Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nagashima et al. (US 2008/0209281), hereinafter Nagashima, in view of Sprouse et al. (US 9,053,808), hereinafter Sprouse.
Regarding claim 1, Nagashima teaches a system comprising: a memory device (Nagashima, Fig. 1, storage device 100); and a processing device, operatively coupled to the memory device (Nagashima, Fig. 1, control unit 190), configured to perform operations comprising: determining a schedule for scanning a plurality of blocks of the memory device (Nagashima, para. [0037], lines 1-6, "The compulsory-BMS [Background Medium Scan] monitoring time (X) is a time interval at which the storage device 100 is to determine whether the BMS needs to be compulsorily performed. For example, when the compulsory-BMS monitoring time (X) is set to 2 hours, the storage device 100 determines after every 2 hours whether the BMS is to be compulsorily performed"), the schedule comprising a time period that is divided into a series of time intervals (Nagashima, para. [0038], lines 1-6, "The period monitoring time (Y) is a period at which, when it is determined that the storage device 100 compulsorily performs the BMS, the BMS is performed on an unscanned area on the disk 120. For example, when the period monitoring time (Y) is set to 10 seconds, the BMS is performed on the unscanned area after every 10 seconds"); causing background scans to be enabled for scanning the plurality of blocks (Nagashima, para. [0014], lines 4-7, "The control device includes a first scanning unit that causes the storage device to scan data stored in the storage medium while the storage device is in an idle state"; the scanning of data while the storage device is in an idle state equates to background scanning of memory blocks); causing foreground scans to be disabled for scanning the plurality of blocks for at least a first time interval of the time period (Nagashima, para. [0014], lines 10-17, "a second scanning unit that, when the determining unit determines that the proportion of the scanned data is less than the threshold value, causes the storage device to scan unscanned data in the storage medium during a time interval between commands received by the storage device from outside while the storage device is not in an idle state, until the proportion of the scanned data is equal to or more than the threshold value"); and prior to an end of the first time interval: determining a number of scanned blocks in the plurality of blocks since a beginning of the first time interval (Nagashima, para. [0025], lines 4-7, "the storage device determines whether a completion proportion, which is a proportion of an area where the BMS has been performed in the entire storage area of a disk, is equal to or more than a threshold value"; the determination of the completion proportion requires determining how much has been scanned over a defined time interval); determining, based on the number of scanned blocks (Nagashima, para. [0024], lines 4-7, “the storage device determines whether a completion proportion, which is a proportion of an area where the BMS has been performed in the entire storage area of a disk…”; the completion proportion equates to the number of scanned blocks), whether to enable foreground scans for scanning any remaining unscanned blocks of the plurality of blocks for at least a second time interval of the time period; and in response to determining that the foreground scans should be enabled for scanning any remaining unscanned blocks of the plurality of blocks for at least the second time interval, causing the foreground scans to be enabled for at least the second time interval (Nagashima, para. [0014], lines 10-17, "a second scanning unit that, when the determining unit determines that the proportion of the scanned data is less than the threshold value, causes the storage device to scan unscanned data in the storage medium during a time interval between commands received by the storage device from outside while the storage device is not in an idle state, until the proportion of the scanned data is equal to or more than the threshold value").
Nagashima fails to explicitly teach determining whether to enable foreground scans based on an expected scan progress at the end of the first time interval.
However, Sprouse, in an analogous art, teaches performing maintenance scanning and refresh operations as background operations. Sprouse also teaches that the maintenance operations are scheduled and managed in a controlled manner to balance completion of maintenance scanning with system performance considerations (Sprouse, col. 2, lines 1-8, "the controller may identify a word line of the flash memory to scan, scan the identified word line for data errors without scanning any other word line in a block containing the identified word line, and place the block in a refresh queue if an error threshold is detected in the identified word line. The blocks in the refresh queue may be refreshed during a later background process by copying data from the blocks to new blocks").
Nagashima and Sprouse are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same field of performing data scanning operations in memory devices.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified Nagashima to incorporate an expected scan progress corresponding to a defined time interval, and to determine whether to enable foreground scans based on a comparison between actual scan progress and the expected scan progress.
The suggestion/motivation for doing so would be to ensure completion of scanning within a desired time period while maintaining data integrity and minimizing impact on system performance, which is consistent with Sprouse’s teachings regarding controlled background maintenance operations (Sprouse, col. 1, lines 53-61, "This approach may also potentially lead to performing frequent and unnecessary copying operations that can affect performance and life span of the flash memory device. In order to address the problems noted above, a system and illustrated in FIG. 1. A flash memory configured for use as a method for implementing a targeted read scrub algorithm is disclosed").
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Nagashima in view of Sprouse teaches the system of claim 1, wherein the causing of the foreground scans to be enabled for at least the second time interval comprises enabling the foreground scans to be performed with a fixed scan cadence during the second time interval (Nagashima, para. [0038], lines 1-4, “The period monitoring time (Y) is a period at which, when it is determined that the storage device 100 compulsorily performs the BMS, the BMS is performed on an unscanned area on the disk 120. For example, when the period monitoring time (Y) is set to 10 seconds, the BMS is performed on the unscanned area after every 10 seconds”; the period monitoring time equates to a fixed scan cadence).
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Nagashima in view of Sprouse teaches the system of claim 1, wherein the causing of the foreground scans to be enabled for at least the second time interval comprises: determining a difference between the number of scanned blocks and the expected scan progress at the end of the first time interval; determining a scan cadence based on the difference; and enabling the foreground scans to be performed with the scan cadence during the second time interval (Nagashima, para. [0025], lines 4-13, “the storage device determines whether a completion proportion, which is a proportion of an area where the BMS has been performed in the entire storage area of a disk, is equal to or more than a threshold value. If the completion proportion is less than the threshold value, the storage device compulsorily performs the BMS on the unscanned area on the disk during a time interval between commands received from the higher-level device while the storage device is not in an idle state, until the completion proportion is equal to or more than the threshold value.”; the completion portion being compared to a threshold inherently implies a difference being determined, and the BMS behavior is changed based on this difference).
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Nagashima in view of Sprouse teaches the system of claim 3, wherein the determining of the scan cadence based on the difference comprises: identifying the scan cadence in a predetermined look-up table based on the difference (Nagashima, para. [0036], lines 1-4, “The monitoring-time management table 182 contains data on a period, or the like, at which the storage device 100 determines whether the BMS needs to be compulsorily performed on an unscanned area on the disk 120”).
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Nagashima in view of Sprouse teaches the system of claim 3, wherein the determining of the scan cadence based on the difference comprises: calculating the scan cadence based on the difference and a cadence formula (Nagashima, para. [0050], lines 11-13, “The compulsory-BMS monitoring time (X) is calculated by using the following equation:
X
=
x
/
101
”; para. [0051], lines 9-13, “The period monitoring time (Y) is determined by calculating the time for executing the BMS with the performance degradation rate (y %), as defined by the following equation:
Y
=
2
x
a
v
e
r
a
g
e
s
e
e
k
t
i
m
e
+
o
n
e
r
o
t
a
t
i
o
n
t
i
m
e
x
100
/
y
”).
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Nagashima in view of Sprouse teaches the system of claim 1, wherein the operations comprise: during a second time interval of the time period and prior to an end of the second time interval: redetermining the number of scanned blocks in the plurality of blocks since the beginning of the first time interval; determining, based on the number of scanned blocks and the expected scan progress at the end of the second time interval, whether to enable foreground scans for scanning any remaining unscanned blocks of the plurality of blocks for at least a third time interval of the time period; in response to determining that the foreground scans should be enabled for scanning any remaining unscanned blocks of the plurality of blocks for at least the third time interval, causing the foreground scans to be enabled for at least the third time interval; and in response to determining that the foreground scans should not be enabled for scanning any remaining unscanned blocks of the plurality of blocks for at least the third time interval, causing the foreground scans to be disabled for at least the third time interval (Nagashima, para. [0037], lines 1-6, “The compulsory-BMS monitoring time (X) is a time interval at which the storage device 100 is to determine whether the BMS needs to be compulsorily performed. For example, when the compulsory-BMS monitoring time (X) is set to 2 hours, the storage device 100 determines after every 2 hours whether the BMS is to be compulsorily performed”).
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Nagashima in view of Sprouse teaches The system of claim 6, wherein the causing of the foreground scans to be enabled for at least the third time interval comprises: determining a difference between the number of scanned blocks and the expected scan progress at the end of the second time interval; determining a scan cadence based on the difference; and enabling the foreground scans to be performed with the scan cadence during the third time interval (Nagashima, para. [0043], lines 1-7, “When performing the compulsory BMS process, the BMS executing unit 193 performs the BMS on an unscanned area of the disk 120 at intervals of the period monitoring time (Y) while the storage device 100 is not in an idle state. The BMS executing unit 193 continuously performs the BMS until the completion proportion is equal to or more than the threshold value”; the repeated comparisons and timing adjustments are inherently applied to subsequent intervals).
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Nagashima in view of Sprouse teaches the system of claim 7, wherein the determining of the scan cadence based on the difference comprises: identifying the scan cadence in a predetermined look-up table based on the difference (Nagashima, para. [0036], lines 1-4, “The monitoring-time management table 182 contains data on a period, or the like, at which the storage device 100 determines whether the BMS needs to be compulsorily performed on an unscanned area on the disk 120”; the table is used iteratively so it is inherently applied to a third time interval).
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Nagashima in view of Sprouse teaches the system of claim 7, wherein the determining of the scan cadence based on the difference comprises: calculating the scan cadence based on the difference and a cadence formula (Nagashima, para. [0050], lines 11-13, “The compulsory-BMS monitoring time (X) is calculated by using the following equation:
X
=
x
/
101
”; para. [0051], lines 9-13, “The period monitoring time (Y) is determined by calculating the time for executing the BMS with the performance degradation rate (y %), as defined by the following equation:
Y
=
2
x
a
v
e
r
a
g
e
s
e
e
k
t
i
m
e
+
o
n
e
r
o
t
a
t
i
o
n
t
i
m
e
x
100
/
y
”; the formulas are used iteratively so it is inherently applied to a third time interval).
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Nagashima in view of Sprouse teaches the system of claim 1, wherein the series of time intervals comprises N number of time intervals, and wherein the operations comprise: during an (N-1)th time interval of the time period and prior to the end of the (N-1)th time interval: redetermining the number of scanned blocks in the plurality of blocks since the beginning of the first time interval; determining, based on the number of scanned blocks, whether all blocks of the plurality of blocks have been scanned; and in response to determining that all blocks of the plurality of blocks have been scanned: causing the background scans to be disabled for an Nth time interval of the time period; and causing the foreground scans to be disabled for the Nth time interval (Nagashima, para. [0043], lines 4-7, “The BMS executing unit 193 continuously performs the BMS until the completion proportion is equal to or more than the threshold value”; once scanning is complete, scanning operations stop, which equates to background and foreground scans being disabled).
Regarding claim 11, the combination of Nagashima in view of Sprouse teaches the system of claim 1, wherein the series of time intervals comprises N number of time intervals, and wherein the operations comprise: during an (N-1)th time interval of the time period and prior to the end of the (N-1)th time interval: redetermining the number of scanned blocks in the plurality of blocks since the beginning of the first time interval; determining, based on the number of scanned blocks, whether all blocks of the plurality of blocks have been scanned; and in response to determining that not all blocks of the plurality of blocks have been scanned, causing the foreground scans to be enabled for an Nth time interval (Nagashima, para. [0025], lines 7-13, “If the completion proportion is less than the threshold value, the storage device compulsorily performs the BMS on the unscanned area on the disk during a time interval between commands received from the higher-level device while the storage device is not in an idle state, until the completion proportion is equal to or more than the threshold value”; teaches continued scanning during non-idle operations when the completion portion is less than the threshold).
Regarding claim 12, the combination of Nagashima in view of Sprouse teaches the system of claim 1, wherein each time interval of the series of time intervals has a uniform time span (Nagashima, para. [0038], lines 1-6, “The period monitoring time (Y) is a period at which, when it is determined that the storage device 100 compulsorily performs the BMS, the BMS is performed on an unscanned area on the disk 120. For example, when the period monitoring time (Y) is set to 10 seconds, the BMS is performed on the unscanned area after every 10 seconds”; the period monitoring time is set to a fixed interval).
Regarding claim 13, the combination of Nagashima in view of Sprouse teaches the system of claim 1, wherein at least two time intervals of the series of time intervals have a different time span (Nagashima, para. [0036], lines 6-8, “The monitoring-time management table 182 contains items such as compulsory-BMS monitoring time (X) in hour and period monitoring time (Y) in second“).
Regarding claim 14, the combination of Nagashima in view of Sprouse teaches the system of claim 1, wherein the time period defines a time over which the scanning of all blocks of the plurality of blocks is to be completed (Nagashima, para. [0050], lines 8-11, “the BMS needs to be performed for the 101 compulsory-BMS monitoring times (X) to complete the BMS in the entire storage area of the disk 120”).
Regarding claim 15, the combination of Nagashima in view of Sprouse teaches the system of claim 1, wherein the determining of the schedule comprises: determining the series of time intervals by uniformly dividing the time period into the series of time intervals such that each time interval of the series of time intervals has a uniform time span (Nagashima, para. [0043], lines 1-4, “…the BMS executing unit 193 performs the BMS on an unscanned area of the disk 120 at intervals of the period monitoring time (Y)…”; the fixed period monitoring time being in intervals equates to uniformly dividing the time period into a series of time intervals).
Regarding claim 16, the combination of Nagashima in view of Sprouse teaches the system of claim 1, wherein the determining of the schedule comprises: determining the series of time intervals by non-uniformly dividing the time period into the series of time intervals such that the series of time intervals comprises at least two time intervals having a different time span (Nagashima, para. [0049], lines 7-11, “The monitoring-time managing unit 194 then calculates the compulsory-BMS monitoring time (X) and the period monitoring time (Y) based on the BMS termination time ( x) and the performance degradation rate (y % ) to update the monitoring-time management table 182”; teaches adjustable monitoring times, which allows non-uniform time intervals that are based on a performance degradation rate).
Claim 17 is a non-transitory machine-readable storage medium with limitations similar to the system of claim 1, and is rejected under the same rationale.
Claim 18 is a non-transitory machine-readable storage medium with limitations similar to the system of claim 3, and is rejected under the same rationale.
Claim 19 is a non-transitory machine-readable storage medium with limitations similar to the system of claim 6, and is rejected under the same rationale.
Claim 20 is a method with limitations similar to the system of claim 1, and is rejected under the same rationale.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Lee (US 10,534,705) teaches foreground and background operations in memory systems, that are scheduled based on priority orders and weights.
Kim et al. (US 11,630,726) teaches data scanning periods within memory systems.
/G.V.B./Examiner, Art Unit 2112
/ALBERT DECADY/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2112