in order to allow a user to view content (paragraph [0052]).
Claim(s) 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Peterson et al (US 2014/0007146) in view of Wilson (US 2013/0055325)
As per claim 21:
Peterson teaches:
A method comprising:
storing in a local memory of a device, a data structure that is accessible by a media guidance application and any of a plurality of media streaming applications, wherein the data structure comprises: (paragraph [0142] At step 1024, application 506 stores the lowest price charged by a content provider of the media content collection and information identifying the corresponding content provider to a data structure. The information identifying the corresponding content provider may include a network address through which access to the media content collection can be obtained, user readable information such as the content provider's name, information identifying another application through which access can be received and/or other user or computer readable information.)
entries for storing media titles in association with identifiers of streaming applications launchable by the device; (paragraph [0142] At step 1024, application 506 stores the lowest price charged by a content provider of the media content collection and information identifying the corresponding content provider to a data structure. The information identifying the corresponding content provider may include a network address through which access to the media content collection can be obtained, user readable information such as the content provider's name, information identifying another application through which access can be received and/or other user or computer readable information. [0090] Database 510 may also store separate data structures for each media asset. These data structures may also contain information identifying content providers of the media content collection and/or associated media assets. Database 510 may contain data structures identifying potential content providers (i.e., known content providers that may or may not be able to provide access to a specific media content collection or media asset) and/or data structures identifying actual content providers (i.e., known content providers capable of providing access to a specific media content collection or media asset). These content provider data structures may also contain information regarding the type of access provided by each content provider and/or a price charged by the content provider for providing access to a media content collection or a media asset. Application 506 may retrieve, optionally based on information received from application 508 or previously retrieved from database 510, any one of the data structures referred to above to identify a media content collection, identify the individual media assets that make up the media content collection, identify a content provider of the media content collection, identify a content provider of a media asset, identify a potential content provider and/or identify the price for receiving access to a media content collection or a media asset.)
receiving, by the device from a remote server over a network, a content item accessible via a media streaming application, wherein the content item comprises (a) a media title, and (b) first metadata of the content item; (paragraph [0142] At step 1024, application 506 stores the lowest price charged by a content provider of the media content collection and information identifying the corresponding content provider to a data structure. The information identifying the corresponding content provider may include a network address through which access to the media content collection can be obtained, user readable information such as the content provider's name, information identifying another application through which access can be received and/or other user or computer readable information. [0144] At step 1102, application 506 retrieves or receives information identifying each media asset of the media content collection. This information may be received from application 508, retrieved from database 510, received from server 502, received from remote server 534, received from content source 530, extracted from the data structure for the media content collection that was retrieved in step 1008, and/or received using one of the techniques discussed above in relations to step 1008. [0090] Database 510 may also store separate data structures for each media asset. These data structures may also contain information identifying content providers of the media content collection and/or associated media assets. Database 510 may contain data structures identifying potential content providers (i.e., known content providers that may or may not be able to provide access to a specific media content collection or media asset) and/or data structures identifying actual content providers (i.e., known content providers capable of providing access to a specific media content collection or media asset). These content provider data structures may also contain information regarding the type of access provided by each content provider and/or a price charged by the content provider for providing access to a media content collection or a media asset. Application 506 may retrieve, optionally based on information received from application 508 or previously retrieved from database 510, any one of the data structures referred to above to identify a media content collection, identify the individual media assets that make up the media content collection, identify a content provider of the media content collection, identify a content provider of a media asset, identify a potential content provider and/or identify the price for receiving access to a media content collection or a media asset.)
storing, using control circuitry of the device, in a particular entry of the data structure stored in the local memory of the device: (a) the media title, (b) the first metadata, and (c) an assigned identifier of the media streaming application via which the content item was received; (paragraph [0142] At step 1024, application 506 stores the lowest price charged by a content provider of the media content collection and information identifying the corresponding content provider to a data structure. The information identifying the corresponding content provider may include a network address through which access to the media content collection can be obtained, user readable information such as the content provider's name, information identifying another application through which access can be received and/or other user or computer readable information. [0090] Database 510 may also store separate data structures for each media asset. These data structures may also contain information identifying content providers of the media content collection and/or associated media assets. Database 510 may contain data structures identifying potential content providers (i.e., known content providers that may or may not be able to provide access to a specific media content collection or media asset) and/or data structures identifying actual content providers (i.e., known content providers capable of providing access to a specific media content collection or media asset). These content provider data structures may also contain information regarding the type of access provided by each content provider and/or a price charged by the content provider for providing access to a media content collection or a media asset. Application 506 may retrieve, optionally based on information received from application 508 or previously retrieved from database 510, any one of the data structures referred to above to identify a media content collection, identify the individual media assets that make up the media content collection, identify a content provider of the media content collection, identify a content provider of a media asset, identify a potential content provider and/or identify the price for receiving access to a media content collection or a media asset.)
receiving, from a user interface, a search request by the media guidance application for the media title; ([0091] - Application 506 may generate and transmit a search query in order to obtain necessary information. For example, application 506 may use information received from application 508 or database 510 identifying a media content collection or media asset to generate a search query requesting information regarding a media content collection, individual media assets of the media content collection, and/or content providers of the media content collection or media asset.)
searching internet for a web page via which the content item associated with the media title can be played; ([0052] A media content collection can be accessed from a number of potential sources through a number of different content providers. A user may be able to purchase a DVD containing the media content collection, receive a password for accessing a website that streams the media content collection over the internet, purchase access to the media content collection for on-demand viewing via a set-top box, or download the media content collection to a personal computer. The different methods of receiving access to media content (e.g., downloading, streaming, playing physical merchandise) are referred to as types of access. [0074] Remote server 534 may be a 3.sup.rd party server capable of providing other services. Remote server 534 may, for example, provide a search engine and/or a database of information. A search engine may perform a general search of information available via communications network 628, or may be a specific search engine for products, services and/or media content. Such a specific search engine may in fact be capable of performing some of the steps of process 400, such as determining the most cost-efficient way to receive access to a media content collection and/or media asset. Such a specific search engine may also be able to generate lists of content providers capable of providing access to media content or providers of physical merchandise. Remote server 534 may also host a database. Such a database may include information on media content collections and the media assets contained therein, or on providers of media content collection and/or media assets. The list of providers maintained by remote server 534 may contain only content providers that do not charge for the media content, content providers that do charge for the media content, or both. The database may also contain any further information discussed below as being stored in database 510, such as prices charged by content providers and/or types of access provided by content providers.)
identifying, by the media guidance application, the particular entry in the data structure that comprises the media title from the search request to access the first metadata stored in the data structure; ([0010] In some embodiments, identifying providers of a media asset involves generating a search query, transmitting the search query over a network connection, and, in response, receiving information identifying providers of the media asset. [0074] 0074] Remote server 534 may be a 3.sup.rd party server capable of providing other services. Remote server 534 may, for example, provide a search engine and/or a database of information. A search engine may perform a general search of information available via communications network 628, or may be a specific search engine for products, services and/or media content. Such a specific search engine may in fact be capable of performing some of the steps of process 400, such as determining the most cost-efficient way to receive access to a media content collection and/or media asset. Such a specific search engine may also be able to generate lists of content providers capable of providing access to media content or providers of physical merchandise. Remote server 534 may also host a database. Such a database may include information on media content collections and the media assets contained therein, or on providers of media content collection and/or media assets. The list of providers maintained by remote server 534 may contain only content providers that do not charge for the media content, content providers that do charge for the media content, or both. The database may also contain any further information discussed below as being stored in database 510, such as prices charged by content providers and/or types of access provided by content providers. [0091] Application 506 may generate and transmit a search query in order to obtain necessary information. For example, application 506 may use information received from application 508 or database 510 identifying a media content collection or media asset to generate a search query requesting information regarding a media content collection, individual media assets of the media content collection, and/or content providers of the media content collection or media asset. [0128] Application 506 may also receive a user selection of a media asset of the media content collection, such as in step 1006. [0139] At step 1014, application 506 determines a price charged by a first content provider of the identified list for providing access to the media content collection using a single transaction. Application 506 may retrieve this price from the data structure for the media content collection, from another data structure in database 510 that is associated with the content provider, from a remote server associated with the content provider, such as content source 530, or from remote server 534. The prices charged by different content providers may also be determined using different approaches. For example, database 510 may store the price charged by a first content provider but not a second content provider. In this case, application 506 may retrieve the price charged by the first content provider from database 510, and interact with a remote server associated with the second content provider to determine the price charged by the second content provider.))
comparing, by the media guidance application, the first metadata and second metadata of the web page; (paragraph [0139] The prices charged by different content providers may also be determined using different approaches. For example, database 510 may store the price charged by a first content provider but not a second content provider. In this case, application 506 may retrieve the price charged by the first content provider from database 510, and interact with a remote server associated with the second content provider to determine the price charged by the second content provider. [0142] At step 1024, application 506 stores the lowest price charged by a content provider of the media content collection and information identifying the corresponding content provider to a data structure. The information identifying the corresponding content provider may include a network address through which access to the media content collection can be obtained, user readable information such as the content provider's name, information identifying another application (first/third applications) through which access can be received and/or other user or computer readable information. [0144] At step 1102, application 506 retrieves or receives information identifying each media asset of the media content collection. This information may be received from application 508, retrieved from database 510, received from server 502, received from remote server 534, received from content source 530, extracted from the data structure for the media content collection that was retrieved in step 1008, and/or received using one of the techniques discussed above in relations to step 1008. [0146]-[0160] ; Fig 8B; The media asset is compared across multiple providers including local storage and remote storage. The one with the lowest price option is selected for the user and displayed to the user including indicating the best deal as seen in Fig. 8B. See also paragraphs [0113]-[0115)
based at least in part on the comparing, performing at least one of:
providing for display the media streaming application based on the assigned identifier stored in the data structure, (Fig 8B, element 860; [0113] User interface 850 may include multiple options for receiving access to the media content collection using a single transaction. Each of options 856-860 may be the lowest price charged by a content provider of the media content collection for accessing the media content collection using a particular type of access. In this example, user interface 850 includes option 856 for purchasing physical merchandise containing the media content collection, option 858 for downloading digital files with the media content collection, and option 860 for streaming the media content collection. However, application 506 may still indicate the most cost-efficient way to receive access to the media content collection, regardless of type of access, such as by highlighting the cheapest option. In this example, option 860 is labeled as "Best Deal!", since it is the most cost-efficient way of receiving access to the media content collection, whether using a single transaction or using multiple transactions. [0144] At step 1102, application 506 retrieves or receives information identifying each media asset of the media content collection. This information may be received from application 508, retrieved from database 510, received from server 502, received from remote server 534, received from content source 530, extracted from the data structure for the media content collection that was retrieved in step 1008, and/or received using one of the techniques discussed above in relations to step 1008. [0147] Application 506 may thus identify the lowest cost content provider of access to a media asset using a transaction, and store information regarding this price and the corresponding content provider to a data structure, while the accumulated lowest cost may or may not reflect the fact that one or more media assets can be accessed without a transaction. [0160] At step 1206, application 506 may receive a user selection of an option to access the media content collection or an individual media asset. [0163] Steps 1214 and 1216 are involved in receiving access to a media asset or media content collection that is streamed over a network connection. At step 1214, application 506 communicates with a remote server, such as content source 530, to receive access to the media asset or media content collection being streamed. As the data containing the media asset or the media content collection is received, user device 504 displays the received data, thereby providing access to the media asset or media content collection. [0164] The user may interact with application 506 or another application to cause user device 504 or another device to display the received digital files, thereby providing access to the media asset or the media content collection. See also [0146]-[0160] ; The media asset is compared across multiple providers including local storage and remote storage. The one with the lowest price option is selected for the user and displayed to the user including indicating the best deal as seen in Fig. 8B.)
providing for display a web application of the web page and causing the webpage to display a second link to complete a second transaction corresponding to the content item
Peterson does not expressly teach and causing the media streaming application to display a first link to complete a first transaction corresponding to the content item.
Wilson teaches:
and causing the media streaming application to display a first link to complete a first transaction corresponding to the content item (paragraph [0017] The preferred embodiment of the invention relates to a process that allows a person who is watching the film or television show or other visual content to conduct research on a particular scene and/or to purchase items or services of interest relating to the scene. In one embodiment, a person watching the visual content on streaming media (e.g. Netflix, YouTube, Hulu, etc.) can press an on-screen button to find out more information about the scene, such as the identity of items that are shown in the scene, more information about a topic of conversation in the scene, the names of the actors that appear in the scene, details about products shown in the scene, links to purchase items in the scene.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include and causing the media streaming application to display a first link to complete a first transaction corresponding to the content item as taught by Wilson with the media offer comparer of Peterson in order to increase revenue through purchases associated with the content (paragraph [0017]).
Response to Arguments
Arguments under 35 USC 103 are moot in light of new grounds of rejection which have been necessitated by amendment.
The examiner has considered but does not find persuasive applicant arguments regarding rejections under 35 USC 101. The examiner finds no similarities between example 21 claim 2 and the present claims. Claim 2 was found eligible because it addresses the Internet‐centric challenge of alerting a subscriber with time sensitive information when the subscriber’s computer is offline and the claims solution was necessarily rooted in computer technology. The present claims do not solve address an internet centric problem. The invention merely compares various sources to determine which source is best (i.e. best price) for consuming content. The comparison is merely done in a computer environment but in no way improves technology or a technical field. The use of links for transactions is merely a general link to selecting a purchase in a computing environment and does not improve links in any way. As a result, such rejections have been maintained.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
CHRISTOPHER STROUD
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3621B
/CHRISTOPHER STROUD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3621