DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 22-23, 34-35, and 40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhao et al. (US20220312388 hereinafter Zhao) in view of Zhao et al. (US20210329603 hereinafter Zhao-2).
Regarding claims 22 and 40. Zhao teaches the method and apparatus comprising (fig. 5 and par. 0540, teaches user equipment (UE) 80): at least one processor (fig. 5 and par. 0540, teaches UE 80 includes processor 801); and at least one memory storing instructions that (fig. 5 and par. 0540, teaches UE 80 includes memory 802 that stores program instructions), when executed by the at least one processor, cause the apparatus at least to (fig. 5 and par. 0540, teaches the instructions, when run by the processor 801, can perform the above method performed by user equipment):
determine at least one physical sidelink feedback channel transmission symbol within a slot for a physical sidelink feedback channel transmission (fig. 3 and pars. 0168-0176, teaches the user equipment determines resources of the PSFCH. Wherein, the user equipment determines a slot s in which the PSFCH corresponding to the PSSCH is located. Whereas, in the slot s, only one OFDM symbol in the time domain includes the PSFCH occasion. Furthermore, par. 0040, teaches the user equipment determining a transmission slot S of a physical sidelink feedback channel (PSFCH) corresponding to the sidelink control information (SCI) and the physical sidelink shared channel (PSSCH). Thus, the user equipment determines the OFDM symbol within the slot for PSFCH transmission) in response to the sidelink transmission at least based on the determined transmit beam or time-domain resource (fig. 3 and pars. 0154-0174, teaches the user equipment determines resources of the PSFCH corresponding to the received sidelink control information (SCI) and the physical sidelink shared channel (PSSCH).
However, although Zhao suggest determining a time-domain resource associated with a sidelink transmission (fig. 3 and pars. 0154-0174), the apparatus and methods of Zhao explicitly fails to disclose, determining a transmit beam or a time-domain resource associated with a sidelink transmission.
Zhao-2 disclosed apparatus, systems, and methods for sidelink transmissions, so Zhao-2 is analogous to Zhao. Furthermore, Zhao-2 teaches determining a transmit beam (interpreted as alternative language/disposition limitation and therefore not required to be disclosed by the art made of record) or a time-domain resource associated with a sidelink transmission (fig. 1 and pars. 0046-0053, teaches the first terminal device may determine a time domain resource of a sidelink reference signal according to a time domain resource of a sidelink channel received from the second terminal device. Thus, the time domain resource of a sidelink reference signal is associated with a sidelink transmission).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize determining a time-domain resource associated with a sidelink transmission, as disclosed by Zhao-2 with the method and apparatus of Zhao. The motivations for doing so would be to improve systems. (see Zhao-2 par. 0003)
Regarding claim 23. Zhao and Zhao-2 teaches the apparatus for claim 22.
However, although Zhao suggest determining a time-domain resource associated with a sidelink transmission (fig. 3 and pars. 0154-0174), the apparatus and methods of Zhao explicitly fails to disclose, the sidelink transmission comprise a reference signal transmission or a data transmission.
Zhao-2 further teaches the sidelink transmission comprise a reference signal transmission (fig. 1 and pars. 0046-0053, teaches the first terminal device may determine a time domain resource of a sidelink reference signal according to a time domain resource of a sidelink channel received from the second terminal device) or a data transmission (interpreted as alternative language/disposition limitation and therefore not required to be disclosed by the art made of record).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize the sidelink transmission comprise a reference signal transmission, as disclosed by Zhao-2 with the method and apparatus of Zhao. The motivations for doing so would be to improve systems. (see Zhao-2 par. 0003)
Regarding claim 34. Zhao and Zhao-2 teaches the apparatus for claim 22. Zhao further teaches the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the apparatus at least (fig. 5 and par. 0540, teaches the instructions, when run by the processor 801, can perform the above method performed by user equipment) to:
receive control information … (fig. 3 and pars. 0154-0174, teaches the user equipment receives sidelink control information (SCI) transmitted by other user equipment and a corresponding PSSCH); and
determine the at least one physical sidelink feedback channel transmission symbol based on the received control information (fig. 3 and pars. 0154-0174, teaches the user equipment receives sidelink control information (SCI) transmitted by other user equipment and a corresponding PSSCH. Then, the user equipment determines resources of the PSFCH corresponding to the received sidelink control information (SCI) and the physical sidelink shared channel (PSSCH)).
However, although Zhao suggest determining a time-domain resource associated with a sidelink transmission (fig. 3 and pars. 0154-0174), the apparatus and methods of Zhao explicitly fails to disclose, receiving control information indicating the transmit beam or time-domain resource; and determine the at least one physical sidelink feedback channel transmission symbol based on the received control information.
Zhao-2 further teaches receiving control information indicating the transmit beam (interpreted as alternative language/disposition limitation and therefore not required to be disclosed by the art made of record) or time-domain resource (fig. 1 and pars. 0046-0053, teaches the first terminal device may determine a time domain resource of a sidelink reference signal according to a time domain resource of a sidelink channel received from the second terminal device); and
determine the at least one physical sidelink feedback channel transmission symbol based on the received control information (fig. 1 and pars. 0046-0053, teaches the first terminal device may determine a time domain resource of a sidelink reference signal according to a time domain resource of a sidelink channel received from the second terminal device. Wherein, the time domain resource may include a slot in which the sidelink reference signal is located and/or a symbol position occupied by the sidelink reference signal in a slot)
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize receiving control information indicating the time-domain resource; and determine the at least one physical sidelink feedback channel transmission symbol based on the received control information, as disclosed by Zhao-2 with the method and apparatus of Zhao. The motivations for doing so would be to improve systems. (see Zhao-2 par. 0003)
Regarding claim 35. Zhao and Zhao-2 teaches the apparatus for claim 34. Zhao further teaches the control information comprises sidelink control information (fig. 3 and pars. 0154-0174, teaches the user equipment receives sidelink control information (SCI) transmitted by other user equipment and a corresponding PSSCH. Then, the user equipment determines resources of the PSFCH corresponding to the received sidelink control information (SCI) and the physical sidelink shared channel (PSSCH)).
Claims 26 and 27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhao et al. (US20220312388 hereinafter Zhao), in view of Zhao et al. (US20210329603 hereinafter Zhao-2), in further view of Akkarakaran et al. (US20210352625 hereinafter Akkarakaran).
Regarding claim 26. Zhao and Zhao-2 teaches the apparatus for claim 22. Zhao further teaches the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the apparatus at least (fig. 5 and par. 0540, teaches the instructions, when run by the processor 801, can perform the above method performed by user equipment).
However, the combination of Zhao and Zhao-2 explicitly fails to disclose, transmitting control information indicating the determined transmit beam.
Akkarakaran disclosed apparatus, systems, and methods for transmit beams, so Akkarakaran is analogous to Zhao. Furthermore, Akkarakaran teaches transmitting control information indicating the determined transmit beam (Examiners note: this limitation is reliant on alternative language of claim 22 (determine a transmit beam or a time-domain resource associated with a sidelink transmission), and thus only one of the limitations tied to the “or” statement needs to be shown by the prior art. However, examiner found supporting prior art to reject , see at least par. 0123, teaches the SCI-1 706 or SCI-2 712 may include a beam identifier (e.g., a spatial relation indication) identifying the selected transmit beam for the PSFCH 718. Par. 0006, teaches sidelink control information (SCI) and par. 0095 teaches physical sidelink feedback channel (PSFCH)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize transmitting control information indicating the determined transmit beam, as disclosed by Akkarakaran with the combination of Zhao and Zhao-2. The motivations for doing so would be to improve reliability. (see Akkarakaran par. 0052)
Regarding claim 27. Zhao, Zhao-2, and Akkarakaran teaches the apparatus for claim 26.
However, the combination of Zhao and Zhao-2 explicitly fails to disclose, the control information comprises sidelink control information.
Akkarakaran further teaches the control information comprises sidelink control information (par. 0123, teaches the SCI-1 706 or SCI-2 712 may include a beam identifier (e.g., a spatial relation indication) identifying the selected transmit beam for the PSFCH 718. Par. 0006, teaches sidelink control information (SCI) and par. 0095 teaches physical sidelink feedback channel (PSFCH)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize the control information comprises sidelink control information, as disclosed by Akkarakaran with the combination of Zhao and Zhao-2. The motivations for doing so would be to improve reliability. (see Akkarakaran par. 0052)
Claims 31 and 32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhao et al. (US20220312388 hereinafter Zhao), in view of Zhao et al. (US20210329603 hereinafter Zhao-2), in further view of Lee et al. (US20220201654 hereinafter Lee).
Regarding claim 31. Zhao and Zhao-2 teaches the apparatus for claim 22. Zhao further teaches the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the apparatus at least (fig. 5 and par. 0540, teaches the instructions, when run by the processor 801, can perform the above method performed by user equipment) to:
receive the sidelink transmission (fig. 3 and pars. 0163-0168, teaches the user equipment receives sidelink control information (SCI) transmitted by other user equipment).
However, although Zhao teaches determining at least one physical sidelink feedback channel transmission symbol within a slot for a physical sidelink feedback channel transmission (fig. 3 and pars. 0040, 0168-0176), the combination of Zhao and Zhao-2 explicitly fails to disclose, determining whether to perform the physical sidelink feedback channel transmission in the determined at least one physical sidelink feedback channel transmission symbol at least based on a measurement associated with the sidelink transmission.
Lee disclosed apparatus, systems, and methods for physical sidelink feedback channel transmission, so Lee is analogous to Zhao. Furthermore, Lee teaches determining whether to perform the physical sidelink feedback channel transmission (par. 0078, teaches a configuration may (e.g., be used to) indicate whether the SL HARQ feedback is enabled or disabled. Wherein, if the SL HARQ feedback is enabled, the WTRU may generate and transmit feedback information in a physical sidelink feedback channel (PSFCH). Therefore, the WTRU must determine whether to perform the physical sidelink feedback channel transmission based on if the SL HARQ feedback is enabled or disabled. Par. 0074, teaches hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ), wireless transmit/receive unit (WTRU)) in the determined at least one physical sidelink feedback channel transmission symbol at least based on a measurement associated with the sidelink transmission (par. 0117, teaches the source WTRU may determine a PSFCH sub-channel based on SL measurements (e.g., including SL-RSRP, SL-RSSI, etc.). Whereas, par. 0132, teaches the WTRU may determine PSFCH resources within a sub-channel. Wherein, a PSFCH resource may be defined, determined, configured, and/or used based on one or more (e.g., a set of) symbols within a slot. Thus, the PSFCH symbol is determined based on SL measurements (e.g., including SL-RSRP, SL-RSSI, etc. Par. 0005, teaches reference signal received power (RSRP), par. 0112 teaches SL-received signal strength indicator (RSSI)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize determining whether to perform the physical sidelink feedback channel transmission in the determined at least one physical sidelink feedback channel transmission symbol at least based on a measurement associated with the sidelink transmission, as disclosed by Lee with the combination of Zhao and Zhao-2. The motivations for doing so would be to reduce signaling overhead. (see Lee par. 0079)
Regarding claim 32. Zhao, Zhao-2, and Lee teaches the apparatus for claim 31.
However, the combination of Zhao and Zhao-2 explicitly fails to disclose, the measurement comprises a reference signal received power measurement.
Lee further teaches the measurement comprises a reference signal received power measurement (par. 0117, teaches the source WTRU may determine a PSFCH sub-channel based on SL measurements (e.g., including SL-RSRP, SL-RSSI, etc.). Par. 0005, teaches reference signal received power (RSRP), par. 0112 teaches SL-received signal strength indicator (RSSI)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize the measurement comprises a reference signal received power measurement, as disclosed by Lee with the combination of Zhao and Zhao-2. The motivations for doing so would be to reduce signaling overhead. (see Lee par. 0079)
Claims 33 and 41 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhao et al. (US20220312388 hereinafter Zhao), in view of Zhao et al. (US20210329603 hereinafter Zhao-2), in further view of Ye et al. (US20220311582 hereinafter Ye).
Regarding claim 33. Zhao and Zhao-2 teaches the apparatus for claim 22. Zhao further teaches the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the apparatus at least (fig. 5 and par. 0540, teaches the instructions, when run by the processor 801, can perform the above method performed by user equipment) to:
determine to perform the physical sidelink feedback channel transmission in the determined at least one physical sidelink feedback channel transmission symbol (fig. 3 and pars. 0168-0176, teaches the user equipment determines resources of the PSFCH. Wherein, the user equipment determines a slot s in which the PSFCH corresponding to the PSSCH is located. Whereas, in the slot s, only one OFDM symbol in the time domain includes the PSFCH occasion. Furthermore, par. 0040, teaches the user equipment determining a transmission slot S of a physical sidelink feedback channel (PSFCH) corresponding to the sidelink control information (SCI) and the physical sidelink shared channel (PSSCH). Thus, the user equipment determines the OFDM symbol within the slot for PSFCH transmission).
However, although Zhao teaches determining at least one physical sidelink feedback channel transmission symbol within a slot for a physical sidelink feedback channel transmission (fig. 3 and pars. 0040, 0168-0176), the combination of Zhao and Zhao-2 explicitly fails to disclose, determining to perform the physical sidelink feedback channel transmission … when the measurement is above a threshold.
Ye disclosed apparatus, systems, and methods for physical sidelink feedback channel transmission, so Ye is analogous to Zhao. Furthermore, Ye teaches determining to perform the physical sidelink feedback channel transmission … when the measurement is above a threshold (par. 0112, teaches if measured SL-RSRP is higher than a threshold, then short PSFCH format may be used. Par. 0076, teaches sidelink (SL) and physical SL feedback channel (PSFCH)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize determining to perform the physical sidelink feedback channel transmission … when the measurement is above a threshold, as disclosed by Ye with the combination of Zhao and Zhao-2. The motivations for doing so would be to improve coverage. (see Ye par. 0003)
Regarding claim 41. Zhao teaches the apparatus comprising: means for determining at least one physical sidelink feedback channel transmission symbol within a slot for a physical sidelink feedback channel transmission (fig. 3 and pars. 0168-0176, teaches the user equipment determines resources of the PSFCH. Wherein, the user equipment determines a slot s in which the PSFCH corresponding to the PSSCH is located. Whereas, in the slot s, only one OFDM symbol in the time domain includes the PSFCH occasion. Furthermore, par. 0040, teaches the user equipment determining a transmission slot S of a physical sidelink feedback channel (PSFCH) corresponding to the sidelink control information (SCI) and the physical sidelink shared channel (PSSCH). Thus, the user equipment determines the OFDM symbol within the slot for PSFCH transmission) in response to the sidelink transmission at least based on the determined transmit beam or time-domain resource (fig. 3 and pars. 0154-0174, teaches the user equipment determines resources of the PSFCH corresponding to the received sidelink control information (SCI) and the physical sidelink shared channel (PSSCH).
However, although Zhao suggest determining a time-domain resource associated with a sidelink transmission (fig. 3 and pars. 0154-0174), the apparatus and methods of Zhao explicitly fails to disclose, a means for determining a transmit beam or a time-domain resource associated with a sidelink transmission.
Zhao-2 disclosed apparatus, systems, and methods for sidelink transmissions, so Zhao-2 is analogous to Zhao. Furthermore, Zhao-2 teaches means for determining a transmit beam (interpreted as alternative language/disposition limitation and therefore not required to be disclosed by the art made of record) or a time-domain resource associated with a sidelink transmission (fig. 1 and pars. 0046-0053, teaches the first terminal device may determine a time domain resource of a sidelink reference signal according to a time domain resource of a sidelink channel received from the second terminal device. Thus, the time domain resource of a sidelink reference signal is associated with a sidelink transmission).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize means for determining a time-domain resource associated with a sidelink transmission, as disclosed by Zhao-2 with the method and apparatus of Zhao. The motivations for doing so would be to improve systems. (see Zhao-2 par. 0003)
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 24-25, 28-30, and 36-39 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/TRACY LAUREN RAIMONDO/Examiner, Art Unit 2474
/Michael Thier/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2474