DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Effective January 1, 1994, a registered attorney or agent of record may sign a terminal disclaimer. A terminal disclaimer signed by the assignee must fully comply with 37 CFR 3.73(b).
Claims 15-21 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory obviousness-type double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 24-26 and 28-30 of U.S. Patent No. 12,425,960. Although the conflicting claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because:
Claims 24-26 and 28-30 of Patent No. 12,425,960 contain every elements of claims 15-21 of the instant application and thus anticipate the claims of the instant application. Claims of the instant application therefore are not patently distinct from the earlier patent claims and as such are unpatentable over obvious-type double patenting. A later application claim is not patentably distinct from an earlier claim if the later claim is anticipated by the earlier claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 5-9 and 12-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Shrestha et al (US 2024/0107472, “Shrestha”).
Re claims 1 and 8, Shrestha discloses receiving, by a user equipment connected using a current cell served by a first satellite to a base station, information from the base station comprising assistance information for a cell switch from the current cell to a cell served by a second satellite, wherein the information is received before a stop time indicating when the current cell will stop serving the user equipment (figure 6a, step 610); and performing, by the user equipment, the cell switch from the current cell to the cell served by the second satellite using at least the assistance information to find one or more cell synchronization blocks for the served by the second satellite (figure 6a, steps 620 and 630).
Re claims 2 and 9, Shrestha discloses the assistance information comprises one or more time offsets relative to existing cell timing for the current cell; and performing the cell switch uses at least the one or more time offsets to find the one or more cell synchronization blocks for the cell served by the second satellite (paragraph [0082]).
Re claims 5 and 12, Shrestha discloses the assistance information comprises a different set of locations in time and frequency for the one or more cell synchronization blocks that is provided corresponding to the cell served by the second satellite, wherein the different set of locations is different from a set of locations in time and frequency for one or more cell synchronization blocks corresponding to the current cell; and performing the cell switch uses at least the different set of locations to find the one or more cell synchronization blocks for the cell served by the second satellite (paragraph [0084]).
Re claims 6 and 13, Shrestha discloses the assistance information comprises a time interval for the user equipment to perform a search for a re-synchronization attempt to the cell served by the second satellite; and performing the cell switch uses at least the time interval to find the one or more cell synchronization blocks for the cell served by the second satellite (paragraph [0082]).
Re claims 7 and 14, Shrestha discloses the assistance information comprises ephemeris information corresponding to the second satellite to apply when attempting a re-synchronization to the cell served by the second satellite; and performing the cell switch uses at least the ephemeris information to find the one or more cell synchronization blocks for the cell served by the second satellite (paragraph [0083]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shrestha in view of Kim et al (US 2023/0403661, “Kim”)
Re claims 3 and 10, Shrestha discloses all of the limitations of the base claim, but fails to disclose the assistance information comprises a frequency offset of one or more cell synchronization blocks to use for detection, measurement, and evaluation of the one or more cell synchronization blocks of the cell served by the second satellite; and performing the cell switch uses at least the frequency offset to find the one or more cell synchronization blocks for the cell served by the second satellite. However, Kim discloses detecting SSB by utilizing frequency offsets (paragraph [0249]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Shrestha with Kim for the benefit of providing cell switching by reducing power consumption of the UE for SSB detection based on frequency offsets.
Claims 15-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shrestha in view of Myhre et al (US 11,218,960, “Myhre”).
Re claim 15, Shrestha discloses sending, by a base station to a user equipment connected using a current cell served by a first satellite to the base station, information from the base station comprising assistance information for a cell switch from the current cell to a cell served by a second satellite (figure 6a, step 610); but fails to disclose shutting down, by the base station, the current cell at a current location at a stop time. However, Myhre discloses a base station shutting down the current cell at a current location at a stop time (figure 13, step 42). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Shrestha with Myhre for the benefit of energy saving by shutting down the current cell at a current location at a stop time.
Re claim 16, the modified system of Shrestha discloses before the shutting down, sending one or more cell synchronization blocks in the cell served by a second satellite according to the assistance information for the cell switch (paragraph [0088] of Shrestha).
Re claim 17, the modified system of Shrestha implicitly discloses before the shutting down, communicating with other base station so the other base station sends one or more cell synchronization blocks according to the assistance information for the cell switch (paragraph [0088] of Shrestha).
Re claim 18, Shrestha discloses the cell switch uses one of a change in physical cell identification between the current cell and the cell served by the second satellite, or a same physical cell identification for both the current cell and the cell served by the second satellite (paragraph [0084]).
Re claim 19, Shrestha discloses the one or more cell synchronization blocks comprise corresponding one or more synchronization signal blocks comprising both search signals and physical broadcast channels (paragraph [0083]).
Re claim 20, Shrestha discloses both the current cell and the cell served by the second satellite cover a same geographical area (figure 5).
Re claim 21, Shrestha discloses the cell switch comprises a soft cell switch where there is overlapping satellite coverage at least at a switching time (paragraph [0023]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4 and 11 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/HONG S CHO/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2467