DETAILED ACTION
Notice of AIA Status
This action is responsive to the following communications: the Application filed July 18, 2024.
Claims 1-20 are pending. Claims 1, 8 and 14 are independent.
Information Disclosure Statement
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s Information Disclosure Statement (IDS) filed on August 2, 2024. This IDS has been considered.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because:
Figures 1A-15D should be designated by a legend such as --Prior Art-- because only that which is old is illustrated. See MPEP § 608.02(g).
Applicant’s Figures 1A-15D are identical to U.S. 11,211,392 Figures 1A-15D.
Corrected drawings in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. The replacement sheet(s) should be labeled “Replacement Sheet” in the page header (as per 37 CFR 1.84(c)) so as not to obstruct any portion of the drawing figures. If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Interpretation
Claims 1-4 and 7 means limitations (“control means”) has/have been interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because it uses/they use a generic placeholder “means” coupled with functional language “configured to” without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 8-10 and 14-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Chen et al. (U.S. 10,957,394; hereinafter “Chen”).
Regarding independent claim 1, Chen discloses a memory apparatus (Fig. 1A), comprising:
memory cells (Fig. 7A) each connected to one of a plurality of word lines (Fig. 7A: WLs) and configured to retain a threshold voltage corresponding to one of a plurality of data states (see col. 19, ll. 12-27), the memory cells disposed in memory holes defining channels (see col. 14, ll. 9-36); and
a control means (Fig. 1A: 110, 122, 124, 128 and 132) configured to:
generate holes by applying a hole pre-charge voltage to the channels of the memory holes in a pre-charge phase of a program operation of the memory cells in the memory holes (see Abstract), and
following the pre-charge phase, apply one of a series of programming pulses of a program voltage to selected ones of the plurality of word lines to program the memory cells connected thereto (Fig. 11: step 1105, see also Fig. 13A).
Regarding claim 2, Chen discloses wherein the plurality of word lines and a plurality of dielectric layers extend horizontally and overlay one another in an alternating fashion in a stack (see col. 2, ll. 44-52), the memory holes extend vertically through the stack (see col. 2, ll. 44-58, see also Fig. 6), the memory cells are connected in series between at least one drain-side select gate transistor on a drain-side of each of the memory holes (Fig. 7A: 716) and a source-side select gate transistor on a source-side of each of the memory holes (Fig. 7A: 701), the at least one drain-side select gate transistor of each of the memory holes is coupled to one of a plurality of bit lines (Fig. 6: BL0/BL1) and the source-side select gate transistor of each of the memory holes is connected to a source line (see col. 13, ll. 31-39), the memory cells are grouped into a plurality of sub-blocks arranged vertically in the stack (Fig. 7A: SB0-3), the program operation is a reverse order program operation (see col. 17, ll. 28-37), and the control means is further configured to program the memory cells in the reverse order program operation beginning with the memory cells connected to one of the plurality of word lines adjacent a top of the stack and continuing vertically downward through the stack (see col. 17, ll. 28-37).
Regarding claim 3, Chen discloses wherein the control means is further configured, during in the pre-charge phase of the program operation, to apply the hole pre-charge voltage to each of the plurality of bit lines connected to the memory holed including the memory cells being programmed (see col. 21, ll. 58-67 and col. 22, ll. 1-2).
Regarding independent claim 8, Chen discloses a controller (Fig. 1A: 110, 122, 124, 128 and 132) in communication with a memory apparatus (Fig. 1A: 126) including memory cells (Fig. 7A) each connected to one of a plurality of word lines (Fig. 7A: WLs) and configured to retain a threshold voltage corresponding to one of a plurality of data states (see col. 19, ll. 12-27), the memory cells disposed in memory holes defining channels (see col. 14, ll. 9-36), the controller configured to:
generate holes by instructing the memory apparatus to apply a hole pre-charge voltage to the channels of the memory holes in a pre-charge phase of a program operation of the memory cells in the memory holes (see Abstract); and
following the pre-charge phase, instruct the memory apparatus to apply one of a series of programming pulses of a program voltage to selected ones of the plurality of word lines to program the memory cells connected thereto (Fig. 11: step 1105, see also Fig. 13A).
Regarding claim 9, Chen discloses wherein the plurality of word lines and a plurality of dielectric layers extend horizontally and overlay one another in an alternating fashion in a stack (see col. 2, ll. 44-52), the memory holes extend vertically through the stack (see col. 2, ll. 44-58, see also Fig. 6), the memory cells are connected in series between at least one drain-side select gate transistor on a drain-side of each of the memory holes (Fig. 7A: 716) and a source-side select gate transistor on a source-side of each of the memory holes (Fig. 7A: 701), the at least one drain-side select gate transistor of each of the memory holes is coupled to one of a plurality of bit lines (Fig. 6: BL0/BL1) and the source-side select gate transistor of each of the memory holes is connected to a source line (see col. 13, ll. 31-39), the memory cells are grouped into a plurality of sub-blocks arranged vertically in the stack (Fig. 7A: SB0-3), the program operation is a reverse order program operation (see col. 17, ll. 28-37), and the controller is further configured to instruct the memory apparatus to program the memory cells in the reverse order program operation beginning with the memory cells connected to one of the plurality of word lines adjacent a top of the stack and continuing vertically downward through the stack (see col. 17, ll. 28-37).
Regarding claim 10, Chen discloses wherein the controller is further configured, during in the pre-charge phase of the program operation, to instruct the memory apparatus to apply the hole pre-charge voltage to each of the plurality of bit lines connected to the memory holed including the memory cells being programmed (see col. 21, ll. 58-67 and col. 22, ll. 1-2).
Regarding independent claim 14, Chen discloses a method of operating a memory apparatus (Fig. 1A) including memory cells (Fig. 7A) each connected to one of a plurality of word lines (Fig. 7A: WLs) and configured to retain a threshold voltage corresponding to one of a plurality of data states (see col. 19, ll. 12-27), the memory cells disposed in memory holes defining channels (see col. 14, ll. 9-36), the method comprising the steps of:
generating holes by applying a hole pre-charge voltage to the channels of the memory holes in a pre-charge phase of a program operation of the memory cells in the memory holes (see Abstract); and
following the pre-charge phase, applying one of a series of programming pulses of a program voltage to selected ones of the plurality of word lines to program the memory cells connected thereto (Fig. 11: step 1105, see also Fig. 13A).
Regarding claim 15, Chen discloses wherein the plurality of word lines and a plurality of dielectric layers extend horizontally and overlay one another in an alternating fashion in a stack (see col. 2, ll. 44-52), the memory holes extend vertically through the stack (see col. 2, ll. 44-58, see also Fig. 6), the memory cells are connected in series between at least one drain-side select gate transistor on a drain-side of each of the memory holes (Fig. 7A: 716) and a source-side select gate transistor on a source-side of each of the memory holes (Fig. 7A: 701), the at least one drain-side select gate transistor of each of the memory holes is coupled to one of a plurality of bit lines (Fig. 6: BL0/BL1) and the source-side select gate transistor of each of the memory holes is connected to a source line (see col. 13, ll. 31-39), the memory cells are grouped into a plurality of sub-blocks arranged vertically in the stack (Fig. 7A: SB0-3), the program operation is a reverse order program operation (see col. 17, ll. 28-37), and the method further includes the step of programming the memory cells in the reverse order program operation beginning with the memory cells connected to one of the plurality of word lines adjacent a top of the stack and continuing vertically downward through the stack (see col. 17, ll. 28-37).
Regarding claim 16, Chen discloses further including during in the pre-charge phase of the program operation, to apply the hole pre-charge voltage to each of the plurality of bit lines connected to the memory holed including the memory cells being programmed (see col. 21, ll. 58-67 and col. 22, ll. 1-2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4-6, 11-12 and 17-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen et al. (U.S. 10,957,394; hereinafter “Chen”) in view of Suzuki et al. (U.S. 2022/0238167; hereinafter “Suzuki”).
Regarding claim 4, Chen discloses the limitations with respect to claim 3.
Furthermore, Chen teaches local interconnect extending vertically along the stack and connecting to the source line (see col. 12, ll. 35-41), the memory apparatus including a charge pump coupled to the plurality of bit lines and configured to supply the hole pre-charge voltage (see col. 12, ll. 42-56), the memory apparatus including pump disconnect transistors each coupled between the charge pump and the local interconnect and configured to selectively connect the charge pump to and disconnect the charge pump from the local interconnect (Fig. 2: 56, 173 and Fig. 3: 350), and wherein the control means is further configured to:
control the pump disconnect transistors to connect the charge pump to the local interconnect during an erase operation (see col. 11, ll. 66-67 and col. 12, ll. 1-8).
However, Chen is silent with respect to control the pump disconnect transistors to disconnect the charge pump from the local interconnect during the program operation.
Suzuki teaches control the pump disconnect transistors to disconnect the charge pump from the local interconnect during the program operation (see page 11, par. 0235).
Since Suzuki and Chen are from the same field of endeavor, the teachings described by Suzuki would have been recognized in the pertinent art of Chen.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the teachings of Suzuki with the teachings of Chen for the purpose of enables efficient voltage generation, see Suzuki’s page 11, par. 0235.
Regarding claim 5, Chen in combination with Suzuki teaches the limitations with respect to claim 4.
Furthermore, Chen teaches wherein one of the plurality of sub-blocks comprise one of a plurality of blocks and ones of the plurality of blocks comprise one of a plurality of planes, and one of the pump disconnect transistors is used for each one of the plurality of planes (see col. 11, ll. 40-59).
Regarding claim 6, Chen in combination with Suzuki teaches the limitations with respect to claim 4.
Furthermore, Chen teaches wherein ones of the plurality of sub-blocks comprise one of a plurality of blocks, and one of the pump disconnect transistors is used for each one of the plurality of blocks (see col. 11, ll. 40-59).
Regarding claim 11, Chen discloses the limitations with respect to claim 10.
Furthermore, Chen teaches local interconnect extending vertically along the stack and connecting to the source line (see col. 12, ll. 35-41), the memory apparatus includes a charge pump coupled to the plurality of bit lines and configured to supply the hole pre-charge voltage (see col. 12, ll. 42-56), the memory apparatus including pump disconnect transistors each coupled between the charge pump and the local interconnect and configured to selectively connect the charge pump to and disconnect the charge pump from the local interconnect (Fig. 2: 56, 173 and Fig. 3: 350), and wherein the controller is further configured to:
instruct the memory apparatus to control the pump disconnect transistors to connect the charge pump to the local interconnect during an erase operation (see col. 11, ll. 66-67 and col. 12, ll. 1-8).
However, Chen is silent with respect to control the pump disconnect transistors to disconnect the charge pump from the local interconnect during the program operation.
Suzuki teaches control the pump disconnect transistors to disconnect the charge pump from the local interconnect during the program operation (see page 11, par. 0235).
Since Suzuki and Chen are from the same field of endeavor, the teachings described by Suzuki would have been recognized in the pertinent art of Chen.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the teachings of Suzuki with the teachings of Chen for the purpose of enables efficient voltage generation, see Suzuki’s page 11, par. 0235.
Regarding claim 12, Chen in combination with Suzuki teaches the limitations with respect to claim 11.
Furthermore, Chen teaches wherein one of the plurality of sub-blocks comprise one of a plurality of blocks and ones of the plurality of blocks comprise one of a plurality of planes, and one of the pump disconnect transistors is used for each one of the plurality of planes (see col. 11, ll. 40-59).
Regarding claim 17, Chen discloses the limitations with respect to claim 16.
Furthermore, Chen teaches local interconnect extending vertically along the stack and connecting to the source line (see col. 12, ll. 35-41), the memory apparatus includes a charge pump coupled to the plurality of bit lines and configured to supply the hole pre-charge voltage (see col. 12, ll. 42-56), the memory apparatus includes pump disconnect transistors each coupled between the charge pump and the local interconnect and configured to selectively connect the charge pump to and disconnect the charge pump from the local interconnect (Fig. 2: 56, 173 and Fig. 3: 350), and the method further includes the steps of:
controlling the pump disconnect transistors to connect the charge pump to the local interconnect during an erase operation (see col. 11, ll. 66-67 and col. 12, ll. 1-8).
However, Chen is silent with respect to controlling the pump disconnect transistors to disconnect the charge pump from the local interconnect during the program operation.
Suzuki teaches controlling the pump disconnect transistors to disconnect the charge pump from the local interconnect during the program operation (see page 11, par. 0235).
Since Suzuki and Chen are from the same field of endeavor, the teachings described by Suzuki would have been recognized in the pertinent art of Chen.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the teachings of Suzuki with the teachings of Chen for the purpose of enables efficient voltage generation, see Suzuki’s page 11, par. 0235.
Regarding claim 18, Chen in combination with Suzuki teaches the limitations with respect to claim 17.
Furthermore, Chen teaches wherein one of the plurality of sub-blocks comprise one of a plurality of blocks and ones of the plurality of blocks comprise one of a plurality of planes, and one of the pump disconnect transistors is used for each one of the plurality of planes (see col. 11, ll. 40-59).
Regarding claim 19, Chen in combination with Suzuki teaches the limitations with respect to claim 17.
Furthermore, Chen teaches wherein ones of the plurality of sub-blocks comprise one of a plurality of blocks, and one of the pump disconnect transistors is used for each one of the plurality of blocks (see col. 11, ll. 40-59).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7, 13 and 20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
With respect to claim 7, there is no teaching or suggestion in the prior art of record to provide the recited the at least one drain-side select gate transistor includes a top drain-side select gate transistor and one or more other drain-side select gate transistors disposed vertically below the top drain-side select gate transistor and the control means is further configured, during the pre-charge phase of the program operation, to: apply a select gate pre-charge voltage to the one or more other drain-side select gate transistors of the memory holes including the memory cells being programmed; apply the select gate pre-charge voltage to the one or more other drain-side select gate transistors of the memory holes including the memory cells not being programmed; apply a steady state voltage to the selected ones of the plurality of word lines; apply the steady state voltage to unselected ones of the plurality of word lines; apply the hole pre-charge voltage to each of the plurality of bit lines connected to the memory holes including the memory cells not being programmed; apply a negative select gate voltage to the top drain-side select gate transistor; and apply the steady state voltage to the pump disconnect transistors.
With respect to claim 13, there is no teaching or suggestion in the prior art of record to provide the recited the at least one drain-side select gate transistor includes a top drain-side select gate transistor and one or more other drain-side select gate transistors disposed vertically below the top drain-side select gate transistor and the controller is further configured, during the pre-charge phase of the program operation, to: instruct the memory apparatus to apply a select gate pre-charge voltage to the one or more other drain-side select gate transistors of the memory holes including the memory cells being programmed; instruct the memory apparatus to apply the select gate pre-charge voltage to the one or more other drain-side select gate transistors of the memory holes including the memory cells not being programmed; instruct the memory apparatus to apply a steady state voltage to the selected ones of the plurality of word lines; instruct the memory apparatus to apply the steady state voltage to unselected ones of the plurality of word lines; instruct the memory apparatus to apply the hole pre-charge voltage to each of the plurality of bit lines connected to the memory holes including the memory cells not being programmed; instruct the memory apparatus to apply a negative select gate voltage to the top drain-side select gate transistor; and instruct the memory apparatus to apply the steady state voltage to the pump disconnect transistors.
With respect to claim 20, there is no teaching or suggestion in the prior art of record to provide the recited the at least one drain-side select gate transistor includes a top drain-side select gate transistor and one or more other drain-side select gate transistors disposed vertically below the top drain-side select gate transistor and the method, during the pre-charge phase of the program operation, includes the steps of: applying a select gate pre-charge voltage to the one or more other drain-side select gate transistors of the memory holes including the memory cells being programmed; applying the select gate pre-charge voltage to the one or more other drain-side select gate transistors of the memory holes including the memory cells not being programmed; applying a steady state voltage to the selected ones of the plurality of word lines; applying the steady state voltage to unselected ones of the plurality of word lines; applying the hole pre-charge voltage to each of the plurality of bit lines connected to the memory holes including the memory cells not being programmed; applying a negative select gate voltage to the top drain-side select gate transistor; and applying the steady state voltage to the pump disconnect transistors.
Conclusion
/Alfredo Bermudez Lozada/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2825