DETAILED ACTION
1. This action is responsive to restriction election received May 14, 2026. Claims 1-3, 7-11 and 15-20 were elected without traverse. Restriction is made FINAL.
Claim Interpretation
2. This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitations are: “acquiring unit” and “control unit” in claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
3. Claims 1-3, 7, 10-11 and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Neubecker et al., U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2019/0073909 (referred to hereafter as Neubecker).
As to claims 1 and 19-20, Neubecker teaches a traffic flow control apparatus, method and medium comprising:
a communication unit; an acquiring unit that acquires information related to a first controlled vehicle that communicates with the communication unit, information related to a following vehicle that travels between the first controlled vehicle and a second controlled vehicle that travels behind the first controlled vehicle and communicates with the communication unit, and information related to a forward object that is positioned ahead of the first controlled vehicle (see para. 41-42, and 35); and
a control unit that causes the first controlled vehicle to behave based on energy consumption of the first controlled vehicle and of the following vehicle in relation to behavior of the first controlled vehicle, the energy consumption being acquired from the information related to the first controlled vehicle, the information related to the following vehicle, and the information related to the forward object (see para. 43-44, 54 and 46).
As to claim 2, Neubecker teaches the traffic flow control apparatus according to claim 1, wherein: the control unit causes the first controlled vehicle to behave so that a sum of the energy consumption of the first controlled vehicle and of the following vehicle in relation to the behavior of the first controlled vehicle is minimized (see para. 43-44, 54 and 46).
As to claim 3, Neubecker teaches the traffic flow control apparatus according to claim 1, wherein: the communication unit, the acquiring unit, and the control unit are disposed in a different location from the first controlled vehicle, the second controlled vehicle, and the following vehicle (see para. 35).
As to claim 7, Neubecker teaches the traffic flow control apparatus according to claim 1, wherein: the behavior of the first controlled vehicle based on energy consumption of the first controlled vehicle and of the following vehicle in relation to the behavior of the first controlled vehicle is deceleration (see para. 46).
As to claim 10, Neubecker teaches the traffic flow control apparatus according to claim 1, wherein: the information related to the following vehicle includes a type of the following vehicle (see para. 43-44, 54 and 46).
As to claim 11, Neubecker teaches the traffic flow control apparatus according to claim 2, wherein: the communication unit, the acquiring unit, and the control unit are disposed in a different location from the first controlled vehicle, the second controlled vehicle, and the following vehicle (see para. 35).
As to claim 18, Neubecker teaches the traffic flow control apparatus according to claim 2, wherein: the information related to the following vehicle includes a type of the following vehicle (see para. 31-32 and 35).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
4. Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Neubecker in view of Kleinau et al., U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2018/0319400 (referred to hereafter as Kleinau).
Neubecker teaches a traffic flow control apparatus, method and medium comprising:
a communication unit; an acquiring unit that acquires information related to a first controlled vehicle that communicates with the communication unit, information related to a following vehicle that travels between the first controlled vehicle and a second controlled vehicle that travels behind the first controlled vehicle and communicates with the communication unit, and information related to a forward object that is positioned ahead of the first controlled vehicle (see para. 41-42, and 35); and
a control unit that causes the first controlled vehicle to behave based on energy consumption of the first controlled vehicle and of the following vehicle in relation to behavior of the first controlled vehicle, the energy consumption being acquired from the information related to the first controlled vehicle, the information related to the following vehicle, and the information related to the forward object (see para. 43-44, 54 and 46).
Neubecker does not explicitly teach that the forward object is a traffic light. However, Kleinau teaches a system and method for controlling a convoy based on a forward object wherein the forward object is a traffic light (see para. 58-60).
It would have been obvious for one of the ordinary skill in the at the effective filling data of the application to control the convoy of Neubecker with respect to a traffic light as taught by Kleinau. Motivation to do so comes from the teachings of Kleinau that doing so would in vehicles stopping at a traffic light or pass through the light in an energy efficient way.
Allowable Subject Matter
5. Claims 9 and 17 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
/HUSSEIN ELCHANTI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3669