DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-15 and 19-21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huling (US 3408084) in view of Paterson (US 363952).
Regarding claims 1 and 21, Huling discloses a machine assembly 17 Fig. 1 comprising: a machine component 11 rotatable around a component axis; a wear sleeve 31 having an inner sleeve surface in contact with the machine component, an outer sleeve surface 29 made of a fluoropolymer material (Teflon, PTFE, Col. 3, Ln. 45-49), and the inner sleeve surface is formed at least in part by the fluoropolymer material, and wherein a continuous thickness of the fluoropolymer material is defined from the inner sleeve surface to the outer sleeve surface; and a lip seal 24 including an outer seal surface, an inner seal surface, and a first sealing lip 27 in sealing contact with the fluoropolymer material of the outer sleeve surface at a first axial location. However, Huling fails to disclose the lip seal including a spring. Paterson, a wear sleeve 16 and lip seal 8 assembly Fig. 1, shows this to be well known in the art. Paterson discloses lip seal 9 with a groove for accommodating a spring 18. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the sealing lip of Huling with a spring as taught by Paterson in order to provide an inward radial force on the first sealing lip ensuring continuous sealing contact between the first sealing lip and the wear sleeve.
Regarding claim 2, Huling discloses wherein the lip seal 24 is elastically deformed in circumferential sealing contact with the outer sleeve surface 29 at the axial location.
Regarding claim 3, Huling discloses a seal housing 13, and the elastic deformation of the lip seal 24 includes elastic deformation stretching the lip seal in an axial direction so as to space the axial location of sealing contact axially outward of the seal housing.
Regarding claim 4, Huling discloses wherein the wear sleeve 31 further includes a material element 33 forming the inner sleeve surface at least in part. However, Huling fails to explicitly disclose that the material of the element is a metallic element. Nevertheless, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended used as a matter of obvious design choice. Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp., 325 U.S. 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1945)
Regarding claim 5, Huling as modified discloses wherein the wear sleeve 31 further includes a wear sleeve body, and an adhesive securing the element 31 to the wear sleeve body Fig. 1.
Regarding claims 8 and 15, Huling as modified discloses a seal assembly 17 comprising: a wear sleeve 31, the wear sleeve having an outer sleeve surface made of fluoropolymer material (Teflon): the wear sleeve further including an inner sleeve surface forming a slot 32, and a cylindrical element 33 seated within the slot and forming the inner sleeve surface at least in part; and a lip seal 24 made of an elastic material: the lip seal defining a seal axis extending between a first axial seal end and a second axial seal end, and including an outer seal surface and a circumferentially extending inner seal surface forming an opening receiving the wear sleeve; and the lip seal further including a sealing lip 27 in sealing contact with the outer sleeve surface, and the outer sleeve surface forming a running surface rotatable relative to the sealing lip. However, Huling fails to explicitly disclose that the material of the element is a metallic element. Nevertheless, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended used as a matter of obvious design choice. Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp., 325 U.S. 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1945)
Regarding claim 9, Huling discloses wherein the wear sleeve 31 has a uniform thickness, in a radial direction, along at least a portion of a wear sleeve length between the first axial sleeve end and the second axial sleeve end. Regarding claim 10, Huling discloses a seal housing 13, and wherein the lip seal 24 is fitted upon the wear sleeve 1 and at least one of the first axial sleeve end or the second axial sleeve end extends axially outward of the seal housing.
Regarding claim 11, Huling discloses wherein the fluoropolymer includes polytetrafluorethylene (Teflon, PTFE).
Regarding claim 19, Huling as modified discloses wherein the inner sleeve surface is made of fluoropolymer (Teflon) material at locations axially outward of the slot 32.
Regarding claim 20, Huling as modified discloses wherein the metallic element forms a majority of an axial length of the inner sleeve surface.
Claim(s) 6, 7 and 12-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huling in view Paterson and further in view of Stoeck et al. (US 2015/0145215).
Regarding claims 6 and 12, Huling and Paterson disclose the invention as claimed above but fails to explicitly disclose a second sealing lip. Stoeck et al., a machine assembly Fig. 2, discloses the use of a second sealing lip 52. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the seal of Huling with a second seal as taught by Stoeck et al. in order to provide an enhanced sealing efficacy. (Para. 0028 of Stoeck et al.)
Regarding claim 7, the combination discloses wherein the first sealing lip (50 of Stoeck et al.) and the second sealing lip (52 of Stoeck et al.) ride in contact with the wear sleeve 25 at the first axial location and a second axial location, respectively.
Regarding claim 13, the combination discloses the invention as claimed above but fails to explicitly disclose that the material of the element is a metallic element. Nevertheless, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended used as a matter of obvious design choice. Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp., 325 U.S. 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1945)
Regarding claim 14, the combination discloses bonding layer securing the material element 33 to the elastomer material 31. But fails to explicitly disclose where the element is a metallic material. Nevertheless, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended used as a matter of obvious design choice. Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp., 325 U.S. 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1945)
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-20 are have been considered but are moot because the new ground(s) of rejection.
Regarding applicant’s argument that the record does not establish how or why a person of ordinary skill in the art would substitute a cylindrical metallic element for the compressed elastomeric filler material of Huling. This is not persuasive, since as stated above a person of general skill in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended used as a matter of obvious design choice. Moreover, selecting a known material is prima facie obvious in the absence of new or unexpected results.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Toth et al. is considered pertinent to the present invention which discloses a seal assembly having a wear sleeve having an inner sleeve surface in contact with the machine component, an outer sleeve surface, and the inner sleeve surface and a lip seal including an outer seal surface, an inner seal surface, and a first sealing lip in sealing contact the outer sleeve surface at a first axial location; the lip seal further including a spring providing an inward radial force on the first sealing lip facilitating continuous sealing contact between the first sealing lip and the wear sleeve.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/EUGENE G BYRD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3675