DETAILED ACTION
This is a first action on the merits. Claims 1-8 are pending.
Claim Objections
Claims 4-6 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 4, second-to-last line: “the linear actuator” should be “the at least one linear actuator” for consistency with its antecedent basis.
Claim 5, lines 3-4: “the adjustable clamping mechanisms” should be “the one or more adjustable clamping mechanisms” for consistency with its antecedent basis.
Claim 6, lines 4-5: “the adjustable clamping mechanism” should be “one of the one or more adjustable clamping mechanisms” for consistency with its antecedent basis.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: Adjustable clamping mechanisms in claim 4.
Because this/these claim limitation(s) is/are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, it/they is/are being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof. Specifically, the structure for “adjustable clamping mechanisms” corresponds to the structure illustrated in Fig. 8B and equivalents thereof.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 4-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 4, the claim recites “the members” in the second-to-last line. The claim has introduced at least one top plate member, at least one first side plate member, and at least one back plate member. It is not clear if “the members” refers to all of these members, some of these members, or different members not yet introduced.
Claims 5-7 are rejected for the same reason by dependence on claim 4.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 4-5, and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Roncadori (IT 202100003446 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Roncadori discloses a modular multiple-axis motion control system comprising:
a first subassembly comprising:
a substantially flat first plate (bridge plate 14) having a first face (top surface of bridge plate 14) and an oppositely facing second face (bottom surface of bridge plate 14) as major faces of the first plate;
a plurality of controlled motion actuators (motors 15/115) mounted to the first face (Fig. 3) and configured to effect controlled motion of a first payload (extruder device 9) along at least two direction vectors that are orthogonal to one another and are each parallel to the second face (Fig. 3: first and second movement groups move extruder device(s) in the XY plane parallel to plate 14); and
a second subassembly comprising:
a substantially flat second plate (shoe(s) 53) having a third face (top surface(s) of shoe(s) 53) and an oppositely facing fourth face (bottom surface(s) of shoe(s) 53) as major faces of the second plate;
at least one substantially flat third plate (side panel 5) having a fifth major face (inward surface of side panel 5) and being affixed to the fourth face of the second plate in a position with the fifth major face being perpendicular to the fourth face (Fig. 14);
at least one second controlled motion actuator (motor 215) mounted to the third plate (Fig. 14) and coupled to a second payload (plate 10, Fig. 3), wherein the second controlled motion actuator is configured to effect controlled motion of the second payload along a direction vector that is perpendicular to the third face (Figs. 3 and 14: motor 215 rotates a third screw 219 which allows the translation of the plate 10 along the Z axis);
wherein the first subassembly and second subassembly are joined by placing the second face against the third face (top of shoe(s) 53 is against the bottom of plate 14, best shown in Fig. 15) and attaching the first subassembly to the second subassembly (Figs. 1-2, 14-16: assembled unit illustrates that the pieces are joined together).
Regarding claim 4, Roncadori discloses a modular base subassembly for a motion control system comprising multiple motion actuators apportioned among separate, joinable subassemblies, the base subassembly comprising:
at least one top plate member (bridge plate 14) providing a first orientational reference interface surface for contacting a second orientational reference interface surface (Fig. 5: surface of plate 14 contacts surface of panel 4) of an upper subassembly (Fig. 3: first movement group 11 and second movement group 12) when the upper subassembly becomes attached to the base subassembly (Fig. 2);
at least one first side plate member (Fig. 2: panel 5), disposed perpendicularly to the top plate member, to which at least one linear actuator (motor 215) is attached for moving a payload (plate 10) towards and away from the top plate member (Figs. 3 and 14: motor 215 rotates a third screw 219 which allows the translation of the plate 10 along the Z axis); and
at least one back plate member, disposed perpendicularly to both the top plate member and to the first side plate member (Fig. 1: Although not shown, it is understood that the container 1 of printer 100 includes a back panel);
wherein the top plate member (14), first side plate member (5) and back plate member (back of container 1, not shown) comprise complementary interlocking shape features to mutually engage one another at right angles (Figs. 1-2, 14-16: The assembly forms a rectangular prism, i.e. plate 14, panel 5, and back of container 1 interlock/mutually engage one another at right angles); and
wherein at least one of the top plate member, side plate member and back plate member further comprise hole patterns (Figs. 2, 14-16: see hole patterns in at least side panel 5) allowing insertion of one or more adjustable clamping mechanisms (Figs. 14-16 and related text: “The support/fixing blocks 53 are fixed to the panels 4 and 5 and/or to the base 6 by means of relative centering pins”; centering pins are considered an equivalent to Applicant’s corresponding structure for the 112(f) limitation, see claim interpretation section above) to draw the members into alignment such that a motion axis of the linear actuator is maintained normal to the first orientational reference interface surface (page 6 of translation, fifth paragraph: “The support/fixing blocks 53 allow the printer 100 to be assembled, with the assembly of each component from the base 6 upwards, with a precision of one hundredth of a millimetre, ensuring the geometric tightness of the entire structure of the printer 100. note that a high geometric precision of all the components of the printer 100 makes it possible to guarantee the orthogonal sliding of all the movement axes.”).
Regarding claim 5, Roncadori discloses the modular base subassembly of claim 4 and Roncadori also discloses: a second side plate member contacting both the top plate member and the back plate member at right angles and comprising hole patterns allowing insertion of one or more of the adjustable clamping mechanisms (Fig. 2, 14-16: side panel 4).
Regarding claim 8, Roncadori discloses a method for manufacturing a modular frame for a multiple-axis motion control system, the method comprising:
obtaining a first subassembly (Fig. 3: first movement group 11 and second movement group 12) having a first orientational reference interface surface (bottom surface of plate 14) and at least one first motion actuator (motor 15 and/or motor 115) for moving a first payload (extruder device 9) relative to the first orientational reference interface surface (Fig. 3: first and second movement groups move extruder device(s) in the XY plane);
obtaining a second subassembly having a second orientational reference surface (top surface(s) of shoe(s) 53) and at least one second motion actuator (motor 215) for moving the second payload (plate 10) relative to the second orientational reference interface surface (Figs. 3 and 14: motor 215 rotates a third screw 219 which allows the translation of the plate 10 along the Z axis);
joining, by bringing the first orientational reference interface surface (bottom surface of plate 14) into contact with the second orientational reference interface surface (top surface(s) of shoe(s) 53), at least the first subassembly and the second subassembly to form a composite frame of the motion control system (Figs. 1-2, 14-16: assembled unit illustrates that the pieces are joined together), whereupon motion produced by the first and second motion actuators results in relative motion between the first payload and the second payload (Fig. 3: motors 15/115 move extruder in XY plane; motor 215 moves plate 10 in the Z direction); and
performing an alignment of either, or both of, the first motion actuator relative to the first orientational reference interface surface and the second motion actuator relative to the second orientational reference interface surface prior to the joining (Figs. 3-4, etc.: all components, including motors 15/115/215, are necessarily aligned in order to assemble the system as shown).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Roncadori (IT 202100003446 A1) in view of Snyder et al. (EP 3027389 B1).
Regarding claim 2, Roncadori discloses the modular multiple-axis motion control system of claim 1, and Roncadori also discloses that the third plate (side panel 5) is formed with a concave opening that spans the breadth of a build space within which the first and second payloads are moved by the motion control system (Figs. 2 and 14: unlabeled window-like opening in the top of side panel 5 spans breadth of plate 10).
Roncadori only discloses a single motor 215 disposed in the middle of panel 5 to move the plate 10 in the vertical direction. Therefore, Roncadori does not disclose “wherein a first instance of the second controlled motion actuator is disposed along one extremity of the third plate and a second instance of the second controlled motion actuator is disposed along an opposite extremity of the third plate, the first and second instances of the second controlled motion actuator being oriented to operate in unison to move the second payload”.
However, Snyder teaches an additive manufacturing machine in which the motion control system 102 comprises two vertically oriented y-axis actuators, i.e. a first instance of the second controlled motion actuator (1102a, 1112a) disposed along one extremity and a second instance of the second controlled motion actuator (1102b, 1112b) is disposed along an opposite extremity, the first and second instances of the second controlled motion actuator being oriented to operate in unison to move the second payload (best shown in Fig. 11, see Fig. 1 for context; [0061]). Snyder also teaches alternative embodiments in which only a single vertical-axis actuator 1102 is used (e.g. Figs. 24 and 51) or one vertical-axis actuator is used on each side (Figs. 54 and 58) thereby showing these arrangements to be obvious variants.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Roncadori to use two vertical-axis actuator systems (one on each side of side panel 5) instead of a single vertical-axis actuator system in order to stabilize the plate 10 as it moves up and down (Snyder [0061]).
Regarding claim 3, Roncadori, as modified, discloses the modular multiple-axis motion control system of claim 2 and Roncadori also discloses that the motion control system is an extrusion deposition additive manufacturing system (title: deposition 3D printer), the first payload is a material extruder (extruder device 9) and the second payload is a build plate upon which materials are deposited by extrusion (plate 10).
Claim(s) 6-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Roncadori (IT 202100003446 A1) in view of Chapman et al. (US 20220001613 A1).
Regarding claims 6-7, Roncadori discloses the modular base subassembly of claim 5 and Roncadori also discloses at least one […] plate member (base panel 6) disposed parallel to the top plate member and contacting at least two of the first side plate member, second side plate member and the back plate member (Figs. 2 and 16);
wherein the […] plate member comprises at least one hole pattern allowing insertion of the adjustable clamping mechanism (Fig. 16: four shoes 53 mounted in the corners where base panel 6 meets side panels 4/5, having holes for centering pins as disclosed in the third-fourth paragraphs on page 6 of translation).
Roncadori does not disclose that the base panel 6 is a “rib” plate member (claim 6) or “at least one slat member disposed perpendicularly to the rib plate member and having at least one first interlocking notch to engage with a second interlocking notch formed in the rib plate member” (claim 7).
Chapman teaches a platen assembly for use with an extrusion-based 3D printer wherein the platen assembly comprises x-direction beams 114 (“rib” members) and y-direction beams 116 (“slat” members) disposed perpendicularly to each other and having interlocking slots 118/122 (“notches”) (Fig. 6; [0054]). By this configuration, “the weight of the grid framework platen assembly is reduced relative to a typical platen of similar size having a solid metal construction, while maintaining a substantially flat or substantially planar upper build surface” ([0037]).
Although the platen 30 of Chapman is analogous to plate 10 in Roncadori, it demonstrates the general principle that a planar surface in a 3D printing machine may be constructed in this manner to reduce weight compared to a solid panel. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify any of the panels of Roncadori (including but not limited to the base panel 6) to comprise the grid construction taught by Chapman in order to provide a substantially flat planar surface with reduced weight (Chapman [0037], [0089]).
Conclusion
/ADAM R MOTT/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3657