DETAILED ACTION
This OA is in response to the claims filled on 7/19/2024 that has been entered, wherein claims 1-12 are pending.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 3 recites the limitation “the first electrode and the second electrode of the first light-emitting element" in 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Line 1 of claim 3 defines the second light-emitting element and the third light-emitting element each comprise a first electrode and a second electrode but is silent in regards to the first light-emitting element. Is the first electrode and the second electrode of the first light-emitting element the same or different than the first electrode and the second electrode of the second light-emitting element and the third light-emitting element? For the purpose of examination, the limitation of “the second light-emitting element and the third light-emitting element each comprise a first electrode and a second electrode” will be interpreted as “the first light-emitting element, the second light-emitting element and the third light-emitting element each comprise a first electrode and a second electrode”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 4-9 and 11-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Kim et al. (US 2024/0079390 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Kim teaches a display panel(Fig. 4A, 4B), comprising:
a substrate(100, Fig. 1); and
a plurality of pixel structures(P, Fig. 1, ¶0034), disposed on the substrate(100, Fig. 1), wherein each of the pixel structures(P, Fig. 1, ¶0034) comprises a first light-emitting element(LED1, ¶0043), a second light-emitting element(LED2, ¶0043), and a third light-emitting element(LED3, ¶0043); wherein
the first light-emitting element(LED1, ¶0043) is disposed on the substrate(100, Fig. 1) and configured to generate a first colored light(red, ¶0037), and a light output surface(100s, ¶0043) of the first light-emitting element(LED1, ¶0043) comprises a combined region(SP2, SP3, ¶0035);
the second light-emitting element(LED2, ¶0043) is disposed on a part of the combined region(SP2, SP3, ¶0035) and configured to generate a second colored light(green, ¶0041); and
the third light-emitting element(LED3, ¶0043) is disposed on the other part of the combined region(SP2, SP3, ¶0035) and configured to generate a third colored light(blue, ¶0041).
Regarding claim 4, Kim teaches the display panel according to claim 1, wherein the light output surface(100s, ¶0043) of the first light-emitting element(LED1, ¶0043) further comprises a non-combined region(SP1, ¶0035).
Regarding claim 5, Kim teaches the display panel according to claim 4, wherein the combined region(SP2, SP3, ¶0035) and the non-combined region(SP1, ¶0035) are apart from each other(Fig. 4A, 4B).
Regarding claim 6, Kim teaches the display panel according to claim 5, wherein the combined region(SP2, SP3, ¶0035) comprises two combined sub-regions(SP2, SP3, ¶0035) apart from each other, and the second light-emitting element(LED2, ¶0043) and the third light-emitting element(LED3, ¶0043) are respectively disposed on the two combined sub-regions(SP2, SP3, ¶0035).
Regarding claim 7, Kim teaches the display panel according to claim 6, wherein the non-combined region(SP1, ¶0035) comprises a plurality of non-combined sub-regions(SP1 in different pixels P, ¶0035) apart from each other.
Regarding claim 8, Kim teaches the display panel according to claim 7, wherein the first light-emitting element(LED1, ¶0043) comprises a plurality of light-emitting members(SP1 in different pixels P, ¶0035) apart from each other, and the two combined sub-regions(SP2, SP3, ¶0035) and the non-combined sub-regions(SP1, ¶0035) are each a light output surface(100s, ¶0043) of the light-emitting member(SP1 in different pixels P, ¶0035).
Regarding claim 9, Kim teaches the display panel according to claim 1, wherein in the same pixel structure(P, Fig. 1, ¶0034), an area of the light output surface(100s, ¶0043) of the first light-emitting element(LED1, ¶0043) is represented by A1(A1, ¶0037), a sum of an area(A2 corresponding to SP2, ¶0037), of a light output surface(100s, ¶0043) of the second light-emitting element(LED2, ¶0043) and an area(A2 corresponding to SP3, ¶0037) of a light output surface(100s, ¶0043) of the third light-emitting element(LED3, ¶0043) is represented by A2(2A2), and A1(A1, ¶0037) is greater(Fig. 4) than or equal to A2(2A2).
Regarding claim 11, Kim teaches the display panel according to claim 1, wherein the first light-emitting element(LED1, ¶0043), the second light-emitting element(LED2, ¶0043), and the third light-emitting element(LED3, ¶0043) are all micro light-emitting diodes(¶0043).
Regarding claim 12, Kim teaches the display panel according to claim 1, wherein the first colored light(red, ¶0037) is a red light(¶0037).
Claim 1, 4-10 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Kanemitsu et al. (US 2024/0079390 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Kanemitsu teaches a display panel(Fig. 2), comprising:
a substrate(101); and
a plurality of pixel structures(102, Fig. 1, ¶0076) disposed on the substrate(101), wherein each of the pixel structures(102, Fig. 1, ¶0076) comprises a first light-emitting element(10R, ¶0079), a second light-emitting element(20G, ¶0089), and a third light-emitting element(30B, ¶0097);
wherein the first light-emitting element(10R, ¶0079) is disposed on the substrate(101) and configured to generate a first colored light(Red, ¶0079), and a light output surface of the first light-emitting element(10R, ¶0079) comprises a combined region(region of 20G, 30B, ¶0078);
the second light-emitting element(20G, ¶0089) is disposed on a part of the combined region(region of 20G, 30B, ¶0078) and configured to generate a second colored light(green, ¶0089); and
the third light-emitting element(30B, ¶0097) is disposed on the other part of the combined region(region of 20G, 30B, ¶0078) and configured to generate a third colored light(blue, ¶0097).
Regarding claim 4, Kanemitsu teaches the display panel according to claim 1, wherein the light output surface of the first light-emitting element(10R, ¶0079) further comprises a non-combined region(10A2).
Regarding claim 5, Kanemitsu teaches the display panel according to claim 4, wherein the combined region(region of 20G, 30B, ¶0078) and the non-combined region(10A2) are apart from each other(Fig. 2A).
Regarding claim 6, Kanemitsu teaches the display panel according to claim 5, wherein the combined region(region of 20G, 30B, ¶0078) comprises two combined sub-regions(region of 20G, 30B, ¶0078) apart from each other, and the second light-emitting element(20G, ¶0089) and the third light-emitting element(30B, ¶0097) are respectively disposed on the two combined sub-regions(region of 20G, 30B, ¶0078).
Regarding claim 7, Kanemitsu teaches the display panel according to claim 6, wherein the non-combined region(10A2) comprises a plurality of non-combined sub-regions(10A2) apart from each other(Fig. 4).
Regarding claim 8, Kanemitsu teaches the display panel according to claim 7, wherein the first light-emitting element(10R, ¶0079) comprises a plurality of light-emitting members(10R, ¶0079) apart from each other(Fig. 4), and the two combined sub-regions(region of 20G, 30B, ¶0078) and the non-combined sub-regions(10A2) are each a light output surface of the light-emitting member(10R, ¶0079).
Regarding claim 9, Kanemitsu teaches the display panel according to claim 1, wherein in the same pixel structure(102, Fig. 1, ¶0076), an area(4X4=16um2, Fig. 7) of the light output surface of the first light-emitting element(10R, ¶0079) is represented by A1(16um2), a sum of an area(2.3x2.3=5.3um2, Fig. 7) of a light output surface of the second light-emitting element(20G, ¶0089) and an area(2.3x2.3=5.3um2, Fig. 7) of a light output surface of the third light-emitting element(30B, ¶0097) is represented by A2(5.3um2+5.3um2=10.6um2), and A1(16um2) is greater than or equal to A2(10.6um2).
Regarding claim 10, Kanemitsu teaches the display panel according to claim 9, wherein A1:A2 is 1:1, 2:1, or 3:2(16:10.6).
Regarding claim 12, Kanemitsu teaches the display panel according to claim 1, wherein the first colored light(Red, ¶0079) is a red light(¶0079).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 2 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 2, Kanemitsu teaches the display panel according to claim 1, wherein the first light-emitting element(10R, ¶0079), the second light-emitting element(20G, ¶0089), and the third light-emitting element(30B, ¶0097) each comprise a first electrode(12, 22, 32, ¶0284), the first electrode(12, 22, 32, ¶0284) faces the substrate(101), and each of the pixel structures(102, Fig. 1, ¶0076) further comprises a plurality of first electrical-connection members(52A, 53A, ¶0096, ¶0105) wherein: the first electrode(12, 22, 32, ¶0284) of the first light-emitting element(10R, ¶0079) are electrically connected to the substrate(101); the first electrodes(12, 22, 32, ¶0284) of the second light-emitting element(20G, ¶0089) and the third light-emitting element(30B, ¶0097) are electrically connected to the substrate(101) via the first electrical-connection members(52A, 53A, ¶0096, ¶0105), respectively.
Kanemitsu does not teach the first light-emitting element(10R, ¶0079), the second light-emitting element(20G, ¶0089), and the third light-emitting element(30B, ¶0097) each comprise a second electrode, the first electrode(12, 22, 32, ¶0284) and the second electrode both face the substrate(101), and each of the pixel structures(102, Fig. 1, ¶0076) further comprises a plurality of second electrical-connection members, wherein: the second electrode of the first light-emitting element(10R, ¶0079) are electrically connected to the substrate(101); and the second electrodes of the second light-emitting element(20G, ¶0089) and the third light-emitting element(30B, ¶0097) are electrically connected to the second electrode of the first light-emitting element(10R, ¶0079) via the second electrical-connection members, respectively.
Regarding dependent claim 2, the prior art of record neither anticipates nor renders obvious the claimed subject matter of the instant application as a whole either taken alone or in combination, in particular, prior art of record does not teach “the second electrodes of the second light-emitting element and the third light-emitting element are electrically connected to the second electrode of the first light-emitting element via the second electrical-connection members, respectively.”
Claim 3 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 3, Kanemitsu teaches the display panel according to claim 1, wherein the first light-emitting element(10R, ¶0079), the second light-emitting element(20G, ¶0089) and the third light-emitting element(30B, ¶0097) each comprise a first electrode(12, 22, 32, ¶0284) and a second electrode, the first electrode(12, ¶0284) of the first light-emitting element(10R, ¶0079) faces the substrate(101), the first electrodes(22, 32, ¶0284) of the second light-emitting element(20G, ¶0089) and the third light-emitting element(30B, ¶0097) all face the substrate(101), and each of the pixel structures(102, Fig. 1, ¶0076) further comprises a plurality of first electrical-connection members(52A, 53A, ¶0096, ¶0105), wherein the first electrode(12, ¶0284) of the first light-emitting element(10R, ¶0079) is electrically connected to the substrate(101); the first electrodes(22, 32, ¶0284) of the second light-emitting element(20G, ¶0089) and the third light-emitting element(30B, ¶0097) are electrically connected to the substrate(101) via the first electrical-connection members(52A, 53A, ¶0096, ¶0105), respectively.
Kanemitsu does not teach the first electrode(12, 22, 32, ¶0284) and the second electrode of the first light-emitting element(10R, ¶0079) are respectively located on two opposite sides of the first light-emitting element(10R, ¶0079), the second electrodes of the second light-emitting element(20G, ¶0089) and the third light-emitting element(30B, ¶0097) all face the substrate(101), each of the pixel structures(102, Fig. 1, ¶0076) further comprises a plurality of second electrical-connection members, and the second electrodes of the second light-emitting element(20G, ¶0089) and the third light-emitting element(30B, ¶0097) are electrically connected to the second electrode of the first light-emitting element(10R, ¶0079) and the substrate(101) via the second electrical-connection members, respectively.
Regarding dependent claim 3, the prior art of record neither anticipates nor renders obvious the claimed subject matter of the instant application as a whole either taken alone or in combination, in particular, prior art of record does not teach “the second electrodes of the second light-emitting element and the third light-emitting element are electrically connected to the second electrode of the first light-emitting element and the substrate via the second electrical-connection members, respectively.”
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Kuo et al. (US 2012/0248473 A1) Teaches a display panel.
Huo et al. (US 2024/0014366 A1) Teaches a display panel.
/LAURA M DYKES/Examiner, Art Unit 2892