DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Bagung et al. (US 2022/0115290 A1 hereinafter referred to as “Bagung”).
With respect to claim 1, Bagung discloses, in Figs.1-6b, a circuit board assembly, comprising: an insert (5, 31-33); a printed circuit board (PCB) (2), the insert (31-33) connected to the PCB (2); at least one semiconductor device (3-4); a primary connection (31) between the insert (31-33) and the at least one semiconductor device (3-4); and a secondary connection (32-33) between the insert (31-33) and the at least one semiconductor device (3-4); wherein the secondary connection (32-33) provides electrical and thermal communication between the at least one semiconductor device (4) and the insert (31-33) when the primary connection (32) fails (see Par.[0061] wherein The semiconductor component arrangement 1 comprises a semiconductor component 3, which is installed in a housing 4 and which is therefore not shown in greater detail in the figures. The example used is a so-called power MOSFET, i.e. a power metal oxide semiconductor field-effect transistor; see Par.[0062]-[0064] wherein 2he heat dissipation device 2 comprises a comparatively large first metal block 31, a comparatively small second metal block 32, also shown in sectional view in FIG. 4, as well as a third metal block 33 and a fourth metal block 34, which are similar in size to the second metal block 32 and are arranged behind the second metal block 32 in the viewing direction of FIG. 4; the four metal blocks 31, 32, 33 and 34 in functional terms form a prefabricated metal block group for connecting the semiconductor component 3 to the printed circuit board 5).
With respect to claim 2, Bagung discloses, in Figs.1-6b, the circuit board assembly, the primary connection between the insert (5, 31-33) and the at least one semiconductor device (3-4) further comprising a sintered connection (15), wherein the insert (5, 31-33) and the at least one semiconductor device (3-4) are in electrical and thermal communication with one another through the sintered connection (see Par.[0064] wherein the metal plate 13 and thus the first electrical connector 21 is connected in an electrically conductive manner to the first metal block 31 by means of a solder joint 14, which has the soldering tin layer 15 shown in cross-section in FIG. 4. FIG. 1 shows that the soldering tin layer 15 is applied to a first end face 16 of the first metal block 31).
With respect to claim 3, Bagung discloses, in Figs.1-6b, the circuit board assembly, the sintered connection further comprising a sintering compound connecting the insert and the at least one semiconductor device (see Fig.4).
With respect to claim 13, Bagung discloses, in Figs.1-6b, the circuit board assembly, the sintered connection further comprising a sintering compound (15) connecting the insert (5, 31-33) and the at least one semiconductor device (3-4) (see Par.[0064] wherein the metal plate 13 and thus the first electrical connector 21 is connected in an electrically conductive manner to the first metal block 31 by means of a solder joint 14, which has the soldering tin layer 15 shown in cross-section in FIG. 4. FIG. 1 shows that the soldering tin layer 15 is applied to a first end face 16 of the first metal block 31).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4-5, 9, 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bagung in view of Le et al. (US 2025/0052803 A1 hereinafter referred to as “Le”).
With respect to claim 4, Bagung discloses all the claimed limitations of claim 1. However, Bagung does not explicitly disclose the limitations of claim 4.
Le discloses, in Figs.1-10, the circuit board assembly of one of the proceeding, the secondary connection further comprising a limp-home function if the primary connection fails (see Par.[0023]-[0025] wherein an (optional) safety-relevant (i.e.; limp home function) or safety-critical on-board power system path or on-board power subsystem 11 is thus connected to the terminal KL 30_1 and not connected to other non-safety-relevant terminal KL 30_0).
Bagung and Le are analogous art because they are all directed to a printed circuit board used in control unit, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success by modifying Bagung to include Le because they are from the same field of endeavor.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify PCB connector/terminal function in Bagung by including safety relevant function in one terminal when the other terminal fails as taught by Le in order to utilize redundant hardware used in highly safety-relevant applications so that, if a part of the system fails, the entire operation can still be maintained by means of the redundant design so as reliable and current statements regarding the functionality can thus be made thus the safety of the arrangement of the overall device is thereby further increased.
With respect to claim 5, Bagung discloses, in Figs.1-6b, the circuit board assembly, the secondary connection between the insert and the at least one semiconductor device further comprising a solder connection (15) (see Par.[0064] wherein the metal plate 13 and thus the first electrical connector 21 is connected in an electrically conductive manner to the first metal block 31 by means of a solder joint 14, which has the soldering tin layer 15 shown in cross-section in FIG. 4. FIG. 1 shows that the soldering tin layer 15 is applied to a first end face 16 of the first metal block 31).
With respect to claim 9, Bagung discloses, in Figs.1-6b, a method for providing multiple connections (31-33) between an insert (5, 31-33) and at least one semiconductor device (3-4) of a circuit board assembly (2), comprising the steps of: providing an insert (5, 31-33); providing a printed circuit board (PCB) (2); and providing at least one semiconductor device (3-4); connecting the insert to the PCB (2); connecting the insert (5, 31-33) to the at least one semiconductor device (3-4) such that there is a primary connection (31) between the insert and the at least one semiconductor device, and a secondary connection (32-33) between the insert (5, 31-33) and the at least one semiconductor device (3-4) (see Par.[0061] wherein The semiconductor component arrangement 1 comprises a semiconductor component 3, which is installed in a housing 4 and which is therefore not shown in greater detail in the figures. The example used is a so-called power MOSFET, i.e. a power metal oxide semiconductor field-effect transistor; see Par.[0062]-[0064] wherein 2he heat dissipation device 2 comprises a comparatively large first metal block 31, a comparatively small second metal block 32, also shown in sectional view in FIG. 4, as well as a third metal block 33 and a fourth metal block 34, which are similar in size to the second metal block 32 and are arranged behind the second metal block 32 in the viewing direction of FIG. 4; the four metal blocks 31, 32, 33 and 34 in functional terms form a prefabricated metal block group for connecting the semiconductor component 3 to the printed circuit board 5). However, Bagung does not explicitly disclose operating the circuit board assembly using a limp-home function with the secondary connection if the primary connection fails.
Le discloses, in Figs.1-10, the circuit board assembly of one of the proceeding, the secondary connection further comprising a limp-home function if the primary connection fails (see Par.[0023]-[0025] wherein an (optional) safety-relevant (i.e.; limp home function) or safety-critical on-board power system path or on-board power subsystem 11 is thus connected to the terminal KL 30_1 and not connected to other non-safety-relevant terminal KL 30_0).
Bagung and Le are analogous art because they are all directed to a printed circuit board used in control unit, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success by modifying Bagung to include Le because they are from the same field of endeavor.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify PCB connector/terminal function in Bagung by including safety relevant function in one terminal when the other terminal fails as taught by Le in order to utilize redundant hardware used in highly safety-relevant applications so that, if a part of the system fails, the entire operation can still be maintained by means of the redundant design so as reliable and current statements regarding the functionality can thus be made thus the safety of the arrangement of the overall device is thereby further increased.
With respect to claim 14, Bagung discloses all the claimed limitations of claim 2. However, Bagung does not explicitly disclose the limitations of claim 14.
Le discloses, in Figs.1-10, the circuit board assembly of one of the proceeding, the secondary connection further comprising a limp-home function if the primary connection fails (see Par.[0023]-[0025] wherein an (optional) safety-relevant (i.e.; limp home function) or safety-critical on-board power system path or on-board power subsystem 11 is thus connected to the terminal KL 30_1 and not connected to other non-safety-relevant terminal KL 30_0).
Bagung and Le are analogous art because they are all directed to a printed circuit board used in control unit, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success by modifying Bagung to include Le because they are from the same field of endeavor.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify PCB connector/terminal function in Bagung by including safety relevant function in one terminal when the other terminal fails as taught by Le in order to utilize redundant hardware used in highly safety-relevant applications so that, if a part of the system fails, the entire operation can still be maintained by means of the redundant design so as reliable and current statements regarding the functionality can thus be made thus the safety of the arrangement of the overall device is thereby further increased.
With respect to claim 15, Bagung discloses all the claimed limitations of claim 3. However, Bagung does not explicitly disclose the limitations of claim 15.
Le discloses, in Figs.1-10, the circuit board assembly of one of the proceeding, the secondary connection further comprising a limp-home function if the primary connection fails (see Par.[0023]-[0025] wherein an (optional) safety-relevant (i.e.; limp home function) or safety-critical on-board power system path or on-board power subsystem 11 is thus connected to the terminal KL 30_1 and not connected to other non-safety-relevant terminal KL 30_0).
Bagung and Le are analogous art because they are all directed to a printed circuit board used in control unit, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success by modifying Bagung to include Le because they are from the same field of endeavor.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify PCB connector/terminal function in Bagung by including safety relevant function in one terminal when the other terminal fails as taught by Le in order to utilize redundant hardware used in highly safety-relevant applications so that, if a part of the system fails, the entire operation can still be maintained by means of the redundant design so as reliable and current statements regarding the functionality can thus be made thus the safety of the arrangement of the overall device is thereby further increased.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6-8, 10-12, 16-19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: none of the prior art of record teaches, suggest, or renders obvious, either alone or in combination, at least one protrusion integrally formed as part of the insert, the at least one protrusion being part of the primary connection; and at least one aperture integrally formed as part of the PCB; wherein the at least one protrusion at least partially extends into the at least on aperture when the insert is assembled to the PCB.
Citation of Pertinent Prior Art
The prior art made of record (e.g.; see PTO-892) and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Examiner’s Telephone/Fax Contacts
/Mouloucoulaye Inoussa/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2818