DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Bouthinon (U.S. PGPub 2025/0126960).
Regarding claim 1, Bouthinon teaches an optical sensor ([0001]) comprising:
a plurality of lower electrodes (105, [0037]),
an organic material layer that includes a lower carrier transport layer including a plurality of first electrode covering parts each covering at least an upper surface of corresponding one of the plurality of lower electrodes (107, [0037], electron injection layer), and
a carrier mobility reducing part that is provided in at least a part of an area between the adjacent first electrode covering parts so as to reduce carrier mobility of the adjacent first electrode covering parts (Fig. 3, 301, [0058], resin).
Regarding claim 2, Bouthinon teaches wherein the first electrode covering part covers a side surface of the lower electrode (Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 3, Bouthinon teaches wherein the carrier mobility reducing part is partially provided along a direction in which an edge of the lower electrode extends in a plan view (Fig. 3, [0059], Fig. 1B, [0057]).
Regarding claim 4, Bouthinon teaches wherein the carrier mobility reducing part is formed of a material that is different from a material of the organic material layer and has a lower carrier mobility than at least a material of the lower carrier transport layer ([0058], resin).
Regarding claim 5, Bouthinon teaches wherein the organic material layer further includes an organic light receiving layer including a plurality of second electrode covering parts respectively overlapping the first electrode covering parts, and the carrier mobility reducing part is disposed between the adjacent second electrode covering parts (Fig. 3, [0037], 107).
Regarding claim 6, Bouthinon teaches wherein the organic material layer further includes an upper carrier transport layer including a plurality of third electrode covering parts respectively overlapping the second electrode covering parts, and the carrier mobility reducing part is disposed between the adjacent third electrode covering parts (Fig. 3, [0037], 107, hole injection layer).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hayashi (U.S. PGPub 2018/0114909) in view of Bouthinon (U.S. PGPub 2025/0126960).
Regarding claims 1 and 7, Hayashi teaches an optical sensor (Figs. 3-4) comprising:
a plurality of lower electrodes (113, [0104]),
an organic material layer including a plurality of first electrode covering parts each covering at least an upper surface of corresponding one of the plurality of lower electrodes (116, [0104]); and
a carrier mobility reducing part that is provided in at least a part of an area between the adjacent first electrode covering parts so as to reduce carrier mobility of the adjacent first electrode covering parts, the organic material layer further includes an organic light receiving layer, and a part of the organic light receiving layer constitutes the carrier mobility reducing part (116Ba, [0109]-[0111]).
Hayashi does not explicitly teach wherein the organic material layer includes a lower carrier transport layer, and the organic light receiving layer is provided on the lower carrier transport layer.
Maehara teaches wherein an organic photoelectric layer comprises a lower carrier transport layer covering at least an upper surface of a corresponding lower electrode and an organic light receiving layer on the lower carrier transport layer (Fig. 1A, [0037], 107, 105).
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the time of the effective filing date to combine the teachings of Maehara with Hayashi such that the organic material layer includes a lower carrier transport layer, and the organic light receiving layer is provided on the lower carrier transport layer for the purpose of providing an electron injection layer for the optical sensor (Maehara, [0037]).
Conclusion
/ALIA SABUR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2812