DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Applicant argues on pages 11 – 12 of the REMARKS, “Those disclosures do not teach the amended claim 1 arrangement. First, Nagasawa's actual "second conducting portion 10b" is simply the lower, enlarged via portion formed directly below the first conducting portion, not an outwardly projecting portion that extends from the inner wall surface into the insulation layer outside the through-hole, Nagasawa, [0009], [0070]-[0074]. Second, although T2a and T2b are projections, Nagasawa expressly teaches that they are projections formed in depressions of the film layer and that they constitute part of the first conducting portion 10a for anchoring in the film layer, Nagasawa, [0072]-[0073]. In other words, Nagasawa uses micro-anchor features in a film-layer depression system; it does not disclose the claimed structure in which the amended second portion projects outward from the inner wall surface into the insulation layer outside the through-hole at or immediately adjacent to the narrowest portion. The mismatch in location is also important. The Office Action identifies Nagasawa's narrowest portion as the interface of Hi and H2, Office Action, p. 1. Nagasawa, however, places T2a and T2b in the depressions of the first opening Hi and film layer 7b and explains their function as anchoring at that film-layer region, not as a special conductor portion positioned at or immediately adjacent to the narrowest stress-concentration region now required by amended claim 1, Nagasawa, [0065]-[0068], [0072]-[0074], [0078]-[0081]”. The Office respectfully disagrees. Firstly, as stated in the previous Office Action, the second portion as taught by Nagasawa is interpreted as the portions of 10 at T2a. Secondly, as seen by Applicant’s Specification [0033-0036], a “gap” is formed in the insulation layer and the seed layer is formed within the gap, thus forming the second portion. This is similar to the means of projections formed in Nagasawa. The claim language claims a second portion continuous with the first portion and projecting outward from the inner wall surface into the insulation layer outside of the through-hole. Like the Applicant’s invention, Nagasawa teaches of projections T2a projecting from the wall of the conductor 10a, thus projecting from the wall of the hole where 10 resides. The projections extend away from 10, thus extending into the insulation layer surrounding 10. The claim also uses language of “portion”, for example “narrowest portion”, however the claim language has not structurally limited this claimed portion. The narrowest portion can be interpreted as a portion or region comprising a narrowest diameter of 10, but this portion can include portions or regions beyond the narrowest diameter of 10. As seen by Nagasawa, T2a is located at or immediately adjacent or near or close to a portion about the narrowest portion of 10 in Fig 2, as the narrowest portion can extend beyond the narrowest diameter of 10.
Claim Objections
Claim 24 is objected to under 37 CFR 1.75 as being a substantial duplicate of claim 17. When two claims in an application are duplicates or else are so close in content that they both cover the same thing, despite a slight difference in wording, it is proper after allowing one claim to object to the other as being a substantial duplicate of the allowed claim. See MPEP § 608.01(m).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 10, 19, 22 and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Nagasawa (US 2011/0051386 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Nagasawa (US 2011/0051386 A1) discloses a wiring board (Fig 1-3) comprising: an insulation layer (7) having a first surface (upper surface of 7b) and a second surface (lower surface of 7a) located on an opposite side from the first surface; a through-hole (H; [0065]) penetrating the insulation layer (7) from the first surface to the second surface; and a through-hole conductor (10) located in the through-hole (H), wherein the through-hole (H) has a narrowest portion (annotated NARROWEST PORTION; portion or region or part about the narrowest tapering part in Fig 2; portion about the interface of H1 and H2; [0066]; note that the claim has not structurally defined nor limited the claimed portion) at which an inner diameter of the through-hole is narrowest (portion about the interface of H1 and H2 is seen as the narrowest diameter of H) and a widest portion (annotated WIDEST PORTION; portion or region or part at the widest tapering part in Fig 2; [0067]; portion about H2; note that the claim has not structurally defined nor limited the claimed portion) at which the inner diameter of the through-hole (H) is widest, wherein the through-hole conductor (10) comprises a first portion (portion or part of 10 centrally located in Fig 2 about 10a; note that the claim has not structurally defined nor limited the claimed portion) located on an inner wall surface of the through-hole (H) and a second portion (portion or part of 10 at T2a; [0072-0073]; note that the claim has not structurally defined nor limited the claimed portion) continuous (see Fig 2-3 showing continuous structure; [0091] structure is formed similarly to Applicant’s structure) with the first portion (T2a is formed continuously with 10a as plating is filled into depressions [0091]) and projecting outward from the inner wall surface (T2a projects away from 10 and thus projects from the surface of the inner wall where 10 resides into the surrounding insulation 7) into the insulation layer (7) outside the through-hole (H), wherein, in a cross-sectional view (Fig 2) of the through-hole taken in a through direction (through 7; Fig 2 shows an analogous cross-section), the second portion (portion or part of 10 at T2a) is located at (as seen by annotated figure below, T2a is within the NARROWEST PORTION) or immediately adjacent to the narrowest portion, and wherein the second portion (portion or part of 10 at T2a) is located (see Fig 3 showing T2a is located between an imaginary line vertically at the widest portion and an imaginary line vertically at the narrowest portion) between a first virtual line and a second virtual line, the first virtual line being a virtual line (an imaginary line vertically passing the narrowest width in Fig 2-3) passing through the narrowest portion of the inner wall surface and extending in parallel to a thickness direction of the insulation layer, the second virtual line (an imaginary line vertically passing the widest width in Fig 2-3) being a virtual line passing through the widest portion of the inner wall surface and extending in parallel to the thickness direction of the insulation layer.
Annotated Figure 2 from Nagasawa (US 2011/0051386 A1)
Regarding Claim 2, Nagasawa further discloses the wiring board (Fig 1-3) according to claim 1, wherein the second portion (portion or region or part extending outward about T2a; note that the claim has not structurally defined nor limited the claimed portion) is intermittently (see Fig 3 showing T2a intermittently spaced on 10a at the interface between 10 and H) located at a peripheral edge of the through-hole (H) in a plane view (though not shown in a plane perspective view, as seen by Fig 3, T2a would be intermittently located in a view looking down on 10) as a plurality of discrete conductor projections ([0072] “conducting”, “projections”) extending from the inner wall surface (see Fig 2 showing T2a extending from a wall surface of 10a at H1 into 7b) into the insulation layer (7).
Regarding Claim 10, Nagasawa further discloses the wiring board (Fig 1-3) according to claim 1, further comprising an electronic component (4; [0042]) located at a mounting region (region or portion about 3) of the wiring board.
Regarding Claim 19, Nagasawa discloses the limitations of the preceding claim.
Nagasawa further discloses the wiring board (Fig 1-3) according to claim 2, wherein, in the cross-sectional view (Fig 2 shows a cross-sectional view) of the through-hole taken in the through direction (though not shown in an overhead view, Fig 1-2 shows an analogous view and thus the structure as claimed would be present in any view), a shortest distance between second portions (neighboring 10 are spaced apart from one another in 7) adjacent to each other is greater than (portions of T2a in Fig 1 extend from 10 but the distance between 10 and a neighboring 10 is greater than an extension of T2a from 10; see also Fig 2 not showing a neighboring 10 close-by) a shortest distance between through-holes (H) adjacent to each other.
Regarding Claim 22, Nagasawa discloses the limitations of the preceding claim.
Nagasawa further discloses the wiring board (Fig 1-3) according to claim 1, wherein the second portion (portion about T2a) is formed in a gap (T1a; [0072]) extending from the inner wall surface of the through-hole (H) to the inside of the insulation layer (7) in a vicinity of the narrowest portion (see annotated figure above).
Regarding Claim 23, Nagasawa discloses the limitations of the preceding claim.
Nagasawa further discloses the wiring board (Fig 1-3) according to claim 1,
wherein, in the cross-sectional view (Fig 2 shows a cross-sectional view) of the through-hole in the through direction (though not shown in an overhead view, Fig 1-2 shows an analogous view and thus the structure as claimed would be present in any view), a shortest distance (portions of T2a in Fig 1 extend from 10 and the distance between 10 and a neighboring 10 is greater than an extension of T2a from a singular 10; see also Fig 2 not showing a neighboring 10 close-by) between second portions (portions about T2a) adjacent to each other is smaller than a shortest distance between the through-holes (H) adjacent to each other (see Fig 1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5, 13, 20 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nagasawa (US 2011/0051386 A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Kuramochi (US 2016/0276257 A1).
Regarding Claim 5, Nagasawa discloses the limitations of the preceding claim.
Nagasawa does not disclose the wiring board according to claim 1, wherein the narrowest portion is located closer to the first surface side or the second surface side than a position at half a thickness of the insulation layer when viewed in the cross-sectional view of the through-hole taken in the through direction.
Kuramochi (US 2016/0276257 A1) teaches of a wiring board (Fig 1), wherein a narrowest portion (portion or region about 104c; [0049]) is located closer to a first surface side (102a) or a second surface side than a position at half a thickness (about dashed line labeled C) of an insulation layer (102; [0045]) when viewed in the cross-sectional view of a through-hole (104) taken in the through direction.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the board as disclosed by Nagasawa, wherein the narrowest portion is located closer to the first surface side or the second surface side than a position at half a thickness of the insulation layer when viewed in the cross-sectional view of the through-hole taken in the through direction as taught by Kuramochi, in order to prevent unwanted dropout, allow for a narrow pitch and provide a desired contact surface relationship (Kuramochi, [0046,0049,0115]).
Regarding Claim 13, Nagasawa further discloses the wiring board (Fig 1-3) according to claim 5, further comprising an electronic component (4; [0042]) located at a mounting region (region or portion about 3) of the wiring board.
Regarding Claim 20, Nagasawa discloses the limitations of the preceding claim.
Nagasawa does not explicitly disclose the wiring board according to claim 1, wherein the through-hole does not have a constant inner diameter.
Kuramochi (US 2016/0276257 A1) teaches of a wiring board (Fig 1), wherein a through-hole (104) does not have a constant inner diameter ([0046] “shape of the through-hole 104 is not constant and changes from the first aperture 104a towards the second aperture 104b. In other words, the shape of the side wall of the through-hole 104 is not constant and changes from the first aperture 104a towards the second aperture 104b”).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the board as disclosed by Nagasawa, wherein the through-hole does not have a constant inner diameter as taught by Kuramochi, in order to prevent unwanted dropout, allow for a narrow pitch and provide a desired contact surface relationship (Kuramochi, [0046,0049,0115]). Note that the Applicant has not provided any criticality for the claimed limitation.
Regarding Claim 21, Nagasawa discloses the limitations of the preceding claim.
Nagasawa does not explicitly disclose the wiring board according to claim 1, wherein the through-hole is filled with a resin that fills a space surrounded by the through-hole conductor.
Kuramochi (US 2016/0276257 A1) teaches of a wiring board (Fig 2), wherein a through-hole (104) is filled with a resin (205; [0058-0060]) that fills a space surrounded by a through-hole conductor (207).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the board as disclosed by Nagasawa, wherein the through-hole is filled with a resin that fills a space surrounded by the through-hole conductor as taught by Kuramochi, in order to provide a gas discharging function and increase reliability (Kuramochi, [0008-0009,0058-0064]). Note that by using less metal material for the conductive through hole, weight savings could be attained which may increase functionality of the overall board. Note that the Applicant has not provided any criticality for the claimed limitation.
Claim(s) 6, 8, 14 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nagasawa (US 2011/0051386 A1) as applied to claims 1 and 2 above, and further in view of Kim (US 2023/017592 A1).
Regarding Claims 6 and 8, Nagasawa discloses the limitations of the preceding claim and Nagasawa further discloses the wiring board (Fig 1-3) according to claims 1 and 2, wherein the second portion (at T2a) is located at at least one position selected from the group consisting of inside the glass fiber, between the glass fiber and the insulating resin, and inside the insulating resin (7b; [0062]).
Nagasawa does not disclose wherein the insulation layer contains glass fiber and insulating resin.
Kim (US 2023/017592 A1) teaches of a wiring board (Fig 12, 2,3), wherein an insulation layer (310) contains glass fiber ([0084-0089]) and an insulating resin ([0084-0089]), and a second portion (portion or region or part extending outward about 333 in Fig 12; note that the claim has not structurally defined nor limited the claimed portion) is located at at least one position selected from the group consisting of inside the glass fiber, between the glass fiber and the insulating resin (see Fig 12 showing projection extends outward about 333; 333 is a portion that is between glass fibers shown as wavy lines and resin), and inside the insulating resin ([0084-0089]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the board as disclosed by Nagasawa, wherein the insulation layer contains glass fiber and insulating resin as taught by Kim, in order to provide insulation, allow for dispersion of fibers, control coefficient of thermal expansion, improve insulating properties and prevent unwanted power loss (Kim, [0074-0076]).
Regarding Claims 14 and 16, Nagasawa further discloses the wiring board (Fig 1-3) according to claims 6 and 8, further comprising an electronic component (4; [0042]) located at a mounting region (region or portion about 3) of the wiring board.
Claim(s) 17 and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nagasawa (US 2011/0051386 A1) as applied to claim 6 above, and further in view of Murai (US 2007/0199733 A1).
Regarding Claims 17 and 24, Nagasawa discloses the limitations of the preceding claim.
Nagasawa does not explicitly disclose the wiring board according to claim 6, wherein, when the second portion is located inside the glass fiber, the second portion is firmly engaged with the glass fiber.
Murai (US 2007/0199733 A1) teaches of a wiring board (Fig 1-2) wherein, when a portion (portion or region as seen in Fig 2 that is part of 50 which is engaging or projecting into 30,40; [0009-0011]) is located inside a glass fiber (40), the portion is firmly engaged with the glass fiber (40).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the board with first and second portions as disclosed by Nagasawa, wherein, when the second portion is located inside the glass fiber, the second portion is firmly engaged with the glass fiber as taught by Murai, in order to provide anchoring, improve heat radiation, suppress rip forces, and provide strength (Murai, [0004-0011,0031]).
Claim(s) 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nagasawa (US 2011/0051386 A1) in view of Kuramochi (US 2016/0276257 A1) as applied to claim 5 above, and further in view of Kim (US 2023/017592 A1).
Regarding Claim 18, Nagasawa in view of Kuramochi teaches the limitations of the preceding claim and Nagasawa further discloses the wiring board (Fig 1-3) according to claim 5, wherein the second portion (at T2a) is located at at least one position selected from the group consisting of inside the glass fiber, between the glass fiber and the insulating resin, and inside the insulating resin (7b; [0062]).
Nagasawa does not disclose wherein the insulation layer contains glass fiber and insulating resin.
Kim (US 2023/017592 A1) teaches of a wiring board (Fig 12, 2,3), wherein an insulation layer (310) contains glass fiber ([0084-0089]) and an insulating resin ([0084-0089]), and a second portion (portion or region or part extending outward about 333 in Fig 12; note that the claim has not structurally defined nor limited the claimed portion) is located at at least one position selected from the group consisting of inside the glass fiber, between the glass fiber and the insulating resin (see Fig 12 showing projection extends outward about 333; 333 is a portion that is between glass fibers shown as wavy lines and resin), and inside the insulating resin ([0084-0089]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the board as taught by Nagasawa in view of Kuramochi, wherein the insulation layer contains glass fiber and insulating resin as taught by Kim, in order to provide insulation, allow for dispersion of fibers, control coefficient of thermal expansion, improve insulating properties and prevent unwanted power loss (Kim, [0074-0076]).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ROSHN K VARGHESE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2847