DETAILED ACTION
1. This is in response to communication filed 12/07/25 in which claims 1-5, 7-13 and 15-16 are pending.
Response to Arguments
2. Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-5, 7-13 and 15-16 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
4. Claims 1-5, 7-13 and 15-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by U.S. Publication No. 2020/0092299 to Srinivasan et al.
a. As per claim 1, Srinivasan et al teaches an apparatus, comprising: a physical network adapter (See paragraph [0007], a network interface controller (NIC)), configured to communicate over a network (See paragraph [0007 and 0046]); and one or more processors (See paragraph [0064]), configured to: host a Virtual Machine (VM) that runs software processes (See paragraph [0037 and 0047]); run a network stack of the VM, the network stack enabling the software processes to communicate network traffic over the network via the physical network adapter (See paragraph [0069]), wherein the network stack comprises (i) a virtual network adapter and (ii) mirroring software that is intermediate between the virtual network adapter and the physical network adapter (See paragraph [0047-0048]); program the mirroring software in the network stack to mirror at least a selected part of the network traffic of one or more of the software processes (See paragraph [0047-0048]); and cause the mirroring software to, mirror at least the selected part of the network traffic for inspection in accordance with the programming (See paragraph [0046-0049]).
b. As per claim 9, Srinivasan et al teaches a method, comprising: hosting, on a physical computer, a Virtual Machine (VM) that runs software processes (See paragraph [0037 and 0047]); running in the physical computer a network stack of the VM, the network stack enabling the software processes to communicate network traffic over a network via a physical network adapter (See paragraph [0069 ]), wherein the network stack comprises (i) a virtual network adapter and (ii) mirroring software that is intermediate between the virtual network adapter and the physical network adapter; programming the mirroring software in the network stack to mirror at least a selected part of the network traffic of one or more of the software processes (See paragraph [0047-0048]); and causing the mirroring software, mirroring at least the selected part of the network traffic for inspection (See paragraph [0047-0048]) in accordance with the programming (See paragraph [0046-0049]).
c. As per claims 2 and 10, Srinivasan et al teaches the claimed invention as described above. However, Srinivasan et al teaches wherein the one or more processors are configured to receive an instruction indicating a selection of the one or more software processes to be inspected, and to program the network stack of the VM responsively to the instruction (See paragraph [0045] and fig. 5).
d. As per claims 3 and 11, Srinivasan et al teaches the claimed invention as described above. Furthermore, Srinivasan et al teaches wherein the one or more processors are configured to establish a network tunnel that connects the VM to a remote computer, and to mirror at least the selected part of the network traffic via the network tunnel (See paragraph [0040]) .
e. As per claims 4 and 12, Srinivasan et al teaches the claimed invention as described above. However, Srinivasan et al teaches wherein the one or more processors are configured to mirror at least the selected part of the network traffic via the physical network adapter (See paragraph [0047-0049]).
f. As per claims 5 and 13, Srinivasan et al teaches the claimed invention as described above. However, Srinivasan et al teaches further comprising an additional physical network adapter, wherein the one or more processors are configured to mirror at least the selected part of the network traffic via the additional physical network adapter (See paragraph [0047-0049]).
g. As per claims 7, Srinivasan et al teaches the claimed invention as described above. However, Srinivasan et al teaches wherein the selected part of the network traffic comprises local traffic communicated between the VM and another VM hosted by the one or more processors (See paragraph [0047-0049 and fig. 7).
h. As per claims 8 and 16, Srinivasan et al teaches the claimed invention as described above. However, Srinivasan et al teaches wherein the selected part of the network traffic comprises remote traffic communicated between the VM and a destination outside the apparatus (See paragraph [0046 and fig 6]).
i. As per claims 15, Srinivasan et al teaches the claimed invention as described above. However, Srinivasan et al teaches wherein the selected part of the network traffic comprises local traffic communicated between the VM and another VM hosted in the physical computer (See paragraph [0035]).
Conclusion
5. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
U.S. Publication No. 2019/0334862 to Paul et al teaches Seamless Network Characteristics for Hardware Isolated Virtualized Environments.
U.S. Publication No. 2018/0124171 to Han et al teaches Adaptive Data Mirroring In virtual Networks.
6. THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DJENANE M BAYARD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2444